New map

Alabama: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Alabama

Legislation/Source:

Alabama Security Regulatory Board (ASRB)
Code of Alabama 1975, §34-27C
Chapter 832-X-1 Administration & Procedure

Authorizing Department

Alabama Security Regulatory Board
2777 Zelda Road
Montgomery, AL 36106
Second branch for fingerprints
Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Records and Identification Division
P.O. Box 1511
Montgomery, Alabama 36102‐1511
Phone: 334-420-7234

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In Alabama, individual security officer are licensed when employed. Proprietary security officers are exempt from this requirement. The statute states in part:
A security officer is a person employed under contract, whose principal purpose is to protect a person or persons or property from criminal activity.
See: Section 34-27C-1(9)

Any security guard, armed security guard, or contract security company providing private security services in this state shall apply to the board for a license.
See: AL Code §34-27C-4(a)

An armed security officer shall apply for and have his or her pistol permit issued by the sheriff of the county of his or her residence. It is a violation of this chapter for any security officer to carry a firearm in the performance of his or her duties without holding a valid certification card for an armed security officer issued by the board.
See: Section 34-27C-11

According to Section 34-27C-4 (g)(2)

(2)   Each security officer or armed security officer requesting or renewing a license shall pay a nonrefundable security license fee to the board upon application to be determined by the board that does not exceed one hundred dollars ($100) and may not be increased more than twenty-five dollars ($25) per licensing period. The license issued to a security officer or armed security officer shall expire two years from the date of issuance.

Fees:
$50   Personal license
$38.25   Criminal Background check fee
$88.25 Total initial and renewal application fee

See Application Form.

Renewal required every two years.  See Renewal Application.

$25   Personal license late fee
$10   Personal license replacement

Temporary Licensure
Alabama permits security licensees to commence their work and employment using a “temporary” license which is a tear off
sheet from the original application. The Rules states in part:

Chapter 832-X-1-4
(2) Temporary license or certification. (a) Applicants for a license with the Board shall retain a certified copy of the temporary license until a license is issued or denied by the Board.
See: Alabama Security Regulatory Board

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

Alabama grants reciprocity to other state licensure processes, recognizing Alabama, regarding “pistol permits”- a fact relevant to armed
security officers with non-Alabama permits. The Code states:

Chapter 832-X-1- .02
(6) Pistol Permits. (a) A valid “pistol license”, “pistol permit”, or similar license or permit issued in the State of
Alabama or any state offering unrestricted reciprocity for State of Alabama pistol license or permit holders shall meet the “pistol permit” requirement of §34-27C-11.

During an official declaration of Emergency, licensure rules for both companies and individuals can be waived.
The Alabama Rules and Regulations state:

832-X-1-.13
State Of Emergency License Procedures. (1) Upon the declaration of the Governor of a state of emergency,
the Board may authorize the operation of an out-of-state contract security company and their licensed security guards
within the state for the duration of the state of emergency and up to a maximum of 30 days after the expiration of the state of emergency.
See: Alabama Security Regulatory Board

Age Requirements

According to Section 34-27C-4 (d)(1)
At least 21 years old

Citizenship

According to Section 34-27C-4 (d)(2)
Must be a citizen or resident alien of the U.S

Experience

Not required

Exemptions

Exemptions from basic training requirements:
According to Section 34-27C-8(d)
•   Any security officer who, within three years before applying for certification, completed basic security training through a military, government or security training institute, that meets or exceeds the training required by the board (Annual training requirements still remain).
•   Any security officer employed by a contract security company that has a training curriculum and standards, that the board determined, upon presentation of proof of training, meet or exceed those required by the board.
•   Employed or retired sworn peace officer.

According to 832-X-1-.08(1)
•   (b) Any person who has minimum of five years of continuous experience as a Security Officer or Armed Security Officer at the time of application to the Board shall not be subject to the eight hours of classroom training required in §34-27C-8(a) if a Certified Trainer certifies the person has received at least 8 hours of classroom training as specified in §34-27C- 8(a) at any time during the applicant’s current period of employment.
•   (d) An applicant for a personal license claiming an exemption for training requirements as permitted by 34C-27-8(d) shall provide proof of training received or prior continuous experience as requested by the Board. Failure or refusal to provide the requested proof shall be grounds for denial of licensure by the Board.

According to 832-X-1-.09(1)
•   Any person performing any regulated work activity on less than 30 calendar days in any calendar year is exempt from the individual license requirements of the Act.

Permit Required

According to Section 34-27C-11
Applicants shall apply for and have his or her pistol permit issued by the sheriff of the county of his or her residence.

Requirement to carry an ID card

According to Alabama Law Section 34-27C-7 (a)
A license card issued by the board shall be carried by each security officer and armed security officer while performing his or her duties. It is a violation of this chapter for any security officer to carry a firearm in the performance of his or her duties without holding a valid license or certification card for an armed security officer issued by the board.   A temporary card shall be issued by the board and be in the possession of the applicant or licensee while working as a security officer or armed security officer pending the application process, the completion of training, and the issuance of his or her license or certification.

Moral Character

No baseline requirement

Fingerprint

The applicant shall submit two complete sets of fingerprints to the board.

One of the requirements for an individual to request their own criminal history record information is that the individual to provide ALEA with a classifiable set of his or her own fingerprints (taken by an authorized law enforcement agency with an FBI-issued ORI) with his or her application to Review or Challenge his or her own Alabama criminal history. It is the APPLICANT’s responsibility to mail the completed CHRI request form, along with his/her own fingerprint card and the other required documents to:

Alabama Law Enforcement Agency, Criminal Records and Identification Unit
Attn:  Background Checks
P.O. Box 1511
Montgomery, Alabama 36102-1511

Substance Abuse

According to Section 34-27C-4 (d)(3)(c)
Applicant must provide a sworn statement that he or she is not suffering from habitual drunkenness or from narcotics addiction or dependence. The Board may require certified results of medical tests for drug or alcohol use.

Mental Health

According to Section 34-27C-4 (d)(3)(b)
Applicant must provide a sworn statement that he or she has never been declared, by any court of competent jurisdiction, incompetent by reason of mental defect or disease, and competency has not been restored

Criminal History Background Check

According to Section 34-27C-4 (d)(3)(a)
Applicant must provide a sworn statement that he or she has never been convicted in any jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or crime involving moral turpitude for which a full pardon has not been granted.

According to Section 34-27C-4 (e)
In addition, an applicant must provide a sworn form containing the name, date of birth and Social Security number for completion of a criminal history background check of which he will borne the costs for, as well as two complete sets of fingerprints to the board.

According to 832-X-1-.05 Disqualifying Convictions:
(1)   Felony Convictions

(a)   Any person convicted of a felony offense will not be eligible for a license from the Board, unless a full pardon has been granted.

(2)   Misdemeanor Convictions

(a)   Any person convicted of a misdemeanor offense involving moral turpitude or any similar offense, excluding all sexual and violent offenses (see Section (b) and (c)), will not be eligible for a license from the Board within five (5) calendar years of their most recent conviction, unless a full pardon has been granted.
(b)   Any person convicted of a misdemeanor violent offense will not be eligible for a license from the Board within (10) calendar years of their most recent conviction, unless a full pardon has been granted.
(c)   Any person convicted of a misdemeanor sexual offense will not be eligible for a license from the Board, unless a full pardon has been granted.

(3)   The Board will not issue or renew a license to any person who is required to register as a sex offender in any State or competent jurisdiction.
(4)   The Board will not issue or renew Armed Security Officer license or Certified Trainer 2 certification to any person who is prohibited from possessing a firearm by any section of any state law or the federal Gun Control Act of 1968 (18 U.S.C. Chapter 44), as amended.

Applicants are required to release and authorize a full background review and criminal history by the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Personal References

According to Section 34-27C-4 (b)(4)

The names of at least three unrelated and disinterested persons should be provided as references for board inquiries regarding the character, standing and reputation of the applicant.

Training Requirements

Applicants must successfully meet the training requirements for the unarmed officer and then encounter the armed requirements. An armed security officer will need 14 hours of training. He or she will need to pass a qualifying course as part of his or her training.

832-X-1-.08 -2 (d) Approved firearms qualification courses:
1.  The Alabama Peace Officers Standards and Training Commission qualification course of fire, target, scoring method and
minimum score for handgun, shotgun and/or rifle to be used that is current at the time of qualification is an approved qualification
course for Armed Security Officers.
(i) Active peace officers who successfully complete the mandatory annual Alabama Peace Officers Standards and Training
Commission qualification course as a requirement of employment have met the requirements of this section.
2.  Any National Rifle Association (NRA) course of fire, target, scoring method and minimum score for handgun, shotgun, or
rifle that is officially approved by the NRA Law Enforcement Activities Division for use by a NRA-defined “Private Law Enforcement
Organization” for firearms qualification is an approved qualification course for Armed Security Officers.
(i) A Contract Security Company utilizing any NRA firearm qualification course must apply for, receive from, and maintain an
“Agency Affiliation” with the NRA and must follow all NRA LawEnforcement Activities Division rules applicable to a “Private Law
Enforcement Organization”.
3.  The Alabama Security Regulatory Board approved firearm qualification course for handgun, shotgun and rifle is an approved qualification course for Armed Security Officers.

Firearms Safety Training as required by §34-27C-8(c) shall include, but may not be limited to, achieving a passing score
on a Board-mandated qualification course with the make, model, or caliber handgun, shotgun and/or rifle to be used, instruction on the
use of force laws of the State of Alabama, and instruction on the safe handling and storage of firearms.

Alabama certifies and trains armed officers in three categories: Handgun, rifle and shotgun. Each of these certifications is a combination of classroom and range instruction.

For a full discussion of the requirements, see Chapter 832-X-1-.08 Training (pages 18-23)

The handgun qualification requirements, by way of illustration are:
(10)   Firearms: Handgun Qualification Course:

(a)   The Alabama Security Regulatory Board Handgun Qualification Course shall be;
(b)   Total Rounds: 30
(c)   Approved Target: Standard FBI “Q” target, any color, paper or cardboard.
(d)   Scoring: All shot holes completely inside of the scoring silhouette count. Shot holes breaking the edge of the scoring silhouette or outside of the silhouette DO NOT COUNT.
(e)   Passing Score: 80% (24 rounds completely inside the scoring silhouette)
(f)   Ammunition Management is the responsibility of the shooter. Shooters reload ON THEIR OWN. No reloading commands or reminders will be given during the course of fire.
(g)   Start position is from secured holster with hands at side OR from a two-handed Ready Position as noted. Two-handed shooting is permitted for all Stages.
(h)   After completing a string of fire, shooters should LOWER their weapon below their line of sight, SCAN the surrounding area for other threats. Once the SCAN is complete, shooters shall either HOLSTER and SECURE their handgun or remain at a Ready Position (as noted).
(i)   Reloading and any actions after the required number of rounds fired in a string are not timed.
(j)   A shooter must complete the entire course of fire once the first shot is fired during a qualification attempt. Shooters who do not complete the course of fire, or who do not achieve a PASS score, must fire the entire course again, not just the incomplete or failed portion.
(k)   STAGE ONE: 3 YARDS
1.   Draw and fire 3 rounds in 5 seconds: Lower, Scan, Holster & Secure.
2.   Draw and fire 3 rounds in 5 seconds: Lower, Scan, Ready Position.
3.   From Ready Position, fire 3 rounds in 4 seconds: Lower, Scan, Ready Position.
4.   From Ready Position, fire 3 rounds in 4 seconds: Lower, Scan, Holster & Secure.
(l)   STAGE TWO: 7 YARDS
1.   Draw and fire 4 rounds in 6 seconds: Lower, Scan, Holster & Secure.
2.   Draw and fire 4 rounds in 6 seconds: Lower, Scan, Holster & Secure.
3.   Draw and fire 4 rounds in 6 seconds: Lower, Scan, Holster & Secure.
(m)   STAGE THREE: 15 YARDS
(1)   Draw and fire 2 rounds in three seconds: Lower, Scan, Holster & Secure.
(2)   Draw and fire 2 rounds in three seconds: Lower, Scan, Holster & Secure.
(3)   Draw and fire 2 rounds in three seconds: Lower, Scan, UNLOAD and let the Instructor verify that the weapon is unloaded, Holster & Secure (unloaded).

Refresher Training:

According to the Renewal Application, refresher training is as follows:

*Renewal training requirement (every two years):  a minimum of 8 hours of refresher training from a certified trainer

*Annually:  a minimum of 2 hours of ANNUAL refresher Armed Security Officer training from a certified trainer.

Exam Requirement

According to 832-X-1-.08 Training. (1) General Training Requirement

1.   Successful completion of Board mandated training shall be determined by the attendee achieving an acceptable score on a written test related to the course subject matter or achieving an acceptable qualification score on a firearm qualification course.

80% Passage rate on combined classroom and range testing.

Child Support

According to Ala. Code §§ 30-3-170 through 30-3-179
Failure to comply with subpoenas or warrants relating to paternity or child support proceedings, may bring to a suspension or revocation of an occupational license

See: Alabama Code Title 30. Marital and Domestic Relations § 30-3-170

More Information

Alaska: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Alaska

Legislation/Source:

Alaska Statutes
Title 18. Health, safety, Housing, Human Rights, and Public Defender
Chapter 65. Police Protection
Article 5. Security Guards (Sec. 400 through 490)
And
Alaska Administrative Code
Title 13. Public Safety
Chapter 60. Licensing of Security Guards and Security Guard Agencies

Authorizing Department

Criminal Records and Identification (R&I) Bureau
Division of Statewide Services
State of Alaska, Department of Public Safety

5700 East Tudor Road
Anchorage, Alaska 99507
Phone: (907) 269-5511
Fax: (907)269-5091

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In Alaska, individual security guards are required to obtain a license.
The statute states a person may not be employed as a security guard or security guard agency until the person has obtained a license from the commissioner of public safety under AS 18.65.400 — 18.65.490.
See: AS 18.65.400

According to the Application form, the following fees and documentation must be included with the application:

  • $50   non-refundable application fee; submit a check or money order payable to the State of Alaska
  • $47   processing fee; submit a check or money order payable to the State of Alaska
  • Please see ‘Fingerprints’ for information on fingerprint processing fees.
  • Proof of insurance, a recent (within 30 days) photo, a set of classifiable fingerprints and a copy of the firearm qualifications/certification are required for initial licensure.
  • According to 13 AAC 60.085 an applicant for an armed security guard license must affirm that the applicant has not been and is not now disqualified from possessing a firearm, including as a condition of probation or parole;

Security guards licensed under AS 18.65.400 — 18.65.490 may not be armed with a firearm for the purpose of protecting property until they have completed firearms training acceptable to the commissioner.
See: AS 18.65.470

A licensee authorized to carry a firearm may not conceal the firearm on the licensee’s person unless the licensee holds a valid concealed handgun permit issued by this state, another state, or a political subdivision of another state.
See:13 AAC 06.100(f)

Renewals:  $50   Renewal application fee (after two years).  See Renewal Application Form.

Temporary License
Alaska permits a 30 day, non licensed period for security officers if meeting the requirements of the regulation below:

13 AAC 60.130.
Temporary security guard license Individual security guards may be employed by a licensed agency on a temporary basis
for a period not to exceed 30 days when the (1) agency has made reasonable and prudent inquiries to determine that the applicant
is qualified to be licensed; (2) completed application with application fee has been submitted to the department; and
(3) applicant’s temporary status has been noted on the application form by the agency manager.

Emergency Guards may also be hired to guard prisoners in narrow cases in accordance with the rules. An emergency guard may work without a license for 30 days.
The Regulations define the designation as:

13 AAC 62.900.
Definitions In this chapter (1) “emergency guard” means a person hired by a law enforcement agency on
behalf of the Department of Public Safety for not more than 30 consecutive days for the purpose of guarding prisoners.

 

 

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

Alaska has no reciprocity with any other state.

Age Requirements

The applicant must be at least 18 years of age.
See: 13 AAC 60.050(a)(3)

Citizenship

The applicant must be a United States citizen or resident alien with a work permit.
See: 13 AAC 60.050(a)(1)

Experience

Not Required

Exemptions

None

Permit Required

13 AAC 60.085. Armed Security Guard License
In addition to the requirements of 13 AAC 60.050 – 13 AAC 60.070, an applicant for an armed security guard license must

1. affirm that the applicant has not been and is not now disqualified from possessing a firearm, including as a condition of probation or parole;
2. have obtained, from an instructor certified as required under 13 AAC 60.110(f), at least eight hours of pre-assignment training in
(a) the use of firearms in compliance with state and federal statutes and regulations;
(b) handling firearms; and
(c) the safety and maintenance of firearms; and
3. demonstrate competence with any firearm that may be issued to the applicant; if a licensee fails to maintain competence with that firearm during an annual practice firing review, that individual’s license as an armed security guard is subject to revocation.

According to 13 AAC 60.085 (3):  Must re-qualify with a gun annually to maintain an armed license .

According to 13 AAC 06.100(f):  A licensee authorized to carry a firearm may not conceal the firearm on the licensee’s person unless the licensee holds a valid concealed handgun permit issued by this state, another state, or a political subdivision of another state.

Requirement to carry an ID card

13 AAC 60.070 Security Guard License
(a) Upon approval of the application, the department will issue a license identification card to the licensee, with the form and content of the card prescribed by the department. The license identification card remains the property of the state.

A licensee authorized to carry a firearm must be in company uniform while on duty and carrying the firearm (13 AAC 60.100 (e)).

Moral Character

13 AAC 60.060. Application for security guard license
(a)   Applications must be on a form provided by the department which will require furnishing of the following information:
(14)   three character references

According to the Application form at least one of the persons referenced must be a resident of Alaska, and not related to the applicant.

 

Fingerprint

According to the Application form, the applicant must submit one set of classifiable fingerprints.

Fees for fingerprints, according to The Division of Statewide Services FAQ are as follows:

  • The cost of a fingerprint based state background check is $35.
  • The cost of a fingerprint based state and national background check is $48.25

Substance Abuse

Affirmation must be provided showing that the applicant is neither addicted to nor dependent on alcohol, narcotics, or other drugs.
See: 13 AAC 06.050(4) and 13 AAC 60.050(17)

According to the DPS web site list of disqualifiers, “applicants are deemed to not meet qualifications if, within the last 5 years preceding their application, they have been convicted of any misdemeanors, whether or not your conviction was subsequently Set Aside or Vacated, that involves:
• Narcotics (ARS §13, Chapter 34, or similar)”

 

Mental Health

The applicant must provide affirmation to show that the applicant is not suffering from any psychopathic condition or mental illness impairing the powers of memory, reason, judgment, or perception.
See: 13 AAC 06.050(6) and 13 AAC 60.050(18)

Criminal History Background Check

The applicant must be an individual without a conviction, within 10 years before the date of application, for any crime classified as a felony in this state or another jurisdiction at the time the crime was committed, unless a full pardon has been granted.
See: 13 AAC 06.050(5)

The applicant must affirm that the applicant has not been and is not now disqualified from possessing a firearm, including as a condition of probation or parole.
See: 13 AAC 60.085(1)

The criminal background check is conducted by:

Criminal Records and Identification (R&I) Bureau
Division of Statewide Services
State of Alaska, Department of Public Safety
5700 East Tudor Road
Anchorage, Alaska 99507
Phone (907) 269 – 5640
Official Website

The criminal records search includes records from both the State of Alaska and the FBI.
See: Application form.

Personal References

13 AAC 60.060. Application for security guard license
(a)   Applications must be on a form provided by the department which will require furnishing of the following information:
(14)   three character references

According to the Application form. at least one of the
persons referenced must be a resident of Alaska.

Training Requirements

Pre-assignment training:  For armed security guards, applications must furnish proof of at least eight hours of general preassignment training specified in 13 AAC 60.110(a)  (see below) AND at least eight hours of firearms pre-assignment training in:

•   The use of firearms in compliance with state and federal statutes and regulations

•   Handling firearms

•   Safety and maintenance of firearms

Demonstrate competence with any firearm that may be issued to the applicant; if a licensee fails to maintain competence with that firearm during an annual practice firing review, that individual’s license as an armed security guard is subject to revocation.

13 AAC 60.110
All security guard applicants, before issuance of a temporary permit or submission of an application to the department, must have received at least eight hours of general preassignment training relating to their duties and responsibilities as a guard.

All are required to complete satisfactorily at least 40 hours of inservice training within 180 days after employment. Training must include, but need not be limited to

(1)   law of arrest;
(2)   law of search and seizure;
(3)   duties and responsibilities to the employer and client;
(4)   fire prevention;
(5)   first aid; and
(6)   patrol techniques.

All security guards must pass an annual refresher course of at least eight hours on the above topics. Failure to pass the refresher course may be grounds for revocation of a security guard license.

 

Exam Requirement

13 AAC 60.085 (3)
Demonstrate competence with any firearm that may be issued to the applicant; if a licensee fails to maintain competence with that firearm during an annual practice firing review, that individual’s license as an armed security guard is subject to revocation.

Child Support

Alaska Stat. § 25.27.244
Failure to comply with subpoenas or warrants relating to paternity or child support proceedings, may bring to a suspension or revocation of an occupational license

Upon request, the commissioner shall provide a social security number provided under (a) of this section to the child support services agency created in AS 25.27.010, or the child support enforcement agency of another state, for child support purposes authorized under law.
See: AS 18.65.410(b)

Arizona: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Arizona

Legislation/Source:

Arizona Revised Statutes
Title 32. Professions and Occupations
Chapter 26. Security Guards
And
Arizona Administrative Code
Title 13. Public Safety
Chapter 6. Department of Public Safety – Security Guards

Authorizing Department

DPS Public Services Center

Licensing Unit (Physical Address)

2222 W. Encanto Blvd
Phoenix, AZ 85009
Phone: (602) 223-2361
Fax: (602) 223-2938

Arizona Department of Public Safety

Licensing Unit (Mailing Address)

Mail Drop 3140
P.O. Box 6328
Phoenix, AZ 85005
Email: licensing@azdps.gov

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In Arizona, agencies are generally the licensed party while employees who wish to be Security Officers must register under these guidelines.
The rules indicate that the registration allows the applicant to work for any licensed security provider/agency.
In the proprietary security firm, there is no such requirement for the security officer. As in other states, the registration certificate is dependent on an actual or prospective offer
of employment from a licensed security provider.

A separate armed registration certificate is required for each job.
An additional Armed Security Guard registration certificate is needed for each agency for which you are employed. Expiration date will be the same as the unarmed registration certificate and each
card is personal to the applicant. If employment with an agency ends, the card may be shown to a future employer.
See: Armed Security Guard Registration

A security guard employee may not possess or carry a firearm while on official duty unless the employee is currently registered as an armed security guard and is authorized by the person’s employer to possess or carry the firearm.
See: ARS 32-2624.C

Fees:

•   New/Renew Unarmed Security Guard – $72.00 (Include the $50 registration certificate fee and the $22 fingerprint processing fee)
•   New/Renew Armed Security Guard – $122.00 (This covers the $100 registration certificate fee and the $22 fingerprint processing fee)

•   Upgrade from Unarmed to Armed Security Guard* – $50.00
•   Additional Armed Agency Card – $10.00
•   Reinstatement – $25.00
•   Card Replacement – $10.00
•   Expiration: Two years from date DPS processes application. If renewal is less than 90 days past expiration date, $10 late fee is added

See: Arizona Department of Public Safety Website

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

Arizona allows for reciprocal agreements between states with similar requirements. The code states in part:

See: 32-2610. Reciprocal agreements: recognition.
A. The department may enter into a reciprocal agreement with a state that has security guard qualification laws substantially similar to this chapter to allow a security guard registration to be used by the registrant within the jurisdiction of either this state or the other state. The department may enter into the agreement if the issuing authority for the other state meets all of the following conditions:

1. Issues a security guard identification card with an expiration date printed on the card.

2. Is available to verify the registration status for law enforcement purposes within three business days after a request for verification.

3. Has disqualification, suspension and revocation requirements for registrations.

4. Requires that the applicant for a registration submit to a criminal history records check pursuant to section 41-1750 and applicable federal law.

B. The department may recognize security guard registrations from states that have security guard qualification laws substantially similar to this chapter if the issuing authority for the other state meets all of the conditions prescribed in subsection A, paragraphs 1 through 4 of this section.

C. The reciprocal agreement or recognition shall be limited and is intended only to allow security guard agencies that maintain business operations in multiple states to use their security guards to meet temporary demands.  For a security guard from another state to work in this state, the department shall set appropriate restrictions that shall include the following provisions:

1. The security guard shall possess a security guard registration in good standing from another state.

2. The security guard shall be employed by a security guard agency licensed in this state that possesses a security guard agency license in both states in good standing.

3. The security guard shall work no more than thirty days in a calendar year in this state.

4. The security guard agency shall provide written notification to the department on a form provided by the department.

5. Security guards who possess only a temporary or provisional registration shall not be permitted to work in this state.

 

 

Age Requirements

•   Must be at least 18 years of age if applying to be an associate, security guard or armed security guard.

See: 32-2622

•   Each applicant, if an individual, or each associate, director or manager, if the applicant is other than an individual, for an agency license to be issued pursuant to this chapter shall be at least twenty-one years of age.

See: 32-2612

Citizenship

Must be a citizen or legal resident who is authorized to seek employment in the United States.
See: ARS 32-2622(2)

Experience

Not Required

Exemptions

•   Arizona peace officers are exempt from training requirements
•   Law enforcement officers working as security guards or traffic control officers from the laws governing security guards

ARS §32-2606
Registrations exceptions:

1.   An officer or employee of the federal government, this state or a political subdivision of this state while the officer or employee is performing official duties.

2.   An individual who performs security related work at:
(a)   A commercial nuclear generating station that is subject to federal regulatory requirements.
(b)   A company that is subject to department of defense regulatory requirements.

3.   A company that employs security guards solely for use of and service to itself and not for others and that complies with the following requirements:
(a)   If the company’s security guards are armed, each guard must complete sixteen hours of firearms training initially and complete an additional eight hours of refresher training each year thereafter.
(b)   If the security guard wears a uniform or badge, the uniform or badge must strictly conform to the standards established by the department pursuant to this chapter.
(c)   The company must annually submit an affidavit to the department that attests to the company’s compliance with its internal procedures that require a background investigation for each of its security guards.

4.   The Arizona rangers organization as identified in section 41-4201, or authorized persons performing official Arizona ranger duties when in the service of a nonprofit organization recognized under section 501(c)(3) of the internal revenue code.

According to ARS 32-2609: Good cause exceptions for misdemeanor and felony offenses:

A. If a person shows at a hearing to the board’s satisfaction that the person is not awaiting trial on or has not been convicted of committing any of the offenses listed in section 41-1758.03, subsection B, the board may grant a good cause exception for the following:

1. A misdemeanor offense if the person completed all terms of sentencing.
2. A felony offense if ten of more years have passed since the person completed all terms of sentencing.

B. Before granting a good cause exception at a hearing the board shall consider all of the following in accordance with board rule:

1. The extent of the person’s criminal record.
2. The length of time that has elapsed since the offense was committed.
3. The nature of the offense.
4. Evidence supporting any applicable mitigating circumstances.
5. Evidence supporting the degree to which the person participated in the offense.
6. Evidence supporting the extent of the person’s rehabilitation, including:

(a) Completion of probation, parole or community supervision.
(b) Whether the person paid restitution or other compensation for the offense.
(c) Evidence of positive action to change criminal behavior, such as completion of a drug treatment program or counseling.
(d) Personal references attesting to the person’s rehabilitation.

C. If seeking a good cause exception, at least five days before the hearing the applicant shall submit to the department any evidence the applicant will be presenting at the hearing.

 

Permit Required

A separate Armed registration certificate is required for each job.

If the agency is going to hire and/or train armed security guards, then the Qualifying Party must designate, in writing, the firearm-safety Instructor(s) for the agency.
See: Arizona Department of Public Safety, Security Guard Agency License

Requirement to carry an ID card

According to ARS §32-2623 every employee shall obtain a registration certificate.
The legislation is silent on the requirement to carry the registration certificate while on duty.

The security guard shall have the security guard’s identification card in the security guard’s possession and display it when requested by the Department or any peace officer.
See: ACC R-13-6-104.F

An armed security guard employed by more than one licensee shall pay the fee required under ACC R-13-6-103(A)(15) and obtain an identification card for each licensee under which the armed security guard is employed.
See: ACC R-13-6-104.D

Moral Character

No baseline requirement

Fingerprint

The applicant’s fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI. The procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or updating of your criminal history record are set forth in Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Section 16.34.

The fingerprint processing fee is $22.

Substance Abuse

ARS §13, Chapter 34
Use of narcotics is a disqualifier

Mental Health

You will be disqualified if:

•   you have been adjudicated mentally incompetent or found to constitute a danger to self or others, ARS §36-540.
•   you have a disability, which renders you incapable of performing essential functions of the job even with reasonable accommodation from the employer, ARS §41-1461.

Criminal History Background Check

According to  AR 32-2622Qualifications of applicant for associate, security guard or armed security guard registration certificate an applicant must:

3.  Not have been convicted of any felony or currently be under indictment for a felony.
4. Within the five years immediately preceding the application for an associate, security guard or armed security guard registration certificate, not have been convicted of any misdemeanor act involving:

(a) Personal violence or force against another person or threatening to commit any act of personal violence or force against another person.
(b) Misconduct involving a deadly weapon as provided in section 13-3102.
(c) Dishonesty or fraud.
(d) Arson.
(e) Theft.
(f) Domestic violence.
(g) A violation of title 13, chapter 34 or 34.1 or an offense that has the same elements as an offense listed in title 13, chapter 34 or 34.1.
(h) Sexual misconduct.

5. Not be on parole, on community supervision, on work furlough, on home arrest, on release on any other basis or named in an outstanding arrest warrant.

6. Not be serving a term of probation pursuant to a conviction for any act of personal violence or domestic violence, as defined in section 13-3601, or an offense that has the same elements as an offense listed in section 13-3601.

7. Not be either of the following:

(a) Adjudicated mentally incompetent.
(b) Found to constitute a danger to self or others pursuant to section 36-540.

8. Not have a disability as defined in section 41-1461, unless that person is a qualified individual as defined in section 41-1461.

9. Not have been convicted of acting or attempting to act as an associate, security guard or armed security guard without a license if a license was required.

10. Not be a registered sex offender.

In addition, for an Armed Security Guard you will be disqualified if::
•   If you have ever been convicted of any misdemeanor or felony involving domestic violence.
•   If you are a Prohibited Possessor as defined in ARS §13-3101 or as described in 18 United States Code section 922.:

Prohibited possessor” means any person:

(a) Who has been found to constitute a danger to self or to others or to have a persistent or acute disability or grave disability pursuant to court order pursuant to section 36-540, and whose right to possess a firearm has not been restored pursuant to section 13-925.
(b) Who has been convicted within or without this state of a felony or who has been adjudicated delinquent for a felony and whose civil right to possess or carry a firearm has not been restored.
(c) Who is at the time of possession serving a term of imprisonment in any correctional or detention facility.
(d) Who is at the time of possession serving a term of probation pursuant to a conviction for a domestic violence offense as defined in section 13-3601 or a felony offense, parole, community supervision, work furlough, home arrest or release on any other basis or who is serving a term of probation or parole pursuant to the interstate compact under title 31, chapter 3, article 4.1.
(e) Who is an undocumented alien or a nonimmigrant alien traveling with or without documentation in this state for business or pleasure or who is studying in this state and who maintains a foreign residence abroad. This subdivision does not apply to:

(i) Nonimmigrant aliens who possess a valid hunting license or permit that is lawfully issued by a state in the United States.
(ii) Nonimmigrant aliens who enter the United States to participate in a competitive target shooting event or to display firearms at a sports or hunting trade show that is sponsored by a national, state or local firearms trade organization devoted to the competitive use or other sporting use of firearms.
(iii) Certain diplomats.
(iv) Officials of foreign governments or distinguished foreign visitors who are designated by the United States department of state.
(v) Persons who have received a waiver from the United States attorney general.

(f) Who has been found incompetent pursuant to rule 11, Arizona rules of criminal procedure, and who subsequently has not been found competent.

(g) Who is found guilty except insane

•   If you were discharged from the armed services of the United States under other than honorable conditions.
•   If you were not convicted of any crime involving domestic
violence as defined in section 13-3601.
See: 32-2622 B

Personal References

Not applicable

Training Requirements

As required by ARS §32-2613 and ARS §32-2632, pre-assignment training must be provided to Security Guards (currently certified AZ peace officers are exempt from training requirements). The curriculum of your training program must cover:

•   Orientation
•   Criminal law and laws of arrest
•   Uniform and grooming
•   Communications
•   Use of force
•   General security guard procedures
•   Crime scene preservation and first response
•   Ethics
•   Emergency response procedures
See: Full curriculum outline

Refresher Training:  The qualifying party of a security guard agency shall ensure that a person employed as a security guard by the agency completes eight hours of refresher training before renewing the security guard’s registration certificate. The curriculum consists of:
•   Criminal law and laws of arrest,
•   Use of force,
•   General security guard procedures,
•   Crime scene preservation and first response,
•   Ethics, and
•   Emergency response procedures.
See: R13-6-602

Firearms Training:  The qualifying party of a security guard agency shall ensure that in addition to completing the pre-assignment training described in R13-6-601 and refresher training described in R13-6-602, a security guard who will use a firearm within the scope of the security guard’s employment with the agencycompletes:
1. Sixteen hours of initial firearms-safety instruction before being assigned to a position requiring that a firearm be carried, and
2. Eight hours of annual refresher firearms-safety instruction in the use of the weapon used by the security guard before renewing the security guard’s registration certificate.
See: R13-6-603

The qualifying party shall ensure that firearms-safety training is provided by an instructor who is certified by the Department under R13-6-702 and uses the curriculum established by the
Department

See: R13-6-603

Armed training is only valid for one calendar year. The signed armed refresher training certification form must be provided to DPS. This must be received at DPS no later than January 5 of the following year.

If the Armed Security Guard firearms refresher training is not received by DPS for each calendar year, then your Armed Security Guard registration certificate(s) may be suspended. To reinstate your armed guard card, you will have to provide an armed training verification form showing 16 hours of armed training.

Exam Requirement

Not required

Child Support

Ariz. Rev. Stat. §§ 25-517 through 25-519; Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 32-3701
Failure to comply with subpoenas or warrants relating to paternity or child support proceedings, may bring to a suspension or revocation of an occupational license.

More Information

Arkansas: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Arkansas

Legislation/Source:

Arkansas Code Title 17 ‐ Professions, Occupations, and Businesses
Subtitle 2 ‐ Nonmedical Professions
Chapter 40 ‐ Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies
And
Department of Arkansas State Police Rules for Licensing and Regulation of Private Investigators, Private Security Agencies, Alarm Systems Companies, Polygraph Examiners, and Voice Stress Analysis Examiners

Authorizing Department

Arkansas State Police
One State Police Plaza Drive
Little Rock, AR 72209
Phone:501-618-8600
Email: info@asp.arkansas.gov
Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In Arkansas full licensure is reserved to security businesses alone. Individuals employed by such licensed business are required to obtain “Credentials”, an authorization granted by the Department of Arkansas State Police to an individual to perform the duties of a private security officer.

The Private Security Officer(PSO) is the unarmed officer while the state designated the Commissioned Security Officer(CSO) as the armed officer.

Arkansas Code §17-40-102(11) provides the following definition of the CSO:
“Commissioned security officer” means a private security officer to whom an authorization to carry a firearm in the course of his or her employment has been issued by the director.

If a licensee hires an individual required to be credentialed by the Department, the licensee must file an application to obtain a credential for the employee within 14 days of the hire.
See: Rule 2.13 New Employees.

Armed proprietary security officers are not required to obtain credentials from the department. The code states:
If the security department of a private business or school hires or employs an individual in the capacity of a commissioned security officer or commissioned school security officer, the security department of the private business or school is not required to make application to the Department of Arkansas State Police for any license under this chapter.
See: AR Code §17-40-103( b)(1)

Fees:
$40.00 – Application Fee
$22.00 – State Background Check Fee
$11.25 – Federal Background Check Fee
$1.00 – Federal Background/INA Fee
$2.00 – Federal Background Check Fee
$76.25 Total

See: CSO Application Form

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

ARKANSAS CLEARLY PROHIBITS ANY SECURITY SERVICES WITHOUT LICENSURE BY ITS LICENSING AUTHORITY.

§17-40-301 (a) (2)
License required. It shall be unlawful Perform any service as or engage in the business or business activity of a security services contractor or alarm systems company unless the person has obtained a license as a securities services contractor or alarm systems company under this chapter.

Age Requirements

Applicant must be at least 21 years of age.
See: AR Code §17-40-337(a)(1)

Citizenship

US citizen or legal resident. According to the application, for a non-US citizen, the person must be able to provide proof of eligibility to work in the U.S.

See: CSO Application Form

Experience

None required

Exemptions

The exemptions listed under §17-40-103, are as follows:
(a)   This chapter does not apply to:
(1) A person employed exclusively and regularly by one (1) employer in connection with the affairs of that employer only and where there exists an employer-employee relationship;
(2) An officer or employee of the United States, of this state, or of a political subdivision of either, while the employee or officer is engaged in the performance of official duties;
(3) A person not in the employ of another law enforcement officer and who has part-time or full-time employment as a law enforcement officer and who is certified by the Arkansas Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training as a law enforcement officer and receives compensation for private employment on an individual or an independent contractor basis as a patrolman, guard, or watchman if the person is:
(A) Employed in an employee-employer relationship; or
(B) Employed on an individual contractual basis

See: AR Code §17-40-103 for a full list of exemptions.

Training exemption: According to the PSO Application  and Rule 10.6, certified law enforcement officers are exempt from the training requirements. The officer must be a current, active law enforcement officer.

Permit Required

The Director of the Department of Arkansas State Police may determine the qualifications for and issue an authorization to carry a firearm in the form of a commission to a qualified security officer or qualified school security officer that shall be held during the course of his or her employment.
See: AR Code §17-40-330

Requirement to carry an ID card

Rule 5.5. Identification – All licensed, credentialed, or commissioned individuals shall wear their pocket identification or credential card in plain sight while performing any functiondescribed in A.C.A. § 17-40-102 and produce said card upon request in such a manner thatenables the requestor to identify the licensee, credential holder, or commission holder.

Moral Character

A.C.A. § 17-40-307 (a) (8-9) An application for a license or credential under this chapter shall be in the form prescribed by the Director of the Department of Arkansas State Police and shall include:

(8) A verified statement disclosing any record of arrests, pending criminal charges, or convictions of the applicant of a felony, Class A misdemeanor, a crime involving an act of violence, or any crime involving moral turpitude, including those that have been sealed or expunged;

(9) Information that may be required by the director that would show that the applicant is honest, trustworthy, and of good character.

Fingerprint

The applicant shall submit two classifiable sets of fingerprints.
See: AR Code §17-40-307(a)(6)

The applicant’s fingerprints must be submitted to be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI as noted on the PSO application.

Rule 2.6.Fingerprinting for initial application – In the event a legible and classifiable set of fingerprints cannot be obtained, as determined by the Division or the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the applicant shall be contacted and shall be required to be fingerprinted again. After two (2) unsuccessful fingerprint card submissions, a name search through the FBI will be conducted. Electronic capture of the fingerprints of the applicant on a device and in a manner approved by the Director is allowed. The Director shall determine the applicant’s eligibility for licensing only after successful completion of the FBI fingerprint-based check.

Substance Abuse

Under Arkansas Code §17-40-306(a)(5), the applicant must: “[n]ot be suffering from habitual drunkenness or from narcotics addiction or dependence.” See also Arkansas Code § 17-40-337(a)(9).

Mental Health

The applicant must not have been adjudicated as mentally incompetent or have been involuntarily committed to a mental institution or to a mental health treatment facility.
See: AR Code §17-40-306(a)(5)

Criminal History Background Check

A commission as a commissioned security officer or a commissioned school security officer shall not be issued under this chapter to an individual who:
2)   Has been found guilty of or who has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any of the following offenses, whether or not those offenses have been sealed or expunged:
(A)  An offense listed under § 17-40-306(d);
(B)   A crime involving the use of a firearm; or
(C)   A crime involving the use of alcohol while in possession of a firearm;
See: AR Code §17-40-337(a)(2)

The Director of the Department of Arkansas State Police may deny, suspend, or revoke a commission as a commissioned school security officer or a commission as a commissioned security officer if the applicant for a commission or the commission holder is indicted or arrested for one (1) of the following offenses or a comparable offense in another state:
(1)   A felony;
(2)   A Class A misdemeanor;
(3)   A crime involving an act of violence;
(4)   A crime involving the use of a firearm;
(5)   A crime involving the use of alcohol or drugs while in possession of a firearm;
(6)   A crime that results in the person’s disqualifying himself or herself from legally possessing a firearm under state or federal law; or
(7)   A crime involving moral turpitude.
See: AR Code §17-40-344

Personal References

None

Training Requirements

Rule 10.3. Phase I – the training requirements for Phase I must be taught to all PSO, CSO, and CSSO applicants and shall consist of eight (8) hours minimum on the following subjects:

(a) Legal Authority

(i) Legal authority of PSOs;
(ii) Classification of crimes;
(iii) Arrests and detentions by PSOs;
(iv) Use of force, including:

(1) Non-deadly force;
(2) Deadly force;
(3) Civil penalties; and
(4) Criminal penalties.

(v) Case studies and discussion;

(1) Common crimes encountered by PSOs;
(2) Other crimes; and
(3) Appropriate actions for PSOs.

(vi) Company/site/account specific legal issues – discussion geared toward the specific legal issues relating to the type of property to which the PSO is assigned (e.g. college, school, university, hotel, bar, etc.); and
(vii) A.C.A. §§ 17-40-101, et seq. and these Rules, including:

(1) Purpose of the statute;
(2) Who is covered by the statute;
(3) Definitions;
(4) Minimum qualifications for PSOs, CSOs, and CSSOs, including, but
not limited to:

a. Disqualifying factors;
b. Fee structure; and
c. Renewals.

(5) PSO, CSO, and CSSO responsibilities;
(6) Key provisions of the statute, including:

a. Training requirements;
b. Reporting requirements; and
c. Penalties for violations.

(b) Field Note Taking and Report Writing

(i) Importance and purpose of reports;
(ii) Required equipment and an explanation of importance;
(iii) Notebook contents and an explanation of importance;
(iv) The six (6) most important questions that must be answered by a report;
(v) A review of basic English grammar, and writing skills; and
(vi) Practical exercises, such as:

(1) A review of several examples of well written reports;
(2) A review of several examples of poorly written reports; and
(3) Practice of writing one or more reports and critique by the instructor.

 

Rule 10.4. Phase II – In addition to Phase I training, the training requirements for Phase II must be taught to all CSO and CSSO applicants and shall consist of sixteen (16) hours minimum (at least eight (8) hours in the classroom and eight (8) hours on the firing range) on the following subjects:

(a) Use of Deadly Force and Arkansas Law

(i) Relevant statutes and case law;
(ii) Discussion about fleeing individuals;
(iii) Discussion of the criminal ramifications of firing a warning shot;
(iv) Criminal penalties;
(v) Civil penalties; and
(vi) Other considerations.

(b) Weapons and Safety

(i) Fundamental firearm safety;
(ii) Weapons nomenclature;
(iii) Cleaning and maintenance;
(iv) Storage; and
(v) Weapon retention.

(c) Live Fire Training, Marksmanship, and Qualifications

(i) Range procedures and range safety;
(ii) Fundamentals of firearms;
(iii) Holster drills;
(iv) Movement drills;
(v) Dry fire exercises;
(vi) Clearing stoppages;
(vii) Practice and evaluation;
(viii) Tactical and emergency reloading;
(ix) Pistol qualification course – the course must mirror the Arkansas Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training (www.clest.org) firearms qualification course; and
(x) Rifle or shotgun qualification course – required if a CSO is required to carry a rifle or shotgun during the course of their employment – the course must mirror the www.clest.orgrifle/shotgun qualification course.

See: CSO Training Pages.

See: The Security Guard License Guide for more details.

Prove of successful completion of the training has to be provided with the application.
See: CSO Application

 

REFRESHER TRAINING:

Rule 10.9. Renewal training requirements – renewal training for a PSO, CSO, or CSSO is required every two (2) years and must be completed within the twelve (12) month period prior to renewal. Renewal training must be completed and the applicant must submit certification that the renewal training requirements have been met before a credential or commission will be renewed. An individual may count completed hours of renewal training toward the minimum hours of refresher training required to be completed each year.

Rule 10.11. Renewal training requirements for CSOs – the training requirements for renewal of a CSO commission shall consist of a minimum of twelve (12) hours. The training shall include, but not be limited to, the subjects found in Phase I and Phase II, as described in Rule 10.4 and Rule 10.5, above. The renewal training shall include firing range qualification on an ALETA qualification course and a safety course.

Exam Requirement

Rule 10.1. Commissioned Security Officer (CSO) – An applicant for a CSO credential must complete Phase I and Phase II training requirements and pass an examination administered by the Training Administrator, Assistant Training Administrator, or Trainer

Rule 10.16. PSO, CSO, and CSSO examination – An applicant for a credential or commission under this Section must demonstrate his or her qualifications by successfully completing an examination developed and administered by a Training Administrator or Assistant Training Administrator covering A.C.A. § 17-40-101, et seq. and these Rules.

(a) The length and topics covered by the examination are as follows:

(ii) CSO examination – minimum of one hundred (100) questions on the subjects found in Phase I and Phase II as described in Rule 10.3 and Rule 10.4, above.
(iii) CSSO examination – minimum of 120 questions on the subjects found in Phase I, Phase II, and Phase III as described in Rule 10.3, Rule 10.4, and Rule 10.5, above.

(b) The applicant must take the examination in person. If the applicant is a partnership or corporation, the manager and any branch manager must take the examination.
(c) Scoring seventy percent (70%) or above on the examination constitutes successful completion.
(d) If an applicant fails to successfully complete the required examination he or she:

(i) Must wait five 5 working days to be eligible to retake the test; and
(ii) Pay a re-examination fee of $50.00 if the test is administered by the Division.

(e) Failure to successfully complete the examination after two (2) attempts shall result in cancellation of the pending application. Upon cancellation, the applicant must re-apply as a new applicant and is subject to pay the required application fees.

 

 

Child Support

The Department is required by Arkansas Law to suspend a license, credential, or commission if so ordered by the Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE).
See: Rule 6.5 Suspension for non-payment of child support

California: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for California

Legislation/Source:

California Business and Professions Code
Chapter 11.4 Proprietary Security Services, Sections 7574-7576
Chapter 11.5 Private Security Services, Sections 7580-7596
And
Barclays Official California Code of Regulations
Title 16. Professional and Vocational Regulations
Division 7. Bureau of Security and Investigative Services

Alerts

In October 2021, California Governor Gavin Newsom signed AB 229 into law. Among other things, this new law expands the duty of California Private Patrol Operators (PPOs) to report “incidents” that occur by security officers on duty. Not only does it greatly enlarge the obligation and the circumstances of reporting, but citations for failure to report have just increased from $1,000 per violation to $5,000 per violation. This requirement took effect immediately.

The New Rule:

The Private Security Services Act, Business & Professions Code § 7583.2 now requires a written Incident Report to BSIS within 7 business days of the occurrence of any of the following:

  1.  Discharge of a Firearm
  2.  Physical altercation with a member of the public while on duty that results in any of the following:

-Arrest of a security guard.
-Filing of a police report by a member of the public.
-Member of the public requiring any type of first aid or other medical attention.
-The discharge, suspension, or reprimand of a security guard by their employer.
-Any physical use of force or violence on any person while on duty.

 

The new law also adds a requirement for Use of Force Training.  This piece of the legislation will take effect in 2023.

Authorizing Department

California Department of Consumer Affairs
Bureau of Security and Investigative Services

P.O. Box 989002
West Sacramento, CA 95798-9002

Phone: (916) 322-4000

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

A registered Security Guard may obtain a firearms permit from the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services (BSIS)

The Bureau of Security and Investigative Services (BSIS or Bureau) issues Firearms Permits (also referred to as a “Firearms Qualification Card (FQ)” or “Exposed Firearms Permit”) as specified in Article 4 (commencing with Section 7540) of Chapter 11.3, Article 4 (commencing with Section 7583) of Chapter 11.5 and Article 6 (commencing with Section 7596) of Chapter 11.6 of Division 3 of the Business and Professions Code (BPC).
See: Firearms Permit Fact Sheet

 

Effective July 1, 2018, a BSIS security guard registrant seeking an initial BSIS firearms permit must complete an assessment for the purposes of determining whether he/she possesses, at the time of the assessment, appropriate judgment, restraint, and self-control to carry a firearm while on duty (Business and Professions Code Sections 7583.23 and 7583.47).

California permits both paper and online applications for registration purposes.

Fees:
$100   Fee for firearms permit
Fee for fingerprints:
$118   Fee for DOJ and FBI processing
$38   Fee for DOJ firearm eligibility application, plus Live Scan site fee.
$98   Fee for renewal; permit must be renewed every two years

See: See: Firearms Permit Fact Sheet

A Proprietary Security Officer are not permitted to carry a deadly weapon.
See Prorpietary Security Officer FAQ

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

To be eligible for a BSIS Firearms Permit, applicants must complete and submit the Firearms Permit Initial Application to the Bureau.
See: Firearms Permit Fact Sheet

Age Requirements

To be eligible for a BSIS Firearms Permit, applicants must be at least 21 years of age (BPC Sections 7542.2, 7583.23, and 7596.3).

See: Firearms Permit Fact Sheet

Citizenship

To be eligible for a BSIS Firearms Permit, applicants must be a citizen of the United States or have permanent legal alien status (BPC Sections 7542.2, 7583.23, and 7596.3)

See: Firearms Permit Fact Sheet

Experience

None

Exemptions

As stated in the California Department of Consumer Affairs, Bureau of Security and Investigative Services Firearms Training Manual:

1.   An active duty peace officer may carry an exposed or concealed weapon while on duty as a security guard provided all of the following conditions are satisfied: The peace officer is employed as a security guard and is either on the pay-roll (paid on a W-2) of a private patrol operator (i.e. paid with a W-2), or is employed by a proprietary private security employer (i.e. such as in-house security) and is an employee (not a subcontractor) of the employer (i.e. a VIP being protected). Firearm Training Manual 17 While on duty as an armed security guard, the peace officer must possess a guard registration card and an exposed weapon permit issued by the bureau. An active duty peace officer is not required to complete the Bureau’s firearm course nor satisfy the bureau’s twice-a-year range requalifications. An active duty or level I or II reserve peace officer is exempt from the training and the requalifying requirements as long as they are required to requalify with their law enforcement employer. An active duty peace officer who contracts to provide armed security services must possess a private patrol operator’s license issued by the bureau.

2.   An honorably retired peace officer with an endorsement from a law enforcement agency to carry a concealed weapon may carry a concealed weapon while on duty as a private patrol operator (qualified manager), security guard, private investigator (qualified manager), alarm company qualified manager or alarm agent, provided that he/she has a valid private patrol operator license, security guard registration, private investigator license, alarm company qualified manager license or alarm agent registration, and a valid firearm permit issued by the bureau. Retired peace officers must complete the bureau’s course of fire and the twice-a-year requalification requirements.

3.   Reserve peace officers authorized and qualified by their agency to carry a firearm are exempt from completing the twice-a-year two-hour course review and range requalifications. Reserve peace officers not authorized and qualified to carry a firearm while on duty must complete the twice-a-year course review and the range requalifications (California Code of Regulations, Section 633(e)). Reserve peace officers must submit proof from their agency that they are authorized and qualified to carry a firearm in order to be exempt from the requalification requirements.

Permit Required

A Bureau of Security and Investigative Services Firearms Permit is required.

See: Instructions on how to obtain and comply with firearms laws and regulations

Requirement to carry an ID card

California requires a Photo ID for Security Officer Registrants.
See Bureau of Security and Investigative Services Photo ID Card Instructions

California also requires Security Guards to carry a Guard Card.
See: How to obtain a Guard Card

Moral Character

No baseline requirement

Fingerprint

Applicants for a BSIS Firearms Permit must submit their fingerprints electronically through the Live Scan system to the FBI and the DOJ.

See here for the Security Guard Request for Live Scan Form
See here for the Live Scan Locations

Mental Health

A new law went into effect on July 1, 2018 that requires a BSIS security guard registrant seeking to associate a BSIS Firearms Permit to the guard registration to complete an assessment to demonstrate that they are capable, at the time the assessment is completed, of demonstrating appropriate judgment, restraint and self-control for the purposes of carrying and using a firearm when performing security guard duties. (Business and Professions Code Section 7583.23 and 7583.47).

NOTE: Effective January 1, 2022, the assessment must be completed prior to submitting an Application for an Initial Firearms Permit. This is a significant change. Prior practice was to take the assessment AFTER you applied; as of January 1, 2022, you must take it PRIOR to applying for a firearms permit.

Criminal History Background Check

Applicants must undergo a criminal history background check through the FBI and the DOJ.

Applicants for a BSIS Firearms Permit must not be prohibited from owning or possessing any firearm pursuant to State or Federal Law.

In addition to completing the required Live Scan, applicants must also complete and submit the Firearm Eligibility Application to DOJ and pay the $38.00 application fee to the Live Scan operator.
See here for the Security Guard Firearm Request for Live Scan Form
See here for the Live Scan Locations

Personal References

Not required

Training Requirements

Required Training Courses (BPC Sections 7542, 7574.18, 7583.5, 7583.6, 7583.7, 7583.8, 7583.23, and 7596)
Applicants for a BSIS Firearms Permit must complete the following training:

Power to Arrest
(1)   Responsibilities and ethics in citizen arrest.
(2)   Relationship between a security guard and a peace officer in making an arrest.
(3)   Limitations on security guard power to arrest.
(4)   Restrictions on searches and seizures.
(5)   Criminal and civil liabilities.
    (A)   Personal liability.
    (B)   Employer liability.
(6)   Trespass law.
(7)   Ethics and communications.
(8)   Emergency situation response, including response to medical emergencies.
(9)   Security officer safety.
(10)   Any other topic deemed appropriate by the bureau.

See the Power to Arrest Training Manual

  BSIS Firearms Training and Qualifications
•   Moral and Legal Aspects
•   Firearms Nomenclature and Maintenance
•   Weapon Handling and Shooting Fundamentals
•   Range Preparation
•   Range Training
•   Range Qualification

See the Firearms Training Manual for a detailed outline of firearm training.

Exam Requirement

See BSIS Firearms Training Manual dated January 2022

Written Firearms Exam Scoring Instructions: The BSIS Firearms Training Written Examination is worth 52 points. There are 50 written questions worth one-point each plus two handgun diagrams with each diagram worth one-point each. The applicant must correctly label each part of a handgun diagram to receive the one-point credit for that diagram. If one item is incorrectly labeled, the applicant does not get a point for the diagram. To pass the exam, the applicant must obtain a score of 85% or higher. An 85% score equals 44 correct responses. To determine an applicant’s percentage score, divide the total number of correct responses by 52.
See: Firearms Permit Initial Application

Written Firearms Examination Requirement to Renew: A condition for renewal is the applicant passing the written Firearms Examination in the BSIS Firearms Training Manual with a score of 85% or greater. The law does not specify during which qualification the applicant must complete the written exam. The Bureau recommends the applicant take it in the second 12-month period of the current permit term.
See: Firearms Permit Renewal Application

Child Support

According to California § 11350.6:
The state may suspend any occupational or professional license for failure to pay child support

Colorado: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Colorado

Legislation/Source:

Colorado Springs City Code
Chapter 2 – Business Licensing, Liquor Regulation and Taxation
Article 3 – Sales of Goods and Services
Part 2 Private Security Services

Authorizing Department

Colorado Springs City Clerk’s Office
30 South Nevada Avenue, Suite 101

Colorado Springs, Colorado 80903
Phone: (719) 385-5901
Fax: (719) 385-5114

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

Note: Colorado: There are no state level requirements to obtain a security guard license in Colorado. Information on working as a security guard in Colorado can be found at the local county clerk’s office. This is an example of security guard requirements for Colorado Springs, Colorado

In Colorado Springs no person shall act as a private security officer within the City limits without first obtaining a license.
See: Colorado Springs City Code 2.3.203

The application for licensure must be completed by the employer and submitted to the City Clerk’s Office.
See: Application Form

The firearm/CEW endorsement shall authorize a licensed private security officer to carry a firearm/CEW only when providing or performing security services as a duty of the officer’s employment with a contract security agency.
See: Colorado Springs City Code 2.3.210

 

Colorado Springs City Code 2.1.507
•   Annual license fee: $110
•   Late renewal fee: $55
•   Duplicate license fee: $5

Security Licenses are valid for one year from the date of issuance or renewal.
See: Security License Website
See: Colorado Springs City Code 2.3.211(B)

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

No person shall operate a contract security agency or act as a private security officer within the City limits without first obtaining a license.
See: Colorado Springs City Code 2.3.203 (A)

Age Requirements

Colorado Springs City Code 2.3.204
Applicant must be 21 years of age to receive a firearm endorsement

Citizenship

Every application for an original or renewal private security officer license shall contain the following:
1. A list of the residence addresses of the applicant for the five (5) years prior to the date of application;
2. A statement of the work history of the applicant for the five (5) years prior to the date of application.
See: Colorado Springs City Code 2.3.210(A)

Experience

No baseline requirement

Exemptions

According to Colorado State Law Title 18:

Colorado allows a person to carry a firearm in a vehicle if its use is for lawful protection of such person or another’s person or property. [C.R.S. 18-12-105(2)] Colorado law also allows a person to possess a handgun in a dwelling, place of business, or automobile. However, when you carry the weapon into your home, business, hotel room, etc. it must be in plain view. Local jurisdictions may not enact laws that restrict a person’s ability to travel with a weapon. [C.R.S. 18-12-105.6]

The Act permits the nationwide carrying of concealed handguns by qualified current and retired law enforcement officers and amends the Gun Control Act of 1968 (Pub. L. 90-618, 82 Stat. 1213) to exempt qualified current and retired law enforcement officers from state and local laws prohibiting the carry of concealed firearms.

Permit Required

No permit required, but there is a “firearm endorsement” required to be an armed security guard.

The holder of a temporary permit shall be prohibited from obtaining a firearm endorsement until the private security officer license is issued.
See: Colorado Springs City Code 2.3.212(A)

Requirement to carry an ID card

Colorado Springs City Code 2.3.211 Private Security Officer Licenses
A. Each private security officer shall be issued a license in the form of an identification card. The identification card shall contain the name, a recent photograph of the private security officer, the expiration date, the number of the license, the signature of the private security officer, and the name of the private security officer’s employer. Every licensed private security officer shall keep the City Clerk’s Office informed of the correct name, residence address, and employer and shall notify the City Clerk’s Office within ten (10) days of any change in name, residence address or employer.

C. Each identification card shall be on the person of the licensee at all times the licensee is working in the capacity of a private security officer and shall be exhibited upon request by a peace officer, the Deputy Licensing Officer or the Deputy Licensing Officer’s designee.

Moral Character

Each applicant shall be of good moral character verified through

•   License History
•   General Personal History

Fingerprint

Not required

Substance Abuse

No baseline requirement

Mental Health

No baseline requirement

Criminal History Background Check

Colorado Springs City Code 2.3.214 Denial, Suspension or Revocation of License:

A private security officer license may be denied, suspended or revoked if the applicant or a principal of the applicant:

1.   Has been convicted of a felony in this State or any other state, or of a crime in any other state which, if committed in this State, would be a felony;

2.   Has been convicted of three (3) or more criminal misdemeanor violations within a five (5) year period;

3.   Has made a willful misrepresentation in applying for and obtaining a license;

4.   Has been previously denied a license under this part or has had a license issued under this part suspended or revoked;

5.   Was a principal of a contract security agency whose license was revoked, unless the Deputy Licensing Officer determines that the principal was not responsible for the misconduct underlying the revocation;

6.   Has been convicted of operating without a license under this part or performing any act for which a license is required under this part; or

7.   Has violated any of the provisions of this General Licensing Code.

Colorado Springs City Code 2.3.210 (B)(1):
The applicant for a firearm endorsement must have no convictions of federal, state or local laws relating to domestic violence or weapons, firearms, domestic abuse violations or offenses related to unlawful sexual behavior.

Personal References

Not required

Training Requirements

In addition to the requirements to be a security guard, there are training requirements to have a firearm endorsement.

Colorado Springs City Code 2.3.213:
1.   Prior to issuance of a firearm endorsement to a private security officer license, the applicant shall provide a certificate of completion of a firearm safety and familiarization course provided by a National Rifle Association (NRA) or Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) certified instructor. The firearms training certificate shall identify the courses taken, the number of training and range hours obtained, identify the issuing contract security agency, the applicant’s name, name of the NRA or POST instructor providing the training and the dates of training.

2.   A firearm endorsement shall only be issued to individuals obtaining a minimum qualifying written and range proficiency score of seventy five percent (75%) acquired within the last six (6) months and a letter of authorization to carry a firearm from the contract security agency.

3.   The firearm safety and familiarization certificate shall indicate the applicant completed at least sixteen (16) hours of basic firearms training which includes a minimum of nine (9) hours of classroom instruction, a minimum of four (4) hours of live fire practice, followed by a minimum of three (3) hours on the weapons qualification course. If the applicant desires to carry a concealed weapon, the certificate shall indicate the applicant completed at least an additional four (4) hours of concealed firearms training which includes a minimum of one hour of classroom instruction which may include practical application instruction and a minimum of three (3) hours of live fire practice utilizing the concealed carry holster that the private security officer will carry on duty.

4.   In addition to the training required by subsection A of this section, private security officer firearm and familiarization training shall, at a minimum, include:

a. Criminal procedure law;
b. Moral and legal aspects of firearm use;
c. Use of physical and deadly force;
d. State and local laws, codes and ordinances relating to weapons and the use of force;
e. Handgun safety, nomenclature, operation and maintenance;
f. Emergency procedures;
g. Weapons handling;
h. Marksmanship fundamentals; and
i. Range instruction, qualification and examination.

Exam Requirement

Certificate Of Completion: Prior to issuance of a private security officer license, the applicant shall provide a certificate of completion of a basic security officer training program with a minimum seventy five percent (75%) score. The training certificate shall identify the courses taken, the number of training hours obtained, identify the issuing contract security agency, the applicant’s name, name of the instructor providing the training and the dates of training.
See: Colorado Springs City Code 2.3.213(A)(1)

A firearm endorsement shall only be issued to individuals obtaining a minimum qualifying written and range proficiency score of seventy five percent (75%) acquired within the last six (6) months and a letter of authorization to carry a firearm from the contract security agency.
See: Colorado Springs City Code 2.3.213(B)(2)

Child Support

Under Colo. Rev. Stat. § 26-13-123, the state may take away any occupational or professional license if child support has not been paid

Connecticut: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Connecticut

Legislation/Source:

Connecticut Code Chapter 534: Private Detectives and Security Services (Sec 29-152u to 29-161aa)

Authorizing Department

Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, CT 06457
Phone: (860) 685-8190
Special Firearms Licensing Unit Phone: (860) 685-8290

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

Connecticut is another jurisdiction that allows employers to register as many employees as needed and thereby assure compliance with state
requirements for being a security officer.
Prospective or actual employees must apply for a security officer identification card and until received cannot be registered.
The security officer applicant must complete all required training before the issuance of the identification card.

Any person hired to work, as a security officer shall be certified as a security officer prior to
being registered.

The employee shall complete a minimum of eight (8) hours training,
the security officer will be issued an identification card from the
Department of Public Safety. This security officer’s identification card will have five (5) year
expiration and must be carried on their person while on the job site.

To obtain a security officer’s identification card, you must complete the following requirements:
•   Standard application (DPS-135-C) – email dps.spec.licensing@po.state.ct.us to obtain the form.
•   Two color photographs, 2″x2″ (passport style)
•   Set of fingerprint cards (one (1) blue-FBI and one (1) green-State of Connecticut Applicant)
•   Copy of current Connecticut Drivers License
•   Papers of Naturalization, if applicable
•   Fees:
    $100.00   Registration fee
    $13.25   FBI Background inquiry fee
    $75.00   State of Connecticut Background Inquiry

See: Administrative Directives for Security Officer’s Training Certification Identification Card

C.G.S 29-161q states “Immediately upon hiring a security officer, the security service employing such
security officer shall apply to register such security officer with the Commissioner of Public Safety.”

The registration of security officers will consist of the following:
•   Standard application Form DPS-688-C (DOC)
•   Two color photographs, 2″x2″ (passport style)
•   Registration fee of $40.00
•   Copy of Security Officers Identification Card

See: Administrative Procedures for Registering Security Officers

To obtain a Security Office Firearms Permit, applicants must possess a valid
Connecticut State Pistol Permit and must be certified as a security officer and must have a security officer identification card.

The statute states in part:
No employee of a licensed security service and no employee hired by a firm or corporation to perform work as a security officer may carry a pistol, revolver or other firearm while on duty or directly en route to or from such employment unless such employee obtains a special permit from the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection.
See: C.G.S. 29-161z(a)

Fee:
$62.00 application fee
See: Firearms Permit Endorsement
See: Information on the State Pistol Permit requirements

Temporary Licensure
Security Officer license applicants may temporarily work without a fully approved license as long as the applicant has filed
the required documentation, completed training and been assessed for criminal background check and verification.
There are limitations to this discretionary temporary status. For the full regulations, see Section (H) at:

(h) During the time that an application for a license as a security officer is pending with the commissioner, the applicant may perform the duties of
security officer, provided (1) the security service employing the applicant conducts, or has a consumer reporting agency regulated under
the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act conduct, a state and national criminal history records check and determines the applicant meets the
requirements of subsection (c) of this section to be a security officer, and (2) the applicant (A) successfully completed the training required
pursuant to subsection (b) of this section, or obtained a waiver of such training, and (B) performs the duties of a security officer under the direct
on-site supervision of a licensed security officer with at least one year of experience as a licensed security officer. The applicant shall not perform
such duties at a public or private preschool, elementary or secondary school or at a facility licensed and used exclusively as a child care center, as
described in subdivision (1) of subsection (a) of section 19a-77. The applicant shall cease to perform such duties pursuant to this subsection when the
commissioner grants or denies the pending application for a security license under this section.

See: Connecticut Code

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

An instate license is required.

Age Requirements

According to Statutes of Connecticut (CGS) Chapter 534 § 29-161q:

The applicant must be at least 21 years of age

Citizenship

The regulation is silent, but the Employee/guard registration form asks about Citizenship or naturalization.

Experience

No baseline requirement

Exemptions

Training exemptions:
The commissioner shall waive training requirements for any person who,
(A) while serving in the armed forces or the National Guard, or
(B) if such person is a veteran, within two years of such person’s discharge from the armed forces, presents proof that such person has completed military training that is equivalent to the training required by this subsection, and, if applicable, such person’s military discharge document or a certified copy thereof.

See: Raised Bill No. 237

Permit Required

All employees hired by a security service to perform security officer services, while armed with a firearm, must obtain a special permit from the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection. The employer is responsible for insuring that the employee has obtained the permit (endorsement). Any employee hired to work, as security officer shall be certified as a security officer and obtains an identification card prior to the security service company making application to register the security officer with the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection.

The applicant must have a valid State Pistol Permit to obtain a Firearms Permit Endorsement.

The Security Officer Firearm Permit Endorsement Application Form DPS 1030 must be obtained from an approved firearms instructor. The form cannot be downloaded off the website. An application form can be mailed to you by calling (860) 685-8160.
See: A list of approved intructors

Requirement to carry an ID card

According to CGS Chapter 534 §29-161q(d)
[…] An identification card with the name, date of birth, address, full-face photograph, physical descriptors and signature of the applicant shall be issued to the security officer, and shall be carried by the security officer at all times while performing the duties associated with the security officer’s employment. Registered security officers, in the course of performing their duties, shall present such card for inspection upon the request of a law enforcement officer.

Moral Character

According to CGS Chapter 534 § 29-161y(a):

Any person, firm or corporation may employ as many security officers or security personnel carrying firearms as it deems necessary for the conduct of its business, provided such employees shall be of good moral character.

Fingerprint

No fingerprints are required to apply for the firearms permit endorsement. Fingerprints are required for security guard application. According to According to CGS Chapter 534 § 29-161q(a)

Applicants shall submit with their application two sets of their fingerprints in order to submit to state and national criminal history records checks conducted in accordance with section 29-17a

Substance Abuse

No baseline requirement

Mental Health

No baseline requirement

Criminal History Background Check

According to CGS Chapter 534 § 29-161y, the application for a firearms permit endorsement shall be made in the same manner as is provided in section 29-161q and applicants shall meet the requirements specified in said section. Therefore, according to Connecticut Chapter 534 § 29-161q:

No person shall be approved for a license who has been convicted of a felony, any sexual offense or any crime involving moral turpitude, or who has been refused a license under the provisions of §§ 29-161g to 29-161x

According to 534 § 29-161k(b)
The Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection shall require any applicant for a license under this section to submit to state and national criminal history records checks

Personal References

None required

Training Requirements

Applicants for the security officer firearms permit endorsement must complete a course of instruction approved by the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection, at their expense. The course is offered by private instructors and involves classroom training in safety and use of firearms and range qualification. Upon completion of the course, the firearm instructor signs off on the reverse side of the application form DPS-1030. The application form is then submitted to the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit.

According to the Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection website, pursuant to CGS § 29-161z(b), the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection may grant to any suitable employee of a licensed security service, or to an employee hired by a firm or corporation to perform work as a uniformed or non-uniformed security officer, a special permit to carry a pistol or revolver or other firearm while actually on duty on the premises of the employer, or, while directly en route to or from such employment, provided that such employee has proven to the satisfaction of the commissioner that such employee has successfully completed a course, approved by the commissioner, of training in the safety and use of firearms.

The commissioner may grant to such employee a temporary permit pending issuance of the permit, provided such employee has submitted an application and successfully completed such training course immediately following employment. All armed security officers shall complete such safety course and yearly complete a refresher safety course approved by the commissioner.

Under CGS Chapter 534 § 29-161q(b), each applicant for a security guard license shall complete a minimum of eight hours training in the following areas:
•   Basic first aid
•   Search and seizure laws and regulations
•   Use of force
•   Basic criminal justice and public safety issues.

Exam Requirement

No baseline requirement

Child Support

According to CGS § 46b-220(b):
The state of Connecticut has the right to revoke any professional or occupational license of a delinquent child support obligor

Delaware: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Delaware

Legislation/Source:

Delaware Code Title 24
Professions and Occupations
Chapter 13. Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies
And
Delaware Administrative Code
Title 24 Regulated Professions and Occupations
Division of State Police
1300 Board of Examiners of Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies

Authorizing Department

Department of Safety and Homeland Security
Division of State Police

State Bureau of Identification
655 South Bay Road, Suite 1B
Dover, Delaware 19901
Phone: (302) 739-5991
Fax: (302) 739-5888
Email: dsp_sbidetectivelicensingemail@state.de.us

Official Website

Branch Office
SBI/Professional Licensing, DSP Troop 2
100 Lagrange Ave
Newark, Delaware 19702
Phone: (302) 834-2620

Licensure and License Fees

An individual seeking an armed status must obtain a commissioned security guard license.
See: DE Code §1321(d)

It shall be unlawful for a commissioned security guard to carry a firearm unless:
(1)   The security guard is engaged in the performance of duties as a security officer or is engaged in traveling directly to or from a place of assignment;
(2)   The security guard is wearing a distinctive uniform indicating that the person is a security guard;
(3)   Such uniform has a distinctive patch that indicates the company by whom the person is employed;
(4)   The firearm is in plain view; and
(5)   The firearm is the type of weapon that the commissioned security guard qualified with pursuant to this chapter.
See: DE Code §1321(e)

Fees:
$85.00   Application and processing fee
$30.00   Firearms upgrade
$49.00   Testing fee (must be paid in advance to reserve seat)
$10.00   Replacement License
$85.00   Renewal fee

The cost for the 16 hour training varies by instructor.

See: Delaware State Police Security Guards/Firearm Guards

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

One must apply for a Delaware License. Delaware does not have reciprocity with any other states.

See: Security Guard FAQs

Age Requirements

The applicant must be at least 21 years of age

See: DE Code §1315

Citizenship

Citizenship requirement is not mentioned in the legislation, however, the application form does ask for a Driver’s License state/number and a social security number.

See: Application form

Experience

Not required

Exemptions

The Professional Licensing Section may waive the 40-hour firearms training requirement depending upon the applicant’s professional credentials, training and/or work experience (i.e. prior law enforcement).

See: Delaware Code Title 24, Chapter 13, 1.0 (1.2) Firearms Policy

Permit Required

69 Del. Laws, c. 285, §3.;§1321 Firearms

(a)   It shall be unlawful for anyone licensed, under this chapter, to carry a concealed deadly weapon as defined in § 1442 of Title 11, unless they have been issued a concealed deadly weapons permit.

(b)   It shall be unlawful for anyone licensed, under this chapter, to ca
rry any type of weapon unless the Board has approved the use of such weapon and, if approved, the person has been trained in the use of such weapon, by a board-approved instructor.
(c) It shall be unlawful for an individual, em
ployed as a security guard, to carry a firearm during the course of performing th
eir duties as a security guard, if they have not been issued a commissioned security guard license.

See Delaware Code Title 24, Chapter 13, 1.0 Firearms Policy

Requirement to carry an ID card

Delaware Code Title 24, Chapter 13, § 1324
Anyone required to be licensed under this chapter shall be issued, by the Board of Examiners, an identification card which shall expire and be
renewable on the fifth anniversary date of the birth of the applicant next following the date of its issuance, unless the birth date is February 29,
in which event the license shall expire and be renewable on February 28 every fifth year.

Any person who has been issued an identification card by the Board of Examiners shall be required to have such card in their possession while in the performance of the person’s duties.
See: DE Code §1325

Moral Character

The applicant must not have been convicted of any misdemeanor involving moral turpitude.

See: Delaware Code Title 24, Chapter 13, § 1314(3)

Fingerprint

Complete the application and send to Professional Licensing.

 According to the General application information from Delaware State Police web site:

Individuals must appear for an appointment at State Bureau of Identification. On the appointment day, individuals will come into one of our two (2) locations (Delaware State Police Troop 2/Newark or Dover) for fingerprint and picture processing. Address locations are listed below.

State Bureau of Identification – Walk-In Availability
600 S. Bay Road
Suite 1
Dover, DE 19901

Delaware State Police Troop 2 – By Appointment Only, please call (302)-739-2528
100 Cpl/1 Stephen J. Ballard Way
Newark, DE 19702
(front lobby to the left)

$89 Non-refundable processing fee

Substance Abuse

The applicant must meet and maintain the following requirements:
(3) Must not have been convicted of any misdemeanor involving a theft-related offense, drug offense, or moral turpitude within the last 7 years, and there are no more than 2 of such misdemeanors during such person’s lifetime
See: DE Code Title 24, Chapter 13 § 1314

Mental Health

The legislation does not designate this requirement. However, the application form includes an “Authorization to Release Information to Contributor” section in which the applicant authorizes the Division of Mental Health or any institution to release the applicant’s mental health history to the Delaware State Police.
See: Application form.

Criminal History Background Check

For the purposes of 24 Del. C. Ch. 13, the Board may deny an application for a license or suspend or revoke a license if the applicant or licensee has been convicted of a misdemeanor crime involving moral turpitude.
See: DE Admin Code Section 1300 6.2.1 for a full list of offenses.

The applicant must not have been convicted of any misdemeanor involving a theft-related offense, drug offense, or moral turpitude, within the last 7 years, and:

a.   There are no more than 2 of such misdemeanors during such person’s lifetime; and

b.   No misdemeanor conviction occurred during or as a result of employment in a capacity regulated by this chapter.

(4)   Must not have been, as a juvenile, adjudicated delinquent for conduct which, if committed by an adult would constitute a felony, unless and until that person has reached his or her twenty-first birthday;
See: DE Code §1314

No person will be issued a license unless that person submits, to the State Bureau of Identification, their name, Social Security number, age, race, sex, date of birth, height, weight, hair and eye color,
address of legal residence and the provision of such other information as may be necessary to obtain a report of the person’s entire criminal history record from the State Bureau of Identification and
a report of the person’s entire federal criminal history pursuant to the Federal Bureau of Investigation appropriation of Title II of Public Law 92-544.
See:DE Code §1313(b)

Personal References

Not required

Training Requirements

Each person licensed as a security guard under 24 Del. C. Ch. 13 shall undertake a total of sixteen (16)
hours of training through a program approved by the Board, and any such additional training as the
Board deems appropriate. The required training shall include instruction in:

•   Legal requirements and limitations
•   Use of force
•   Ethics
•   Emergency services

•   Diversity
•   Communication
•   Asset protection
•   Terrorism

For a detailed course and training requirement outline see the Security Guard Certification Test Study Guide

The Board, in its discretion, may require such additional topics as it finds necessary. The Professional
Licensing Section shall have the authority to require regular reports on training from licensees and
employers, and shall report to the Board on compliance with this regulation.
Training certifications shall be submitted with each new application or re-application and the training
shall be completed no more than one year prior to submission of the application.

No individual licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 shall carry a firearm unless that individual has first passed an approved firearms course of instruction and an initial qualification administered by an approved firearms instructor. The course of instruction shall include a minimum 40 hours of training. The initial qualification course shall be used to fulfill one day and one low light requirement during the first year; however an additional day shoot must be completed at least 90 days after the date of initial certification, within the calendar year.
See: Delaware Code Title 24, Chapter 13, 1.0 Firearms Policy (1.2)

In order to open carry a firearm while in the performance of their duties, individuals licensed to carry a firearm under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 must shoot a minimum of three qualifying shoots per calendar year, scheduled on at least two separate days, with a minimum 90 days between scheduled day shoots. Of these three, there will be one mandatory “low light” shoot which may be combined with a day shoot. Two day shoots shall not be completed on the same date. These qualifying shoots will be administered by an approved firearms instructor.
See: Delaware Code Title 24, Chapter 13, 1.0 Firearms Policy (1.3)

Exam Requirement

Pass 16-hour exam with a minimum of 75% prior to appearing at Delaware State Police for processing.
Testing Fee is $49
See: Security Guard FAQs

Child Support

The State’s Division of Child Support Services may revoke and suspend any professional licenses or registrations upon failure to meet child support obligations.
See: DE Code Title 13 Chapter 22 §2216

District of Columbia: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for District of Columbia

Legislation/Source:

D.C. Municipal Regulations
Title 6A Police Personnel
Chapter 11. Special Police
AND
Title 17. Business, Occupations, and Professional
Chapter 17-21. Security Officers and Security Agencies

Authorizing Department

GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA


DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA REGULATORY AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS OFFICE

Security Officers Management Branch address:
2000 14th Street, NW, Suite 302
Washington, DC 20009
Phone: (202)671-0500
Email: opla.security@dc.gov

Official Website

 

Oversight for the licensure and regulatory oversight of the security officer has moved from the
Metropolitan Police Department to the DC Office of Regulatory Affairs-Security Officers Management Branch.
The Metropolitan Police Department still interacts with, provides policy materials and other interchanges with the security industry.
MPD has constructed a new entity called “Security Snapshot.”

See: Security Snapshot

Contact the Security Officers Management Branch:
2000 14th Street, NW, 3rd Floor
Washington, DC 20009
Phone: (202) 671-0500
Fax: (202) 673-7418
Official Website
 

Licensure and License Fees

In DC, the armed security guard status is designated as “Special Police Officer”.
DCMR §6-A1100.1
Special police officers may be appointed by the Mayor for duty in connection with the
property of or under the charge of a corporation or individual requesting the appointment or appointments.

 

$84.00   Application Fee
$35.00   Fingerprint and background investigation fee
$35.00   Drug test fee

$350.00   armed D.C. SPO training fee
$50.00   Range fee
See: D.C. Special Police Officer Training

Special Police Officer licenses expire on May 31, annually

See: Application Instructions
See: Online Application Portal

Age Requirements

The applicant must be a least 21 years of age
See: DCMR §6-A1100.7(a)

See: Application instructions

Citizenship

Applicants for Special Police Officers must be a citizen of the United States and submit a copy of their birth certificate and legal documentation supporting any name change with the application, i.e. marriage certificate, divorce decree, adoption papers.

See: DCMR §6-A1100.7(b)

See: Application instructions

Experience

The applicant shall be approved for appointment by the Chief of Police, shall possess a high school diploma or a general equivalency diploma, or one year of experience as a special police officer in the District of Columbia, shall be able to read, write, and speak the English language, and shall be certified by a licensed physician as physically and psychologically fit to perform the duties of a special police officer.
See: DCMR §6-A1100.7(d)

Exemptions

No baseline requirement

Permit Required

No baseline requirement

Requirement to carry an ID card

According to DCMR §17-2111
1.   Upon certification by the Mayor and payment of a five dollar ($5) fee, each security officer shall receive an identification card containing a photograph of the security officer, the name and business address of the officer’s employer, and a statement that the bearer is not a police officer and only has the powers of an ordinary citizen.

2.   The identification card shall be carried on the person of the security officer whenever he or she is engaged in his or her duties and shall be exhibited upon request to any person with whom the security officer may come in contact in the performance of his or her duties.

Moral Character

The applicant must be of good moral character.
See: DCMR §6-A1100.7(c)

Fingerprint

Fingerprinting required for certification will be processed at the Security Officers’ Management Branch (SOMB).
Contact SOMB for hours of operation, 202-671-0500. The following required items must be presented at the time of fingerprinting along with a money order, cashier’s check or company check in the sum of thirty-five dollars ($35.00) made payable to the D.C. Treasurer:
•   Notarized Arrest Affidavit and Resident & Employment Log
•   Notarized Authorization to Release Information Form,
•   Drug Screening Results
•   Firing Range Certificate (Armed Applicant Only)
•   Approved Gun List (Armed Applicant Only)

Applicants from another city or state may mail completed fingerprint cards (ink prints) to the SOMB from their local jurisdiction. In such case, two (2) fingerprint cards are required per applicant for licensure.

Submit to:

Metropolitan Police Department Security Officers Management
Branch 2000 14th Street, N.W., Room #302 Washington, DC 20009

Retrieved from Application instructions

In keeping with the general trend towards online processing,
DC now requires the scheduling an online appointment for fingerprints.
See: Fingerprint Appointment System

Substance Abuse

The application must include a drug screening from a certified laboratory. The applicant MUST be tested and screened at the levels for drugs that are outlined by the employer. Applicants who test POSITIVE for any drugs must submit medical documentation from the prescribing physician supporting the positive reading. This statement must be on letterhead from the attending physician’s office and have the original signature of the doctor. Physical exams and drug screening results must be completed no later than ninety (90) days prior to the date of the application process.

Retrieved from Application instructions

Mental Health

Applicants are required to submit medical documentation certifying that he or she is physically and mentally capable of performing security related functions. The original signature of the doctor and the date must appear on the physical. Applicants being treated by a private physician for an existing medical condition must also submit a doctor’s statement from that physician, which indicates the condition will not prohibit the applicant from performing security related functions. Physical exams must be completed no later than ninety (90) days prior to the date of the application process.

Retrieved from Application instructions

Criminal History Background Check

According to DCMR §6-A1102.1
No person shall be commissioned or employed as a special police officer, nor shall an existing special police officer have a commission renewed, until the Mayor has conducted a criminal history check of the applicant through the record systems of the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the Metropolitan Police Department

A background investigation will be conducted on each applicant to include local and FBI criminal checks.
Background checks require approximately ninety (90) days to complete.

Retrieved from Application instructions

The applicant has to submit a notarized Arrest Affidavit
and an Authorization to Release Information

Personal References

Not required

Training Requirements

According to DCMR 6A §1100.7
(f)   Special police officers shall be required to satisfactorily complete pre-assignment, on-the-job, and in-service training programs which have been prescribed and approved by the Mayor.

(g)   Pre-assignment training shall include at least sixteen (16) hours of training on arrest powers, search and seizure laws, the District of Columbia Official Code, and the use of force. Pre-assignment training shall include an additional twenty-four (24) hours of training generally relating to the special police officer’s duties and specifically including:
(1)   Terrorism awareness, including building evacuation, unattended packages, and unknown substances;
(2)   Emergency procedures, including evacuation and first-aid; and
(3)   Customer service and interaction with tourists.

(h)   Special police officers shall satisfactorily complete a 16-hour, on-the-job training course within ninety (90) working days following employment, and an 8-hour annual in-service training course.

(i)   Special police officers shall also satisfy all additional initial and re-qualification training standards for firearms and other equipment, as applicable.

Exam Requirement

According to DCMR 6A §1100.7(j)
Upon satisfactory completion of a required training course, a special police officer shall receive from his or her employer a certificate evidencing satisfactory completion thereof

Child Support

During the application process, the questioning sequence to be filled in by the applicant, does reference the child support issue as follows:
B.
Do you owe any outstanding debt to the District government as a result of any past due child support payments as stipulated in the “Child Support and Welfare Reform Compliance Amendment Act of 2000“ “DC Law 13-269, DC Code §46-225.01)?

See: Application Instructions

More Information

Florida: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Florida

Legislation/Source:

Florida Statutes
Title XXXII. Regulation of Professions and Occupations.
Chapter 493. Private Investigative, Private Security, and Repossession Services
And
Florida Administrative Code
Title 5 Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Division 5N Division of Licensing
Chapter 5N-1 Private Investigative, Security and Repossession Activities, Schools

Authorizing Department

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Division of Licensing
P.O. BOX 5767
Tallahassee, Florida 32314
Phone: (850) 245-5691
Fax: (850) 245-5655
Email: DOLWeb@freshfromflorida.com
Official Website

Regional Branch Offices

Fort Walton Regional Office


Choctaw Plaza

111 Racetrack Rd. NW, Unit 111-C
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547-1816
Phone:
(850) 344-0300
Fax:
(850) 344-0301
Jacksonville Regional Office
7825 Baymeadows Way, Ste. 123-A
Jacksonville, FL 32256-7557

Phone:
(904) 828-3100
Fax:
(904) 828-3122

Miami-Dade Regional Office
7743 NW 48th St., Ste. 100
Doral, FL 33166-5407

Phone:
(305) 639-3500
Fax:
(305) 639-3502

North Port Regional Office
Sumter Crossing Commerce Building
4451 Aidan Lane, Ste. 102
North Port, FL 34287

Phone:
(941) 240-3160
Fax:
(941) 240-3162

Orlando Regional Office
1707 Orlando Central Pkwy., Ste. 150
Orlando, FL 32809-5765

Phone:
(407) 888-8700
Fax:
(407) 888-8704

Tallahassee Regional Office
Capital Center Office Complex
4040 Esplanade Way, 1st Floor, Ste. 101
Tallahassee, FL 32399-7016

Phone:
(850) 245-5498
Fax:
(850) 245-5283

Tampa Regional Office
Interstate Business Park
4510 Oak Fair Blvd., Ste. 100
Tampa, FL 33610

Phone:
(813) 337-5377
Fax:
(813) 337-5378

West Palm Beach Regional Office
400 N Congress Ave., Ste. 140
West Palm Beach, FL 33401-2912

Phone:
(561) 681-2530
Fax:
(561) 681-2599

Licensure and License Fees

Individual Security Officers holding a Class ”D” license are permitted to bear a firearm and any such licensee who bears a firearm shall also have a Class “G” Statewide Firearm license.

No employee shall carry or be furnished a weapon or firearm unless the carrying of a weapon or firearm is required by her or his duties, nor shall an employee carry a weapon or firearm except in connection with those duties.
See: §493.6115

Fees
$112   Class G Firearms License Fee
$42   Fingerprint Processing Fee

$10.75 Fingerprint Retention Fee
$164.75 Total fees required

If you are applying for another class of license under Chapter 493, F.S., at this time, submit only one set of fingerprints and a single fingerprint-processing and retention fee. And if you have submitted a set of fingerprints and a fingerprint-processing and retention fee for a license under Chapter 493 with in past six months, no fingerprint submission or fingerprint-processing or retention fee in necessary at this time.
See: Application Class G – Form 16008, General Information

Florida permits both mail, in person and online applications processes.

See: Class D Security Officer License Requirements

Exception
Florida does not require licensing for security officers working at religious settings such as churches. The statute states in part:
493.6102  (13) Any individual employed as a security officer by a church or ecclesiastical or denominational
organization having an established physical place of worship in this state at which nonprofit religious services and activities are
regularly conducted or by a church cemetery to provide security on the property of the organization or cemetery,
and who does not carry a firearm in the course of her or his duties.

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

Florida has adopted “reciprocity” provisions that recognizes other licensure from other jurisdictions in limited circumstances.
The Act declares:
493.6109 Reciprocity.
(1) The department may adopt rules for:
(a) Entering into reciprocal agreements with other states or territories of the United States for the purpose of licensing persons to perform activities regulated under this chapter who are currently licensed to perform similar services in the other states or territories; or
(b) Allowing a person who is licensed in another state or territory to perform similar services in this state, on a temporary and limited basis, without the need for licensure in state.

Age Requirements

Applicant must be at least 18 years of age

See: Application Class G – Form 16008, Section 1, Applicant Information

Citizenship

Applicant must be a United States citizen or deemed a permanent legal resident alien by the Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).

See: Application Class G – Form 16008, Section 1, Applicant Information

Experience

No baseline requirement

Exemptions

Class G – Firearms License Training Exemptions
1.   Proof that you are currently certified as a law enforcement officer or correctional officer pursuant to the requirements of the Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission or have successfully completed the training required for certification within the last 12 months.
2.   Proof that you are currently certified as a federal law enforcement officer and have received law enforcement firearms training administered by a federal law enforcement agency.
3.   Proof that you qualify for a Class “K” Firearms Instructor License in accordance with the requirements set forth in Section 493.6105(6)(a), F.S.

See: Application Class G – Form 16008, Section V1, Training/Experience

Permit Required

Class “G” Statewide Firearm License is required.

To be eligible to carry a concealed weapon, the following requirements must be met:
1. You must be 21 years of age or older.
2. You must be able to demonstrate competency with a firearm.
3. Unless you are serving overseas in the United States Armed Forces, you must currently reside in the United States and be a U.S. citizen or deemed a lawful permanent resident alien by Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service. If you are serving overseas in the U.S. Armed Forces, submit a copy of your deployment documentation with your application. Those who are Resident Aliens must provide a valid Permanent Resident Alien card.

For the rules and requirements for the issuance of a permit for a concealed weapon, see here.

Requirement to carry an ID card

Florida Statute §493.6111(1)
All licenses issued pursuant to this chapter shall be on a form prescribed by the department and shall include the licensee’s name, license number, expiration date of the license, and any other information the department deems necessary. Class “C,” Class “CC,” Class “D,” Class “E,” Class “EE,” Class “M,” Class “MA,” Class “MB,” Class “MR,” and Class “G” licenses shall be in the possession of individual licensees while on duty.

Moral Character

Florida Statute § 493.6106(1)(b)
Applicant must be of good moral character.

Good moral character means a personal history of honesty, fairness, and respect for the right and property of others and for the laws of this state and nation.
See: Fla. Stat. § 493.6101(7)

Fingerprint

Must submit a complete and legible set of fingerprints either on the Fingerprint Card in the application package or by Electronic Fingerprint-Scan. Your fingerprints can be taken at a participating law enforcement agency, by your employer, or by any business providing fingerprinting services. For information regarding electronic fingerprint-scan, visit http://mylicensesite.com.

Fingerprint processing fee is $42.

See: Application Class G – Form 16008, Fingerprint Submission Instructions

Options to obtain fingerprints
Option 1.   Many of Florida’s 67 county sheriffs and even some local police departments offer electronic fingerprinting service. Please call the local law enforcement agency in advance to find out whether the office does in fact provide electronic fingerprint scanning service and if an appointment is necessary if the service is available.
Option 2.   Scan fingerprints at any one of the eight Regional Offices. Please telephone the Regional Office in order to determine if an appointment is necessary.
Option 3.   Consult private vendors that provide electronic fingerprinting services. See 493 LiveScan Device Fingerprinting Locations for a list of vendors.

See Submitting Fingerprints Electronically for Chapter 493 Licenses

Substance Abuse

d.   If you are currently abusing a controlled substance, you are not eligible for licensure.

e.   If you have a history of controlled substance abuse, you must provide evidence of successful completion of a substance abuse rehabilitation program and three letters of reference, one of which should be from your sponsor in the program.

f.   If you have a history of alcohol abuse, you must provide evidence of successful completion of an alcohol rehabilitation program and three letters of reference, one of which should be from your sponsor in the program.

See: Application Class G – Form 16008, Section V, Personal History

Mental Health

a.   If you have ever been adjudicated incapacitated (determined by the court to be incapable of taking care of yourself), you must provide proof that you have been granted relief from federal firearms disabilities.

b.   If you have ever been involuntarily placed in a treatment facility for the mentally ill under Chapter 394, F.S., or similar laws of another state, you must provide proof that you have been granted relief from federal firearms disabilities.

c.   If you have ever been diagnosed with a mental illness, you must provide a statement from a psychologist of psychiatrists licensed in Florida attesting that you are not currently suffering from a mental illness that precludes you from performing regulated duties in an armed capacity.

See: Application Class G – Form 16008, Section V, Personal History

Criminal History Background Check

The Department will deny your application if you:
•   are currently serving a suspended sentence on a felony charge or are on probation for a felony charge [Section 493.6118(4), F.S.].
•   have been convicted of a felony in any state or of a crime against the United States, which is designated as a felony, or convicted of an offense in any other state, territory, or country punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 1 year, unless and until Civil Rights and Firearm Rights have been restored by the convicting authority and a period of 10 years has passed since final release from supervision [Section 493.6118(4)(a), F.S.]. Proof of restoration of Civil Rights and Firearm Rights must be submitted with this application.
1.   If the felony conviction occurred within the State of Florida, your civil rights and firearm rights must be restored by the Florida Office of Executive Clemency.
Questions regarding the procedure for applying for restoration of Civil Rights or restoration of Firearm Rights should be addressed to:

The Office of Executive Clemency; Florida Parole Commission;
4070 Esplanade Way; Tallahassee, FL 32399-2450,
Toll Free 1-800-435-8286;
Phone (850) 488-2952.

2.   Felony convictions occurring in another state require restoration of civil and firearm rights by the state in which the conviction occurred.

3.   If you were convicted of a felony under federal law, you must have a presidential pardon or have been granted federal relief from disabilities.

The Department may deny your application if you:
•   have a history of being arrested for crimes of violence and/or found guilty of (or had adjudication withheld for) directly related crimes. This includes, but is not limited to: Trespassing, Breaking and Entering, Burglary, Robbery, Forgery, Criminal Mischief or Theft, Assault, Battery, Stalking, Aggravated Battery, Aggravated Assault, Sexual Battery, Kidnapping, Armed Robbery, Murder, Aggravated Stalking, Resisting an Officer with Violence [Section 493.6118(1)(c), Section 493.6118(1)(j), Section 493.6118(3), F.S.].
•   have demonstrated a lack of respect for the laws of this state and the nation [Section 493.6118(3), F.S.].
• have an outstanding bench warrant or capias [Section 493.6118(3), F.S.].
•   are currently in a Pre-Trial Intervention or Deferred Prosecution Program [Section 493.6118(3), F.S.].

You must provide complete information about your arrest(s) and include certified copies of court dispositions. A determination of your eligibility cannot be made until all documentation is received and a complete criminal history record check has been completed. This process takes 1-3 months.

See: Application Class G – Form 16008, Section III, Criminal History

493.6108 Investigation of applicants by Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
(1)   Except as otherwise provided, the department must investigate an applicant for a license under this chapter before it may issue the license. The investigation must include:
   (a)1.   An examination of fingerprint records and police records. If a criminal history record check of an applicant under this chapter is performed by means of fingerprint identification, the time limitations prescribed by s. 120.60(1) shall be tolled while the applicant’s fingerprints are under review by the Department of Law Enforcement or the United States Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Investigation.
2.   If a legible set of fingerprints, as determined by the Department of Law Enforcement or the Federal Bureau of Investigation, cannot be obtained after two attempts, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services may determine the applicant’s eligibility based upon a criminal history record check under the applicant’s name conducted by the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

See: §493.6108

Personal References

None

Training Requirements

Class D – Security Officer Training
Must submit proof of successful completion of a minimum of 40 hours of professional training at a school or training facility
licensed by the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, in the following topics:
•   Legal Issues and Liabilities
•   Basic First Aid
•   Fire Suppression
•   Emergency Procedures
•   Crime & Accident Prevention

•   Professional Communication

•   Terrorism Awareness
•   Ethics and Professional Conduct

•   Patrol Techniques

•   Observation Techniques & Report Writing
•   Interview Techniques and other required topics

Class G – Firearms Training
In order to qualify, you must successfully complete 28 hours of range and classroom training
pertaining to the use of firearms in connection with duties regulated under Chapter 493, Florida Statutes.
The training must be obtained from a licensed Class “K” Firearms Instructor within the preceding 12 months.

The 28 hour-course curriculum and the time that should be devoted to each of the subject areas included in the curriculum are
indicated below. Note that the law stipulates that no more than eight hours of the training shall consist of range training.
•   Legal Aspects of Use of Firearms (12 hours) – This section of the course covers applicable portions of Chapters 493, 775, 776, and 790, Florida Statutes,
as well as civil and criminal liability issues in connection with the use of firearms.

•   Operational Firearms Safety and Firearms Mechanical Training (8 hours) – This portion of the curriculum is intended to provide students with a
comprehensive understanding of the mechanical operations of a firearm and how to handle firearms safely.
A written examination of 100 questions will be administered covering the portions of the curriculum dealing with legal use and operational/mechanical training.

•   Firearms Qualification (8 hours) – This segment of the training course includes practical exercises in the handling of firearms – stance,
grip, sighting, etc. – as well as topics pertaining to range safety and range commands.
The instructor will require students to fire 144 rounds as part of the firearms qualification for
initial licensure (48 rounds of practice fire +2 cycles of 48 rounds for initial qualification).
No more than eight hours of the 28 hours of training shall consist of range training.

See: Firearms Training Manual – Student Handbook and Study Guide

Exam Requirement

A written exam will be administered during the Operational Firearms Safety and Firearms Mechanical Training portion of training. Additionally, the Firearms Qualification portion will require a firearms qualification. See Training Requirements for more information.

Child Support

No baseline requirement

Georgia: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Georgia

Legislation/Source:

Official Code of Georgia Annotated (OCGA)
Title 43 – Professions and Businesses
Chapter 38 – Operators of Private Detective Businesses and Private Security Businesses/ The Georgia Private Detective and Security Agencies Act
And
Georgia Administrative Code
Department 509 – Georgia Board of Private Detective and Security Agencies

Authorizing Department

Georgia Board of Private Detective and Security Agencies
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, GA 31217
Phone: (478) 207-2440
Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

Individuals do not seek licensure nor are applicants for Unarmed Officer status required in the State of Georgia. However, each employee of a licensed and registered security services business or firm must register, train and account for employees for said firm. Hence, the security employer is the designated responsible party for assuring compliance of its own employees. The process requires employee registration and compliance at many levels.

Armed security officers must register with the board.

In the case of armed officers, the employee applicant and the employer both file documentation concerning the type and status of weapons sought- from traditional permits to concealed. The application packet has all required forms.

Fees:
$70   Initial Registration – Security Guard – Armed Employee
$25   Additional Weapon permit / Change of Weapon Type Application Fee
$65   Late Renewal Fee
$25 Lost or Destroyed License Replacement Fee

$50   ID Card

Employee registration cards and/or weapon permits issued by the Board shall expire on August 31 of each odd-numbered year.
See: GA R&R Department 509 Chapter 509-2 Rule 509-2-.01.

Georgia is moving towards more online services for both licenses and the registration of employees.
See: Online Portal

For complete instructions provided by the board, see Employee Registration Information.

For the Weapons Permit Applications:
See: Weapons Permit Application
See: Online Weapons Permit Application

Sworn law enforcement officers must file a distinct application.
See: Application form for Law Enforcement Officers

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

Armed security officers must register with the Georgia Board of Private Detective and Security Agencies.

Age Requirements

To be employed as an armed security guard with a licensed company, you must be at least 21 years of age and must meet the minimum requirements established by the Board, as detailed in O.C.G.A. 43-38-7 and O.C.G.A. 43-38-10.
See; Official Website – Common Questions

Citizenship

OCGA § 43-38-7(c)(1)(B)
The applicant must be a citizen of the United States or a registered resident alien

Experience

Not Required

Exemptions

OCGA § 43-38-14
(a)   This chapter shall not apply to:

(1)   An officer or employee of the United States of America or of this state or a political subdivision thereof while the employee or officer is engaged in the performance of official duties;
(2)   A person engaged in the business of furnishing information in connection with credit or marketing and a person or firm engaged as a consumer reporting agency, as defined by the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act;
(3)   An attorney at law or a bona fide legal assistant in performing his or her duties;
(4)   Admitted insurers, agents, and insurance brokers licensed by the state while performing duties in connection with insurance transacted by them;
(5)   A firm engaged in the business of independent insurance claims adjusting whose employees hold a valid Georgia adjuster’s license; or (6) The employees of a firm identified in paragraph (5) of this subsection.

(b)   Any person with a valid peace officer certification issued pursuant to Chapter 8 of Title 35, the “Georgia Peace Officer Standards and Training Act,” who is employed by or works as an independent contractor for a licensed:

(1)   Private security business shall be exempt from any training provisions required by this chapter for such business and shall be deemed to have satisfied all board rules and regulations relative to training; and
(2)   Private detective business or private security business shall be exempt from further licensure under this chapter and shall be permitted to carry a firearm without obtaining any weapons permit from the board; provided, however, that such licensed private detective business or private security business shall be required to register such employee or independent contractor with the board.

Permit Required

OCGA § 43-38-10(a)
The board may grant a permit to carry a pistol, revolver, or other firearm to any person who is at least 21 years of age and who is licensed or registered in accordance with this chapter and who meets the qualifications and training requirements set forth in this Code section and such other qualifications and training requirements as the board by rule may establish. The board shall have the authority to establish limits on type and caliber of such weapons by rule. Application for such permit and for renewal thereof shall be made on forms provided by the division director. No weapons permit issued under this Code section shall be transferable to another individual.

Requirement to carry an ID card

OCGA §43-38-7(f)
Upon receipt of a license card issued by the board pursuant to this chapter, the licensee shall maintain said card on his person at all times while on his post or at his place of employment and at all times when the licensee wears a uniform in the course of his employment in the private detective or private security business.

See: Identification Cards

Moral Character

OCGA § 43-38-6(c)(1)(c)Is
The applicant must be of good moral character

Fingerprint

The Georgia Board of Private Detective and Security Agencies requires a fingerprint background check on all applicants. Fingerprints are processed through
Georgia Applicant Processing Service (GAPS). The Federal/State criminal history results will be available to the Georgia Board of Private Detective and Security
Agencies within 48 hours after the applicant has been fingerprinted and the prints are received by GBI, Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC).

The Board utilizes www.ga.cogentid.com for electronic processing.

Substance Abuse

OCGA § 43-38-11(a)(6)
The board shall have the authority to refuse to grant a license or registration to an applicant therefor or to revoke the license or registration of a person licensed or registered by the board or to discipline a person licensed or registered by the board upon a finding by a majority of the entire board that the licensee, registrant, or applicant has become unable to engage in the private detective or private security business with reasonable skill and safety to the public by reason of illness; use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or any other type of material; or any other mental or physical condition.

Mental Health

OCGA § 43-38-11(a)(6)
The board shall have the authority to refuse to grant a license or registration to an applicant therefor or to revoke the license or registration of a person licensed or registered by the board or to discipline a person licensed or registered by the board upon a finding by a majority of the entire board that the licensee, registrant, or applicant has become unable to engage in the private detective or private security business with reasonable skill and safety to the public by reason of illness; use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or any other type of material; or any other mental or physical condition.

Criminal History Background Check

OCGA § 43-38-7(c)(1)
D) Has not been convicted of a felony or any crime involving the illegal use, carrying, or possession of a dangerous weapon or any crime involving moral turpitude; provided, however, that, if the applicant has been convicted of such crime, or has entered a plea of nolo contendere to such crime, or has entered a plea pursuant to Article 3 of Chapter 8 of Title 42 or otherwise
been granted first offender treatment, the board may inquire into the nature of the crime, the date of conviction or plea, and other underlying facts and circumstances surrounding such criminal proceedings and, in its discretion, may allow the applicant to be licensed;
(E) Has not committed an act constituting dishonesty or fraud; and
(F) Meets such other qualifications as the board may prescribe by rule.

OCGA § 43-38-11
(a)   The board shall have the authority to refuse to grant a license or registration to an applicant therefor or to revoke the license or registration of a person licensed or registered by the board or to discipline a person licensed or registered by the board upon a finding by a majority of the entire board that the licensee, registrant, or applicant has:

(4)   Been convicted, in the courts of this state or of the United States, or in the courts of any other state, territory, or country, of a felony, or any crime involving the illegal use, carrying, or possession of a dangerous weapon, or any crime involving moral turpitude. As used in this subsection, the term ‘felony’ shall include any offense which if committed in this state would be deemed a felony, without regard to its designation elsewhere. For purposes of this subsection, a ‘conviction’ shall be deemed to include a finding or verdict of guilty or plea of guilty, regardless of whether an appeal of the conviction has been sought;
(5)   Been arrested, charged, and sentenced for the commission of a felony, any crime involving the illegal use, carrying, or possession of a dangerous weapon, or any crime involving moral turpitude, where:
    (A)   A plea of nolo contendere was entered to the charge;
    (B)   First offender treatment was granted without adjudication of guilt pursuant to the charge; or
    (C)   An adjudication or sentence was otherwise withheld or not entered on the charge. The plea of nolo contendere or the order entered pursuant to Article 3 of Chapter 8 of Title 42 or other first offender treatment shall be conclusive evidence of arrest and sentencing for such crime;

Employees must file a background questionnaire and certain affidavits and affirmations as to criminal history, previous employment and former and present residences are part of the application. Part of the employer’s responsibility to ensure that these documents are completed and in full.

Employees must also execute a consent document that allows contact with any local state and federal law enforcement agencies and includes access to the Georgia Crime Information Center.

See: Consent form

Personal References

Not Required

Training Requirements

A minimum of 24 hours of classroom instruction is required in a basic
training program that includes, but is not limited to, the following:
•   Role of Private Security
•   Legal Aspects
•   Patrol and Observation
•   Incident Response
•   Security Resources
•   Customer Service Issues
•   First Aid Overview

For employees performing the functions of armed private security personnel, in addition to the 24-hour basic training
curriculum, these personnel must satisfy the requirements set forth in the firearms training curriculum.
A minimum of 15 hours of instruction is required for the firearm training
curriculum for handguns, administered by an instructor who is licensed by the Board.
This curriculum is intended to meet the minimum requirements of the Georgia Board of Private Detective and Security Agencies.

Employee, in order to demonstrate qualification to carry a firearm, must affirm classroom instruction in the use of firearms by a board-approved instructor, firearm range instruction, and passage of the Standard Practical Pistol Course.

Exam Requirement

A minimum passing score of 80% must be achieved on a written exam. A minimum passing score of 80% must be achieved on the firing range, proctored by a firearms instructor licensed by the Board.
See: GA R&R Department 509 Chapter 509-3 Rule 503-3-.10

Child Support

OCGA § 19-11-9.3
The agency shall maintain a statewide certified list of those persons included in any case enforced under this article for whom an order for child support has been rendered and who are not in compliance with that order. The certified list must be updated on a monthly basis. The agency shall submit to each licensing entity a certified list with the name, social security number, if known, date of birth, and last known address of each person on the list. Notice for purposes of this Code section shall be initiated by the department. Notice to the delinquent obligor shall include the address and telephone number of the agency and shall inform the delinquent obligor of the agency’s intent to submit the obligor’s name to relevant licensing entities and to request that the licensing entities withhold issuance or renewal of the license, or suspend the license.

Hawaii: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Hawaii

Legislation/Source:

Hawaii Administrative Rules (HAR)
Title 16 – Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs

and
Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS)
Chapter 463 – Private Detectives and Guards

Authorizing Department


Board of Private Detectives and Guards
Department of Commerce and COnsumer Affairs
Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch

P.O. Box 3469
Honolulu, HI 96801

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

Hawaii, as in other select states, permits either security guard registration or direct application for a license to provide security officer services as an individual “sole proprietor.” In the latter case, the security officer IS IN the business of security and has more stringent experience and background requirements.
Most of the regulatory requirements are not imposed in the guard registration process.

See: Requirements & Instructions – Guard Employee Registration
See: Requirements & Instructions – Sole Proprietor

In Hawaii, “Guard” means a registered uniformed or non uniformed person responsible for the safekeeping of a client’s properties and persons within contractually prescribed boundaries, and for observation and reporting relative to such safekeeping. “Guard” shall not include any active duty federal, state, or county law enforcement officers or personnel.
See: HRS §463 – 1

Guard Registration
Fees:
*If the registration is approved between July 1 and June 30, of the first year of triennium (2018, 2021, 2024), pay:
$10.00   Application fee
$54.00   Registration fee
$51.00   Compliance Resolution
$36.00   2/3 Triennial Renewal Fee

OR if the registration is approved between July 1 and June 30, of the second year of triennium (2019, 2022, 2025), pay:
$10.00   Application fee
$54.00   Registration fee
$34.00   Compliance Resolution
$18.00   1/3 Triennial Renewal Fee

OR *If your registration is approved between July 1 and June 30, of the third year of the triennium, (2020, 2023, 2026), pay
$10.00   Application fee
$54.00   Registration fee
$17.00   Compliance Resolution Fund

See: Requirements & Instructions – Guard Employee Registration

Before beginning employment as a guard or in a guard capacity, in addition to the classroom instruction required by this section, guards and individuals acting in a guard capacity who carry a firearm or other weapon, including but not limited to an electric gun as
defined in section 134-1, while on-duty in a guard capacity shall possess a valid permit to acquire the ownership of a firearm issued by county police pursuant to section 134-2 and shall
satisfy the requirements of section 134-2(g).
See: HRS §463 – 10.5(e)

Hawaii now has an online portal for licensure and registration, Online Application Portal.

See also: Online Portal Instructions

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

No person shall engage in the business of private detective or guard, represent oneself to be, hold oneself out as, list oneself or advertise as a private detective or guard or as furnishing detective investigating services or guard services without first obtaining a license as a private detective or guard from the Board of Detectives and Guards upon payment of application, examination and license fees.

See: Requirements and Instructions – Guard and Private Detective

If applicant has license in any other state or jurisdictions, need to complete License Verification form: PDG-21 1015R for use by the State of Hawaii Board of Private Detective and Guards to evaluate the application for a Hawaii principal detective or guard; or a security guard training instructor license.

See: License Verification – Private Detective and Guards

Hawaii has carved out a specialized reciprocity rule for military spouses.

See: PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL LICENSING ACT §436B-14.6-7

Age Requirements

The applicant must be at least 18 years of age
See: HRS §463 – 10.5a(1)

Citizenship

The legislation is silent on this requirement. However, the application asks whether the applicant is a U.S. citizen, a U.S. national, or an alien authorized to work in the U.S.
See: Requirements & Instructions – Guard Employee Registration (page 6)

Experience

An applicant must also possess a high school education or its equivalent
See: HRS §463 – 10.5a(2)
See: Statement of Educational Backgrounf Form

Exemptions

HRS § 463 – 13
This chapter does not apply to any person, firm, company, partnership, or corporation or any bureau or agency whose business is exclusively the furnishing of information as to the business and financial standing and credit responsibility of persons, firms, or corporations, or as to personal habits and financial responsibility, of applicants for insurance, indemnity bonds, or commercial credit, or an attorney at law in performing the attorney’s duties as such attorney at law.

Permit Required

Before beginning employment as a guard or in a guard capacity, in addition to the classroom instruction required by this section, guards and individuals acting in a guard capacity who carry a firearm or other weapon, including but not limited to an electric gun as defined in section 134-1, while on-duty in a guard capacity shall possess a valid permit to acquire the ownership of a firearm issued by county police pursuant to section 134-2 and shall satisfy the requirements of section 134-2(g).
See: HRS §463 – 10.5(e)

Requirement to carry an ID card

The legislation is silent on this requirement.

Moral Character

No baseline requirement

Fingerprint

Fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI. The fingerprints will also be retained by the HCJDC and the FBI for all purposes and uses authorized for fingerprint submissions, which may include participation in the state and national rap back programs.

Hawaii now has a designated Code for Fingerprint processing: HI-DCCA-PDSG

See: Requirements & Instructions – Guard Employee Registration

Applicants shall be fingerprinted electronically at Fieldprint Inc. locations nationwide or any other fingerprinting agency approved to send electronic fingerprints to the HCJDC.
Please visit Fieldprint Inc. at http://fieldprinthawaii.com
to make an appointment, inquire about other available site locations on the Continental United States, or call (877) 614-4361.
Fees for the FBI and State of Hawaii Criminal history record checks shall be paid directly to Fieldprint and will be electronically sent to the HCJDC.

See: Frequently Asked Questions

Substance Abuse

Not listed

Mental Health

The applicant should not be presently suffering from any psychiatric or psychological disorder which is directly related and detrimental to a person’s performance in the profession;
school education or its equivalent
See: HRS §463 – 10.5(a)(3)

Criminal History Background Check

The applicant must not have been convicted in any jurisdiction of a crime which reflects unfavorably on the fitness of the individual to act as a guard, unless the conviction has been annulled or expunged by court order; provided that the individual shall submit to a national criminal history record check as authorized by federal law, including but not limited to the Private Security Officer Employment Authorization Act of 2004, and specified in the rules of the board.

New instructions regarding Background Checks have been published here.

See: HRS §463 – 10.5(a)(4)

Personal References

Not required

Training Requirements

HRS § 463 – 10.5
(c)   Guards and individuals acting in a guard capacity shall successfully complete the classroom instruction specified by this section, pass a written test, and undergo four hours of on-the-job training supervised by an individual who has successfully completed all of the 6 requirements of this section or who has otherwise been approved by the board for on-the-job training. Guards and individuals acting in a guard capacity shall successfully complete:

(1)   Eight hours of classroom instruction before the first day of service; and
(2)   Four hours of classroom instruction biennially thereafter; provided that in addition to relevant guard industry material, the required classroom instruction shall include a refresher component on professional image and aloha training.

Firearms Training
HAR §134-2(g)
Effective July 1, 1995, no person shall be issued a permit under this section for the acquisition of a pistol or revolver unless the person, at any time prior to the issuance of the permit, has completed:
(1)   An approved hunter education course as authorized under section 183D-28;

(2)   A firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by a law enforcement agency of the State or of any county;

(3)   A firearms safety or training course offered to law enforcement officers, security guards, investigators, deputy sheriffs, or any division or subdivision of law enforcement or security enforcement by a state or county law enforcement agency; or

(4)   A firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a state certified or National Rifle Association certified firearms instructor or a certified military firearms instructor that provides, at a minimum, a total of at least two hours of firing training at a firing range and a total of at least four hours of classroom instruction, which may include a video, that focuses on:

(A)   The safe use, handling, and storage of firearms and firearm safety in the home; and
(B)   Education on the firearm laws of the State.

Exam Requirement

Guard must pass a written test after the completion of the classroom instruction training.
See: HRS §463 – 10.5(c)

For the Firearms, An affidavit signed by the certified firearms instructor who conducted or taught the course, providing the name, address, and phone number of the instructor and attesting to the successful completion of the course by the applicant shall constitute evidence of certified successful completion under this paragraph.
See: HAR §134-2(g)

Child Support

HRS § 436B – 19.5
The licensing authority shall refuse to renew, reinstate, or restore, or shall deny or suspend any license if the authority has received certification from the child support enforcement agency pursuant to the terms of section 576D-13 that the licensee or applicant is not in compliance with an order of support or has failed to comply with a subpoena or warrant relating to a paternity or child support proceeding.

Idaho: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Idaho

Legislation/Source:

Boise City Code
Chapter 5-19: Private Security Service

City of Idaho Falls Ordinance: http://www.idahofallsidaho.gov/wwwroot/userfiles/files/legal/city_code_title_4_ch_6.pdf

Authorizing Department

Idaho has no state permit requirement for the purchase and possession of any rifle, shotgun or handgun.
See: Govenor’s Proclamation

Licensure and License Fees

None

Age Requirements

No state requirement

Citizenship

No state requirement

Experience

No state requirement

Exemptions

No state requirement

Permit Required

No state requirement

Requirement to carry an ID card

No state requirement

Moral Character

No state requirement

Fingerprint

No state requirement

Substance Abuse

No state requirement

Mental Health

No state requirement

Personal References

No state requirement

Training Requirements

No state requirement

Exam Requirement

No state requirement

Child Support

No state requirement

Illinois: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Illinois

Legislation/Source:

Illinois Compiled Statutes
Chapter 225 – PROFESSIONS, OCCUPATIONS,
AND BUSINESS OPERATIONS
225 ILCS 447/ – Private Detective,
Private Alarm, Private Security,
Fingerprint Vendor, and Locksmith Act of 2004.

TITLE 68: PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS

CHAPTER VII: DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
SUBCHAPTER B: PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS
PART 1240 PRIVATE DETECTIVE, PRIVATE ALARM, PRIVATE SECURITY, FINGERPRINT VENDOR, AND LOCKSMITH ACT OF 2004

Authorizing Department

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
Attn: Division of Professional Regulation


320 West Washington, 3rd Floor

Springfield, IL 62786
Phone: (888) 473-4858
Email: FPR.LMU@Illinois.gov

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In order to obtain the status of an armed security officer in Illinois, individuals must have a Permanent Employee Registration Card (PERC) which is needed to be an unarmed security officers and additionally obtain a Firearm Control Card.

See the unarmed security officers section for details on the PERC.

Employees of an armed proprietary security force must register with the Department.

The Department shall issue a firearm control card to a person who has passed an approved firearm training course, who is currently licensed or employed by an agency licensed by this Act and has met all the requirements of this Act, and who possesses a valid firearm owner identification card. Application for the firearm control card shall be made by the employer to the Department on forms provided by the Department.
See: 225 ILCS 447/35-35(d)

Each employer shall make a request to the Division, on forms supplied by the Division, for the issuance of a firearm control card for each licensee or employee whose duties include the use, carrying or possession of a firearm.
See: Section 1240.530 Firearm Control Cards

Illinois does allow for security officer employees to work in temporary status as long as the employer meets all the following conditions:
(1) The agency completes in its entirety and submits to the Department an application for a permanent employee registration card, including the required fingerprint receipt and fees.
(2) The agency has verification from the Department that the applicant has no record of any criminal conviction pursuant to the criminal history check conducted by the Department of State Police….
(3) The agency exercises due diligence to ensure that the person is qualified under the requirements of the Act to be issued a permanent employee registration card.
See: 225 ILCS 447/35-30

As stated in the firearm control card application:
A $75 processing fee, made payable to the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, must accompany this application.
There will be a $45 triennial fee required for renewal of this card.

See: Application for Firearm Control Card

Temporary Licensure
Illinois does allow for security officer employees to work in temporary status as long as the employer does the following:

225 ILCS 447/35-30
(k) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (j), an agency may employ a person in a temporary capacity if all of the following conditions are met:
(1) The agency completes in its entirety and submits to the Department an application for a permanent
employee registration card, including the required fingerprint receipt and fees.
(2) The agency has verification from the Department that the applicant has no record of any criminal conviction pursuant to the criminal
history check conducted by the Department of State Police….
(3) The agency exercises due diligence to ensure that the person is qualified under the requirements of the Act to be issued a permanent employee registration card.

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

Illinois has no reciprocity with any other state.

Age Requirements

An applicant must be a minimum of 21 years old to work in an armed capacity

See: Application for Firearm Control Card

Citizenship

The application requirements do not designate required citizenship. However, the applicant needs a formal relationship with social security.

Experience

The applicant must be registered as an unarmed security officer and must possess a valid employee registration card.
See: 225 ILCS 447/35-35(d)

Exemptions

According to the Application for Firearm Control Card for Licensee/Licensed Agencies:
•   A peace officer as defined in the Private Detective, Private Alarm, Private Security, Fingerprint Vendor, and Locksmith Act is exempt from the requirements relating to the possession of a firearm control card. The employing agency shall remain responsible for any peace officer employed under this exemption.
•   A person employed as an armed security guard at a nuclear energy, storage, weapons, or development site or facility regulated by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission who has completed the background screening and training mandated by the rules and regulations of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission is exempt from registration for a firearm control card.
See: Application for Firearm Control Card

Permit Required

A firearms control card is required.

The firearms control card does not qualify the individual to carry a firearm outside off-duty.
See: 225 ILCS 447/35-35(c)

Requirement to carry an ID card

The holder of a permanent employee registration card shall carry the card at all
times while actually engaged in the performance of the duties of his or her employment. Expiration and requirements for renewal
of permanent employee registration cards shall be established by rule of the Department. Possession of a permanent employee
registration card does not in any way imply that the holder of the card is employed by an agency unless the permanent employee
registration card is accompanied by the employee identification card required by subsection (f) of this Section.

See: 225 ILCS §447/35-30(d)

Moral Character

The application process inferentially deals with character by a review of the following:

•   Dishonorable discharge from military service
•   Disease or conditions that may interfere with professional work
•   Denial of a prior professional license

The legislation does not mention this requirement for employees.

Fingerprint

A PERC card requires a background review and an analysis of the employee’s fingerprints.

Section 1240.520 Fingerprint Requirements
Any person seeking employee registration under Section 35-30 of the Act shall file an application with the Division, on forms provided by the Division, along with one of the following:
•   Copy of the verification of fingerprint processing from ISP or from one of the ISP live scan vendors whose equipment has been certified by ISP or a fingerprint vendor agency licensed by the Division;
•   Out-of-state residents unable to utilize the ISP electronic fingerprint process may submit to ISP one fingerprint card issued by ISP, accompanied by the fee specified by ISP.

For a full review of fingerprint requirements as these relate to the PERC card, click here.

Substance Abuse

Illinois Administrative Code § 1240.200(f)
While the rules do not explicitly mention individual security officers subject to these requirements, individual private security contractors, in order to be licensed must demonstrate the following:
(4)   Is not suffering from dependence on alcohol or from narcotic addiction or dependence.

Mental Health

Illinois Administrative Code § 1240.200(f)
While the rules do not explicitly mention individual security officers subject to these requirements, individual private security contractors, in order to be licensed must demonstrate the following:

(3)   Has not been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction to be incompetent by reason of mental or physical defect or disease, unless a court has subsequently declared the applicant to be competent.

Criminal History Background Check

Applicants for the PERC card must affirm being free of a criminal history and other suspect conditions.
See: PERC New Application Checklist (PDF), page 9

Applicants are deemed unfit for registration for reasons of conviction of an offense Illinois or another state, including registration as a sex offender, but not including a traffic offense. Persons convicted of felonies involving bodily harm, weapons, violence, or theft within the previous 10 years shall be presumed to be unfit for registration.
See: 225 ILCS 447/35-30(a)(3)

In determining whether an applicant for a permanent employee registration card or firearm control card is unfit for such registration because of criminal history record information, the Division shall consider the following standards:

1)    Whether the crime was one of armed violence or any two or more repeated acts of violence towards persons or property [720 ILCS 5/Art. 33A] or:

A)    Crimes involving dishonesty, false statement or some other element of deceit, untruthfulness or falsification (including, but not limited to perjury, inducement of perjury, false statement, criminal fraud, embezzlement, false pretense, forgery, counterfeiting and theft).

B)    Drug offenses including, but not limited to, the Illinois Controlled Substances Act [720 ILCS 570/Art. I] and Federal Drug Enforcement Laws (21 USC 801 et seq.).

C)    Sex offenses including, but not limited to, all crimes listed in Article 11 of the Criminal Code of 1961 [720 ILCS 5/Art. 11].

2)    Whether the crime is related to the detective, security, alarm or locksmith profession.

3)    Whether more than 10 years have elapsed since the date of completion of imposed sentence.

4)    Whether the conviction was from a city ordinance violation or conviction for which a jail sentence was not imposed.

5)    Whether the applicant has been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public trust. The Division shall consider, but not be bound by, the following in considering whether an applicant has been presumed to be rehabilitated:

A)    Completion of probation;

B)    Completion of parole supervision; or

C)    If no parole was granted, a period of 10 years has elapsed after final discharge or release from any term of imprisonment without any subsequent conviction.

See: Illinois Administrative Code Section 1240.525(b)

Personal References

None

Training Requirements

40-Hour Firearm Training Course
No registered or armed employee shall be allowed to perform duties that require the use,
carrying or possession of a firearm until that employee has completed the 20
hours of basic training required by the Act, and has satisfactorily completed a 20-
hour firearm training course approved by the Division. The firearm training
course shall include both classroom instruction and firing range experience.
Classroom instruction shall include, but not be limited to, the following subject matter:
•   Legal use of firearms;
•   Ethical and moral considerations of weapons use;
•   Liability for acts while armed;
•   Use of deadly force;
•   Search, seizure and arrest procedures while armed
•   Firearm safety and maintenance; and
•   Fundamentals of firearm use such as stance, grip, sight alignment, sight picture and trigger control.

See: Section 1240.510 Firearm Training Course

See: Application and instructions for 40h training course
See: Firearm Certificate of Training

Exam Requirement

Not required

Child Support

An applicant’s personal information entered on the application can be used to check to see if the applicant is more than 30 days late on any child support payment.
See: Application for Firearm Control Card

Indiana: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Indiana

Legislation/Source:

Indiana Code Title 35 Criminal Law and Procedure
Article 47 Weapons and instruments of Violence
Chapter 2. Regulation of Handguns

Authorizing Department

Indiana Private Investigator and Security Guard Licensing Board
Indiana Professional Licensing Agency

402 West Washington Street, Room W072
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
Phone: (317) 234-3040
Fax: (317) 233-4236

Official Website

Firearms License Unit
Information Technology section
Criminal Justice Data Division
Indiana State Police
Indiana Government Center North
100 N. Senate Avenue, Suite N302
Indianapolis IN 46204
Phone: (317) 232-8264
Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In Indiana, only security businesses are subject to licensure. It is the licensee’s responsibility to oversee their unarmed and armed employees.

The legislation regulating the private security business does not mention any requirements for armed employees. Hence, in order to become an armed security officer, a firearms license is required.

Fees consist of both a State fee and a local fee, and vary depending upon the type of license for which you apply.
All NEW license applications incur a $11.95 fee for MorphoTrust Electronic Fingerprinting. Additionally, ALL license applications incur an IN.gov processing fee of $1.00 plus 2% of the transaction amount added to the price of the service.
See: Firearms Licensing Fee Schedule

Firearms Handgun Licensing Application Fees (Effective July 1, 2020)
Four Year Personal Protection
Local Fee $10.00/$5.00
State Fee $30.00

Lifetime Personal Protection/No Current License
Local Fee $0.00/$0.00
State Fee $0.00

Lifetime Personal Protection/Current Valid Indiana License
Local Fee $40.00/$30.00
State Fee $60.00

Retired Law Enforcement Officer
Fee Exampt

Retired Law Corrections Officer
Fee Exempt
Duplicate $20.00

See: Indiana State Police – Firearms Licensing

While individuals working for a security agency need not be licensed to provide security services, the individuals employed by a security agency need to be
internally tracked and listed and upon public request, provide that information.

Also note, Indiana allows private security entities to employ unlicensed parties but to also be responsible for their behavior and performance. See the Rule:

IC 25-30-1-11
Employees of licensee Sec. 11. (a) A licensee may employ, to assist the licensee in the licensee’s business as a private investigator
firm, as many unlicensed persons as may be necessary. The licensee is civilly responsible for the good conduct of all employees while
the unlicensed persons are acting on behalf of the licensee.

Indiana has recently implemented a new electronic web portal for hand gun licensing.
See: Apply for a New License to Carry

For further information on the licensing process, visit: Firearms License Application

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

Indiana requires an in-state license in the matter of security services. The Regulation states:

IC 25-30-1-14
Nonresidents Sec. 14. It shall be unlawful for a person licensed by any other state to do business in Indiana unless the person is
licensed and authorized to do business in Indiana. A person may not do business in Indiana until the person is licensed with the board
and meets the requirements for licensees of this state.

Age Requirements

Applicant must be at least 18 years of age.
See: IC 35-47-2-3(g)(3)

Citizenship

Applicant must be:
(A)   a citizen of the United States; or

(B)   not a citizen of the United States but is allowed to carry a firearm in the United States under federal law;

See: IC 35-47-2-3(e)(4)

Experience

None required

Exemptions

Retired law enforcement and retired corrections officers can apply for a retired law enforcement and retired corrections officer license card instead of a handgun license.
See: Indiana State Police – Firearms Licensing

Permit Required

A firearms license is required

Requirement to carry an ID card

Indiana now requires a Firearms License ID Card.
See: Firearms Licensing

Moral Character

No baseline requirement

Fingerprint

The applicant has to submit one (1) set of legible and classifiable fingerprints to the superintendent.
See: IC 35-47-2-3(c)

Substance Abuse

Applicant cannot have a record of being an alcohol or drug abuser.
See: IC 35-47-1-7(5)

Mental Health

Indiana has been criticized for its lack of oversight on handguns permits and its correlation to mental and emotional health problems. The code allows the superintendent of the state police to deny a license for discretionary reasons which does not preclude mental health. In addition, the actual application asks for mental health history. In the most general sense, the Indiana code provisions dealing with application procedures references that an applicant must be a “proper person” which directly references mental health qualities using the following language:

(6) does not have documented evidence which would give rise to a reasonable belief that he has a propensity for violent or emotionally unstable conduct.

See: IC 35-47-1-7

Criminal History Background Check

Indiana state police, by and through its licensing unit, oversees all background investigations and is permitted by the Indiana code to solicit information from state, local and national sources for criminal checks.
See: Indiana Code Title 35. Criminal Law and Procedure Article 47. Weapons and Instruments of Violence

Personal References

None required

Training Requirements

None required

Exam Requirement

None required

Child Support

No baseline requirement

Iowa: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Iowa

Legislation/Source:

CHAPTER 80A

PRIVATE INVESTIGATIVE AGENCIES AND SECURITY AGENTS

Iowa Administrative Code Chapter 661-121

Section 724 of the Iowa Code

Iowa Administrative Code 661-91

Authorizing Department

Bail Enforcement/Private Investigative/Security Licensing

Program Services Bureau

Administrative Services Division

Iowa Department of Public Safety


215 East 7th Street, 4th Floor

Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0045
Phone: (515) 725-6230
Fax: (515) 725-6264

Official Website

Weapon Permits
Program Services Bureau

Administrative Services Division
Iowa Department of Public Safety
Department of Public Safety Building
215 East 7th Street, 4th Floor
Des Moines, IA 50319-0045

wpinfo@dps.state.ia.us
Telephone: (515) 725-6230
Fax: (515) 725-6264

Licensure and License Fees

Iowa does not publish or promulgate different rules for “Armed” Officers. Instead the rules are identical to Unarmed although one needs a professional permit to carry weapons.
Official Web Location for Weapons Permit

a. A person may be issued a permit to carry weapons when the person’s employment in a private security business licensed under Chapter 80A reasonably justifies that person going armed.
b. The permit shall be on a form prescribed and published by the commissioner of public safety, shall identify the holder, and shall state the nature of the employment requiring the holder to go armed. A permit so issued other than to a peace officer, shall authorize the person to whom it is issued to go armed anywhere in the state, only while engaged in the employment, and while going to and from the place of the employment.
See: Iowa Code 724.6.1

A professional permit expires twelve months after the date when issued.
See: Iowa Code 724.6.1.d

Individuals seeking employment with a licensed security business must obtain an identification card issued by the department prior to commencing employment.
See: Iowa Code 80A.7

According to the Administrative Services Division of the Department for Public Safety, individuals who are employed by a licensed security agency “must obtain an employee ID card from the department and must meet the standards established in 661 Iowa Administrative Code 2.3(80A)

See the unarmed section for details on the requirement of obtaining an employer ID card.
This section details the requirements to obtain a professional permit to carry weapons.

Applications for permits to carry weapons shall be filed with the Iowa Department of Public Safety.

Employment is required to obtain a professional permit to carry weapons.
See: Application for Iowa Permit to Carry Weapons

Fees:
$50 Application fee
$25 Renewal fee
$25 Duplicate permit
$30 Fingerprint fee

Temporary Licensure
Iowa allows the issuance of a 14 day, temporary ID card for employed security officers as the full application is being processed.
See: Iowa Administrative Code at 121.11(2)

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

While as a general rule Iowa requires the firm or agency to be licensed, the state does not impose the licensure requirements on out of
state firms that in the furtherance of their businesses, peripherally contact Iowa citizens or entities.

The Iowa Code states: Any private investigative, private security, or bail enforcement business shall be licensed in Iowa if it is conducting business in Iowa.

As per IAC 121.4 (2)(d), types of activities that are not, by themselves, viewed as demonstrating jurisdiction in Iowa include, but are not limited to, the following:
(1) A non-Iowa-based private investigation business works on a criminal, civil, or administrative case that originates and is filed
in another state, but that contains some investigative elements in Iowa.

See: Chapter 121: Private Investigation, Private Security Businesses

Age Requirements

The applicant must be at least 18 years of age.
See: Iowa Code 724.8.1

Iowa Administrative Code 661-91.3(3)(a) prohibits the issuance of an Iowa professional permit to carry weapons to any person:
a.   Who is less than 18 years of age for a private security officer licensed by the Iowa department of public safety, or otherwise who is less than 21 years of age

Citizenship

Iowa Administrative Code 661—91.3(1) requires that those licensed and permitted to carry a weapon are legally residing in the United States or are U.S. citizens who have not renounced their citizenship.

Experience

None required

Exemptions

None

Permit Required

A professional weapons permit is required

Requirement to carry an ID card

A person armed with a revolver, pistol, or pocket billy concealed upon the person shall have in the person’s immediate possession the permit provided for in section 724.4, subsection 4, paragraph “i”, and shall produce the permit for inspection at the request of a peace officer.

See: Iowa Code 724.5.1

Moral Character

While the permit requirement is explicit- in order to be a security professional, who then carries a permit, must be attentive to the following:

According to Iowa Code 80A.4 (3), each employee of an applicant or licensee shall possess the same qualifications required by 80A.4 (1) for a licensee. As such, pursuant to 80A.4 (1) (f) the applicant must be of good moral character and has not been judged guilty of a crime involving moral turpitude.

Fingerprint

While the permit requirement is explicit- in order to be a security professional, who then carries a permit, must be attentive to the following:

According to Iowa Code 80A.4 (3), each employee of an applicant or licensee shall possess the same qualifications required by 80A.4 (1) for a licensee. As such, pursuant to 80A.4 (1) (j), the applicant must provide fingerprints to the department before a license is issued.

Substance Abuse

While the permit requirement is explicit- in order to be a security professional, who then carries a permit, must be attentive to the following:

According to Iowa Code 80A.4 (3), each employee of an applicant or licensee shall possess the same qualifications required by 80A.4 (1) for a licensee. As such, pursuant to 80A.4 (1) (d) is not addicted to the use of alcohol or a controlled substance.

Iowa Administrative Code 661-91.3(1)(c) prohibits the issuance of an Iowa professional permit to carry weapons to any person: who is an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance.

Iowa Administrative Code 661-91.3(3)(b) prohibits the issuance of an Iowa professional permit to carry weapons to any person: who is addicted to the use of alcohol.

Mental Health

Iowa Administrative Code 661-91.3(1)(d) prohibits the issuance of an Iowa professional permit to carry weapons to any person: who has been adjudicated as a mental defective or who has been committed to a mental
institution

Criminal History Background Check

While the permit requirement is explicit- in order to be a security professional, who then carries a permit, must be attentive to the following:

According to Iowa Code 80A.4 (3), each employee of an applicant or licensee shall possess the same qualifications required by 80A.4 (1) for a licensee. As such, pursuant to 80A.4(1)
(c)   Has never been convicted of a felony or aggravated misdemeanor.
(g)   Has not been convicted of a crime described in section 708.3, 708.4, 708.5, 708.6, 708.8, or 708.9.
(h)   Has not been convicted of illegally using, carrying or possessing a dangerous weapon.
(I)   Has not been convicted of fraud.

A person shall not be issued a permit to carry weapons unless the person has completed and signed an application on a form to be prescribed and published by the commissioner of public safety.
See: Iowa Code 724.10

Iowa Administrative Code 661-91.3(3) prohibits the issuance of an Iowa professional permit to carry weapons to any person:
(d)   Who has been convicted of a felony in a state or federal court, or who has been adjudicated delinquent on the basis of conduct that would constitute a felony if committed by an adult; or
Who is subject to a court order that:

(1)   Was issued after a hearing for which such person received actual notice and at which such
person had an opportunity to participate;
(2)   Restrain such person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner of such person
or child of such intimate partner or person or from engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate
partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child; and
(3)   Includes a finding that such person represents a credible threat to the physical safety of such intimate partner or child or by its terms explicitly prohibits the use, attempted use, or threatened use of
physical force against such intimate partner or child that would reasonably be expected to cause bodily
injury; or

(f)   Who has been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence; or
(g)   Who has, within the previous three years, been convicted of any serious or aggravated misdemeanor defined in Iowa Code chapter 708 not involving the use of a firearm or explosive

Personal References

None required

Training Requirements

Iowa provides a host of alternatives means and methods to receive training which include:

a.   Completion of any National Rifle Association (NRA) handgun safety training course

b.   Completion of any handgun safety training course available to the general public offered by a law enforcement agency, community college, college, private or public institution or organization, or firearms training school, utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or certain other firearms training certifying bodies (such as the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy)

c.   Completion of any handgun safety training course offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of a law enforcement or security enforcement agency approved by the Iowa Department of Public Safety.

d.   Completion of small arms training while serving with the armed forces of the United States.
e.   Completion of a law enforcement agency firearms training course that qualifies a peace officer to carry a firearm in the normal course of the peace officer’s duty.

f.   Completion of a hunter education program approved by the natural resource commission pursuant to section 483A.27, if the program includes a handgun safety training and completion of the handgun training is included on the certificate of completion.
See: Iowa Code 724.9.1

Exam Requirement

Not required

Child Support

According to Iowa Code § 252J.1 through 252J.9, the state may revoke or deny the giving of any business, driver’s, occupational, professional, or recreational permit or license for failure to pay child support.

Kansas: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Kansas

Legislation/Source:

Kansas does not presently regulate individual licensing provisions for armed or unarmed officer.
This lack does not imply that security agency or company licenses may require alternative licensing
methods and mechanisms, nor should the reader conclude that regulation does not exist for
other forms of licensure such as detectives or investigators.

Kentucky: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Kentucky

Legislation/Source:

Louisville/Jefferson County Metro Government Code of Ordinances
Title XI – Business Regulations
Chapter 124 – Armed Security Officers
And
Kentucky Revised Statutes

Authorizing Department

Louisville Department of Codes & Regulations
Specialty Licenses and Enforcement (ABC)

444 South 5th Street
Louisville, KY 40202
Phone: (502) 574-2508

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

Kentucky, at the Commonwealth level, does not regulate or license security officers. However, there are major metropolitan areas such as Louisville that do have a structure of regulation. The licensure content discussed within is narrowly directed at this municipality.
Kentucky does regulate and oversee conceal and carry weaponry at the state level.

Fees:
$20 Application fee
$10 Background check fee
$60 CCDW(Concealed Deadly Weapons) Application fee
“Active and retired peace officers that meet the requirements of KRS 237.110(7) are exempt from paying the application or renewal fee.”

See: Application

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

 

Age Requirements

Louisville Metro Code of Ordinances (LMCO) (B)(2)
The applicant must be at least 21 years of age

Citizenship

LMCO § 124.05(B)(1)
The applicant must be a citizen of the United States

Experience

Not required

Exemptions

LMCO § 124.05(H)
Persons who, at the time of their employment as armed security officers, are also sworn police officers in good standing of any unit of local government and who have completed within one year of their employment as sworn police officers a basic training course of at least 400 hours duration at a school certified or recognized by the Kentucky Law Enforcement Council are not required to be licensed by the Director in order to perform as armed security officers.

Permit Required

LMCO § 124.05(C)
Applicants shall be required to hold a valid license to carry a concealed deadly weapon (“CCDW”) pursuant to KRS 237.110.  The applicant must provide proof from the Commonwealth of Kentucky that he or she has a valid CCDW, and shall continue to hold such license at all times licensed as an Armed Security Officer.

CCDW is now an ONLINE Process. To carry a concealed deadly weapon, complete the application process at: Concealed Carry Licensing Portal

Requirement to carry an ID card

 

Moral Character

LMCO § 124.05(A)(3)(d)
An applicant shall not have been convicted of or currently under indictment for any of the following:  a felony; illegally using, carrying or possessing a deadly weapon as defined in KRS 500.080(4); impersonation of a law enforcement officer or employee of the United States or any political subdivision thereof; the illegal use, sale or possession of a controlled substance as defined in KRS Chapter 218A; or any crime of moral turpitude.

Fingerprint

Not listed

Substance Abuse

LMCO § 124.05(A)(3)(f)
An applicant shall  have not been hospitalized for drug or alcohol abuse treatment within the past two years, and if so hospitalized, will provide a written statement from a licensed and qualified physician or clinical psychologist verifying that he or she is mentally and emotionally fit for the duties of an armed security officer.

Mental Health

LMCO § 124.05(A)(3)(e)

An applicant shall have not been adjudged mentally incompetent or currently under charge thereof, by a federal court or court of any state or political subdivision, and shall have not been hospitalized for psychiatric treatment within the past two years, and if so hospitalized, will provide a written statement from a licensed and qualified physician or clinical psychologist verifying that he or she is mentally and emotionally fit for the duties of an armed security officer;

An application must include a mental inquest check certified by the District Clerk’s Office, if a Jefferson County, Kentucky Resident. A copy of the mental inquest check can be obtained at:

Hall of Justice
600 West Jefferson Street, 3rd Floor (Room 3177)

Mailing Address:
700 West Jefferson Street
Louisville, KY 40202
Attn: Disability/Mental Inquest

Telephone: (502) 595-3261 / After hours: (502) 595-4587
Hours: 8:30 am to 4:30 pm

Criminal History Background Check

LMCO § 124.05(A)(3)(d)
An applicant shall not have been convicted of or currently under indictment for any of the following:  a felony; illegally using, carrying or possessing a deadly weapon as defined in KRS 500.080(4); impersonation of a law enforcement officer or employee of the United States or any political subdivision thereof; the illegal use, sale or possession of a controlled substance as defined in KRS Chapter 218A; or any crime of moral turpitude.

An application must include a copy of the applicant criminal, which can be obtained from :

Commonwealth of Kentucky
Administrative Office of the Courts Pretrial Services Records Division
100 Millcreek Park
Frankfort KY 40601
800-928-6381 or 502-573-1682

As well as Statewide records check from any place in which you have lived within the last five (5) years.

Personal References

Not Required

Training Requirements

In order to receive a license as an armed security officer, an applicant must successfully
complete a course from a training program having a curriculum including the following subjects:

•   Orientation (introduction to the course) and note taking
•   Fire prevention and control
•   Legal basis for security and rights of security officers, limitations (particularly with respect to the use of firearms)
•   Basic law pertaining to criminal justice and the Kentucky Penal Code
•   Criminal law and security officer arrest, force, search and seizure
•   Report writing
•   Crowd control
•   First aid and special problems

•   Defensive tactics, alternatives to the use of firearms

•   Firearms qualification

For more information, click here.

Exam Requirement

N/A

Child Support

KRS § 205.712

The cabinet for Health and Family Services shall determine the name of an obligor owing an arrearage and shall indefinitely deny, suspend, or revoke a license or certification that has been issued if the person has a child support arrearage that equals or exceeds the amount that would be owed after six (6) months of nonpayment or fails, after receiving appropriate notice, to comply with subpoenas or warrants relating to paternity or child support proceedings as provided by 42 U.S.C. sec. 666(a)(16). The cabinet shall forward the name of the individual to a board of licensure or board of certification for the notification of the denial, revocation, or suspension of a driver’s license, professional license or certification, occupational license or certification, recreational license, or sporting license.

Louisiana: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Louisiana

Legislation/Source:

Louisiana Revised Statutes
Title 37 – Professions and Occupations
Chapter 47 – Private Contract Security Companies (Section 37:3270 through 3299)
and
Louisiana Administrative Code
Title 46 – Professional and Occupational Standards
Part LIX – Private Security Examiners

Authorizing Department

Louisiana State Board of Private Security Examiners
15703 Old Hammond Highway
Baton Rouge, LA 70816
Phone: (225) 272-2310 or (866) 278-8080
Email: info@LSBPSE.com

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In Louisiana individual employees of licensed security businesses must register with the board by filing for a registration card.
The applicant must first be employed in a licensed security company or firm. During this period of employment, the company applies on behalf of the security officer for that license.

See: LA RS §37:3283

For supplemental forms relating to company application, termination, reinstatement, training and other matters, see: Security Application Documents

An applicant who will be registered to carry a weapon must be trained in that weapon prior to carrying such on a job site and verification of training must be submitted by the licensee to the board at the time application is made. If the applicant has not been trained, then the licensee shall register the applicant as unarmed until such time as required training has been received and proof of training submitted to the board.
See: LA AC 46:3.§301.H

Security officer registrations are now being processed on an electronic portal, known as eLicensure, commencing February of 2019.
To find out about the new protocol and requirements, visit: E Licensure Portal

To take the tutorial relating to eLicensure, click here

Fees
$40.00   Application fee
$40.00   Renewal fee .(expire annually on the date of issuance)
$10.00   Criminal Background Tracking Admin Fee (Only for renewal applications

$20.00   Transfer fee
$20.00   Replacement fee for a lost, destroyed, or mutilated card
$20.00   Reinstatement fee
$20.00   Status change fee
$26   State Background check
$13.25   FBI Background Check
$88 Total fees for “Blue Application”
See: Fees

All fees shall be paid by check or money order made payable to the board.

Every security officer must apply for and carry a registration card indicating formal approval and employment with a licensed security firm.
The Code indicates that there is both a “temporary registration card” and a “permanent” one.
While not explicitly mentioned, the inference is that a security officer can work with the temporary card while awaiting the permanent version after all approvals. The Code states:

§3283.
Security officer and security operations manager registrant; card; application; qualifications;
investigation; denial, suspension, or revocation; validity; renewal; change of address
A.(1) Each person who performs the functions and duties of a security officer or security operations manager within this
state as defined in this Chapter shall apply to the board for a registration card.
(2) The portion of the board application indicating temporary registration shall be carried by
the applicant when he is within the scope of his employment until such time as he receives his permanent registration card from the board.
See: LA Rev Stat § 37:3283

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

Regulations are silent on this issue.

Age Requirements

Louisiana Administrative Code (AC), 46:3.301(B)(3)
The applicant must be at least 21 years of age if registered armed.

Citizenship

RS 37:3276(A)(3) and AC 46:3.301(B)(1)
The applicant must be a citizen or of the U.S or may be a resident alien

Experience

Not required

Exemptions

RS 37:3298

Inapplicability:

A.   This Chapter shall not apply to a person or corporation which employs persons who do private security work in connection with the affairs of such employer only and who have an employer-employee relationship with such employer.  Neither such persons or corporations nor their employees shall be required to register or be licensed under this Chapter.
B.    This Chapter shall not apply to a peace officer employed by a state, parish, or local law enforcement agency who contracts directly with a licensed contract security company or the actual consumer of contract security services to work during his off-duty hours and whose off-duty employment is conducted on an independent contractor basis with such licensed contract security company or consumer of security services.  
C.   This Chapter shall not be construed to apply to a federal peace officer or federal law enforcement officer.

AC 46:3.403(e)

Classroom Training
Security officers who have been registered in other states who have licensing requirements similar to Louisiana, and law enforcement officers identified in R.S. 37:3284 may attend a four-hour modular training program administered by a board-licensed instructor. Upon completion of the four-hour modular training, the officer shall take a 50-question examination, and if the security officer successfully passes the examination, this modular training shall be considered the equivalent to the classroom training provided for in R.S. 37:3284 and rules herein. It the security officer does not successfully pass the examination, then he must go through the entire classroom training program.

Permit Required

Trans RS 37:3285
Transportation of firearms

An armed security officer whose duties require the transporting of a firearm to and from the work assignment and his residence, or between assignments, shall be required to have in his possession an armed registration card issued by the board.  This registration card does not permit the carrying of concealed weapons.  

Requirement to carry an ID card

RS 37:3283(B)
Every person required to be registered by the board shall carry his registration card when performing the duties for which he is registered, and it shall be exhibited upon request by any authorized representative of the board or any law enforcement officer.  The registration card shall entitle the registrant to perform the duties as described therein as long as the registrant maintains his eligibility under the provisions of this Chapter.

RS 37:3285
An armed security officer whose duties require the transporting of a firearm to and from the work assignment and his residence, or between assignments, shall be required to have in his possession an armed registration card issued by the board.  This registration card does not permit the carrying of concealed weapons.  

Moral Character

The applicant must be of good moral character.
See: RS:3276.A(1)

RS 37:3276.1(B)(1)

No person shall be granted a license under the provisions of this Chapter unless the applicant has demonstrated to the board that he is suitable for licensing.  For purposes of this Chapter, suitability means the applicant or licensee is:

(a)   A person of good moral character, honesty, and integrity.
(b)   A person whose prior activities, arrest, or criminal record if any, reputation, habits, and associations do not pose a threat to the public interest of this state or to the effective regulation of private security companies, and do not create or enhance the dangers of unsuitable, unfair, or illegal practices, methods, and operations in the activities authorized by this Chapter and financial arrangements incidental thereto.

Fingerprint

RS 37:3276(C)(4) and AC 46:3.(D)(1)

Any individual signing a license application shall submit with the license application classifiable impressions of his fingerprints on a form approved by the board (one set).

Substance Abuse

RS 37:3276(A)(6)
Applicant must not suffer from habitual drunkenness or from narcotics addiction or dependence.

Mental Health

RS 37:3276(A)(5)
Applicant must not have been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent by reason of mental defect or disease which has not been restored.

Criminal History Background Check

D. After receipt of an application for a registration card, the board shall conduct an investigation to determine whether the facts set forth in the application are true. Actions by the board to approve or deny an application for a registration card shall be the same as that action taken to deny or approve an application for license as provided in R.S. 37:3279.
See: RS 37:3283.D

RS 37:3276.1(A)
No person may be eligible to apply or be granted a license under the provisions of this Chapter if either of the following applies:

(1)   He has been convicted in any jurisdiction of any crime of violence as defined by R.S. 14:2(B).
(2)   He has been convicted in any jurisdiction of any other felony offense within ten years prior to the date of the application or less than ten years has elapsed between the date of application and the successful completion or service of any sentence, deferred adjudication, or period of probation or parole for which a full pardon or similar relief has not been granted under the laws of the United States, the state of Louisiana, or any other state or country.

All security applicants backgrounds and criminal history are fully scrutinized by the board, the State Police Records Dvision and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
Fees are:
$26.00   State Background check
$13.25   FBI Background Check
All fees shall be paid by check or money order made payable to the board.

Personal References

Not required

Training Requirements

RS 37:3284(B)
Any security officer employed after the effective date of this Chapter shall complete, within thirty days of his first work assignment,
either eight hours of classroom training or an approved curriculum-based training course under a licensed instructor and successfully
pass an examination on the prescribed material which shall include the following topics:
•   Orientation to R.S. 37:3270 through 3299 and the board’s rules and regulations.
•   Legal powers and limitations of a security officer.
•   Emergency procedures.
•   General duties/field notes/report writing.

Armed security officers in addition to the training requirements outlined in Paragraphs (1) and (4) of this Subsection shall complete firearms training and range qualifications, as prescribed by the board, prior to armed work assignment. The nature and extent of firearms training shall be adequately described, approved, and monitored by the board to include at a minimum the following:
(a)   Legal limitations on use of weapons.
(b)   Handling of a weapon.
(c)   Safety and maintenance.
(d)   Dim light firing.
(e)   A shoot, don’t shoot program.
(f)   Stress factors.
(3)   Marksmanship requirement shall be a minimum of eighty percent on any silhouette target course approved by the board.
(4)   Security officers shall have sixty days from the date of the first work assignment to complete either an additional eight hours of classroom training or an approved curriculum-based training course under a licensed instructor, as prescribed by the board, and successfully pass a fifty-question test administered by the licensed instructor by achieving a minimum score of seventy percent.

Failure to complete the required training within the prescribed time period may preclude future consideration for a license for a period of one year.

All armed security officers must complete an annual firearms retraining course, as prescribed by the board, which includes refresher courses on
subjects previously specified, a written test of at least fifty questions, and retraining in firearms instructions, to include minimum marksmanship
qualification of eighty percent on an approved silhouette target course approved by the board. The requirement that the test be a written test shall not be
cause for an increase in the cost to the security officer of the required refresher course.

AC 46:4.403
•   Any security officer employed after September 1, 1985 shall complete, within 30 days from his date of hire, eight hours’ classroom training under a board-licensed classroom instructor.
•   Security officer shall have 60 days from date of first work assignment to complete an additional eight-hour classroom training program which has been approved by the board.
•   Upon completion of each of the eight-hour segments of the prescribed training, a 50-question examination shall be given to each security officer by the board-licensed instructor. The first eight-hour examination shall be different from the second eight-hour examination, cover the required training topics, and be approved by the board prior to being administered. Minimum passing score is 70 percent.
•   All scores of such examinations must be recorded and submitted to the board by the licensee or employer, as the case may be, on its prescribed training verification form signed by the licensed instructor within 15 calendar days from completion of training.
•   Security officers who have been registered in other states who have licensing requirements similar to Louisiana, and law enforcement officers identified in R.S. 37:3284
may attend a four-hour modular training program administered by a board-licensed instructor. Upon completion of the four-hour modular training, the officer shall take a
50-question examination, and if the security officer successfully passes the examination, this modular training shall be considered the equivalent to the classroom training provided for in R.S.
37:3284 and rules herein. It the security officer does not successfully pass the examination, then he must go through the entire classroom training program.

Types of weaponry that are regulated by the Louisiana State Board of Private Security Examiners:

•   .38 Revolver
•   .357 Revolver
•   9mm Semi-Automatic
•   .40 Semi-Automatic
•   .45 Semi-Automatic
•   Shotgun
•   Rifle

Exam Requirement

AC 46:4.403
•   Upon completion of each of the eight-hour segments of the prescribed training, a 50-question examination shall be given to each security officer by the board-licensed instructor. The first eight-hour examination shall be different from the second eight-hour examination, cover the required training topics, and be approved by the board prior to being administered. Minimum passing score is 70 percent.
•   All scores of such examinations must be recorded and submitted to the board by the licensee or employer, as the case may be, on its prescribed training verification form signed by the licensed instructor within 15 calendar days from completion of training.

RS 37:3279(C)
An applicant who fails an examination may be examined again upon filing a reexamination application and paying the reexamination fee fixed by this Chapter.

Child Support

RS 9:315.30
The courts of this state are authorized to suspend certain licenses of individuals who are found to be in contempt of court for failure to comply with a subpoena or warrant in a child support or paternity proceeding or who are not in compliance with a court order of child support.

More Information

  •   Forms

  •   FAQ

Laws and Rules:
Louisiana Legislature-
  •   Louisiana State Legislature Chapter 47
  •   Title 37 – Professions and Occupations
  •  
Louisiana Administrative Code

Maine: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Maine

Legislation/Source:

Maine Revised Statute Title 32, Chapter 93

§2003-A
Title 25: INTERNAL SECURITY AND PUBLIC SAFETY
Part 5: PUBLIC SAFETY
Chapter 252: PERMITS TO CARRY CONCEALED HANDGUNS

Authorizing Department


Bureau of Maine State Police

45 Commerce Drive
Augusta, Maine 04333-0042
Phone: (207) 624-7210

Official Website

What regulations do exist regarding handguns, pistols, shotguns and rifles fall under the province of the Maine State Police.
For more information visit:
•   Summary of Public Law 2015, Chapter 327 (127th Legis., LD 652)
•   Link to Public Law 2015, Chapter 327 (127th Legis., LD 652)

Licensure and License Fees

The security officer process is guided by contract security or other firm oversight. Hence licensing rules are identical for the security guard or officer in the armed or unarmed context.
As for weapons and permits, the State of Maine does not regulate handguns, rifles and shotguns.
Even concealed weapons are freely permissible.

See: Maine State Police permits

In Maine, individual security officer licenses are not issued unless tied to a contract security firm.

The security guard business, whether individual, partnership, corporation or other business form is the primary party responsible for the licensure of individual guards and officers.

The business is required to conduct background reviews and assure that the officer meets the defined criteria of a security officer.

Full coverage of these requirements is outlined in the Maine Security Guards Handbook.

32 §9404. LICENSE REQUIREMENT; EXCEPTIONS

1   No person may act as a security guard without first obtaining from the commissioner a license to be a contract security company.

2.   This section does not apply to the following:

A.   Any proprietary security organization or any employee thereof;
B.   Any person employed by a person possessing a valid license to be a contract security company;
C.   Any person possessing a valid contract security company license granted under any prior existing provision of law of this State, provided that upon expiration of that license the person shall be governed by this section.

The fee for a private security license application is $400, of which $100 must be submitted with the application and $300 must be submitted upon issuance of the license.

See: Title 32 §9404. License Requirement; Exception

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

You must be licensed in state- there is no reciprocity.

Age Requirements

32 §9410-A:
Security officer must be at least 18 years of age

Citizenship

32 §9410-A:
Security officer must be a citizen or resident alien of the United States

Experience

None required

Exemptions

None

Permit Required

A concealed handgun permit may be required.
See: Laws Relating to Permits to Carry Concealed Handguns (PDF)

Maine does not permit the carry of dangerous weapons by security personnel at labor disputes.
See: 32 §9412. UNLAWFUL ACTS at (5)

Maine does explicitly mention the right of security officers and guards to carry weapons in the transport of money. The statute states in part: 32 §9416.
See: 32 §9416. Firearms

A person who acts as a security guard may, while he is in the performance of his duties in that capacity, carry a loaded weapon in a motor vehicle which is being used to provide armored car service or which is otherwise transporting things of value, provided that any weapon carried is not concealed.

Moral Character

The State of Maine extensively reviews the moral character of contract security applicants but not individual licenses.
The responsibility to review character is an employer based responsibility. The Maine Security Handbook 32 §9405 1-A (F.6) states:

A list of employees as of the date the applicant signs the application who will perform security guard functions within the State.
This list shall identify each employee by his full name, full current address and addresses for the prior 5 years and his date and place of birth, height, weight and color of eyes. For each employee on this list who will perform security guard functions at the site of a labor dispute or strike, the applicant shall have previously investigated the background of the employee to ensure that the employee meets all of the requirements to be a security guard as contained in section 9410-A, subsection 1. If the employee meets all of the requirements to be a security guard, the applicant shall also submit a statement, signed by the applicant, stating that the applicant has conducted this background investigation

Fingerprint

None required

Substance Abuse

32 §9410-A:
The applicant cannot be: a drug abuser, drug addict or drug-dependent person

Mental Health

32 §9410-A:
The applicant cannot be potentially dangerous to himself or others as the result of a mental disorder

Criminal History Background Check

According to 32 §9410-A:

The applicant cannot have: been convicted of a crime punishable by one year or more of imprisonment or, within the past 5 years, any crime enumerated in section 9412; 3 or more convictions for crimes punishable by less than one year of imprisonment within the past 5 years; Is not a fugitive from justice; has not been adjudicated to have committed a juvenile offense involving conduct which, if committed by an adult, is punishable by one year or more of imprisonment or, within the past 5 years, a juvenile offense involving conduct which, if committed by an adult, is a crime enumerated in section 9412.

Furthermore, the applicant cannot have been dishonorably discharged from military service within the last 5 years.

See: 32 §9410-A. SECURITY GUARD QUALIFICATIONS

The Security Officer employer/licensee is required to conduct an extensive background check of all of it employees with 60 days of employment.
The rules read in part:
Within 60 days of the date that the employee begins to perform security guard functions within the State, the licensee shall complete this background
investigation and submit to the commissioner a statement, signed by the licensee, that the licensee has conducted the background investigation and that the
employee meets the requirements of subsection 1. This statement must be submitted to the commissioner before an employee may wear, carry or use a firearm in the
performance of security guard functions and before an employee may perform security guard functions at the site of a labor dispute or strike.

See: 32 §9410-A. SECURITY GUARD QUALIFICATIONS at paragraphs 3-4.

Personal References

None required

Training Requirements

None required

Exam Requirement

N/A

Child Support

Not required

Maryland: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Maryland

Legislation/Source:

BUSINESS OCCUPATIONS AND PROFESSIONS TITLE 19. SECURITY GUARD AGENCIES AND SECURITY GUARD CERTIFICATION SUBTITLE 4. CERTIFICATION OF SECURITY GUARDS

Authorizing Department

Maryland State Police Licensing Division
Attn.: Licensing Services Section – Security Guard Agency Unit

1111 Reisterstown Road
Pikesville, MD 21208
Phone: (410) 653-4623
Email: msp.securityguard@maryland.gov

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

Individuals applying for a State of Maryland Security Guard Certification, need to be employed or are seeking employment with a security provider licensed in the state. Hence, there are individual requirements coupled with employment. These requirements are posted throughout the template.

In addition to the Security Guard Certification, individuals seeking the status of an armed guard are required to obtain a Wear and Carry Permit.

According to the Maryland State Police Website, the fees for a handgun wear and carry permit are as follows:
$75.00 Original/Initial
$50.00 Renewal
$0.00 Retired Law Enforcement Officers of Maryland State or a County/ Municipality
$32.75 Fee for fingerprints

See: A list of all fees for licensing applications.

Maryland has established an online portal for electronic application of Firearms.

See: Online Firearm Application System

The initial handgun permit expires on the last day of the holder’s birth month following two (2) years after the date the permit is issued. Permits that have been modified or are a duplicate expire on the date provided on the initial permit.

See: More information on handgun wear and carry permits.

See: A wear and carry permit application

See: A presentation on the certification process

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

Maryland expressly does not permit out of state reciprocity.

See the FAQ’s for Security Guards at: Maryland Security Guard Certifications

Age Requirements

According to the Maryland State Police website, a person must be a minimum of 18 years old to obtain a handgun wear and carry permit

Citizenship

According to the Maryland State Police website, applicant must be a U.S. Citizen or possess documentation that you are allowed to work in the U.S.

Experience

None required

Exemptions

According to the Maryland State Police Website:
1.   Active, Former, and Retired Maryland Law Enforcement Officers​​ and retired or former federal law enforcement officers, who permanently reside in Maryland and who were assigned in Maryland during their employment- as long as the application is submitted within one year from the date the officer either retired in good standing or separated in good standing and/or the officer has a valid LEOSA permit/certification/identification, the Handgun Permit Unit may accept that the applicant has a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun as a reasonable precaution against the apprehended danger originating from his/her law enforcement position. ​

2.   For retired or former federal law enforcement officers and retired or former out-of -state law enforcement officers, who permanently reside in Maryland but were not assigned in Maryland during their employment, LEOSA is a nationally recognized credential and a Maryland Wear and Carry Permit is not required or necessary.  The Maryland Police & Correctional Training Commission (MPCTC) may serve as the certifying agency for LEOSA if eligible and the application and guidelines can be found on the MPCTC website at Should you desire a Maryland Wear and Carry Permit you will be required to provide a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun as a reasonable precaution against apprehended danger.

Permit Required

A handgun wear and carry permit is required

Requirement to carry an ID card

§ 19-406. Possession of certification card
(a)   In general.- At any time that a certified security guard provides a security guard service, the security guard shall carry the certification card issued under § 19-405 of this subtitle.

(b)   Display upon officer’s request.- On request of a law enforcement officer, a certified security guard shall show the security guard’s certification card.

§ 19-407. Badge; clearance card
(b)   Clearance card required.- Whenever a security guard is in uniform, the security guard shall clearly display and wear the clearance card issued by the Secretary which identifies the security guard.

Moral Character

§ 19-402. Qualifications and requirements.

(a)   In general.- To qualify for certification as a security guard, an individual shall:

(3) be of good moral character and reputation;

Fingerprint

All original applications require FBI and CJIS fingerprint submissions.

Substance Abuse

According to Maryland public safety code ann. § 5-306:

An applicant cannot presently be an alcoholic, addict, or habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance unless the habitual use of the controlled dangerous substance is under legitimate medical direction. Furthermore, an applicant cannot have been convicted of a crime involving the possession, use, or distribution of a controlled dangerous substance

For armed officers, Maryland will deny a weapon permit to any individual who:
  1.   Has been convicted of a crime involving the involving the possession, use, or distribution of a controlled dangerous substance;
  2.   Is not presently an alcoholic, addict, or habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance unless under legitimate medical direction;

See: A wear and carry permit application

Mental Health

No baseline requirement

Criminal History Background Check

Background and criminal history checks are done by the Maryland State Police in conjunction with FBI review.

Armed applicants are subject to the following review:
•   Has not been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor for which a sentence of imprisonment for more than one year has been imposed; or convicted of a criminal offense for which you could have been sentenced to more than 2 years incarceration.
•   Has not been convicted of a crime involving the possession, use, or distribution of a controlled dangerous substance.
•   Is not presently an alcoholic, addict, or habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance unless under legitimate medical direction.

See: A wear and carry permit application

Personal References

None

Training Requirements

According to the Maryland State Police website, in order to have a concealed wear and carry permit, a firearms safety training course is required.

New applicant – A 16 hour training course, as required by Maryland State Police, for initial application process requirement may
be offered by any approved school or instructor that have been cleared and endorsed by the Maryland State Police.

A classroom training regimen includes:
•   Tenants of Firearms Safety
•   Fundamentals of Marksmanship
•   MD Specific rules, laws, and licenses
•   Use of Force Continuum
•   Deadly Force Exercises
•   Current Events / Legal Precedents
•   Safe Firearms Storage/ Home Firearm Safety
•   Hands-On Practical Exercises
•   Pistol Operation and Manipulation
•   Loading and Unloading
•   Handgun & Gear Selection
•   Dry fire Practice
•   Drawing & Holstering
•   Reloading and Malfunction Drills

A gun range time includes:
•   Safety Brief
•   Fundamentals Review
•   Live-Fire Drills & Practice
•   Security Professionals Practical Police Shooting Course- Carry Permit
•   Scoring & Debrief

Renewal applicant – minimum 8 hours of instruction by a Qualified Handgun Instructor.

See: A list of qualified and approved instructors and schools

However, a wear and carry permit applicant is not required to complete the firearms safety training course if they:
•   Are an active law enforcement officer of the United States, the State of Maryland, or any local law enforcement agency of Maryland.
•   A person who retired in good standing from any of the above law enforcement agencies.
•   Are an active or retired member or honorably discharged member of the United States Armed Forces or the National Guard.
•   Are a Qualified Handgun Instructor.
•   Have completed a firearms safety training course approved by the Maryland State Police.

Exam Requirement

N/A

Child Support

According to Maryland §10–119.3:
Any occupational or professional license or certification may be suspended for not paying child support

More Information

  •   2010 Maryland Code Title 19

  •   Security Guard Certifications

  •   Fees (PDF)

  •   Public Safety Title 5 (PDF)

  •   Firearms Safety Training Course

  •   Handgun Permit SOP

  •   For a full series of FAQ’s regarding firearm requirements, visit the Maryland State Police link at FAQs

Massachusetts: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Massachusetts

Legislation/Source:

Massachusetts does not presently regulate individual licensing provisions for armed or unarmed officer.
This lack does not imply that security agency or company licenses may require alternative licensing
methods and mechanisms, nor should the reader conclude that regulation does not exist for
other forms of licensure such as detectives or investigators.

At present, Massachusetts only licenses and certifies security agencies, such as Watch and Private Investigators.
For more information on these certification processes, see: Certification Unit

Other information can be found at:
MSP Certification Licensing

See: M.G.L. Chapter 147 Section 28. EMPLOYMENT OF ASSISTANTS; PENALTY FOR MAKING FALSE STATEMENTS OR REPORTS OR DIVULGING INFORMATION.

Massachusetts: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Massachusetts

Legislation/Source:

Massachusetts does not presently regulate individual licensing provisions for armed or unarmed officer.
This lack does not imply that security agency or company licenses may require alternative licensing
methods and mechanisms, nor should the reader conclude that regulation does not exist for
other forms of licensure such as detectives or investigators.

At present, Massachusetts only licenses and certifies security agencies, such as Watch and Private Investigators.
For more information on these certification processes, see: Certification Unit

Other information can be found at:
MSP Certification Licensing

See: M.G.L. Chapter 147 Section 28. EMPLOYMENT OF ASSISTANTS; PENALTY FOR MAKING FALSE STATEMENTS OR REPORTS OR DIVULGING INFORMATION.

Michigan: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Michigan

Legislation/Source:

Michigan Compiled Laws: Private Security Business and Security Alarm Act – Act 330 of 1968

Authorizing Department

Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

Mailing Address:
Coroporations, Securities, & Commercial Licensing Bureau
Licensing Division
PO Box 30018
Lansing, MI 48909

Street Address:
Corporations, Securities, & Commercial Licensing Bureau
2501 Woodlake Circle
Okemos, MI 48864

Phone: (517) 241-7000
Fax: (517) 241-6653
Email: CSCLonline@michigan.gov

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

Michigan does not presently regulate individual licensing provisions for armed or unarmed officer, but regulates Security business licenses.
Employees of licensees are not required to register with the department. It is the licensee’s responsibility to keep and maintain the personnel information on all persons employed by him or her.
See: §330.1067

The requirements for an “armed forces”status apply as defined in §338.1056

Fees:
Fingerprints- $49.25
Background Check Fee- $15

Partnership/LLC/Corporation Application- $300
Partnership/LLC/Corporation Renewal- $150
Sole Proprietor Application- $200
Sole Proprieter Renewal- $100
There is no applicable requirement for employees of a licensee.

Temporary Licensure
Michigan expects the business licensee to be permanent, although it provides for a non-renewable temporary
license not to exceed 120 days under the following conditions:

338.1057
(4) If a person has not previously been denied a license or has not had a previous license suspended or revoked, the department may issue a
nonrenewable temporary license to an applicant. If approved by the department, the temporary license is valid until 1 or more of the
following occur but not to exceed 120 days:
(a) The completion of the investigations and approvals required under subsections (1), (2), and (3).
(b) The completion of the investigation of the subject matter addressed in section 6.
(c) The completion of the investigation of any employees of the licensee as further described in section 17.
(d) Confirmation of compliance with the bonding or insurance requirements imposed in section 9.
(e) The applicant fails to meet 1 or more of the requirements for licensure imposed under this act.
(5) The fees for a temporary license shall be the applicable fees as described in section 9.

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

 

Age Requirements

Must be at least 21 years old.
See: §338.1056(1)(a)

Citizenship

There is no applicable requirement.

Experience

Must have high school education or its equivalent.
See: §338.1056(1)(b)

Exemptions

None

Permit Required

There is no applicable requirement.

Requirement to carry an ID card

There is no applicable requirement.

Moral Character

There is no applicable requirement.

Fingerprint

Michigan’s Division of Licensing no longer processes fingerprint applications.
A new system which is compatible with federal requirements has been implements.
To comply with Federal protocols, effective immediately, the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) will no longer be reviewing or determining fitness for
employment of perspective employees. Submission of any documentation to LARA on new employees is no longer required.
In its place, use the Michigan State Police Internet Criminal History Access Tool (ICHAT) to assure employees are fit for employment.

See: §330.1068(2)

Substance Abuse

There is no applicable requirement.

Mental Health

Section 6(j) requires the employee has not been adjudged insane, unless he or she has been adjudged restored to sanity by court order.
See: §330.1068(2)and §338.1056 (Section 6)

Criminal History Background Check

Fingerprints shall be submitted to the Department of State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a state and national criminal history background check.
See: §330.1068(2)

It is the licensee’s responsibility to determine the applicant’s fitness of employment. The department suggests to utilize the Michigan State Police Internet Criminal History Access Tool (ICHAT).
See: Employee Fingerprint Information

Personal References

There is no applicable requirement.

Training Requirements

There is no applicable requirement.

Exam Requirement

There is no applicable requirement.

Child Support

There is no applicable requirement.

Minnesota: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Minnesota

Legislation/Source:

Minnesota Statutes 326.32 to 326.339

Authorizing Department

State of Minnesota
Board of Private Detective and Protective Agent Services
1430 Maryland Avenue East
St. Paul, Minnesota 55106
p. (651) 793-2666
f. (651) 793-7065
mn.pdb@state.mn.us

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In Minnesota, individual security officers are not licensed but business entities bear the licensure demands.
The security business licensee also assumes responsibility for the conduct, behavior and background of employees hired. As in select other states, Minnesota has a registration of employee process. Hence even the employee registration process is limited as to requirements. For example, the background check only applies to private detectives and protective agents.

The Minnesota code states in part:

A license holder may employ, in connection with the business of private detective or protective agent, as many unlicensed persons as may be necessary; provided that every license holder is at all times accountable for the good conduct of every person employed.
See: §323.336

Security officer employees, upon application of their employers, receive and carry an identification card.
The code holds:

Subd. 2.Identification card. An identification card must be issued by the license holder to each employee. The card must be in the possession of the employee to whom it is issued at all times. The identification card must contain the license holder’s name, logo (if any), address or Minnesota office address, and the employee’s photograph and physical description. The card must be signed by the employee and by the license holder, qualified representative, or Minnesota office manager.
See: §323.336

According to Minnesota Statue Chapter 326 Section 3381 Subd. 1A
”A proprietary employer is not required to obtain a license, but must comply with section 326.336, subdivision 1, with respect to the hiring of security guards.”
In the State of Minnesota, there is no licensing requirement for an unarmed security officer. However, a security officer (protection agent employee) must agree to a background check.

For the following circumstances individuals require a license:

An Individual is a person making application for a private detective or protective agent license as a sole proprietor, and is the day-to-day manager and supervisor of the licensed activity.
(It is not an employee of a licensed firm.) This person may or may not have employees.
NOTE: A person who has a corporation relating to the business cannot be licensed as an individual and must apply as the corporation.

License fees for individual protective agents:
$25   Non-refundable application fee
$800   License Fee
$33.25   Fingerprint Fee
$10   Fingerprint Card Fee

Make Checks Payable to:
Minnesota Board of Private Detective and Protective Agent Services
1430 Maryland Avenue East, Saint Paul, MN 55106

See: Application Procedure

Minnesota permits employees of license holders to temporarily work and be trained during the application process.
Upon receipt of any disqualifying information such as a criminal record, the employer license holder will terminate the employee.
See:326.336 EMPLOYEES OF LICENSE HOLDERS.

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

Minnesota does not provide for reciprocal recognition.

Age Requirements

Must be at least 21 years of age

See: Application Procedure

Citizenship

U.S. Citizen or resident alien

Experience

An applicant for a an individual license must be able to document a minimum of 6,000 hours by any of the following:

•   Employed in a protective/security capacity with a licensed protective agent, or in a protective/security for investigative capacity for a licensed private detective.
•   Employed in a protective/security or investigator capacity with a U.S. government investigative service.
•   Employed in a protective/security or investigator capacity with a city police department or sheriff’s office.
•   Be employed in an occupation the board finds equivalent in scope, responsibility and training as one of the specific occupations listed above.

Note: Each of the protective agent employment items referenced above must include experience in security systems, audits, and supervision of security personnel.

See: Application Procedure

Exemptions

Minnesota Statutes § 326.3361 Subdivision 4
A person licensed as a peace officer by the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training
See: 326.3361

Permit Required

Permit to carry-
The fee for a new permit to carry will be determined by the county sheriff, not to exceed $100.
A fee for a renewal permit (applied for before the expiration date of a current permit to carry) will be determined by the county sheriff, not to exceed $75. An additional $10.00 fee will be charged for those applying for a renewal after the expiration date on the previous permit, but within 30 days of that expiration date.

Requirement to carry an ID card

Minnesota Statutes § 326.336 Subdivision 2
An identification card must be issued by the license holder to each employee. The card must be in the possession of the employee to whom it is issued at all times. The identification card must contain the license holder’s name, logo (if any), address or Minnesota office address, and the employee’s photograph and physical description. The card must be signed by the employee and by the license holder, qualified representative, or Minnesota office manager.

Moral Character

Be of good character, honesty and integrity

See: Application Procedure

Fingerprint

Fingerprint Fee: $33.25
Fingerprint Card Fee: $ 10

Substance Abuse

No baseline requirement

Mental Health

No baseline requirement

Criminal History Background Check

Minnesota Statutes § 326.336 Subdivision 1

The employee is a conditional employee until the employer receives a report from the bureau that, based on a check of the criminal records maintained by the bureau, the prospective employee has not been convicted in Minnesota of a felony or any offense listed in section 326.3381, subdivision 3, other than a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor assault. During the period of conditional employment, the person may not serve as a private detective or protective agent, but may be trained by the employer. >/br>
The bureau shall determine if the Federal Bureau of Investigation report indicates that the employee was convicted of a disqualifying offense and shall notify the employer accordingly. The employer shall immediately dismiss an employee who has been convicted of a disqualifying offense.

Minnesota Statutes § 326.3381 Subdivision 3

No person is qualified to hold a license who has:

(1)   been convicted of

(i)   a felony by the courts of this or any other state or of the United States;
(ii)   acts which, if done in Minnesota, would be criminal sexual conduct; assault; theft; larceny; burglary; robbery; unlawful entry; extortion; defamation; buying or receiving stolen property; using, possessing, manufacturing, or carrying weapons unlawfully; using, possessing, or carrying burglary tools unlawfully; escape; possession, production, sale, or distribution of narcotics unlawfully; or
(iii)   in any other country of acts which, if done in Minnesota, would be a felony or would be any of the other offenses provided in this clause and for which a full pardon or similar relief has not been granted;

(2)   made any false statement in an application for a license or any document required to be submitted to the board; or
(3)   failed to demonstrate to the board good character, honesty, and integrity.

Retrieved from https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326.3381

Personal References

Provide five references (from people who are not related by blood or marriage) who have known the subject for a minimum of five years.

See: Application Procedure

Training Requirements

Pre-assignment Training – (12 hours Initial)
Continuing Training – (6 hours Annually)
Armed Training – To include First Aid and CPR – (6 hours Initial)
Armed Continuing Training – (6 hours Annually)

For more information –
  •   Core Objective Guide for Protective Agents

  •   Core Objective Guide for Armed Persons

  •   Approved training providers

  •   Course application documents

See: Training Information

Courses will cover the following subjects:
  •   Firearms Training
  •   The use of force
  •   Restraint techniques
  •   Chemical weapons
  •   Batons
  •   Electronic incapacitation devices
  •   Nightsticks
  •   Bludgeons

Exam Requirement

Qualification (Minimum Standard)
a)   Practice Rounds/Familiarization
b)   Qualification Firing:
1)   Course of Fire:
    15 ft. 2x3rds – 6 seconds = 6 rounds
    25 ft. 2x3rds – 6 seconds = 6 rounds
    25 ft. 6 rounds, reload fire, 6 rds., 60 seconds = 12 rounds
    50 ft. 3x2nds – 6 seconds = 6 rounds
    Sub-Total = 30 rounds

    21 ft. low light 6 rounds
    21 ft. darkness 6 rounds
    21 ft. rapid/slow fire 8 rounds
    Sub-Total = 20 rounds

TOTAL = 50 rounds
Passing Score: Pass/Fail

See: Training information

Child Support

No baseline requirement

Mississippi: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Mississippi

Legislation/Source:

Mississippi Code Title 97. Crimes
Chapter 37. Weapons and Explosives
Section 7. Deadly weapons; persons permitted to carry weapons; bond; permit to carry weapon; grounds for denying application for permit; required weapons training course; reciprocal agreements.

Authorizing Department

Department of Public Safety

MHP Headquarters
1900 E. Woodrow Wilson
Jackson, MS 39205
(601) 987-1593
Official Website

Security Guard Permits are processed ONLY on Mondays or Thursdays at the Firearm Permit Unit in Jackson between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.

Regional Branch Offices

Troop D
1301 Cypress Avenue
Greenwood, MS 38930
(662) 453-4515
Wednesday
8:00am to 3:00pm

Troop E
22000 A Hwy 35 N
Batesville, MS 38606
(662) 563-6400
Monday & Tuesday
8:00am to 11:30am
1:00pm to 3:30pm

Troop F
1103 Bratton Road
New Albany, MS 38652
(662) 534-8619
Wednesday & Thursday
8:00am to 11:30am
1:00pm to 3:30pm

Troop G
1280 East Lee Blvd.
Starkville, MS 39759
(662) 323-5314
Thursday
8:00am to 11:30am

Troop H
910 Hwy 11/80 East
Meridian, MS 39301
(601) 693-1926
Monday
8:00am to 11:30am Troop J
35 J.M. Tatum Ind Dr.
Hattiesburg, MS 39401
(601) 582-3529
Tuesday & Wednesday
8:00am to 11:30am

Troop K
16741 Hwy 67 S
Biloxi, MS 39532
(228)396-7400
Monday-Thursday
8:00am to 11:30am
1:00pm to 3:00pm

Troop M
160 Hwy 84 E
Brookhaven, MS 39601
(601) 833-0808
Monday
8:00am to 11:30am

Licensure and License Fees

According to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety, Security Officers are not individually licensed but regulated indirectly by weaponry. Armed security guards are required to obtain a Security Guard Permit.
See: Security Guard Permits – Website

The fee for a Security Guard Permit is $132.00. The permit is valid for four (4) years.
The fee includes $32   for fingerprint/background check fee

See: Security Guard Permit Application

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

Mississippi gives recognition to out of state, law enforcement firearms licensees and permit holders
if there is a reciprocal agreement between the states. The statute states in part:

(3) It shall not be a violation of this or any other statute for pistols, firearms or other suitable and appropriate weapons,
to be carried by any out-of-state, full-time commissioned law enforcement officer who holds a valid commission
card from the appropriate out-of-state law enforcement agency and a photo identification.
The provisions of this subsection shall only apply if the state where the out-of-state officer is employed has entered
into a reciprocity agreement with the state that allows full-time commissioned law enforcement officers in Mississippi
to lawfully carry or possess a weapon in such other states. The Commissioner of Public Safety is authorized to enter into
reciprocal agreements with other states to carry out the provisions of this subsection.

See: § 97-37-7

Age Requirements

Applicant must be 18 years of age.
See: Firearm Permits FAQ

Citizenship

Applicants not born in the United States must submit a “Rider to all Firearm Permit Applications” (page 11 of the Application pack) to establish their eligibility to possess firearms in accordance to federal law.
See: Security Guard Permit Application

Experience

No baseline requirement

Exemptions

Retired law enforcement do not have to pay the renewal application fee;

Mississippi law also lays out a series of exemptions- proved by Affidavit which waives permit requirements.

See: Military/Retired Law Enforcement Enhanced Carry Permit

Permit Required

A permit is required unless expressly waived for select military and law enforcement officials. This must be applied for in person at the nearest Highway Patrol Substation

Mississippi law expressly mentions “Security Guard Permit” for weapons and allows a 4 year period of licensure
See: Firearm Permit FAQ

Requirement to carry an ID card

No baseline requirement

Moral Character

No baseline requirement

Fingerprint

Fingerprints must be submitted with the application

Substance Abuse

Although the legislation does not explicitly mention this requirement, the applicant must indicate on the application form whether he/she chronically or habitually abused controlled substances.

Mental Health

Although the legislation does not explicitly mention this requirement, the applicant must indicate on the application form whether he /she is suffering from any mental or physical infirmity due to disease, illness, which could prevent the safe handling od a handgun, and whether the applicant has been committed to a mental institution or mental health treatment facility within five years prior to the date of the application.
Further, the applicant has to indicate whether he/she has ever been adjudicated mentally incompetent.

Criminal History Background Check

According to MS § 97-37-7(1)(b):

No permit shall be issued to any person who has ever been convicted of a felony under the laws of this or any other state or of the United States. To determine an applicant’s eligibility or a permit, the person shall be fingerprinted. If no disqualifying record is identified at the state level, the fingerprints shall be forwarded by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a national criminal history record check. 

Personal References

None required

Training Requirements

According to MS §97-37-7(2):
Before any person shall be authorized under this subsection to carry a weapon, they shall complete a Firearms Training Course approved by the Board of Law Enforcement Officer Standards and
Training.

See: MS §97-37-7(2)

Exam Requirement

N/A

Child Support

According to Miss. Code Ann. § 93-11-157:
The state of Mississippi may take away any occupational or professional license or permit for failure to pay child support

More Information

Montana: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Montana

Legislation/Source:

Montana Code Annotated (2017)
Title 37 – Professions and Occupations
Chapter 60 – Private Investigators,
Private Security and Fire Entities, and Process Servers
and
Administrative Rules of Montana
Department 24 – Labor and Industry
Chapter 182 – Board of Private Security
Patrol Officers and Investigators

Authorizing Department

Montana Board of Private Security
301 South Park Avenue, 4th Floor

PO Box 200513 Helena

Montana 59620-0513

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In Montana private security officers are required to obtain a license from the board prior to commencing employment with a security agency.

See: MCA 37-60-301

The applicant must provide evidence that the applicant is currently employed, or a contractual promise of future employment of the applicant upon issuance of a license, with a contract security company, a proprietary security organization, or an electronic security company.
See ARM 24.182.514(3)

Armed private security guard means an individual employed by a contract security company or a proprietary security organization whose duty or any portion of whose duty is of a security guard who at any time wears or carries a firearm in the performance of the individual’s duties.

See: MCA 37-60-101(5)

Private security guards seeking authorization to wear, carry, or possess a firearm in the performance of licensed duties shall submit a complete armed endorsement application, on a form prescribed by the department.
(2) Licensees issued an armed endorsement are approved to wear, carry, or possess the firearms they qualified with, in the performance of licensed duties.
See: ARM 24.182.420

All application packets for licensure in Montana must include the following:

•   Completed application and attached photograph.
•   Copy of driver’s license or birth certificate for proof of age
•   Copy of birth certificate, United States Passport or Immigration green card for proof of citizenship or permanent legal residency.
•   Proof of training from a currently licensed security company.
•   Completed Character Reference form.
•   Completed Verification of Licensure form, if you hold or ever held a professional/occupational license in another state or jurisdiction.
•   Copy of a current firearms certification, if you are requesting Armed Endorsement.

See: Security Guard Application Form

Fees:
Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) 24.182.401
$100   License application fee
$50   Armed endorsement
$100   License renewal fee
$30   Armed status renewal fee
$30   Fingerprints fee

See: Security Guard Application Form

Montana now provides for an electronic filing for the initial application for security guard.
See: Online Portal

Montana also encourages email contact with the Board that oversees the licensure process.

See: Montana Board of Private Security & Investigations COntact Information

Temporary
Montana does provide for the issuance of temporary licenses during the period of application and examination in accordance with the following rule:

37-1-305 Temporary practice permits.
(2) A board may issue a temporary practice permit to a person seeking licensure in this state who has met all licensure requirements other than passage
of the licensing examination. Except as provided in 37-68-311 and 37-69-306, a permit is valid until the person either fails the first
license examination for which the person is eligible following issuance of the permit or passes the examination and is granted a license.

Age Requirements

MCA § 37-60-303(1)(a)
The applicant must be at least 18 years of age

Citizenship

MCA § 37-60-303(1)(b)
The applicant must be a citizen of the United States or a legal permanent resident

Experience

Not Required

Exemptions

MCA § 37-60-105
(1)   Except as provided in subsection (2), this chapter does not apply to:
   

 (a) any one person employed singly and exclusively by any one employer in connection with the affairs of that employer only and when there exists an employer-employee relationship and the employee is unarmed, does not wear a uniform, and is guarding inside a structure that at the time is not open to the public;
    (b)   a person:
      (i)   employed singly and exclusively by a retail merchant;
    (ii)   performing at least some work for the retail merchant as a private security guard; and
     (iii)   who has received training as a private security guard from the employer or at the employer’s direction;
    (c)   an officer or employee of the United States, of this state, or of a political subdivision of the United States or this state while the officer or employee is engaged in the performance of official duties;
    (d)   a person engaged exclusively in the business of obtaining and furnishing information as to the financial rating of persons or as to the personal habits and financial responsibility of applicants for insurance, indemnity bonds, or commercial credit;

    (e)   an attorney at law while performing duties as an attorney at law;
     (f)   a legal intern, paralegal, or legal assistant employed by one or more lawyers, law offices, governmental agencies, or other entities;
      (g)   a law student who is serving a legal internship;
   (h)   a collection agency or finance company licensed to do business under the laws of this state, or an employee of a collection agency or finance company licensed in this state while acting within the scope of employment, while making an investigation incidental to the business of the agency or company, including an investigation of the location of a debtor or the debtor’s property when the contract with an assignor creditor is for the collection of claims owed or due or asserted to be owed or due or the equivalent;
    (i)   special agents employed by railroad companies, provided that the railroad company notifies the board that its agents are operating in the state;
    (j)   insurers and insurance producers and insurance brokers licensed by the state while performing duties in connection with insurance transacted by them;
    (k)   individuals engaged in the collection and examination of physical material for forensic purposes;
    (l)   an insurance adjuster, as defined in 37-60-101;
    (m)   an internal investigator or auditor while making an investigation incidental to the business of the agency or company by which the investigator or auditor is singularly and regularly employed;
    (n)   a person who evaluates and advises management on personnel and human resource issues in the workplace; or
    (o)   a certified public accountant with a license or permit to practice or a practice privilege under 37-50-314 or 37-50-325 to the extent that the person is engaged in an investigation relating to the practice of accounting.

Permit Required

ARM 24.182.420(1)

Private security guards seeking authorization to wear, carry, or possess a firearm in the performance of licensed duties shall submit a complete armed endorsement application, on a form prescribed by the department.

Requirement to carry an ID card

MCA 37-60-310
(1)   A license must at all times be posted in a conspicuous place in the principal place of business of the licensee.
(2)   A holder of an identification card shall carry the card while performing the cardholder’s duties. A peace officer of this state or any of its political subdivisions may request to see the card at any reasonable time, and the card must be shown.

Moral Character

MCA § 37-60-303(1)(f)
An applicant for licensure under this chapter is subject to the provisions of this section and shall submit evidence that the applicant is of good moral character.

Fingerprint

ARM 24.182.501(4)
Fingerprints required under Title 37, chapter 60, MCA, shall be submitted to the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the Montana Department of Justice for examination. Final licensure is granted only following receipt and review of the Federal Bureau of Investigation report and any investigations thereof. A fingerprint report is valid for one year from date of receipt of the report from the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
See also MCA 37-60-304(2)(f)

Fingerprint cards are available at most local law enforcement agencies or the Montana Department of Justice. If you request from the board office, a fingerprint card and self-addressed envelope will be mailed to you. You must complete the fingerprint application information requested at the top of the fingerprint card prior to getting your prints taken. Most local law enforcement agencies will take your fingerprints for a nominal fee. Any fees charged by local or state law enforcement are the responsibility of the applicant.

The fingerprint card must be submitted along with a check or money order for $30 payable to “Montana Department of Justice” by mail to
Montana Criminal Records
2225 11th Avenue
PO Box 201403
Helena, MT 59620-1403

See: Application for Private Security Guard

See: Application for Firearm Endorsement

*Beginning March 1, 2019, the Montana Department of Justice will be increasing the fee for a Federal Fingerprint-Based Check to $30.00 for background checks
conducted for pre-employment, employment and, licensing purposes. The background check and fee, includes the Montana WIN check, as required by the FBI. Statutory authority is required to conduct these checks. Please contact the Montana Department of Justice at (406) 444-3625 for more information.

Substance Abuse

MCA § 37-60-303(1)(e)
An applicant for licensure under this chapter is subject to the provisions of this section and shall submit evidence that the applicant is not suffering from habitual drunkenness or from narcotics addiction or dependence.

Mental Health

MCA § 37-60-303(1)(d)
An applicant for licensure under this chapter is subject to the provisions of this section and shall submit evidence that the applicant has not been judicially declared incompetent by reason of any mental disease or disorder or, if so declared, has been fully restored;

Criminal History Background Check

MCA § 37-60-303(1)(c)
An applicant for licensure under this chapter is subject to the provisions of this section and shall submit evidence that the applicant has not been
convicted in any jurisdiction of any felony or any crime involving moral turpitude or illegal use or possession of a dangerous weapon, for which a full pardon or similar relief has not been granted.

The Application includes a background check consent form (page 9)
indicating that Criminal History Record Information is obtained from the Montana Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Personal References

One reference, not related by blood or marriage, which have known the applicant or associated with him/her for a minimum of one year, should be provided. Verification of moral/professional character form is included in the application packet for this purpose.

See: Application form

Training Requirements
MCA § 37-60-303(2)
 In addition to meeting the qualifications in subsection (1), an applicant for licensure as a private security guard, security alarm installer, or alarm response runner shall:
(a)   complete the requirements of a training program certified by the board and provide, on a form prescribed by the department, written notice of satisfactory completion of the training; and

(b)   fulfill other requirements as the board may by rule prescribe.

ARM 24.182.807 Private Security Guard Training Program
(1)   Each security company or organization that employs or intends to employ an individual as a private security guard must certify, as part of the individual’s license application, that the individual has successfully completed a minimum of 16 hours of training as a prerequisite to licensure and prior to undertaking any of the duties defined as the practice of a security guard.
(2)   The training must address each of the following areas:
  (a)   role and function of the security guard;
  (b)   federal, state, and local statutes and rules applicable to the practice of private security guards;
  (c)   interaction and cooperation with law enforcement;
  (d)   limitations on the use of force and self-defense and the use-of-force continuum;
  (e)   emergency procedures and hazardous material preparedness;
  (f)   communication skills, report writing, and radio communication;
  (g)   crisis intervention and crowd control;
  (h)   patrol techniques; and
  (i)   ethical and legal issues, including, but not limited to:
     (i) confidentiality and right of privacy;
     (ii) searches of persons and property;
     (iii) limitations on the power to arrest and detain suspects;
     (iv) treatment of juveniles, persons with physical or mental disabilities, and other special classes (e.g., racial, religious, or cultural);
     (v) preservation of crime scene and handling of evidence; and
     (vi) preventing abuse of authority

ARM 24.182.801
(1)   Certified firearms instructors shall submit course outlines for board approval. Firearms training courses must meet the objectives of firearm safety and shooting proficiency, with emphasis on shooting distances of less than 15 yards.

(2)   Firearms training courses must address the following issues:

(a) firearm familiarization, including:

  (i)   safety levers;

  (ii)   decocking levers;

  (iii)   magazine release;

  (iv)   slide-lock release; and

  (v)   reloading;

  (b)   safe handling of the firearm, emphasizing:

  (i)   negligent discharge;

  (ii)   muzzle direction;

  (iii)   dropping a firearm;

  (iv)   finger on trigger;

  (v)   proper grip;

  (vi)   sight picture;

  (vii)   proper holstering;

  (viii)   firearm retention;

  (ix)   management of malfunctions; and

  (x)   firearms in the home;

(c)   use of deadly force;

(d)   shooting judgment; and

(e)   civil and criminal liability.

(3)   Demonstrated competency for both the proficiency test and the written test shall be determined by the certified firearms instructor.

ARM 24.182.420    
TYPE OF FIREARM

(1)   Upon receipt of armed endorsement, a licensee is approved by the board to carry the firearm(s) with which the licensee is trained or qualified through a Montana POST certified instructor or a Montana licensed certified firearms instructor (CFI) and a board approved course.

ARM 24.182.421    
REQUALIFICATION REQUIRED ANNUALLY

(1)   Licensees with armed status shall requalify annually with a Montana POST certified instructor or a Montana licensed certified firearms instructor (CFI) to maintain their firearm endorsement each year. Requalification will be based upon satisfactory completion of a board approved combat shooting course at least once during each year. MCA § 37-60-303(2)
 In addition to meeting the qualifications in subsection (1), an applicant for licensure as a private security guard, security alarm installer, or alarm response runner shall:
(a)   complete the requirements of a training program certified by the board and provide, on a form prescribed by the department, written notice of satisfactory completion of the training; and

(b)   fulfill other requirements as the board may by rule prescribe.

ARM 24.182.807 Private Security Guard Training Program
(1)   Each security company or organization that employs or intends to employ an individual as a private security guard must certify, as part of the individual’s license application, that the individual has successfully completed a minimum of 16 hours of training as a prerequisite to licensure and prior to undertaking any of the duties defined as the practice of a security guard.
(2)   The training must address each of the following areas:
  (a)   role and function of the security guard;
  (b)   federal, state, and local statutes and rules applicable to the practice of private security guards;
  (c)   interaction and cooperation with law enforcement;
  (d)   limitations on the use of force and self-defense and the use-of-force continuum;
  (e)   emergency procedures and hazardous material preparedness;
  (f)   communication skills, report writing, and radio communication;
  (g)   crisis intervention and crowd control;
  (h)   patrol techniques; and
  (i)   ethical and legal issues, including, but not limited to:
     (i) confidentiality and right of privacy;
     (ii) searches of persons and property;
     (iii) limitations on the power to arrest and detain suspects;
     (iv) treatment of juveniles, persons with physical or mental disabilities, and other special classes (e.g., racial, religious, or cultural);
     (v) preservation of crime scene and handling of evidence; and
     (vi) preventing abuse of authority

ARM 24.182.801
(1)   Certified firearms instructors shall submit course outlines for board approval. Firearms training courses must meet the objectives of firearm safety and shooting proficiency, with emphasis on shooting distances of less than 15 yards.

(2)   Firearms training courses must address the following issues:

(a) firearm familiarization, including:

  (i)   safety levers;

  (ii)   decocking levers;

  (iii)   magazine release;

  (iv)   slide-lock release; and

  (v)   reloading;

  (b)   safe handling of the firearm, emphasizing:

  (i)   negligent discharge;

  (ii)   muzzle direction;

  (iii)   dropping a firearm;

  (iv)   finger on trigger;

  (v)   proper grip;

  (vi)   sight picture;

  (vii)   proper holstering;

  (viii)   firearm retention;

  (ix)   management of malfunctions; and

  (x)   firearms in the home;

(c)   use of deadly force;

(d)   shooting judgment; and

(e)   civil and criminal liability.

(3)   Demonstrated competency for both the proficiency test and the written test shall be determined by the certified firearms instructor.

ARM 24.182.420    
TYPE OF FIREARM

(1)   Upon receipt of armed endorsement, a licensee is approved by the board to carry the firearm(s) with which the licensee is trained or qualified through a Montana POST certified instructor or a Montana licensed certified firearms instructor (CFI) and a board approved course.

ARM 24.182.421    
REQUALIFICATION REQUIRED ANNUALLY

(1)   Licensees with armed status shall requalify annually with a Montana POST certified instructor or a Montana licensed certified firearms instructor (CFI) to maintain their firearm endorsement each year. Requalification will be based upon satisfactory completion of a board approved combat shooting course at least once during each year.

Exam Requirement

The Board has authority to administer written examinations but that authority appears discretionary according to Montana rules. By using terms like “if” and “may”, the Board appears to have the power to administer exams and also has a passage standard of 70%. For a full review of these rules, see: ARM 24.182.505

Child Support

MCA § 40-5-702. Notice of intent to suspend license
(1)   Upon the petition of an obligee alleging the existence of a delinquency or upon the failure of an obligor to comply with a subpoena or warrant, a support enforcement entity may issue a notice of intent to suspend a license.

MCA § 40-5-709. Non Disciplinary suspension for failure to pay child support
Notwithstanding any other provision of this title, the support enforcement entity has the authority to suspend a license or privilege to obtain a license under this part without any action by the licensing authority. The licensing authority shall, upon receipt of notice of suspension of the license under (5) from the support enforcement entity, suspend the license or privilege to obtain a license of the named individual. The suspension must be non disciplinary for professional or occupational licenses, and the provisions of 2-4-631 do not apply.

Nebraska: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Nebraska

Legislation/Source:

Nebraska does not presently regulate individual licensing provisions for armed or unarmed officer.
This lack does not imply that security agency or company licenses may require alternative licensing
methods and mechanisms, nor should the reader conclude that regulation does not exist for
other forms of licensure such as detectives or investigators.

Nebraska: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Nebraska

Legislation/Source:

Nebraska does not presently regulate individual licensing provisions for armed or unarmed officer.
This lack does not imply that security agency or company licenses may require alternative licensing
methods and mechanisms, nor should the reader conclude that regulation does not exist for
other forms of licensure such as detectives or investigators.

Nevada: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Nevada

Legislation/Source:

Nevada Revised Statutes 648
and
Nevada Revised Statutes 202
and
Nevada Administrative Code 648

Authorizing Department

Nevada Private Investigator’s Licensing Board
3110 S. Durango Drive, Suite 203
Las Vegas, Nevada 89117
Phone: (702) 486-3003
Fax: (702) 486-3009
Email: PILBinfo@ag.nv.gov
Official Website

Regional Branch Office:
704 W Nye Lane, Suite 203
Carson City, NV 89703
Phone: (775) 687-3223
Fax: (775) 687-3226

 

Licensure and License Fees

In Nevada, only businesses are required to be licensed. Individual employees of security providers are required to be registered with the Board and must have a registration work card (PILB card) to be an unarmed security officer in Nevada.

NRS 648.060 License required to engage in or advertise business; registration required for employee of licensee
1.   Except as otherwise provided in NRS 253.220, no person may:

  (a)   Engage in the business of private investigator, private patrol officer, process server, repossessor, dog handler, security consultant, or polygraphic examiner or intern; or
(b)   Advertise his or her business as such, irrespective of the name or title actually used,
unless the person is licensed pursuant to this chapter.

2.   No person may be employed by a licensee unless the person is registered pursuant to this chapter. The provisions of this subsection do not apply to a person licensed pursuant to this chapter.

The Registration Work Card is valid for a period of 5 years.

Employees can only obtain an armed status once they were issued an unarmed permanent Work Card (PILB card).
Once the employee completes the armed training and receives a Certification of Completion, the firearm instructor submits the Verification of Employment Form to the Board.
It is the employer’s responsibility to send the employee to the armed training.
1.  A licensee or an employee who is registered pursuant to NRS 648.1493 may not carry any firearm while performing the duties for the type of business for which he or she is licensed or employed unless the licensee or employee:
(a) Is certified by the Board as a firearms instructor pursuant to subsection 2; or
(b) Has successfully completed and received certification from a course of training approved by the Board in carrying, handling and using firearms safely.
NAC §648.345

The applicant for an armed status needs to be employed by a licensee that is willing to sponsor the applicant to take the required firearm training course. The employer must add the applicant to their online roster and give the applicant a signed Verification of Employment Armed Security (VEAS) form to take to a Certified Firearm Instructor who administers the course.
See: Information on Armed Work Cards

Fees:
$85.00   Application Processing Fee OR $129.00   for rush processing of work card

$10.00   If fingerprints are provided on fingerprint cards or for out-of-state applicants

25$   Fee for reprinting the PILB Work Card to reflect the armed status

See: Application for the Registration Work Card (Paper Application)
See: Online Application Portal
See: Work Card Study Guide
See: Work Card Checklist

The Armed Work Card is valid for five years provided that the individual holder successfully qualifies every year during each of his or her designated qualification months on a course of fire that is given by a certified firearms instructor and is approved by the Board.
See: NAC 648.350(4)

Nevada does not regulate the permit or licensure process for open carry handguns. However, the state has strict laws on conceal carry weaponry which shall be featured in this section.

Nevada permits unlicensed employees to work on a provisional basis while awaiting final documentation.
In addition, the Nevada Administrative Code carves out a Board discretionary exemption for those employed in select occupations
The Rules states:

1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, a licensee may not employ an unlicensed person who is or becomes employed:
(a) As a peace officer, as defined in NRS 169.125;
(b) By a federal, state or local law enforcement agency; or
(c) In a position which makes the unlicensed person eligible to contribute to any public employees’ retirement system.

The Rules also allow the Board to grant an exemption to this if the Board is convinced that the private activities of the unlicensed person on behalf of the licensee would not create or tend to create:
(a) A conflict of interest with his or her responsibilities to the public employer and his or her duty to discharge them; or
(b) The possibility of a use of his or her position with the public employer for personal advantage in his or her private activities.

See: NAC 648.338 and 3385

 

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

Nevada allows an out of state licensee to work in Nevada if the following criteria are met:

1.  A private investigator, repossessor, private patrol officer, polygraphic examiner or process server who:
(a) Has been licensed and is in good standing in another state or a territory of the United States;
(b) Has begun activities for a client in a particular case in that jurisdiction; and
(c) Needs to continue the activities of that case in Nevada, may apply to the Executive Director of the Board for authorization to work on that case in Nevada. A licensee of the Board in the appropriate category must agree with the applicant to oversee the applicant’s work in this State and to obligate the licensee’s insurance for protection against liability to third persons to cover the applicant’s activities in this State.

2.  The application must include:
(a) Evidence of the applicant’s license and good standing in the other jurisdiction;
(b) A brief description of the type of work the applicant intends to do in this State;
(c) An estimate of the time necessary to accomplish the work; and
(d) A copy of an independent contractor agreement between the applicant and a licensee of the Board in the appropriate category.

3. If the application is in order, the Executive Director may authorize the described work for an appropriate period.

See: NAC 648.280

Age Requirements

The applicant must be at least 18 years of age
See: NRS 648.1493(3)(b)(1)

Citizenship

The applicant must be a U.S. citizen or resident alien with a work permit
See: NRS 648.1493(3)(b)(2)
For registration of individual security officer, the regulations call for a natural person.

Experience

None required

Exemptions

According to NRS 202.350(4), the following persons are exempt from needing a concealed firearms permit:
•   Sheriffs, constables, marshals, peace officers, correctional officers employed by the Department of Corrections, special police officers, police officers of this State, whether active or honorably retired, or other appointed officers.
•   Any person summoned by any peace officer to assist in making arrests or preserving the peace while the person so summoned is actually engaged in assisting such an officer.
•   Any full-time paid peace officer of an agency of the United States or another state or political subdivision thereof when carrying out official duties in the State of Nevada.
•   Members of the Armed Forces of the United States when on duty.

According to NRS 202.350(5), the exemptions provided in subsection 4 do not include a former peace officer who is retired for disability unless his or her former employer has approved his or her fitness to carry a concealed weapon.

The Board does have discretion to exempt licensure in these narrow circumstances that allows unlicensed parties employed in
law enforcement, at the state, local or federal level, or select employees in the public retirement systems to work without a license.
See: NAC 648.338 and 3385

Permit Required

A firearms permit is not required. The armed guard PILB card allows the owner to carry a firearm while on duty unless that weapon is concealed in which case an issued permit from the Sheriff is required.

Requirement to carry an ID card

Upon the issuance of a registration, a pocket card of such size, design and content as may be determined by the Board will be issued without charge to each registered employee, and will be evidence that the employee is duly registered pursuant to this chapter.
See: NRS 648.1493(4)

The legislation does not specify the requirement to carry the pocket card while on duty.

Moral Character

The applicant must be of good moral character and temperate habits.
See: NRS 648.1493(3)(b)(3)

Fingerprint

A complete set of fingerprint cards or a receipt for electronically submitted fingerprints of the applicant must be submitted to the PILB- the Private Investigator’s Licensing Board.
See: NRS 648.1493(1)(c)

Fingerprints are required to be submitted to conduct a background investigation.
See: Fingerprinting Companies
See: Fingerprint instructions

Substance Abuse

According to NRS 202.3657(4)(d):

The applicant cannot have habitually used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance to the extent that his or her normal faculties are impaired.

Mental Health

According to NRS 202.3657(4)(b) and 202.3657(4)(c):

The applicant cannot have been judicially declared incompetent or insane or has been voluntarily or involuntarily admitted to a mental health facility during the immediately preceding 5 years.

Criminal History Background Check

The applicant must not have been convicted of, or entered a plea of nolo contendere to, a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude or the illegal use or possession of a dangerous weapon. The application also has the applicant to lists all arrests and if they are registered as a sex offender.
See: NRS 1493(3)(b)(4)

Fingerprints will be processed by the Nevada Criminal History Repository and the FBI.
See: NRS 648.203(2)

The application form requires the applicant to list all previous arrests, citations and orders to appear in court.
See: Application form

According to NRS 202.3657:
•   Has been convicted of a crime involving the use or threatened use of force or violence punishable as a misdemeanor under the laws of this or any other state, or a territory or possession of the United States at any time during the immediately preceding 3 years.
•   Has been convicted of a felony in this State or under the laws of any state, territory or possession of the United States.
•   Has been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence or stalking, or is currently subject to a restraining order, injunction or other order for protection against domestic violence.
•   Is currently on parole or probation from a conviction obtained in this State or in any other state or territory or possession of the United States.
•   Has, within the immediately preceding 5 years, been subject to any requirements imposed by a court of this State or of any other state or territory or possession of the United States, as a condition to the court’s:
•   Withholding of the entry of judgment for a conviction of a felony; or
•   Suspension of sentence for the conviction of a felony.
•   Has made a false statement on any application for a permit or for the renewal of a permit.

Personal References

Not required

Training Requirements

1.   Except as otherwise provided in subsection 5, the minimum curriculum for a course of training in carrying, handling and using firearms safely that is taught for the purposes of NRS 648.030 must include instruction designed to teach:
(a) The legal and civil responsibilities of carrying, handling and using a firearm, including:
(1) The applicable federal and state laws and regulations and local governmental ordinances related to carrying, handling and using firearms and the use of deadly force.
(2) The civil and criminal liability related to carrying, handling and using firearms and the use of deadly force.
(3) The consequences and risks related to carrying, handling and using firearms and the use of deadly force.
(4) The elements of self-defense, using a weapon in self-defense and the use of force.
(5) Recent court decisions related to carrying, handling and using firearms and the use of deadly force.

(b) The terminology related to and the maintenance of different types of firearms and their related systems, including:
(1) The operational and mechanical systems and parts of a firearm and the related terminology.
(2) The types of ammunition and their ballistic properties and effective uses.
(3) The inspection, storage and general care of ammunition.
(4) The inspection, care, cleaning and maintenance of a firearm.

(c) Carrying, handling and using a firearm safely, including:
(1) The safe handling, use and storage of firearms when off duty.
(2) The safe transportation of a firearm.
(3) The appropriate methods of safely carrying a firearm while on duty.
(4) Safety and accessory equipment available to carry, handle and use a firearm safely.
(d) The fundamentals of safe handling and shooting of firearms, including:
(1) The fundamentals of operating a handgun.
(2) The general differences among handguns.
(3) The proper procedures and devices for loading, unloading and reloading a firearm.
(4) The fundamentals of shooting, such as the use of sights, sight picture and alignment, control of the trigger, breathing and firing in a single or double action.
(5) Proper techniques for gripping a handgun and shooting positions.
(6) Procedures for drawing and reholstering a firearm and techniques for retaining a firearm.
(7) The various positions for shooting when standing or kneeling.
(8) The use of barricades or other forms of cover and alternate shooting positions.

(e) The preparation for shooting at a firing range, including:
(1) The location of the range.
(2) The equipment to be used at the range.
(3) The course of fire.
(4) Targets to be used.
(5) Commands at the range.

(6) Safety and etiquette at the range.
(f) Exercises to be used at a firing range and the practical use of a firearm at the firing range, including:
(1) The review of safety procedures and etiquette at the firing range and a safety inspection of all firearms, holsters and accessories.
(2) Practicing drawing and holstering.
(3) Dry firing, the manipulation of the trigger and follow through.
(4) The procedures for loading, unloading and reloading.
(5) Exercises for firing with live ammunition to practice proper shooting techniques while firing at targets with a firearm of the same type and caliber as the firearm the person will use while on duty.
(6) Qualifying with a course of fire established by the Board, using a firearm of the same type and caliber as the firearm the person will use while on duty. The course of fire must require firing at least 30 rounds of live ammunition with a passing score of 75 percent, and must include drawing and:
(I) Shooting 5 rounds of ammunition from a distance of 3 yards in 15 seconds using only the dominant hand;
(II) Transferring the firearm to the support hand and shooting 5 rounds of ammunition from a distance of 3 yards in 15 seconds using only the support hand;
(III) Shooting 5 rounds of ammunition while standing, reloading the firearm and shooting 5 rounds of ammunition while kneeling, from a distance of 7 yards in 30 seconds; and
(IV) Shooting 5 rounds of ammunition while standing, reloading the firearm and shooting 5 rounds of ammunition while kneeling, from a distance of 15 yards in 30 seconds, on a full-size B27-type target. The scoring areas on the target are the “X” in the center of the target, which receives a score of 10, and the 10, 9, 8 and 7 rings. Any hits outside of such areas do not receive a score.
See: NAC 648.346(1)

Exam Requirement

In order to obtain the Work Card, registration requires passage of an examination.
The content of which includes a thorough understanding of core topics, and must include, without limitation:
•   Recognizing noncompliance with specific laws, including, without limitation, NRS 171.126, 199.310, 199.430,
207.200, 648.013, 648.016, subsection 5 of NRS 648.030, NRS 648.060, 648.063, subsections 1, 2 and 3 of NRS 648.140,
NRS 648.160, 648.200 and 648.203;
•   Recognizing noncompliance with specific regulations, including, without limitation, subsection 3 of
NAC 648.334, NAC 648.338 and subsection 5 of NAC 648.431;
•   General rights of citizens;
•   Powers of arrest; and
•   Limits of authority.

See: NAC 648.342
See: Work Card Exam Study Guide
See: Work Card Exam

In addition, armed applicants must:
6)   Qualifying with a course of fire established by the Board, using a firearm of the same type and caliber as the firearm the person will use while on duty. The course of fire must require firing at least 30 rounds of live ammunition with a passing score of 75 percent, and must include drawing and:
(I) Shooting 5 rounds of ammunition from a distance of 3 yards in 15 seconds using only the dominant hand;
(II) Transferring the firearm to the support hand and shooting 5 rounds of ammunition from a distance of 3 yards in 15 seconds using only the support hand;
(III) Shooting 5 rounds of ammunition while standing, reloading the firearm and shooting 5 rounds of ammunition while kneeling, from a distance of 7 yards in 30 seconds; and
(IV) Shooting 5 rounds of ammunition while standing, reloading the firearm and shooting 5 rounds of ammunition while kneeling, from a distance of 15 yards in 30 seconds.
See: NAC 648.346(1)(f)

Child Support

1.   In addition to any other requirements set forth in this chapter, a natural person who applies for the issuance or renewal of a license or registration issued pursuant to this chapter shall submit to the Board the statement prescribed by the Division of Welfare and Supportive Services of the Department of Health and Human Services pursuant to NRS 425.520. The statement must be completed and signed by the applicant.

3.    A license or registration may not be issued or renewed by the Board pursuant to this chapter if the applicant is a natural person who:
(a)   Fails to submit the statement required pursuant to subsection 1; or
(b)   Indicates on the statement submitted pursuant to subsection 1 that the applicant is subject to a court order for the support of a child and is not in compliance with the order or a plan approved by the district attorney or other public agency enforcing the order for the repayment of the amount owed pursuant to the order.
See: NRS 648.085

1.   If the Board receives a copy of a court order issued pursuant to NRS 425.540 that provides for the suspension of all professional, occupational and recreational licenses, certificates and permits issued to a person who is the holder of a license or registration issued pursuant to this chapter, the Board shall deem the license or registration issued to that person to be suspended at the end of the 30th day after the date on which the court order was issued unless the Board receives a letter issued to the holder of the license or registration by the district attorney or other public agency pursuant to NRS 425.550 stating that the holder of the license or registration has complied with the subpoena or warrant or has satisfied the arrearage pursuant to NRS 425.560.
See: NRS 648.158

New Hampshire: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for New Hampshire

Legislation/Source:

New Hampshire Statutes
Title VII – Sheriffs, Constables, and Police Officers
Chapter 106-F: Private Investigative Agencies, Bail Enforcement Agencies, and Security Services
and
New Hampshire Administrative Rules
Chapter Saf-C 2200- Licensing of Private Detectives and Security Guards

Authorizing Department

New Hampshire Department of Safety
Permits and Licensing Unit
Division of State Police
New Hampshire Department of Safety

James H. Hayes Building
33 Hazen Drive, Room 106
Concord, N.H. 03305
Phone Number: (603) 228-3873
Fax Number: (603) 271-0306
Email: permitsandlicensing@dos.nh.gov

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In New Hampshire a license is issued to a security guard employee or as an individual private security officers. Be mindful of the fee and regulatory differences.

To obtain the status of an armed guard the applicant shall submit documentation of firearms qualification.
See: Registered Ocupations in New Hampshire – Security Guard

New Hampshire Administrative Rules Saf-C 2203.02

•   Private Security Guards – shall apply with Form DSSP 259
•   $10 Background investigation fee
•   $25 Criminal record check fee
•   $150 Application fee
•   Additionally, applicants require a two-year $50,000 surety bond

New Hampshire Administrative Rules Saf-C 2203.04

•   Security Guard Employees – shall apply with Form DSSP 247

•   $10 Background investigation fee
•   $25 Criminal record check fee
•   $5 Application fee
•   $26.50 Fingerprints check fee

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

 

Age Requirements

The applicant must be at least 18 years of age.
See: Registered Ocupations in New Hampshire – Security Guard

Citizenship

Applicant must be a U.S resident.
See: Registered Ocupations in New Hampshire – Security Guard

Experience

Not Required

Exemptions

New Hampshire Revised Statutes (NH Rev Stat) § 106-F:15-a Exemptions
Nothing in this chapter shall require the licensure of persons employed by any federal or state agency or any city or town as an investigator. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to require licensure under this chapter for persons engaged in interviewing parties or witnesses in any legal matter.

NH Rev Stat § 106-F:2
The following are excluded from the provisions of this chapter:

  I. Insurance adjusters licensed as such.
 II. Consumer reporting agencies and their employees who are engaged solely in the business of assembling or evaluating consumer credit information for a consumer reporting agency as defined in RSA 359-B:3, VI.
  III. Police officers, except as provided in RSA 106-F:2-a, or fire investigators of the United States and the state, county, city, or town, while assigned to duty by and performing as officers of their respective law enforcement or fire service agencies.
  IV. Any unarmed security employee who is a direct employee of a business which is not a security guard agency and who is employed by that business to secure its premises while so employed, including but not limited to store detective and watchmen.
  V. Towing or wrecking companies engaged in the repossession of vehicles.
  VI. Firefighters employed by the state or any political subdivision providing fire watch or fire protection services at public events.
  VII. Persons engaged solely in collecting or acquiring data for the purpose of motor vehicle or other accident or occurrence reconstruction or scientific analysis.
  VIII. Persons engaged in reporting or providing information to an accredited news publication, media, or news outlet.
 IX. Persons employed or contracted by a commercial or legal entity to provide, for internal use or dissemination, gross population data or information relating to patterns of general population behavior, criminal or societal activity, or other information that does not include the collection of personally identifiable information, including but not limited to voter preference polls, demographic surveys, or business or academic research.
 X. Persons serving subpoenas or summonses for attorneys as provided by statute.
 XI. Persons conducting management studies or performance evaluations of municipal, county, or state government agencies or providing recruitment and hiring services for such agencies under contract to governing bodies of those agencies.
  XII. Attorneys, and employees of their law firms acting as their agents, exercising legal rights to investigate on behalf of their clients.
 XIII. A certified public accountant who holds an active permit issued by any state or a public accounting firm registered in any state, and the employees of such certified public accountant or firm.
  XIV. The employees of any nationally or state chartered financial institution, as defined in RSA 161-C:2, VI-b, and any company controlled by, or under common control with, or hired by, the financial institution with respect to the investigation of the identity, identifying information, financial condition, and background of customers, employees, or service providers to comply with, or to audit or evaluate its performance under, the requirements of federal and state laws and regulations.

Permit Required

Not required

Requirement to carry an ID card

Saf-C 2207.01
All private detectives and security guards, whether licensed as individuals or employees, shall be issued identification cards by the department.

The legislation is silent on the requirement to carry the identification card while on duty.

Moral Character

Not required

Fingerprint

NH Rev Stat § 106-F:6
An applicant for any license issued under this chapter shall include the following in his or her application:
V. In the case of an applicant for an armed security guard or armed private investigator or bail enforcement agent license, 2 sets of the applicant’s fingerprints taken at state police headquarters.

Please note: Fingerprinting scheduled by appointment only at (606) 233-3873

Substance Abuse

Saf-C 2203.02(b)(3)
An applicant shall provide an explanation on form DSSP 259 if the applicant has indicated affirmatively, that the applicant is or has ever been a user of drugs or narcotics, excepting those under the direction of a doctor.

Mental Health

Saf-C 2203.06
Any applicant who has been treated for mental illness, as defined by RSA 135- C:2, X, or emotional disorder shall be required to obtain a written statement from the individual’s licensed health care practitioner that the individual is able to perform the duties and responsibilities of a private investigator or security guard, whichever is the applicable license the individual is applying for.

Criminal History Background Check

NH Rev Stat § 106-F:6
An applicant for any license issued under this chapter shall include the following in his or her application:
IV. For an original or renewal license, the applicant’s record of felony convictions and misdemeanor convictions in this or any other state or nation that have not been pardoned or annulled, information as to whether any prior or similar licenses were ever revoked or suspended in this or any other state, Canadian province, or nation, and disclosure of any claim or lawsuit regarding conduct as a licensee, or any domestic violence protective order.

Saf-C 2209.02

(a) The commissioner shall deny an application, if the applicant:

 (1) Has a felony conviction
 (2) Has a record of a violent misdemeanor
 (3) Has a record of a conviction involving theft, fraud, deceit or misrepresentation, or
 (4) Committed any act which, if committed by a licensee, would be grounds for suspension or revocation under this chapter or RSA 106-F

Saf-C 2203.07 Background Investigation

(a)   Upon receipt of a completed application, the division shall conduct a background investigation into the character, competency and integrity pf the applicant.
(b)   The background investigation shall include a criminal records check on each applicant. In addition, the division shall notify the local law enforcement agency
in which the applicant resides as to the individual’s application for a license.

According to NH Rev Stat § 106-F:7
I. […] Prior to approval of any armed private investigator, bail recovery agent, or security license issued under this chapter, the applicant shall submit to a fingerprint examination conducted by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, and the department of safety shall be authorized to use the records of the Federal Bureau of Investigation in the screening of applicants.

Personal References

NH Rev Stat § 106-F:6

An applicant for any license issued under this chapter shall include the following in his or her application:

III. For an original license, the names of at least 3 unrelated persons to whom inquiry can be made concerning the applicant’s character as to integrity and reputation for honesty.

Training Requirements

NH Rev Stat § 106-F:8-a Licensee Proficiency

All armed security guards, armed private investigators, and armed bail enforcement agents shall meet minimum requirements in the proficiency in the use of firearms upon initial licensure and at least once per year. The requirements shall be as follows:

•   The practical police course or the tactical revolver course, with a minimum qualification score of 75 percent.
•   Shotgun familiarization course required for all security officers and bail enforcement agents whose employers issue, or have as part of their equipment, shotguns.

•   Four hours of instruction, to include firearms techniques and safety, laws on the use of deadly force, and the moral and ethical use of force. Only qualified firearms instructors shall be used to certify the successful completion of the requirements.

Exam Requirement

Applicant must provide Firearms Proficiency Certification.

Child Support

NH Rev Stat § 161 – B: 11(I)
The department shall be authorized to certify that an obligor is not in compliance with a legal order of support, or that any party has failed, after receiving notice, to comply with subpoenas or orders relating to paternity or child support proceedings, to any licensing board for the purpose of suspending, revoking, or denying the issuance or renewal of any appropriate license or licenses held by the obligor or party.

New Jersey: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for New Jersey

Legislation/Source:

New Jersey Permanent Statutes
Title 45 – Professions and Occupations
Chapter 45:19A – Security Officer Registration Act
and
New Jersey Administrative Code
Title 13 – Law and Public Safety
Chapter 55A – Security Officers and Security Officer Companies

Authorizing Department


New Jersey State Police
Private Detective Unit

P.O. Box 7068
West Trenton, New Jersey 08628-0068
Phone: (609) 341-3426
Email: pdu@gw.njsp.org

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In New Jersey, there are various pre-license steps taken before actual issuance of a license.
After meeting age requirements and an acceptable background review, the applicant then must complete training under a specified program.
To receive a license, the applicant must be employed.

SORA C.45:19A-4:

4.a. A person shall not be employed as a security officer by a security officer company or a company maintaining a proprietary or in-house security function, or perform the functions and activities of a security officer, unless that person is registered with the Superintendent as required in this section.

The armed security officer certification does NOT authorize the applicant or card holder to carry a firearm.
The certification only permits the applicant or card hodler to legally work for a security company as an armed guard, after they have FIRST obtained
approval for the State of New Jersey Permit to Carry A Handgun.
To obtain this permit, the individual has to make a separate application for a State of New Jersey Permit to Carry a Handgun at through the municipal police department at their residence. To obtain a carry permit you must first make a separate application for a State of New Jersey Permit to Carry a Handgun through the municipal police department where you reside as per N.J.S.A. 2C:58-4.

For more information see: njsp.org
See: Armed Security Officer FAQ

New Jersey Administrative Code (NJAC) § 13:55A-3.2/ 13:55A-3.6
  $75 Application fee
  $66.05 Fingerprints check fee (by MorphoTrust)
  $59.91 Fingerprints check fee ( by “ink and roll”)
  $78.75 Renewal fee (The SORA card requires renewal every two years)*Includes FP Archive Fee of $18.75

See: SORA/ Security Officer Help Page

See: Application for Permit to Carry a Handgun

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

 

Age Requirements

C.45:19A-4(b)(1)/ NJAC § 13:55A-3.1
The applicant must be at least 18 years of age

2C:58-6.1
Possession of firearms by minors; exceptions. 14. a. No person under the age of 18 years shall purchase, barter or otherwise acquire a firearm and no person under the age of 21 years shall purchase, barter or otherwise acquire a handgun, unless the person is authorized to possess the handgun in connection with the performance of official duties under the provisions of N.J.S.2C:39-6

Citizenship

The New Jersey instructions are not self-evident on citizenship- however documents and rules reference information that seems to comport with citizenship or residential alien.
See §13:55A-3.1(a)

Experience

Not Required

Exemptions

NJAC § 13:55A-1.2
The rules of this chapter shall only apply to security officer companies and security officers as defined under N.J.A.C.13:55A-1.3 and shall not apply to security officers hired for proprietary or internal purposes by a company not engaged in the security officer business. Moreover, the rules of this chapter shall only apply to duly sworn law enforcement officers seeking to be employed as, or perform the functions and activities of, a security officer, who will be receiving compensation for his or her services directly from a licensed security officer company and shall not apply to duly sworn law enforcement officers working under color of law.

C. 45:19A-4(a)
A person shall not be employed as a security officer by a security officer company or a company maintaining a proprietary or in-house security function, or perform the functions and activities of a security officer, unless that person is registered with the superintendent as required in this section.

The requirements of this section shall not apply to:

(1)   a loss prevention employee.

(2)   an employee of a company whose business includes hosting sporting and entertainment events at an arena or stadium where a State, county, or municipal law enforcement agency is on the premises during the event and whose in-house security employees do not carry handguns or other licensed weapons.

(3)   a security officer employed by a company maintaining a proprietary or in-house security function whose in-house security employees do not carry handguns or other licensed weapons, or

(4)   a security employee regulated under federal law. Any person who violates the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a crime of the fourth degree.

Any duly sworn law enforcement officer seeking to be employed as, or perform the functions and activities of, a security officer, who will be receiving compensation for his/her services directly from a licensed security officer company, shall submit an application for registration as a security officer and submit the required fees in accordance with (a) and (b) above. A duly sworn law enforcement officer seeking to be employed as, or perform the functions and activities of, a security officer shall be exempt from the requirements of (c) above.

(e)   Any duly sworn law enforcement officer who performs the functions and activities of a security officer pursuant to an agreement between a law enforcement agency and a private contractor, and receives compensation from the law enforcement agency, shall be deemed to be employed within the scope of his employment with the law enforcement agency and shall be exempt from the requirements of (a) through (c) above.
Any applicant who shall complete a security officer training course, approved by the Superintendent, within 30 days of employment or prior to the expiration of the temporary certificate of registration issued pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:55A-3.3.

Permit Required

State of New Jersey Permit to Carry a Handgun is required.

Requirement to carry an ID card

NJAC §13:55A-3.5
(b)   Upon completion of the required security officer training course, applicants having met the requirements of N.J.A.C. 13:55A-3.2(a) through (c) shall be issued a security officer identification card which shall be valid only so long as the person retains a valid certificate of registration as a security officer.

The legislation is silent on the requirement to carry the identification card while on duty.

Moral Character

NJAC § 13:55A-3.7(a)(7)
The Superintendent may deny any initial application for a security officer certificate of registration, revoke or suspend any current certificate of registration, or refuse to renew any certificate of registration if the person holding a certificate, applying for a certification, or applying for renewal of certification, has demonstrated bad moral character, incompetence, or untrustworthiness.

Fingerprint

C.45:19A-4(c)
Each applicant shall submit to the Superintendent the applicant’s fingerprints and written consent for a criminal history record background check to be performed. The Superintendent shall compare these to fingerprints on file with the State Bureau of Identification in the Division of State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, consistent with applicable State and federal laws, rules and regulations. The applicant shall bear the cost for the criminal history record background check, including all costs of administering and processing the check.

Substance Abuse

NJAC § 13:55A-3.7

a) The Superintendent may deny any initial application for a security officer certificate of registration, revoke or suspend any current certificate of registration, or refuse to renew any certificate of registration, for any of the following reasons:

2. The person holding a certificate, applying for certification, or applying for renewal of certification, has been convicted of any offense involving the unlawful use, possession, or sale, of a controlled dangerous substance as defined in N.J.S.A. 2C:35-2.

NJAC § 13:54-1.5

(b) A permit to purchase a handgun, or a firearm purchaser identification card, shall not be issued to any person:

2. Who is drug dependent as defined by N.J.S.A. 24:21-2.

4. Who is a habitual drunkard or an alcoholic

Mental Health

NJAC § 13:54-1.5

(a) A permit to purchase a handgun and form of register, or a State of New Jersey firearms purchaser identification card, shall not be issued:

2. To any drug dependent person as defined in section 2 of P.L. 1970, c. 226 (N.J.S.A. 24:21-2), to any person who is confined for a mental disorder to a hospital, mental institution or sanitarium, or to any person who is presently a habitual drunkard.

3. To any person who suffers from a physical defect or disease which would make it unsafe for him or her to handle firearms, to any person who has ever been confined for a mental disorder, or to any alcoholic unless any of the foregoing persons produces a certificate of a medical doctor or psychiatrist licensed in New Jersey, or other satisfactory proof, that he or she is no longer suffering from that particular disability in such a manner that would interfere with or handicap him or her in the handling of firearms; to any person who knowingly falsifies any information on the application form for a handgun purchase permit or firearms purchaser identification card.

4. To any person under the age of 18 years for a State of New Jersey firearms purchaser identification card and to any person under the age of 21 years for a permit to purchase a handgun and form of register.

5. To any person where the issuance would not be in the interest of the public health, safety or welfare.

6. To any person who is subject to a restraining order issued pursuant to the Prevention of Domestic Violence Act of 1991, P.L. 1991, c. 261 (N.J.S.A. 2C:25-17et seq.) prohibiting the person from possessing any firearm.

7. To any person who as a juvenile was an adjudicated delinquent for an offense which, if committed by an adult, would constitute a crime and the offense involved the unlawful use or possession of a weapon, explosive or destructive device or is enumerated in subsection d. of section 2 of P.L. 1997, c. 117 (N.J.S.A. 2C:43-7.2).

8. To any person whose firearm is seized pursuant to the Prevention of Domestic Violence Act of 1991, P.L. 1991, c. 261 (N.J.S.A. 2C:25-17 et seq.) and whose firearm has not been returned. or

9. To any person named in a consolidated Terrorist Watch List maintained by the Terrorist Screening Center administered by the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Criminal History Background Check

Complete background checks and criminal history reviews are done by the new jersey state bureau of investigation and the federal bureau of investigation.

C.45:19A-4

b.   An application for registration as a security officer shall be filed with the Superintendent on a form and in a manner prescribed by the Superintendent and shall set forth under oath:

(3) that the applicant has not been convicted of any disqualifying crime or offense as set forth in subsection c. of this section

c.   No person shall be issued a certificate of registration as a security officer under the provisions of this section if the person has been convicted, as indicated by a criminal history record background check performed pursuant to the provisions of this section, of: a crime of the first, second, third or fourth degree; any offense involving the unlawful use, possession or sale of a controlled dangerous substance as defined in N.J.S.2C:35-2; or any offense where the registration of the individual would be contrary to the public interest, as determined by the Superintendent.

NJAC § 13:55A-3.7
(a)   The Superintendent may deny any initial application for a security officer certificate of registration, revoke or suspend any current certificate of registration, or refuse to renew any certificate of registration, for any of the following reasons:

1.  The person holding a certificate, applying for certification, or applying for renewal of certification, has been convicted of any act or acts which would be a first, second, third, or fourth degree crime under Title 2C, New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice.

NJAC § 13:54-1.5

(a) A permit to purchase a handgun and form of register, or a State of New Jersey firearms purchaser identification card, shall not be issued:

1.   To any person who has been convicted of any crime, or a disorderly persons offense involving an act of domestic violence as defined in section 3 of P.L. 1991, c. 261 (N.J.S.A. 2C:25-19), whether or not armed with or possessing a weapon at the time of such offense.

NJAC §13:54-1.5(b)(1)

(b) A permit to purchase a handgun, or a firearm purchaser identification card, shall not be issued to any person:
1. Who has been convicted of any crime.

13:55A-3.2 Application for a certificate of registration as a security officer

(c)   Any person seeking to be employed as, or perform the functions and activities of, a security officer shall submit fingerprints and a written consent for a criminal history background check to the Superintendent or in a manner prescribed by the Superintendent. Applicants for registration as a security officer shall bear the cost for the criminal history background check, including all costs of administering and processing the check, as required by N.J.A.C. 13:59

Personal References

NJAC § 13:54-1.4

(c) The applicant shall provide the names and addresses of two reputable citizens personally acquainted with him as references.

Training Requirements

NJAC § 13:55A-4.1
(a)   Except as provided in N.J.S.A. 13:55A-3.4 (b), a person seeking to be employed as, or perform the functions and activities of, a security officer must complete an approved 24-hour course of classroom instruction taught by a certified security officer instructor.
(b)   The course of instruction shall include, but not be limited to, a minimum of two hours of instruction in each of the following general subject areas:

1.   Homeland security and counter-terrorism
2.   Communications/emergency response
3.  Theft prevention
4.   Limits on the use of force
5.  Detention of suspects
6.   Ethics and professional conduct
7.   First aid/CPR/AED, and
8.   Any other subject areas the Superintendent determines are necessary in the interest of public safety.

NJAC § 13:55A-4.2
(a) Except for law enforcement officers exempt from initial training under N.J.A.C. 13:55A- 3.4(b), all registered security officers shall complete an approved eight-hour refresher course of classroom instruction taught by a certified security officer instructor prior to having the certification renewed pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:55A-3.6.
(b) The course of instruction shall include, but not be limited to, additional instruction in each of the general subject areas listed in N.J.A.C. 13:55A-4.1(b).

13:54-2.4 Application for a permit to carry a handgun
(a)   Every person applying for a permit to carry a handgun shall furnish such information and particulars as set forth in the application form designated SP 642. The application shall be signed by the applicant under oath and shall be
endorsed by three reputable persons who have known the applicant for at least three years preceding the date of
application, and who shall also certify thereon that the applicant is a person of good moral character and behavior.
Applications can be obtained at police departments and State Police stations.

(b)   Each applicant shall demonstrate a thorough familiarity with the safe handling and use of handguns by indicating
in the space provided therefor on the application form, and on any sworn attachments thereto, any relevant information.
Thorough familiarity with the safe handling and use of handguns may be evidenced by:

1.   Completion of a firearms training course substantially equivalent to the firearms training approved by the Police
Training Commission as described by N.J.S.A. 2C:39-6j;
2.   Submission of an applicant’s most recent handgun qualification scores utilizing the handgun(s) he or she intends to
carry as evidenced by test firings administered by a certified firearms instructor of a police academy, a certified firearms
instructor of the National Rifle Association, or any other recognized certified firearms instructor;
3.   Completion of a course or test in the safe handling of a handgun administered by a certified firearms instructor of
a police academy, a certified firearms instructor of the National Rifle Association, or any other recognized certified
firearms instructor; or
4.   Passage of any test in this State’s laws governing the use of force administered by a certified instructor of a police
academy, a certified instructor of the National Rifle Association, or any other recognized certified instructor.

Obtaining the armed designation will call upon the applicant to maneuver through two licensing processes- first under the SORA Act and secondly, under the law and legislation which guide New Jersey weaponry permits. The armed security officer certification does NOT authorize the applicant or card holder to carry a firearm. The certification only permits the applicant or cardholder to legally work for a security company as an armed guard, after they have first obtained approval for the State of New Jersey Permit to Carry a Handgun. make a separate application for a State of New Jersey Permit to Carry a Handgun through the municipal police department where you reside as per N.J.S.A. 2C:58-4 to get the process started.

To renew said armed certification, the officer shall have to take an annual 8 hour refresher course under the tutelage of an approved instructor.

Exam Requirement

Not Required

Child Support

2A:17-56.41(3)(a)

If the child support arrearage equals or exceeds the amount of child support payable for six months or court-ordered health care coverage for the child is not provided for six months, or the obligor fails to respond to a subpoena relating to a paternity or child support action, or a child support-related warrant exists, and the obligor is found to possess a license in the State and all appropriate enforcement methods to collect the child support arrearage have been exhausted, the Probation Division shall send a written notice to the obligor, by certified and regular mail, return receipt requested, at the obligor’s last-known address or place of business or employment, advising the obligor that the obligor’s license may be revoked or suspended unless, within 30 days of the postmark date of the notice, the obligor pays the full amount of the child support arrearage, or provides proof that health care coverage for the child has been obtained, or responds to a subpoena, or makes a written request for a court hearing to the Probation Division.

More Information

New Mexico: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for New Mexico

Legislation/Source:

New Mexico Statutes
Chapter 61 – Professional and Occupational Licenses
Article 27B – Private Investigations Act
and
New Mexico Administrative Code
Title 16 – Occupational and Professional Licensing
Chapter 48 – Private Law Enforcement Practitioners

Alerts

New:  On February 8, 2022, new rules went into effect that extend the licensure period for initial applicants from two years to three years. In addition, for those already licensed and renewing, all license numbers ending in an even number will renew for a final two year term with a prorated fee and those with license numbers ending in an odd number will renew for three years.

___________________________________________________________________

1. FEES:   The fees were changed to align with the three year licensure cycle. The new fees are as follows:

Initial applications:

Private Patrol Operations Company – No Fee Required

Private Patrol Operator – $550.00

Private Patrol Operations Manager – $400.00

Security Guard Level Three – $150.00

Renewal applications for license numbers ending in an even number:

Private Patrol Operations Company – No Fee Required

Private Patrol Operator – $300.00

Private Patrol Operations Manager – $200.00

Security Guard Level Three – $75.00

Renewal applications for license numbers ending in an odd number:

Private Patrol Operations Company – No Fee Required

Private Patrol Operator – $450.00

Private Patrol Operations Manager – $300.00

Security Guard Level Three – $150.00

2.   Continuing education requirements have also changed to reflect the three year licensure cycle.  Two hours of continuing education credits per year are required for Private Patrol Operators and Security Guards.

3.   Background check requirements for renewals were changed. Only licensees/registrants that carry firearms must complete the background check upon renewal. All initial applicants must still complete the federal background check.

Authorizing Department

New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department

Private Investigations Advisory Board


2550 Cerrillos Road

PO Box 25101
Santa Fe, NM 87505

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In New Mexico, individual Security Guards are employees of a private patrol manager or private patrol company, and must be registered with the department.

According to New Mexico Statutes §61-27B-15. Security guard; levels of registration
A.   A security guard shall be registered at one of the three levels enumerated in this section that are based on experience, age and other qualifications of the registrant:
(1)   Level one is the entry level registration for security guards who will be working in a position not requiring the registrant to carry arms;
(2)   Level two is the intermediate level registration for security guards who are required to be armed but not with firearms; and
(3)   Level three is the advanced level registration for security guards who may be required to be armed with a firearm.

An individual seeking registration as a level three armed security guard must meet the requirements to be granted registration as a level two security guard an maintains in good standing a current registration as a level two security guard.
See: NM Stat §61-27B-18(B)(2)

The applicant must be employed by a private patrol company under the direct supervision of a licensed private patrol operator, another level three security guard or a private patrol operations manager.
See: NM Stat §61-27B-18(B)(7)

A level three security guard or a private patrol operations employee may carry a firearm upon successful completion of the mandatory firearm training required by rules of the department.
See: NM Stat §61-27B-31

Fees for Level Three 
$150.00 for Level Three registration.  Renewal fees:  $75 for even number renewals and $150 for odd number renewals.

See: FAQs
See: Security Guard Application Form (all levels)
See:Private Investigations Advisory Board Rule Book

Special Event Security Personnel
New Mexico allows the temporary use of unlicensed New Mexico security personnel for certain “Special Events.”
The Rules are clear that the grant is temporary, for a narrow purpose and for out of state personnel only. The Rules states in part:

61-27B-19.
Special event permit; nonresident security guard procedure; qualifications; prohibited:

A. A private patrol company employing a nonresident security guard temporarily for a special event shall apply to the department for
and may be issued a special event permit for each nonresident security guard qualified to be employed at the special event.
B. A special event permit is issued for a specific nonresident security guard and a specific special event and shall not
be transferred to another security guard or used for a special event other than for the special event for which the permit is issued.

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

New Mexico regulatory authorities have the discretion to enter into “Reciprocity Agreements” regarding licensure for security companies and personnel.
Reciprocity recognizes the out of state licensure process as long as the other state’s requirements. The Rules hold:

61-27B-33.
C. The department may develop rules that allow for reciprocity on a temporary or limited basis without requiring an applicant licensed
or registered in another state subject to a reciprocity agreement to be licensed or registered in New Mexico; provided that the
state of licensure or registration:
(1) has licensure or registration requirements that meet or exceed those of New Mexico;
(2) has no record of disciplinary action taken against the applicant in the last year; and
(3) can verify that the applicant has engaged in activities for at least one year in the state with reciprocity that
are required to be licensed or registered pursuant to the Private Investigations Act.

Age Requirements

NM Stat § 61-27B-18(B)(1)
The applicant must be at least 21 years of age

Citizenship

NMCA § 16.48.2.22(A)
Must be a U.S. citizen

Experience

61-27B-18. Security guard; level three; registration; requirements
B.    The department shall issue a registration for a level three security guard to an individual who files a completed application accompanied by the required fees and who submits satisfactory evidence that the applicant: 

    (7)    is employed by a private patrol company under the direct supervision of a licensed private patrol operator, another level three security guard or a private patrol operations manager; 

The applicant must meet the requirements to be granted registration as a level two security guard an maintains in good standing a current registration as a level two security guard.
See: NM Stat §61-27B-18(B)(2)

The applicant must possess a high school diploma or its equivalent.
See: NM Stat § 61-27B-18(B)(4)

Exemptions

NM Stat § § 61-27B-4(B). Persons exempted
B.   Investigations Act does not apply to:  

(1)     an individual employed exclusively and regularly by one employer in connection with the affairs of that employer, provided that the individual patrols or provides security only on the premises of the employer as limited by the employer.
 
(2)    an individual employed exclusively to provide temporary security at a private event that is not open to the public.
 
(3)    individuals providing temporary security at athletic or other youth events and where the events occur under the auspices of a public or private school or a nonprofit organization.
 
(4)    an attorney licensed in New Mexico conducting private investigations while engaged in the practice of law.
 
(5)    an officer or employee of the United States or this state or a political subdivision of the United States or this state while that officer or employee is engaged in the performance of the officer’s or employee’s official duties.
 
(6)    a person engaged exclusively in the business of obtaining and furnishing information concerning the financial rating of persons.
(7)    a charitable philanthropic society or association duly incorporated under the laws of this state that is organized and maintained for the public good and not for private profit.
 
(8)    a licensed collection agency or an employee of the agency while acting within the scope of employment while making an investigation incidental to the business of the agency, including an investigation of the location of a debtor or the debtor’s property.
 
(9)    admitted insurers, adjusters, agents and insurance brokers licensed by the state performing duties in connection with insurance transactions by them, or
 
(10)    an institution subject to the jurisdiction of the director of the financial institutions division of the department or the comptroller of currency of the United States.

Permit Required

An applicant for a level three security guard must be firearm certified by the New Mexico law enforcement academy or the national rifle association.
See: NM Stat § 61-27B-18(B)(6)

Requirement to carry an ID card

B. Each security guard shall receive a card issued by the department in the security guard’s name with a definite expiration date that shall be carried by the security guard at all times when the security guard is performing duties that require the security guard to be registered pursuant to the provisions of this section. A security guard is not required to obtain a new card each time the security guard changes employment.
See: NM Stat § 61-27B-15(B)

Moral Character

NM Stat § 61-27B-16(B)(2)
Applicant must have good moral character

Fingerprint

NMAC § 16.48.2.18(C)

Pursuant to Section 61-27B-34 of the act, all applicants for initial issuance, reinstatement or renewal of a level one security guard registration in New Mexico shall be required to be fingerprinted to establish positive identification for a state and federal criminal history background check.

 1.  All applicants for licensure or registration shall be fingerprinted electronically as required for submission to the federal bureau of investigation to conduct a national criminal history investigation and for submission to the department of public safety to conduct a state criminal history investigation.

 2.  Initial and renewal applicants will need to register on-line with the agent for New Mexico department of public safety prior to going to an electronic fingerprinting location:
 (a)  at the electronic fingerprinting location, the applicant will need to provide the electronic fingerprinting technician with a registration number they received after registering online.
 (b)  a designated fee determined by the New Mexico department of public safety shall be paid at the time of registration by credit card or at the fingerprinting site by cashier’s check or money order, and
 (c)  fingerprint results will be sent electronically to the department.

All applicants must use the following fingerprint process to request a FBI and State criminal history background check:

•   The fee is $44.00, which can be paid at the time of registration by credit card or at the fingerprinting site by cashier’s check or money order.

See: Application Form

Substance Abuse

The Department may deny, revoke or suspend a license or registration held or applied for if the individual has been adjudged mentally incompetent or insane by regularly constituted authorities.
See: NM Stat 61-27B-26(K)

Mental Health

The Department may deny, revoke or suspend a license or registration held or applied for if the individual has been adjudged mentally incompetent or insane by regularly constituted authorities.

See: NM Stat 61-27B-26(L)

The applicant must provide proof of successful completion of a psychological evaluation prescribed by the department to determine suitability for carrying firearms.
See: NMAC §16.48.2.19(B)(11)

C. PSYCHOLOGICAL EVALUATION
(1) Requirements: Prior to certification as a level three security guard in the state of New Mexico, upon initial licensure only, it shall be necessary for each applicant to be examined by a licensed psychologist regarding the individual’s mental suitability to carry a firearm within the individual’s scope of duty as a licensed level three security guard. A list of licensed psychologists who are able to administer the exam will be available on the website or from the board office.

(a) All psychological evaluations shall be on a form provided by the department and must state if the applicant is recommended or not recommended to carry a firearm. If an applicant is not recommended to carry a firearm, the psychologist shall specify the reason(s) the applicant is not recommended to carry a firearm.
(b) Evaluations cannot be more than one year old for certification purposes.
(c) The original evaluation form shall be signed and transmitted directly to the board by the psychologist that performed the psychological evaluation.
(d) The willful providing of false information or willful failure to disclose information that the applicant knows or should have known is necessary to a complete and accurate evaluation shall be grounds for denial of licensure.

(2) Evaluation standards: The psychological evaluation shall consist of the Minnesota multi-phasic inventory-2 restructured form or MMPI-2RF. The report shall incorporate all information gathered in the interview and testing, and shall contain a specific

See: NMAC §16.48.2.19(C)

Criminal History Background Check

Background investigations for licensure may include reviews by regulation and Licensing Department and the Private Investigations Advisory Board as well as the state police and the federal bureau of investigations.

NM Stat § 61-27B-16(B)(4)
A qualified applicant is an individual who has not been convicted of a felony or an offense involving dishonesty, an offense involving an intentional violent act or the illegal use or possession of a deadly weapon and has not been found to have violated professional ethical standards.

All applicants are required to have background and criminal history checks commencing with fingerprint filings. The pertinent law holds: Pursuant to Section 61-27B-34 of the act, all applicants for initial issuance or reinstatement of a level three security guard registration in New Mexico shall be required to be fingerprinted to establish positive identification for a state and federal criminal history background check. All applicants for licensure or registration shall be fingerprinted electronically as required for submission to the federal bureau of investigation to conduct a national criminal history investigation and for submission to the department of public safety to conduct a state criminal history investigation.

Personal References

Not Required

Training Requirements

(5) in addition to the training required to be registered as a level two security guard and before the applicant shall be placed for the first time at a guard post as a level three security guard, has completed a curriculum approved by the department consisting of the minimum training for firearm certification prescribed by the department; provided that the additional training required by the department is provided by:

  (a)   a public educational institution in New Mexico or an educational institution licensed by the higher education department pursuant to the Post-Secondary Educational Institution Act;

  (b)   an in-house training program provided by a licensed private patrol company using a curriculum approved by the department;

  (c)   the New Mexico law enforcement academy; or
(d) any other department-approved educational institution using a curriculum approved by the department and complying with department standards set forth in department rules;
See: NM Stat §61-27B-18(B)(5)

Level One
Pursuant to 16.48.2.17 D. NMAC, the following eight hour curriculum is the minimum training required and must be completed
within twelve months prior to application for security guard level one licensing.
(1)legal training for security guards;
•   legal responsibilities, qualifications, restrictions and liability of level one security guard;
•   introduction to use of force continuum, appropriate use of force and de-escalation techniques;
•   appropriate search and seizure, legal restrictions and civil liability , and;
•   New Mexico laws on trespass pursuant to the act, Section 30-14-1 NMSA 1978;
(2) authority and responsibility of the security guard;
•   communication with local law enforcement;
•   radio dispatch protocol and other communication tools;
•   image, professional communication, note-taking and report writing;
(3) incident scene management and preservation;
•   identifying evidence;
•   care and handling of evidence;
•   securing the immediate area, and;
•   witness/participant identification

Level Two
Pursuant to 16.48.2.18 D & E. NMAC, the following twenty hour curriculum in addition to the Level One training is the minimum
training required and should be completed within twelve months prior to application for security guard level two registration.
(1) legal and practical aspects of use of force and personal/employer liability;
(2) verbal and written communication and conflict management;
(3) restraint and control devices training shall include, but not be limited to, the following subjects:
•   handcuffing nomenclature;
•   daily maintenance and safety checks;
•   applying and removing handcuffs;
•   potentially uncooperative and uncooperative handcuffing;
•   handcuffing from control holds;
•   handcuffing from standing and prone;
•   dangers of positional asphyxia and excited delirium;
•   standing a prone handcuffed subject;
•   conflict resolution;
•   handcuffing guidelines and best practice; and
•   use of force and justification for handcuffing;

(4) defensive impact tools training shall include, but not be limited to, the following subjects:
•   moral and legal aspects of baton usage;
•   use of force;
•   baton familiarization and uses;
•   first aid for baton injuries;
•   fundamentals of baton injuries;
•   stances and grips;
•   target areas;
•   defensive techniques;
•   control techniques;
•   arrest and control techniques, and;
•   skill practice;

(5) chemical agents training shall include, but not be limited to the following subjects:
•   effects of chemical agents;
•   avoiding bad positions;
•   disengagement;
•   proper defensive positions;
•   shielding;
•   drawing techniques;
•   defense against moving attacks;
•   spraying techniques;
•   using OC spray with light;
•   multiple opponent defense;
•   proper weapon retention and disarming;
•   cautions and hazards;
•   recovery and decontamination;
•   functioning when contaminated, and;
•   storage and maintenance

Level Three
Pursuant to 16.48.2.19 D. NMAC, the following sixteen hour
curriculum in addition to the Level One and Level Two training and firearm
certification is the proposed minimum training to be required and would be
completed within twelve months prior to application for security guard level three registration.
•   The four firearms safety rules
•   Weapon manipulation
•   Types of sidearms
•   Firearm retention and equipment
•   Firearm storage devices
•   Locking devices
•   Ammunition and storage
•   Training household members
•   Hazards of loaded firearms in the home
•   Mental conditioning and tactics
•   Weapon manipulation and marksmanship
•   Threat recognition and judgmental shooting
•   Laws pertaining to firearms, deadly physical force and the exercise of the powers of arrest

See: Exam and Education Schedule

Exam Requirement

(5) in addition to the training required to be registered as a level two security guard and before the applicant shall be placed for the first time at a guard post as a level three security guard, has completed a curriculum approved by the department consisting of the minimum training for firearm certification prescribed by the department; provided that the additional training required by the department is provided by:

  (a)   a public educational institution in New Mexico or an educational institution licensed by the higher education department pursuant to the Post-Secondary Educational Institution Act;

  (b)   an in-house training program provided by a licensed private patrol company using a curriculum approved by the department;

  (c)   the New Mexico law enforcement academy; or
(d) any other department-approved educational institution using a curriculum approved by the department and complying with department standards set forth in department rules;
See: NM Stat §61-27B-18(B)(5)

Level One
Pursuant to 16.48.2.17 D. NMAC, the following eight hour curriculum is the minimum training required and must be completed
within twelve months prior to application for security guard level one licensing.
(1)legal training for security guards;
•   legal responsibilities, qualifications, restrictions and liability of level one security guard;
•   introduction to use of force continuum, appropriate use of force and de-escalation techniques;
•   appropriate search and seizure, legal restrictions and civil liability , and;
•   New Mexico laws on trespass pursuant to the act, Section 30-14-1 NMSA 1978;
(2) authority and responsibility of the security guard;
•   communication with local law enforcement;
•   radio dispatch protocol and other communication tools;
•   image, professional communication, note-taking and report writing;
(3) incident scene management and preservation;
•   identifying evidence;
•   care and handling of evidence;
•   securing the immediate area, and;
•   witness/participant identification

Level Two
Pursuant to 16.48.2.18 D & E. NMAC, the following twenty hour curriculum in addition to the Level One training is the minimum
training required and should be completed within twelve months prior to application for security guard level two registration.
(1) legal and practical aspects of use of force and personal/employer liability;
(2) verbal and written communication and conflict management;
(3) restraint and control devices training shall include, but not be limited to, the following subjects:
•   handcuffing nomenclature;
•   daily maintenance and safety checks;
•   applying and removing handcuffs;
•   potentially uncooperative and uncooperative handcuffing;
•   handcuffing from control holds;
•   handcuffing from standing and prone;
•   dangers of positional asphyxia and excited delirium;
•   standing a prone handcuffed subject;
•   conflict resolution;
•   handcuffing guidelines and best practice; and
•   use of force and justification for handcuffing;

(4) defensive impact tools training shall include, but not be limited to, the following subjects:
•   moral and legal aspects of baton usage;
•   use of force;
•   baton familiarization and uses;
•   first aid for baton injuries;
•   fundamentals of baton injuries;
•   stances and grips;
•   target areas;
•   defensive techniques;
•   control techniques;
•   arrest and control techniques, and;
•   skill practice;

(5) chemical agents training shall include, but not be limited to the following subjects:
•   effects of chemical agents;
•   avoiding bad positions;
•   disengagement;
•   proper defensive positions;
•   shielding;
•   drawing techniques;
•   defense against moving attacks;
•   spraying techniques;
•   using OC spray with light;
•   multiple opponent defense;
•   proper weapon retention and disarming;
•   cautions and hazards;
•   recovery and decontamination;
•   functioning when contaminated, and;
•   storage and maintenance

Level Three
Pursuant to 16.48.2.19 D. NMAC, the following sixteen hour
curriculum in addition to the Level One and Level Two training and firearm
certification is the proposed minimum training to be required and would be
completed within twelve months prior to application for security guard level three registration.
•   The four firearms safety rules
•   Weapon manipulation
•   Types of sidearms
•   Firearm retention and equipment
•   Firearm storage devices
•   Locking devices
•   Ammunition and storage
•   Training household members
•   Hazards of loaded firearms in the home
•   Mental conditioning and tactics
•   Weapon manipulation and marksmanship
•   Threat recognition and judgmental shooting
•   Laws pertaining to firearms, deadly physical force and the exercise of the powers of arrest

See: Exam and Education Schedule

Child Support

N.M. Stat. Ann. § 40-5A-1 through § 40-5A-135
A person who submits an application for a license issued by a board is not eligible for issuance of the license if he is not in compliance with a judgment and order for support or subpoenas or warrants relating to paternity or child support proceedings.

New York: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for New York

Legislation/Source:

New York Penal Law § 400.00: Licenses to carry, possess, repair and dispose of firearms
and
General Business (GBS) Article 7-A Security Guard Act (89-E through 89-W)
and
Official Compilation of Codes, Rules And Regulations Of The State Of New York
Title 19. Department of State
Chapter V. Division of Licensing Services
Subchapter C. Private Investigators/Watch, Guard and Patrol Agencies/And Bail Enforcement Agents
Part 170 Employees

Authorizing Department

NYS Department of State
Division of Licensing Services

One Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12231-0001
Licensing Information: (518) 474-4429
Security & Armored Car Guards: (518) 474-7569
Fax: (518) 473-6648
Email: licensing@dos.ny.gov

Official website

Mailing Address:
NYS Department of State,
Division of Licensing Services
P.O. Box 22001
Albany, NY 12201-2052

Branch Office:
Department of State, New York City Location
123 William Street, New York, NY 10038-3804

Licensure and License Fees

In New York State, a Security Guard registration process with a corresponding issuance of a registration card upon completion of all requirement is the primary way security officers are regulated.
See: FAQ Security Guard

Individuals seeking employment as an armed guard must apply for a Special Armed Guard Registration Card and be in the possession of a valid state firearms license.

“Special armed guard registration card” shall mean a registration card issued by the department signifying that the individual thereon has been certified by the department to perform security guard functions and to carry firearms in connection with such functions. Nothing herein contained shall relieve such guard from any provision of law which requires that he or she be licensed to carry such firearm.”
See: New York General Business Law § 89-F(12)

The requirements for registration are the same as for unarmed guards, except for training provisions. In addition, armed applicants must obtain a firearm license and meet the requirements pursuant to section §400.00.

Upon entering an employment relationship, the individual has to either be registered with the Department and is in possession of a registration card or the employer has to file an application for registration. Generally, an application for registration can be submitted by the individual or the employer.

An individual applying for registration without maintaining an employment relationship is required to file the following:
Fees for Registration application:
  $36 – Initial Application
  $102 – Fingerprint Fee (payable to IDEMIA)

If the individual hired by a security company is already duly registered with the Department, the employer shall file an Employment Status Notification form accompanied by a $25 fee.

Although employment is not required to obtain a state-issued registration card, the registered individual has to be employed in order to perform the functions of a Security Guard.
See: NY Gen Bus L § 89-F.6

More information about fees

An unarmed guard may apply for a change of status after completing the 47-hour firearms course.
The fee to change the status from unarmed to armed is $25.
See: Security Guard Change of Status form

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

New York explicitly requires NY Approved training, provided under a curriculum approved for NY.
See: Security Guard Training Requirements

This policy is also true for proprietary security companies whose employees all have to registered and trained in NY.
See: Divisions of Licensing Services: Proprietary Security Guard Employer

Age Requirements

New York Penal Law § 400.00(1)
No license shall be issued or renewed except for an applicant (a) twenty-one years of age or older, provided, however, that where such applicant has been honorably discharged from the United States army, navy, marine corps, air force or coast guard, or the national guard of the state of New York, no such age restriction shall apply.

Citizenship

New York Penal Law § 400.00(1)
(f) who being an alien (i) is not illegally or unlawfully in the United States or (ii) has not been admitted to the United States under a nonimmigrant visa subject to the exception in 18 U.S.C. 922(y)(2).
(h) who, having been a citizen of the United States, has not renounced his or her citizenship.

Experience

Not Required

Exemptions

Peace Officer Waivers – Applications for a waiver of firearms training for unarmed and armed security guards may be reviewed up to a maximum of four years after separation from a non-exempt, sworn, full-time peace officer position in New York. IF YOU ARE A SEPARATED POLICE OFFICER OR EXEMPT PEACE OFFICER, DO NOT SUBMIT A WAIVER APPLICATION, SEE EXEMPTIONS BELOW. For the purposes of registration, you may be granted a waiver from training if you can demonstrate completion of training that meets or exceeds the minimum standards for the 8 Hour Pre-Assignment, OJT, or 47 Hour Firearms courses. To request a waiver, call DCJS directly at (518) 457-6726, or contact them in writing at 80 South Swan Street. 3rd floor, Albany NY 12210-8002. If approved, DCJS will send you a waiver letter to submit with your security guard application to DOS.

EXEMPTIONS (DO NOT REQUIRE A WAIVER FROM DCJS)

I.  Police Officers:
The Security Guard Act exempts active police officers from the definition of a security guard. This means active police officers accepting secondary employment are not required to register or complete training. However, if you are an active police officer, anticipating retirement, and still wish to obtain a Security Guard Registration, you must provide proof of original police officer training and a letter of good standing from the agency that employs you, along with the original Security Guard Application and finger print receipt.

Retired Police Officers:
In order to be exempt from the training, you must provide DOS with a letter from your department (signed by your department) indicating your retirement date. In addition, if you are required by your security guard employer to carry a firearm, or are authorized to have access to a firearm, you must provide proof to DOS and your employer of having completed a Basic Course for Police Officers (or an equivalent course), that included initial firearms training, within one year prior to employment as an armed security guard.

If your initial firearms training occurred more than a year before employment as an armed security guard, you must complete an 8 Hour Annual Firearms Course for Security Guards and report that training to DOS and your employer.

If it has been more than 10 years since you retired as a police officer, you are additionally required to complete the 8 Hour Annual In-Service Training Course for Security Guards every year thereafter.

II.  Peace Officers:
Section 170.1 of Title 19 NYCRR exempts from the definition of a security guard, any individual designated as a peace officer under Article 2 of the NYS Criminal Procedure Law (CPL). The powers of a peace officer are only valid while the individual is acting in his or her official capacity for their primary employer. Consequently, during outside employment (moonlighting), a peace officer is no longer acting in his or her official capacity, and, therefore, must register and complete all training, (unless the individual has either been waived, or is exempt [based on specific job titles] (see Recent Amendments that may have a direct affect on you, below).

Current Peace Officers Applying for Firearms Training Waivers
If your employer has authorized you to carry a firearm in the line of duty, and you have been employed for 18 months or more and can exhibit a valid certificate, you are exempt from the 47 Hour Firearms Course, and the addition 8 Hour Annual Firearms Course for holders of an armed security guard registration. Individuals seeking registration as an armed guard, must provide the Department of State with a copy of a waiver letter (issued by DCJS) and a certificate of completion for the MPTC Basic Course for Peace Officer with Firearms, or both the Basic Course for Peace Officers without Firearms and Firearms and Deadly Physical Force [long firearms course].

Recent Amendments that may have a direct affect on you:
Section 89-n (4) GBL has been amended to exempt certain categories of peace officers (see Categories of Peace Officers Exempt from Training per Amendment to §89-n (4) GBL, next page) from the following training: 47 Hour Firearms Course, 8-Hour Pre-Assignment, OJT, and 8 Hour Annual In-Service. To qualify for an exemption, a peace officer must either be currently employed in one of the job titles (see categories of Peace Officers Exempt from Training per Amendment to §89-n (4) GBL, next page), or retired from one of those job titles for not more than 10 years. Although exempt from the 8 Hour Annual In-Service training course for the first 10 years of retirement, the retired peace officer is subject to an 8 Hour Annual Firearms training course, if their basic course was completed more than a year prior to filing their security guard application.Note: If it has been more than 10 years since an individual retired as a peace officer, they are required to completed the 8 Hour Annual In-Service Training Course for Security Guards, and additionally, if armed, the 8 Hour Annual In-Service Firearms Training Course every year thereafter.

Categories of Peace Officers Exempt from Training per Amendment to §89-n (4) GBL
A. Sheriffs, Undersheriffs, and Deputy Sheriffs of NYC, and sworn officers of the Westchester County Department ofPublic Safety Services as defined in NYS CPL, §2.10 (2):
In order to be exempt from the 47 Hour Firearms Training Course, 8-Hour Pre-Assignment, OJT, and Annual In-Service Training, individuals must provide the Department of State with either a copy of their Basic Course for Peace Officers certificate, or a letter from the personnel office of the entity for which they work(ed), indicating basic peace officer training. If currently employed, they must also provide a copy of their ID card showing current employment in one of the appropriate law enforcement categories, and that they are in good standing.

B. Security Personnel for the Triborough Bridge and Tunnel Authority as defined in NYS CPL, §2.10 (20):
In order to be exempt from the 47 Hour Firearms Training Course, 8-Hour Pre-Assignment, OJT, and Annual In-Service Training, individuals must provide the Department of State with either a copy of their Basic Course for Peace Officers certificate, or a letter from the personnel office of the entity for which they work(ed), indicating basic peace officer training. If currently employed, they must also provide a copy of their ID card showing current employment in one of the appropriate law enforcement categories, and that they are in good standing.

C. Uniformed Court Officer as defined in NYS CPL, §2.10 (21) (a):
In order to be exempt from the 47 Hour Firearms Training Course, 8-Hour Pre-Assignment, OJT, and Annual In-Service Training, individuals must provide the Department of State with either a copy of their Basic Course for Peace Officers certificate, or a letter from the academy indicating their academy training. These courses must meet or exceed the MPTC basic course without firearms. In addition, if the individual is in an armed position, the individual must have completed MPTC Basic Course for Peace Officer with Firearms, or both the Basic Course for Peace Officers without Firearms and Firearms and Deadly Physical Force [long firearms course]. If currently employed, the individual must also provide a copy of their ID card showing current employment, and that they are in good standing.

D. Court Clerks as defined in NYS CPL, §2.10 (21) (b):
In order to be exempt from the 47 Hour Firearms Training Course, 8-Hour Pre-Assignment, OJT, and Annual In-Service Training, individuals must provide the Department of State with either a copy of their Basic Course for Peace Officers certificate, or a letter from the academy indicating their academy training. These courses must meet or exceed the MPTC basis course without firearms. In addition, if the individual is in an armed position, the individual must have completed MPYC Basic Course for Peace Officer with Firearms, or both the Basic Course for Peace Officers without Firearms and Firearms and Deadly Physical Force [long firearms course]. If currently employed, the individual must also provide a copy of their ID card showing current employment, and that they are in good standing.

E. NYS Corrections Officers as defined in NYS CPL, §2.10 (25):
(This does not include city or county correction officers.) In order to be exempt from the 47 Hour Firearms Training Course, 8-Hour Pre-Assignment, OJT, and Annual In-Service Training, individuals must provide the Department of State with a letter from the NYS Department of Correctional Services and a copy of their ID card showing that they are currently employed as a NYS Corrections officer in good standing.

Note: Individuals who are no longer active peace officers and do not have a valid basic course certificate, or do not qualify for either a waiver or an exemption, must complete the 47 Hour Firearms Training Course, 8 Hour Pre-Assignment, and OJT.

Information retrieved from: http://www.dos.ny.gov/licensing/securityguard/sgtraining.html

New York Penal Law § 400.00 (1)
 •  “No license shall be issued or renewed except for an applicant (a) twenty-one years of age or older, provided, however, that where such applicant has been honorably discharged from the United States army, navy, marine corps, air force or coast guard, or the national guard of the state of New York, no such age restriction shall apply”
 •  Former Police, Corrections Bride and Tunnel Officers (among more) are exempt from the training requirements for firearm certification.
.
For more information, see: .
http://codes.findlaw.com/ny/penal-law/pen-sect-400-00.html

Permit Required

An applicant for a special armed registration card must possess a valid license to carry a firearm issued by the state of New York pursuant to section 400.00 of the penal code.

Requirement to carry an ID card

NYS Penal Law §400.00 (8)
Every licensee while carrying a pistol or revolver shall have on his or her person a license to carry the same. Every person licensed to possess a pistol or revolver on particular premises shall have the license for the same on such premises. Upon demand, the license shall be exhibited for inspection to any peace officer, who is acting pursuant to his or her special duties, or police officer.

A valid state-issued registration card is required to perform security guard functions.
See: NY Gen Bus L §89-H

In addition to their state issued registration card, individual Security Guards maintain an Employee’s identification card issued by the licensed employer. The rules describe the design and requirements of such identification card.
See: 19 CRR-NY 170.9

A security guard wearing a military style uniform shall prominently display the state issued registration card on his or her outer garment.
See: 19 CRR-NY 170.14

Moral Character

New York Penal Law § 400.00(1)(b)
Applicant must be of good moral character

Fingerprint

New York Penal Law § 400.00(4)
Before a license is issued or renewed, there shall be an investigation of all statements required in the application by the duly constituted police authorities of the locality where such application is made. In order to ascertain any previous criminal record, the investigating officer shall take the fingerprints and physical descriptive data in quadruplicate of each individual by whom the application is signed and verified.  Two copies of such fingerprints shall be taken on standard fingerprint cards eight inches square, and one copy may be taken on a card supplied for that purpose by the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

All applicants must submit electronic fingerprints through IdentoGO by MorphoTrust USA.
Rolled fingerprints are not acceptable.
Applicants must visit a site in New York to complete the fingerprinting process. Applicants should NOT schedule an appointment at a site outside of New York State.

Fees:
•  Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) fee: $75.00
•  FBI fee: $13.25(Only Security Guard License applicants must pay the FBI fee)
•  Fingerprint Vendor fee: $13.75

See: Details on Electronic Fingerprinting

Substance Abuse

New York Penal Law § 400.00(1)(e)
Applicant cannot be an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance as defined in section 21 U.S.C. 802 (Controlled Substance Act)

Mental Health

New York Penal Law § 400(1)
(i) who has stated whether he or she has ever suffered any mental illness;  (j) who has not been involuntarily committed to a facility under the jurisdiction of an office of the department of mental hygiene pursuant to article nine or fifteen of the mental hygiene law, article seven hundred thirty or section 330.20 of the criminal procedure law, section four hundred two or five hundred eight of the correction law, section 322.2 or 353.4 of the family court act, or has not been civilly confined in a secure treatment facility pursuant to article ten of the mental hygiene law.

Criminal History Background Check

New York Penal Law § 400.00(1)
 (c)  who has not been convicted anywhere of a felony or a serious offense
 (d)  who is not a fugitive from justice

All applicants are screened and the affirmations verified in said application.
All applicants’ records are reviewed by the FBI.

New York General Business Law § 89-H(5)
The applicant must not have been convicted of a serious offense, or of a misdemeanor in the state or of any offense in any other jurisdiction which, if committed in this state, would constitute a misdemeanor, and which, in the discretion of the secretary, bears such a relationship to the performance of the duties of a security guard, as to constitute a bar to employment.

All applicants are screened and the affirmations verified in said application.
All applicants’ records are reviewed by the FBI and the NY Department of State.

Personal References

Not Required

Training Requirements

Initial Training Requirements:

•   8 Hour Pre-Assignment Training Course for Security Guards
This is an 8 hour course required by New York State as the first step in obtaining a security guard registration card from the New York State Department of State.
The course provides the student with a general overview of the duties and responsibilities of a security guard.

Topics covered in this course include:

  •   The role of the security guard;
  •   Legal powers and limitations;
  •   Emergency situations;
  •   Communications and public relations;
  •   Access control;
  •   And ethics and conduct.

The passing of an examination is required for successful completion of this course.

•   16 Hour On-the- Job Training Course for Security Guards
This is a 16 hour course that must be completed within 90 days of employment as a security guard. The course provides the student with detailed information on the duties and
responsibilities a security guard.

Topics covered in this course include:

  •   The role of the security guard;
  •   Legal powers and limitations;
  •   Emergency situations;
  •   Communications and public relations;
  •   Access control ethics and conduct;
  •   Incident command system;
  •   And terrorism.

The passing of an examination is required for successful completion of this course.

•   47 Hour Firearms Training Course for Armed Security Guards
This is a 47 hour course required by New York State as the first step in obtaining a special armed guard registration card from the New York State Department of State.
To attend the course students must possess a valid pistol license pursuant to NY Penal Law Section 400.00 and a valid NYS security guard registration card.

The course consists of:

  •   7 hours of NYS Penal Law Article 35 (Use of Force/Deadly Physical Force);
  •   40 hours of range instruction and qualification.

Course content covers:
•   Use of Deadly Force (Article 35)
•   Firearms Safety
•   Grip, Stance & Draw
•   Sight Alignment & Trigger Control
•   Proper Breathing
•   Universal Cover Mode
•   Clearing Malfunctions
•   Basics of Marksmanship
•   Combat Shooting
•   Loading & Unloading the Weapon
•   Multiple Rounds & Multiple Targets
•   Moving Targets
•   Kneeling & Prone Firing Positions
•   Use of Cover
•   One-Hand Shooting
•   Shooting on the Move
•   Judgment Shooting
•   Low-Light Shooting
•   Use of Verbal Commands
•   Contact & Cover
•   Shotgun Familiarization
•   Officer Survival
•   Cleaning & Maintenance
•   Methods of Carry
•   Use of Body Armor
•   Selection of Body Armor
•   Care of Body Armor
•   Selection of Weapons
•   Selection of Ammunition

To successfully complete the course the student must pass a written examination on Article 35 and qualify with a handgun.

Annual Training Requirements
•   8 Hour Annual In-Service Training Course for Security Guards
This is an 8 hour course that must be completed within 12 calendar months from completion of the 16 Hour On-the-Job Training Course for Security Guards, and annually thereafter.
The course is structured to provide the student with updated and enhanced information on the duties and responsibilities of a security guard.

Topics covered in this course include:

  •   The role of the security guard;
  •   Legal powers and limitations;
  •   Emergency situations;
  •   Communications and public relations;
  •   Access control;
  •   And ethics and conduct.

•   8 Hour Annual Firearms Training Course for Armed Security Guards
This is an 8 hour course that must be completed within 12 calendar months from completion of the 47 Hour Firearms Training Course for Armed Guards, and annually thereafter.
To attend the course students must possess a valid pistol license pursuant to NY Penal Law Section 400.00 and a valid NYS security guard registration card.

The course consists of:

  •   3 hours of NYS Penal Law Article 35 (Use of Force/Deadly Physical Force)
  •   and 5 hours of range instruction and qualification.

To successfully complete the course the student must pass a written examination on Article 35 and qualify with a handgun.

See: Security Guard Training Requirements FAQ

See: A list of approved security schools

New York’s mandatory training programs are offered by approved schools and educational entities.
See: A full list of the various levels of training

Exam Requirement

Examination is required for the completion of certain training courses.
See: A full list of the various levels of training

Child Support

According to N.Y. Dom. Rel. Law § 13-244; N.Y. Soc. Serv. Law § 6A-111b:
An occupational or professional license may be revoked for failure to pay child support

A Child Support Statement is mandatory in New York State regardless of whether or not the applicant has children.
See: Application form

North Carolina: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for North Carolina

Legislation/Source:

North Carolina General Statutes (NCGS)
Chapter 74C – Private Protective Services
and
North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC)
Title 14B – Public Safety
Chapter 16 – Private Protective Services Board

Authorizing Department


North Carolina Private Protective Services Board
3101 Industrial Drive, Suite 104
Raleigh, NC 27609
Phone: 919-788-5320
Fax: 919-788-5365
Email: PPSASL@ncdps.gov

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

North Carolina has established a Private Protective Services Board and a corresponding Licensing Unit to oversee the various categories of security licensees and registrants. The armed status has its own unique registration process and protocol.

North Carolina licenses agencies and entities that provide security services, whether in individual or corporate or other business form. These licensees must register their security guards and officers.

North Carolina requires its businesses to register its security officers and at the same time permits an individual to apply for a license to offer security officer services. Hence, the data below will include both avenues since there is substantial crossover in these designations.

See: A full description of the registration process and its requirements

North Carolina has implemented an online system of application for licensure. See the particulars at:
Online License Application

It shall be unlawful for any person performing private protective services duties to carry a firearm in the performance of those duties without first having met the qualifications of this section and having been issued a firearm registration permit by the Board. A licensee shall register any individual carrying a firearm within 30 days of employment. Before engaging in any private protective services activity, the individual shall receive any required training prescribed by the Board.
See: NCGC §74C-13(a)

Armed proprietary security guards are required to register with the Board.
See. NCGS 74C-3

I. Employee Registration
Fees according to 14B NCAC 16 .0802
$30 non refundable initial registration fee;
$30 annual renewal fee
$15 initial application fee

Fees can only be paid through credit card or other forms of electronic funds transfer. There is a $4 convienance fee per transaction.

See: Armed Employee Registration Application

See: A full description of the registration process and its requirements.

II. Individual License as Qualifying Agent
§ 74C-8. License requirements.
(c)  Qualifying Agent. – A business entity, other than a sole proprietorship, that engages in private protective services is subject to all of the requirements listed in this subsection with respect to a qualifying agent.

Fees according to 14B NCAC 16.0202
  (1)   $150 non refundable application fee;

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

North Carolina has limited reciprocity with seven states but only as to private investigators.

See: Private Investigator Reciprocal Agreements

Age Requirements

14B NCAC 16 .0801(a)(6)
The applicant must be at least 21 years of age

Citizenship

I. Employee Registrant
14B NCAC 16 .0703
An applicant must be a citizen of the United States or a resident alien

II. Individual Licensee
An applicant must be a citizen of the United States or a resident alien

Experience

I. Employee Registrant
None required

II. Individual Licensee
14B NCAC 16 .0201(d)
Each applicant must provide evidence of high school graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other proof.

14B NCAC 16 .0204(a)
Experience requirements shall be determined in the following manner:
 (1)  one year experience   =  1,000 hours
 (2)  two years experience  =  2,000 hours
 (3)  three years experience  =  3,000 hours

An Applicant to provide Security Guard Services as defined by the various Acts, need provide a strong experiential history before a license will be issued.


See: 14B NCAC 16 .0301 lays out a multitiered series of experience requirements

Exemptions

NCGS 74C – 3(b)
“Private protective services” shall not include any of the following:
 (2)  An officer or employee of the United States, this State, or any political subdivision of either while the officer or employee is engaged in the performance of his or her official duties within the course and scope of his or her employment with the United States, this State, or any political subdivision of either.
 (3)  A person engaged exclusively in the business of obtaining and furnishing information as to the financial rating or credit worthiness of persons; and a person who provides consumer reports.
 (14)  An employee of a security department of a private business that conducts investigations exclusively on matters internal to the business affairs of the business.

Please see NCGS 74C – 3 for additional exemptions.

Permit Required

NCGS 74C – 13
 (a)  It shall be unlawful for any person performing private protective services duties to carry a firearm in the performance of those duties without first having met the qualifications of this section and having been issued a firearm registration permit by the Board.

 (h)   The Board and the Secretary of Public Safety shall establish a firearms training program for licensees and registered employees to be conducted by agencies and institutions approved by the Board and the Secretary of Public Safety.

(1) A firearm registration permit grants authority to the armed security guard, or armed private investigator, while in the performance of his or her duties or traveling directly to and from work, to carry any firearm approved by the Board and not otherwise prohibited by law. The use of any firearm not approved by the Board is prohibited

Requirement to carry an ID card

Each firearm registration permit issued under this section to an armed security guard shall be in the form of a pocket card designed by the Board and shall identify the contract security company or proprietary security organization by whom the holder of the firearm registration permit is employed.
See: NCGS §74C-13(d

I. Employee Registrant and
II. Individual Licensee
14B NCAC 16 .0104

The wearing of the armed or unarmed private protective services card visible on the outermost garment (except foul weather clothing) satisfies the requirements of Subparagraphs (c)(1), (2) and (3) of this Rule.

Moral Character

I. Employee Registrant(14B NCAC 16 .0703(3)) and
II. Individual Licensee (NCGS 74C – 8(d)(2)):

An applicant for registration shall be of good moral character and temperate habits

Fingerprint

I. Employee Registrant(14B NCAC 16 .0701(a)(1)) and
II. Individual Licensee (14b NCAC 16 .0201):

An application must include one set of classifiable fingerprints on an applicant fingerprint card

The card can be obtained at the Private Protective Services office, or upon request it will be mailed.

Substance Abuse

I. Employee Registrant (14B NCAC 16 .0703(3)) and
II. Individual Licensee (NCGS 74C – 8(d)(2)):

Any of the following within the last five years shall be prima facie evidence that the applicant does not have good moral character or temperate habits: conviction by any local, state, federal, or military court of any crime involving the illegal use, carrying, or possession of a firearm, conviction of any crime involving the illegal use, possession, sale, manufacture, distribution, or transportation of a controlled substance, drug, narcotic, or alcoholic beverage , conviction of a crime involving felonious assault or an act of violence; conviction of a crime involving unlawful breaking and/or entering, burglary, larceny, any offense involving moral turpitude, or a history of addiction to alcohol or a narcotic drug.

Mental Health

I. Employee Registrant – 14B NCAC 16 .0703(4):
An applicant for registration shall not have been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent by reason of mental disease or defect, or
Not have been involuntarily committed to an institution for treatment of mental disease or defect by a district court judge. When an individual has been treated and found to have been restored by a psychiatrist, the Board will consider this evidence and determine whether the applicant meets the requirements of this Paragraph

II. Individual Licensee – NCGS 74C-12(a):
The Board may, after compliance with Chapter 150B of the General Statutes, deny, suspend or revoke a license, registration, or permit issued under this Chapter if it is determined that the applicant:
(19)   Been judged incompetent by a court having jurisdiction under Chapter 35A or former Chapter 35 of the General Statutes or committed to a mental health facility for treatment of mental illness, as defined in G.S. 122C-3, by a court under G.S. 122C-271.

Criminal History Background Check

I. Employee Registrant (14B NCAC 16 .0703(3)) and
II. Individual Licensee (NCGS 74C – 8(d)(2)):

Any of the following within the last five years shall be prima facie evidence that the applicant does not have good moral character or temperate habits: conviction by any local, state, federal, or military court of any crime involving the illegal use, carrying, or possession of a firearm,
conviction of any crime involving the illegal use, possession, sale, manufacture, distribution, or transportation of a controlled substance, drug, narcotic, or alcoholic beverage, conviction of a crime involving felonious assault or an act of violence; conviction of a crime involving unlawful breaking and/or entering, burglary, larceny, any offense involving moral turpitude, or
a history of addiction to alcohol or a narcotic drug, provided that, for purposes of (3) of this Rule, “conviction” means and includes the entry of a pleas of guilty, plea of no contest, or a verdict of guilty.

North Carolina residents shall obtain a criminal record check from the Clerk of Court or from the current on-line vendors listed on the Administrative Office of the Courts website. Criminal records are required for each county of residence for the past sixty (60) months and must not be over sixty (60) days old when received in the PPS office. Approved on-line providers are located on the N.C. Administrative Office of the Courts website.

Out-of-state applicants must submit an out-of-state criminal record for each county of residence for the past sixty (60) months. The criminal record must not be over sixty (60) days old when received in the PPS office. All out-of-state criminal records must be obtained from CriminalRecordCheck.com. You may order your criminal record via the internet at www.PPSBcheck.com or call 1-877-272-0266, ext 1029.

The Board conducts a background check utilizing sources of the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
$38 Fingerprint check fee applies

North Carolina now has on online portal for initiating and completing the criminal record check.
See: Online Criminal Record Checks

Personal References

I. Employee Registrant
Not required

II. Individual Licensee
NCGS 74C – 8(b)(5)
To apply for a license, an applicant must submit a verified application in writing to the Board that includes the names of not less than three unrelated and disinterested persons as references of whom inquiry can be made as to the character, standing, and reputation of the persons making the application.

Training Requirements

I. Employee Registrant
14B NCAC 16 .0707

(a)  Applicants for an unarmed security guard registration shall complete a basic training course for unarmed security guards within 30 days from the date of permanent hire. The course shall consist of a minimum of 16 hours of classroom instruction including:
 (1)  The Security Officer in North Carolina — (minimum of one hour)
 (2)  Legal Issues for Security Officers — (minimum of three hours)
 (3)  Emergency Response — (minimum of three hours)
 (4)  Communications — (minimum of two hours)
 (5)  Patrol Procedures — (minimum of three hours)
 (6)  Note Taking and Report Writing — (minimum of three hours)
 (7)  Deportment — (minimum of one hour)
A minimum of four hours of classroom instruction shall be completed within 20 calendar days of a probationary or regular security guard being placed on a duty station. These four hours shall include The Security Officer in North Carolina and Legal Issues for Security Officers.

14B NCAC 16 .0807
(a)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration permit shall first complete the basic unarmed security guard training course set forth in Rule .0707 of this Chapter.
(c)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration permit shall complete a basic training course for armed security guards which consists of at least 20 hours of classroom instruction including:

(1)  legal limitations on the use of handguns and on the powers and authority of an armed security guard, including familiarity with rules and regulations relating to armed security guards (minimum of four hours)
 (2)  handgun safety, including range firing procedures (minimum of one hour)
 (3)  handgun operation and maintenance (minimum of three hours)
 (4)  handgun fundamentals (minimum of eight hours), and
 (5)  night firing (minimum of four hours).

(d)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration permit shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a firearms range qualification course adopted by the Board and the Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the Director’s office. For rifle qualification all shots shall be located on the target.
(e)  All armed security guard training required by this Chapter shall be administered by a certified trainer and shall be completed no more than 90 days prior to the date of issuance of the armed security guard firearm registration permit.

Please be advised that training requirements may change depending upon the type of weapon. For additional information go to 14B NCAC 16 .0807.

See: Certificate format for completed training for Armed Guard

II. Individual Licensee
The Board may require the applicant to demonstrate the applicant’s qualifications by oral or written examination or by successful completion of a Board-approved training program, or all three.

 (1)   The basic training course approved by the Board and the Secretary of Public Safety shall consist of a minimum of four hours of classroom training which shall include all of the following:
  a.   Legal limitations on the use of hand guns and on the powers and authority of an armed security guard.
  b.   Familiarity with this section.
  c.   Range firing and procedure and hand gun safety and maintenance.
  d.   Any other topics of armed security guard training curriculum which the Board deems necessary.
  (2)   An applicant for a firearm registration permit must fire a minimum qualifying score to be determined by the Board and the Secretary of Public Safety on any approved target course approved by the Board and the Secretary of Public Safety.
 (3)   A firearms registrant must complete a refresher course and shall requalify on the prescribed target course prior to the renewal of his or her firearm registration permit.

Exam Requirement

Not Required

Child Support

I. Employee Registrant
The rules are silent as to child support and the registered employee. However, the licensure applicant need comply with the following authority.

II. Individual Licensee
NCGS 50-13.12(b)
Upon a finding by the district court judge that the obligor is willfully delinquent in child support payments equal to at least one month’s child support, or upon a finding that a person has willfully failed to comply with a subpoena issued pursuant to a child support or paternity establishment proceeding, and upon findings as to any specific licensing privileges held by the obligor or held by the person subject to the subpoena, the court may revoke some or all of such privileges until the obligor shall have paid the delinquent amount in full, or, as applicable, until the person subject to the subpoena has complied with the subpoena.

North Dakota: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for North Dakota

Legislation/Source:

North Dakota Century Code Title 43 Chapter 43-30 Investigative and Security Services
and
North Dakota Title 93-01 General Administration and Title 93-02-02.1 Private Security Services

Authorizing Department

State of North Dakota Private Investigation and Security Board
513 Bismarck Expressway Suite 5
Bismarck, ND 58504
Phone: (701) 222-3063
Email: ndpisb@midco.net

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In North Dakota, there is a difference between a registration and licensure. Licensure is given to agency- business firms and entities providing security services. Those entities provide oversight and supervision over security officer employees.
The employer registers their employees and follow the explicit requirements promulgated by the regulatory authority.

The regulatory Act states in part:

93-02-02.1-04: REGISTRATION AS A SECURITY OFFICER
(2)   An individual providing private security services as an employee or independent contractor of a private security agency who is not licensed to provide those services must have a registration from the board as an apprentice security officer, security officer, or commissioned security officer. The agency is responsible for obtaining registration for all of its employees and independent contractors.
(5)   A registered employee or independent contractor may not provide private security services unless the employee or independent contractor is under the supervision of an individual who is licensed to provide private security services.

In North Dakota, there are three levels of potential registration, depending on training and experience.
The levels are:

•   APPRENTICE SECURITY OFFICER – 12 hours classroom instruction OR 12 hours of field service
•   SECURITY OFFICER – 1000 hours field service & 32 hours classroom instruction
•   COMMISSIONED SECURITY OFFICER – 4000 hours field service & 80 hours classroom instruction

The applicant for a commissioned security registration must at least have the rank of a Security Officer and been issued an armed private security certificate.
See: North Dakota 93-02-02.1-08(3)

Armed Personnel – Possession and use of firearms in the course of providing private security services:
It is unlawful for any individual, including agency personnel, to carry a firearm while providing security services unless the individual carrying the firearm:
1.   Is in compliance with all existing state and federal laws governing weapons of firearms, including certification and licensing when necessary;
2.   Has completed the same requirements for firearms as is required for North Dakota peace officers;

3.   Achieved at least the rank of security officer and been issued an armed private security certificate.

Fees
$25   Registration Fee
$100   Application and Testing Fee
$40   Criminal Background Check
See: Application Form 1

Age Requirements
The applicant must be 18 years old
See: North Dakota 93-02-02.1-01(1)
Citizenship

Must be a U.S. citizen

Experience

According to the State of North Dakota Private Investigation and Security Board, in order to be an armed security officer a person must first be a security officer.
Commissioned security officer must have 4000 hours field service and 80 hours classroom instruction.

All applicants must be a high school graduate or have hold an equivalent of a high school diploma.
See: North Dakota 93-02-02.1-01(2)

Exemptions

According to North Dakota 93-02-02.1-10:

The State of North Dakota Private Investigation and Security Board may waive part of or all of any training or experience requirements for individuals licensed or registered by the board based upon equivalent training or experience in any combination of the following: private security or private investigation in another state with equal or similar requirements; law enforcement in any jurisdiction with equal or similar requirements; military security; proprietary security, provided that equal or similar requirements for training as required by this chapter were met; or equivalent training in any educational institution in relevant subject matters.

Permit Required

Not Required

Requirement to carry an ID card

According to North Dakota 93-02-02.1-14
1. To each individual licensed or registered by the board, the board shall issue a laminated pocket card. Each individual licensed or registered by the board shall have on that individual’s person, the pocket card issued while providing private security services.

Moral Character

According to North Dakota 93-02-02.1-01(5):

Applicant must not have committed an act which the board determines is indicative of bad moral character and which has a direct bearing on the applicant’s ability to serve the public, including but not limited to offenses other than those listed in subsection three of this section.

Fingerprint

According to the application:

The applicant must submit 2 sets of fingerprint cards with application.

Fingerprint cards attached to the application must be filled out correctly including the following codes:

–   The “Reason Fingerprinted” must say “NDCC 43-30-06”.
–   The “ORI” must say “ND920130Z, NDPISB, Bismarck, ND”

You must use blue print cards.
See Fingerprint Verification Form

Substance Abuse

According to North Dakota 93-02-02.1-01(4):

Applicant must not have been convicted or adjudged guilty in any jurisdiction of a crime involving controlled substances as defined in North Dakota Century Code chapter 19-03.1

Mental Health

According to North Dakota 93-02-02.1-01:

Applicant must be free of mental condition or defect, which would interfere with the individual’s ability to provide services in a professional and competent manner

Criminal History Background Check

According to North Dakota 93-02-02.1-01<(3):

Applicant must not have been convicted or adjudged guilty in any jurisdiction of one of the following offenses or its equivalent in another jurisdiction, including juvenile adjudication that the individual has engaged in similar conduct: any felony; any class A or B misdemeanor involving an act of violence or intimidation as defined in North Dakota Century Code chapters 12.1-16 through 12.1-25 and chapter 12.1-31.2; including shoplifting, or any other offense which must be reported to the North Dakota Bureau of Criminal Investigation under North Dakota Century Code section 12.1-32-15

Personal References

Not Required

Training Requirements

According to North Dakota 93-02-02.1-05, In order to become an apprentice private security officer:
1.   one must first start as an apprentice security officer:
An apprentice officer must complete, within thirty days after being registered with the board, a minimum of
twelve hours of classroom instruction relating to the provision of private security services or twelve hours
of field training. The field training must be supervised either by a security officer who has a minimum of two
thousand hours of active service in that grade or equivalent combination of training and experience as defined in
section 93-02-02.1-10 or by a commissioned security officer. The training must be at a ratio of no more than four trainees to one officer.

2.   Until the apprentice private security officer has fulfilled the requirements in this section, the apprentice may
only provide private security services under the direct, onsite supervision of a security officer or commissioned security officer
employed by the private security agency.

According to North Dakota 93-02-02.1-06, in order to rank up to a security officer:
An individual must provide a minimum of one thousand hours of private security service as a registered apprentice security officer and
complete an additional thirty-two hours of classroom instruction as required by the board.

According to North Dakota 93-02-02.1-07, in order to rank up as a commissioned security officer:

An individual must provide three thousand hours of private security service as a registered security officer,
in addition to at least one thousand hours as an apprentice security officer, and complete an additional eighty hours of
classroom instruction as required by the board.

According to North Dakota 93-02-02.1-08:

In addition to being a security or commissioned security officer, it is unlawful for any individual, including agency personnel,
to carry a firearm while providing private security services unless the individual carrying the firearm:
•   Is in compliance with all existing state and federal laws governing weapons or firearms, including certification and licensing when necessary.

•   Has completed the same requirements for firearms training as is required for North Dakota peace officers. However, if the individual fails
the written examination or shooting course twice, the individual must wait at least thirty days to retake the failed portion, and if the
individual fails the written examination or shooting course a third time, the individual must wait a full year before retaking the written examination or shooting course.
Additionally, the application states that one must complete the firearms training required by the State of North Dakota Private Investigation and Security Board,
and one must complete the firearms training as required by the North Dakota peace officers.

Exam Requirement

The applicant must pass the weapons exam.
See: Side Arm Certification Form

Child Support

According to N.D. Cent. Code §14-08.1-06:
North Dakota can suspend any occupational or professional license for failure to pay child support

Ohio: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Ohio

Legislation/Source:

Ohio Revised Code Title 47
Chapter 4749: PRIVATE INVESTIGATORS; SECURITY SERVICES
and
Ohio Administrative Code
Chapter 4501:7-1 Private Investigator Security Guard Services

Authorizing Department

Ohio Department of Public Safety (PISGS)
Ohio Private Investigator Security Guard Services

1970 West Broad Street
Columbus, OH 43223/br>

Mailing Address
PISGS
PO Box 182001
Columbus, OH 43218-2001

Phone: (614) 466-4130
Fax: (614) 466-0342
Email: PISGLR@dps.ohio.gov

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In Ohio, security guards do not need to obtain a license, but the security company employing officers must vet their applicants and then register them with the state in order to abide by mandated state requirements

A security guard is permitted to carry a firearm while working if he/she has completed the appropriate firearm training and has a PISGS registration card with a firearm-bearer (FAB) endorsement that has not expired.

In order to register an unarmed employee as an armed security guard, the employing company must file a firearm-bearer notation application.

$15   Initial application fee
$15   Initial FAB application
$15   Renewal application fee

See: Employee Registration Application form (PSU 0015) and Firearm-Bearer Notation Application (PSU 0016)

Employee’s must be registered by their employing company one year after prior registration.
See: §4749.06

Individual security service providers must display a “Wall License.”
See: Wall License Example

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

Any person or entity providing investigatory or security services in the state of Ohio must have a license from PISGS to provide such services.

See: FAQs

Age Requirements

An age requirement is not explicitly mentioned anywhere.

Citizenship

A citizenship requirement is not explicitly mentioned anywhere.
However, the Employee Registration Application calls for a Social Security Number.
See: Employee Registration Application Form

Experience

Not Required

Exemptions

According to Ohio Revised Code 4749.06(E):

Commissioned peace officers, as defined in division (B) of section 2935.01 of the Revised Code, working for, either as an employee or independent contractor, a class A, B, or C licensee are exempt from registration.

Permit Required

Not Required. However, the FAB does not permit the individual to carry firearm off-duty.
See: OH Rev Code §4749.06(D)

At the same time, the possession of an Ohio Conceal Carry Weapon (CCW) permit does not qualify an individual to carry a firearm while working as a security guard.

In order to carry a firearm while working, ALL of the following steps must be taken:
1. Successfully complete a private security firearm training course (20 hours) at an approved Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission (OPOTC) training facility and receive a completion certificate
OR, for currently commissioned Ohio peace officers, provide OPOBTC certificate and most recent score sheet
2. Pass an FBI background check
3. The company for which the individual is registered submits an application to PISGS for a firearm-bearer endorsement (FAB) on the individual’s registration
4. The individual receives a registration card from their company with the firearm-bearer (FAB) endorsement from PISGS
5. The individual carries the registration card with the FAB endorsement whenever carrying a firearm while working
6. The type of weapon carried matches the type of weapon the FAB endorsement lists on the registration card.
See: FAQs

Requirement to carry an ID card

The employee receives a notation on the employee’s identification card that the employee is a firearm-bearer and carries the identification card whenever the employee carries a firearm in the course of engaging in the business of security services.
See: OH Rev Code §4749.10(A)(3)

Moral Character

No baseline requirement.

Fingerprint

According to OH Rev Code §4749.06(A)(2):

The employee shall submit one complete set of fingerprints directly to the superintendent of the bureau of criminal identification and investigation for the purpose of conducting a criminal records check.

Fingerprints have to be submitted electronically through WebCheck.

See: Fingerprint Information

Applicants for a Firearm-Bearer notification shall notify the bureau of criminal investigations (BCI) at the time fingerprinting. BCI shall make a request to the federal bureau of investigation (FBI) about the employee.

See: OH Admin Code 4501:7-1-09(B)(1)(a)

Substance Abuse

No baseline requirement

Mental Health

No baseline requirement

Criminal History Background Check

According to OH Rev Code §4749.06(B)(3):

An employee applicant cannot have been charged with a disqualifying offense as defined in section 4776.10 of the Revised Code within the last three years.

According to OH Rev Code §4776.10(C):
A disqualifying offense means an offense that is a felony and that has a direct nexus to an individual’s proposed or current field of licensure, certification, or employment. According to OH Rev Code §4776.10(B), Direct nexus means that the nature of the offense for which the individual was convicted or to which the individual pleaded guilty has a direct bearing on the fitness or ability of the individual to perform one or more of the duties or responsibilities necessarily related to a particular occupation, profession, or trade.

Ohio Admin Code 4501:7-1-19(B) provides a detailed list of disqualifying offenses.

See: Ohio Admin Code 4501:7-1-19(B)

Personal References

Not Required

Training Requirements

According to OH Rev Code §4749.10
The employee applicant shall satisfactorily complete a firearms basic training program that includes twenty hours of handgun training and five hours of training in the use of other firearms.

However, the applicant does not need to complete this if the applicant has satisfactorily completed firearms training that has been approved by the commission as being equivalent to such a program and has received written evidence of approval of that training from the executive director of the commission; or the licensee or employee is a former peace officer, as defined in section 109.71 of the revised code, who previously has successfully completed a firearms training course at a training school approved by the Ohio peace officer training commission and has received a certificate or other evidence of satisfactory completion of that course from the executive director of the commission.

Exam Requirement

Not Required

Child Support

A license, which, according to OH Rev Code §3123, is a certificate, permit, registration, or other authorization to engage in an occupation or profession, may be suspended or revoked for failure to pay child support.

Oklahoma: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Oklahoma

Legislation/Source:

Oklahoma Statutes Title 59- Professions and Occupations §1750.1 through §1750.14
and
Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC) Title 390 Chapter 35

Authorizing Department

Oklahoma Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training (CLEET)
2401 Egypt Road
Ada, Oklahoma 74820-0669
Phone: (405) 239-5100
Fax: (405) 239-5182

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In Oklahoma no person may be employed or operate as an armed security guard until a license therefor has been issued by CLEET.
See: 59 OK Stat §59-1750.4a

$141 License fee, consisting of $100 application fee and $41 fingerprinting fee
$50 Upgrade from Unarmed to Armed License

License expires three years after being issued. Cost for renewal is $100

The Council on Law Enforcement Education & Training published an application checklist

Age Requirements

According to Oklahoma Statutes (OS) § 59-1750.5(H)(2):

Applicant must be at least 21 years of age

Citizenship

According to OS § 59-1750.5(H)(1):

Applicant must be a citizen of the United States or an alien legally residing in the United States

Experience

Not Required

Exemptions

According to Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC) § 390:27-1-4:

(a)   A certified peace officer will be exempt from firearms requalification for the remainder of the calendar year in which he or she was certified.
(b)   A certified peace officer must successfully complete firearms requalification during the next calendar year after he or she receives peace officer certification.
(c)   Any peace officer changing employment between law enforcement agencies shall not be exempt from annual requalification requirements and must show proof of successfully requalifying during the calendar year while employed as a peace officer.
(d)   One (1) day employed/commissioned/appointed as a peace officer with a law enforcement agency during the calendar year constitutes employment as a peace officer.

Permit Required

Not Required

Requirement to carry an ID card

According to OAC §390:35-5-9
(a)   An identification card shall be issued to all licensees. This card shall clearly indicate that the licensee is authorized by the State of Oklahoma to conduct business as a security guard, armed security guard, or private investigator, or armed private investigator.

(d)   The licensee shall carry his identification card on his person at all times while acting within the course and scope of his employment as a security guard or private investigator.

Moral Character

According to OS § 59-1750.5(H)(4):

Applicant must be of good moral character

Fingerprint

According to Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC) § 390:35-7-8(e):
Two sets of fingerprints must be submitted with the application. The applicant must provide CLEET and the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation with individual fingerprints for a state and national criminal history records search.

Substance Abuse

According to OS § 59-1750.5(H)(7):

The applicant must make a statement regarding any history of illegal drug use or alcohol abuse

Mental Health

According to OAC § 390:35-15-6(a):

While in firearms training, students shall be administered a Minnesota Multi-Phasic Personality Inventory (MMPI), or a CLEET approved equivalent psychological examination, by a person qualified to administer such examinations. The school coordinator shall arrange for the examinations to be evaluated by a licensed psychologist of each student’s choice and at each student’s expense. The results of the psychological evaluations shall be forwarded to CLEET by the evaluating psychologist on forms to be provided by CLEET.

However, according to OAC § 390:35-5-5(b)(4):

Active, full-time peace officers are exempt from the psychological evaluation that is required for armed security guard applicants. Retired, full-time peace officers are exempt from the psychological evaluation for a period of one (1) year from the date of their retirement. This exemption shall apply to any person who possesses CLEET peace officer certification, except when such person has been terminated from a law enforcement agency for failure to exercise appropriate judgment, restraint, and self-control in the use of force, or when there exists clear and convincing evidence of such.

See:
CLEET RULES Sections 390:35-15-6 and 390:35-5-5

Applicants are required to authorize a mental health analysis.

See: Application Guide

Criminal History Background Check

According to OS § 59-1750.5(H)(6):

The applicant must not have a record of a felony conviction; not have a record of conviction for larceny, theft, false pretense, fraud, embezzlement, false personation of an officer, any offense involving moral turpitude, any offense involving a minor as a victim, any nonconsensual sex offense, any offense involving the possession, use, distribution, or sale of a controlled dangerous substance, any offense involving a firearm, or any other offense as prescribed by the Council, as provided herein.

The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation and the Federal Bureau of Investigation conduct background examinations for security guard applicants. Applicants may also have to provide criminal clearances from local police or sheriff departments verifying their criminal histories.
In addition, the CLEET lists disqualifying criminal offenses at Application for Appendix A (page 4)

Personal References

Not Required

Training Requirements

Oklahoma is flexible on the program of study and the provider. CLEET encourages schooling from the association and professional groups as well as aligned occupations such as lawyers and district attorneys’ colleges both, public and private. Courses need to be approved.

According to Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC) § 390:35-15-1:

Armed guard training includes an additional 32-hour phase (CLEET). The candidate must pass a firearms test; this is in addition to the general test for unarmed guards.
Armed security guard license applicants must successfully complete the approved “Armed Security Guard Training Course” consisting of:

Phase 1 – “Basic” – A course of instruction related to general private security tasks (20 hours);
Phase 2 – “Security Guard” – A course of instruction specifically related to the task of unarmed security guards (20 hours).
Phase 4 – “Firearms” – A course of instruction and familiarization in the care, handling, and firing of revolvers or semi-automatic handguns (32 hours).

Exam Requirement

According to Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC) § 390:35-7-8(n):
The applicant must complete all the training requirements, and pass the appropriate examinations related to training.

Child Support

According to OS § 340:25-5-211.1:

A license may be revoked for failure to comply with a child support order

Oregon: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Oregon

Legislation/Source:

Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) §181A.840 through §181A.865
And
Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 259-060-0005 through 259-060-0600

Alerts

On 9/1/21 the background fee changed to $46.25.

Authorizing Department

Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training

Mailing Address
Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
4190 Aumsville Hwy SE
Salem, OR 97317
Phone Number: (503) 378-2100
Email: odpsst@dpsst.state.or.us
Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

As in select other states, Oregon licenses the provider, the business entity operating at the managerial or supervisory level. For individual officers, the process is termed “Certification.” Individuals employed as a Private Security Professional (armed and unarmed) are required to obtain a Certification from the Board prior to commencing employment.
See: ORS 181A.840(1)
See: OAR 259-060-0010

The Armed Security Professional includes the unarmed certificate but entails additional requirements as outlined in the following section.
See: Information on Armed Security Professional Certification
See: Application form

Fees:
$65 Application fees
$46.25 Criminal History and Background check fee
$111.25 Total fees
See: Fee Schedule

It is possible to upgrade an unarmed certificate to an armed certificate.

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

The laws and rules are silent on state reciprocity.

Age Requirements

Applicant must be at least 21 years of age.
See: ORS 181A.855(a)(B)

Citizenship

The legislation does not mention this requirement. However, the application process calls for a social security number and driver’s license number.

Experience

Applicants for certification must have earned one of the following:

(A)   A high school diploma;
(B)   A General Education Development (GED) certificate; or
(C)   A two-year or four-year, post-secondary degree issued by an accredited degree-granting college or university recognized by the Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission under the provision of ORS 348.594(2).
See: OAR 259-060-0020(2)(a)

Exemptions

The state legislation and Department rules do not apply to numerous occupations related to the providing security such as law enforcement officers and security personnel employed by a public entity. For a full list of exemption see ORS 181A.840.

Permit Required

None Required

Requirement to carry an ID card

Private security providers must have in their possession their DPSST issued certification, licensure or temporary work permit (Form PS-20) while performing the functions of a private security provider and must be able to present their license, certificate, or temporary work permit to any DPSST staff member, law enforcement officer or Oregon Liquor Control Commission agent upon demand, or any other person, upon reasonable request.
See: OAR 259-060-0015(2)

Moral Character

OAR 60-PS (259-060-0020)(4)(b) Minimum Standards for Certification or Licensure:
Security professionals must demonstrate the Core Values of:
•   Honesty
•   Moral Good Character
•   Public Trust
•   Fair Treatment of Others
•   Respect for the laws of this state and nation

Fingerprint

OAR 60-PS (259-060-0025 ) Application for Certification and Licensure:

Applicant must submit a completed fingerprint packet. A fingerprint packet must include a pre-printed FBI fingerprint card and a Form PS-4 (Affidavit of Person Rolling Fingerprints) completed by the person rolling or scanning the fingerprints. The card and form must be enclosed in a tamper-proof bag and sealed by the person who rolled the fingerprints before the packet is returned to the applicant

See: OAR 60-PS 259-060-0025

Applicants have three options for fingerprints in Oregon:

1.   Traditional ink fingerprinting
2.   LiveScan fingerprinting
3.   Electronic fingerprinting via Fieldprint

See: Fingerprint FAQ

Substance Abuse

OAR 60-PS (259-060-0025) Application for Certification and Licensure:
•   Applicant cannot have committed have a misdemeanor or felony conviction involving the unlawful use, possession, delivery or manufacture of a controlled substance, narcotic, or dangerous drug in this or any other jurisdiction
•   For a list of relevant drug crimes, click here.

For more information regarding substance abuse, click here.

Mental Health

An app&ZeroWidthSpace;licant for certification as an armed private security professional or firearms instructor must not:
•   Have been committed to the Mental Health and Development Disability Services or similar order in another jurisdiction.
•   Have been found to be mentally ill and subject to an order under ORS 426.130 (court determination of illness buy Oregon Health Authority) prohibiting the person from purchasing or possessing a firearm as a result of that mental illness.
See: OAR 60-PS (259-060-0020(7)(a)(b))

Criminal History Background Check

Criminal background checks are conducted and criminal histories screened by fingerprint services
at the FBI and other record checks of the DPSST. The following documents are required:
•   PS-1 (Application for Licensure or Certification of Private Security Services Provider);
•   A completed fingerprint card. The Department will supply pre-printed FBI fingerprint cards.
Proof of completing Fieldprint electronic fingerprints is also acceptable.
•   The original Form PS-6 (Affidavit of Instructor and Private Security Provider Testing Results)
completed as prescribed by OAR 259-060-0060; documenting completion of the training required.
•   PS-27 Code of Ethics form, click here.

Certain convictions disqualify you from being certified and you will not be allowed to work as a private security provider, under Oregon law. The below criminal disqualifier list is provided for you to determine whether or not you want to apply. If you apply for certification or licensure and your criminal background check shows that you
have been convicted of any of the below listed crimes or equivalent crimes in other justifications, your application will be disqualified. Please call the DPSST at 503 378-8531 if you have any questions. NOTE: If you have history that you believe should have been “expunged” or removed from your record, but you do not know (proof in hand) that it was expunged or
removed; you should verify your belief prior to applying. A crime is not removed from your record until you go through the formal process to have it removed. Believing a conviction was removed, or forgetting a conviction existed, is not a valid defense and your application for
certification or licensure may be denied. For the list of disqualifying crimes, click here.

Personal References

None

Training Requirements

Basic training
•   Basic Unarmed course, consists of 14 hours of live classroom instruction which may include use of a subject matter expert,
audio and visual instruction. Instructors must provide individuals with a manual of the basic curriculum.
Applicants must complete a closed-book written examination. All private security courses and examinations are
based upon a curriculum approved by the Board.

•   All required training and testing must be conducted by a certified private security instructor as defined in
OAR 259-060-0010 or by a Department designee.

•   The basic curriculum includes essential security functions, law and regulations, civil and criminal
laws applicable to the industry as well as emerging trends in terrorism and public safety. The basic
curriculum is presently undergoing revision and being rolled out in stages. For more information on the curriculum for unarmed licensure,
click here.

Firearm training
•   Basic firearms course as defined in OAR 259-060-0060 which consists of a minimum 24 hours
of basic armed instruction, a written examination, safe gun handling test and marksmanship qualification.

Refresher training

•   The Armed annual refresher course consists of a minimum of four hours including the armed refresher course
and exam and firearms marksmanship requalification.
•   In addition to the annual refresher course, armed private security professionals must complete an unarmed
renewal training biennially.
•   Armed private security professionals who fail to complete the armed annual refresher course must
complete the 24-hours of basic firearms instruction before reissuance of certification.

Effective January 1, 2019, the board updated the requirements for the armed refresher training.
See: Notice from DPSST

Exam Requirement

Applicants must complete a closed-book written examination.
See: OAR 259-060-0060(9)(a)

Applicants must achieve 100 percent on all examinations and assessments.
See: OAR 259-060-0060(10)

Child Support

According to Or. Rev. Stat. § 25.750:
An occupational or professional license may be suspended or revoked for failure to pay child support.

More Information

Applicants must complete a closed-book written examination.
See: OAR 259-060-0060(9)(a)

Applicants must achieve 100 percent on all examinations and assessments.
See: OAR 259-060-0060(10)

Pennsylvania: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Pennsylvania

Legislation/Source:

The Private Detective Act of 1953
Chapter 21. Administration of the Lethal Weapons Training
Pennsylvania Statutes Title 22 P.S. Detectives

Authorizing Department


Office of the County Clerk
Pennsylvania State Police Headquarters

1800 Elmerton Avenue
Harrisburg, PA 17110
Phone: (717) 783-5599

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In Pennsylvania, only security businesses are required to obtain a license certificate.

The Private Detective Act of 1953 states in part:

“(a) The holder of any license certificate issued pursuant to this act may employ to assist him in his work of private detective or investigator as described in section 2 and in the conduct of such business as many persons as he may deem necessary, and shall at all times during such employment be legally responsible for the good conduct in the business of each and every person so employed and shall be responsible for the reasonable supervision of said employee’s conduct.”
See: Private Detective Act of 1953 Section 13(a)

The individual applies directly to the security agency for employment by providing an “employee’s statement”. It is the responsibility of the license certificate holder to take steps necessary to verify the information provided by the applicant.

See: Private Detective Act of 1953 Section 13(b) and (c)

Private Detective Act of 1953: Section 6(a) states:
Pennsylvania applicants file by Petition.
See: http://www.pabulletin.com/secure/data/vol35/35-38/1708.html

For armed security officers, Act 235 of the Pennsylvania Code governs the process. The Act lays out a series of requirements overseen by the Pennsylvania State Police.

See: Act 235
See: Initial Certification Application

Fees: Section 6(a) of the Private Detective Act of 1953 and 37 Pa. Code § 21.13(2)(ii) of the Pennsylvania Code provide:

$200   Security Guard License Fee

Lethal Weapons Certification:
$50.00   Lethal Weapons Application Fee
$22.60 Fingerprint fee – paid to MorphoTrust
$30.00 Certification Fee – paid on the TACS website
$102.60 Total Fees

Retrieved from Section 6(a)

and

37 Pa. Code § 21.13(2)(ii)

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

 

Age Requirements

The applicant must be at least 18 years of age

See: Initial Application

Citizenship

Section 4(a) of the Private Detective Act of 1953

The applicant must be a citizen of the United States
See: Private Detective Act of 1953

Experience

Pennsylvania lays out no specified experience criteria although it grants a wide array of exemptions for other public service in policing and law enforcement.

Exemptions

Section 21.14 of the Pennsylvania Code

Waiver of Training
A person who has completed a course of instruction in a training program approved by the Commissioner may request a waiver of the academic or firearms training provisions.

Section 21.15 of the Pennsylvania Code
Exemption for active full-time police officers
(a)   An applicant who is employed as a full-time police officer, as defined in § 21.1 (relating to definitions), shall be granted an exemption from the application fee.
(b)   An applicant who was employed as a full-time police officer, as defined in § 21.1, before June 19, 1974, and who has continuously maintained full-time police officer employment since that date, shall be granted an exemption from the following application requirements:
   (1)   Physical testing.
   (2)   Psychological testing.

Section 21.16 of the Pennsylvania Code
Exemption for Retired Police Officers
(a)   An applicant who is a non-disability retired police officer of a Commonwealth municipality or the State Police shall be initially certified under the act, and need not meet the training and qualification standards or physical and psychological qualifications, if he was a full-time police officer for at least 20 years, retired in good standing and has assumed the duties of a privately employed agent on or before 3 years from the date of his retirement.


See: 37 Pa. Code § 21.14,

37 Pa. Code § 21.15,

37 Pa. Code § 21.16

Permit Required

None

Requirement to carry an ID card

Lethal Weapons Training Act of 1974, P.L. 705, No. 235 Section 7 (c)
Every certified individual shall carry his wallet or billfold size certificate on his person as identification during the time when he is on duty or duty or going to and from duty and carrying a lethal weapon

Moral Character

Section 4(a) of the Private Detective Act of 1953 states “Good character, competency and integrity of each person or individual so signing such application.”
See:
Private Detective Act of 1953, Section 4(a)

Fingerprint

For Security Guard Petition:
Submit fingerprint cards, along with application, to the Clerk of Courts. Fingerprinting provided by municipal police department or any Pennsylvania State Police Station, except PA Turnpike locations.

For Firearms Application:
37 Pa. Code § 21.13(3)
Must undergo fingerprinting by the receiving State Police Officer upon satisfactorily completed application form.

Applicant must apply through specified services for subsequent assessment by the Pennsylvania State Police offices.

See:
Private Detective Act of 1953
and Chapter 21 Lethal Weapons Training Act

Submit the application the applicant will receive an automated email from Identigo/Morphotrust with instructions for scheduling a fingerprint session. The applicant must be fingerprinted at one of the approved Identigo/Morphotrust locations Opens In A New Window. The applicant will not receive the results of the fingerprints, these will be forwarded directly to the Lethal Weapons Certification Unit for review.
See: Initial Certification Application

Substance Abuse

37 Pa. Code § 21.13


The applicant must be free from the addictive or excessive use of either alcohol or drugs.

Mental Health

37 Pa. Code § 21.11.3
(3)   Physical standard. The applicant must be personally examined by a doctor of medicine licensed by the Pennsylvania Board of Medical Education and Licensure or a doctor of osteopathy licensed by the Pennsylvania Board of Osteopathic Examiners and found to be physically fit to handle a lethal weapon. The examination shall include the following elements:
(i)   Neurological condition. The applicant must be free from a debilitating condition, such as tremor, uncoordination, convulsion, fainting episodes, and the like.
(ii)   Cardiovascular condition. The applicant’s physical condition must be such that he could reasonably be expected to withstand significant cardiovascular stress.
(iii)   Intoxicants. The applicant must be free from the addictive or excessive use of either alcohol or drugs.
(iv)   Visual acuity. The applicant must have a visual acuity of at least 20/70, uncorrected in the stronger eye, correctable to at least 20/20; and 20/200, uncorrected in the weaker eye, correctable to at least 20/40, and must be free of any significant visual abnormality.
(v)   Audio acuity. The applicant must be able to distinguish a normal whisper at a distance of 15 feet. The test shall be independently conducted for each ear while the tested ear is facing away from the speaker and the other ear is firmly covered with the palm of the hand.
(vi)   Other conditions. The applicant must be free from any other significant physical defect or disorder which would, in the physician’s opinion, impair the applicant’s ability to handle a lethal weapon.

See: Physical Examination Form

37 Pa. Code § 21.11.4
(4)   Psychological standard. The applicant shall be personally examined by a psychologist who is licensed by the Pennsylvania Board of Psychologist Examiners and found to be psychologically capable to exercise appropriate judgment or restraint to handle a lethal weapon at the time of the examination. The examination shall include the following elements:
(i)   Interview and history.  The psychologist must personally interview the applicant, which interview shall include a summary of the applicant’s personal, educational, employment, and criminal history, if any.
(ii)   Required personality test.   The applicant must be administered any current standard form of the Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory (MMPI) which shall be administered by the licensed psychologist or a paraprofessional employed by and under the direct control and supervision of the licensed psychologist.
(iii)   Other testing methods.   If the licensed psychologist is unable to certify the applicant’s psychological capability or risk to exercise appropriate judgment and restraint in the handling of a lethal weapon at this time, after conducting the test, the psychologist must personally employ whatever other psychological measuring instruments and techniques are deemed necessary to form his professional opinion. The use of these instruments and techniques requires a full and complete written explanation to the Department.
(iv)   Submission.   The examining psychologist must forward the psychological examination form to the Department within 15 days of the examination, even if the applicant is found to be psychologically at risk. The Commissioner may utilize the results of the psychological examination for up to 6 months from the date of the examination after which the applicant must be reexamined. No person who has been found psychologically at risk in the exercise of appropriate judgment and restraint in the handling of a lethal weapon may reapply for certification until after 1 year from the date of being found psychologically at risk.

See: Psychologocal Examination Form

Criminal History Background Check

According to the Private Detective Act of 1953, Section 6(b) states that
no such license shall be issued to any person who has been convicted in this State or any other state or territory of a felony, or any of the following offenses:

(1)   illegally using, carrying or possessing a pistol or other dangerous weapon;
(2)   making or possessing burglar’s instruments;
(3)   buying or receiving stolen property;
(4)   unlawful entry of a building;
(5)   aiding escape from prison;
(6)   unlawfully possessing or distributing habit forming narcotic drugs;
(7)   picking pockets or attempting to do so;
(8)   soliciting any person to commit sodomy or other lewdness;
(9)   recklessly endangering another person;
(10)   making terroristic threats; or
(11)   committing simple assault.

To obtain a Lethal Weapons Certification, the applicant must have no conviction of a disqualifying criminal offense as defined in 18.Pa.C.S. Section 6105; no conviction of misdemeanor of the first degree or higher; no conviction of a crime of violence.
See: Private Detective Act of 1953 Section 6(b)

Personal References

According to the Private Detective Act of 1953, Section 4 states that not less than five reputable citizens of the community in which such applicant resides or transacts business, or in which it is proposed to own, conduct, manage or maintain the bureau, agency, sub-agency, office or branch office for which the license is desired, each of whom shall certify that he has personally known the said person or individual for a period of at least five years prior to the filing of such application, that he has read such application and believes each of the statements made therein to be true, that such person is honest, of good character, and competent, and not related or connected to the person so certifying by blood or marriage. The certificate of approval shall be signed by such reputable citizens and duly verified and acknowledged by them before an officer authorized to take oaths and acknowledgment of deeds.

See: Private Detective Act of 1953 Section 4(a)

Training Requirements

To qualify for training, an applicant must complete an application for agent certification, which is available at any State Police station,
except a Turnpike or Interstate station. The applicant must also submit the items listed in 37 Pa. Code § 21.13

If the applicant qualifies for training, an approval to attend a certified training program will be issued to the applicant. The training program is prescribed by the Commissioner.

The applicant for armed security officer must complete a designated training program by choosing approved schools in the following manner:

(1)   School selection. The applicant shall select a certified training school from a list provided by the Commissioner.
(2)   Length of approval eligibility. The Commissioner’s written approval to attend a certified training program will be valid for 6 months from date of issue.
(3)   Training program. Upon completion of the required training program, the applicant shall proceed as follows.
    (i)   Successful completion. To successfully complete the required training program, an applicant must attain a minimum score of 70% in the academic module and, if applicable, 75% in the firearms module. Upon notification of successful completion of the required training program, the applicant shall immediately tender to the certified training school, a certified check, cashier’s check or money order, in the amount of $25, made payable to the ‘‘Pennsylvania State Police.’’ Personal checks will not be accepted. This fee is not refundable.

See: 37 Pa. Code § 21.19
See:A list of certified schools

Exam Requirement

37 Pa. Code § 21.19
Must attain a minimum score of 70% in the academic module and 75% in the firearms module.

Upon successful completion of training, the applicant must login to TACS using his/her last name, full birthday, and full social security number to submit the $30.00 certification fee by credit card payment.

See: target=”_blank” rel=”noopener”Initial Certification Application

Child Support

No baseline requirement

Rhode Island: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Rhode Island

Legislation/Source:

State of Rhode Island General Laws,
Title 5 Business and Professions,
Chapter 5-5.1 Private Security Guard Business
And

Rules and Regulations – Relating to The Licensing and Regulation of the Private Security Guard Business
Pursuant to the Private Security Guards Act of 1987

Authorizing Department

Office of Attorney General
150 South Main Street
Providence, Rhode Island 02903
Phone (401) 274-4400
Official Website

Regional Branch Offices

Attorney General Julius C. Michaelson
Customer Service Center

4 Howard Avenue (in the Pastore Complex)
Cranston, RI 02920
Phone: (401) 274-4400
Noel Judicial Complex
(Kent County Courthouse)
222 Quaker Lane
Warwick, Rhode Island 02886
Phone: (401) 822-6800
Licht Judicial Complex
(Providence County Courthouse)
Licht Judicial Complex
250 Benefit Street, 2nd Floor
Providence, Rhode Island 02903
Phone: (401) 274-4400
Newport County Courthouse Office
Florence Murray Judicial Complex
Eisenhower Square
Newport, Rhode Island 02840
Phone: (401) 841-8310
Washington County Courthouse Office
McGrath Judicial Complex
4800 Tower Hill Road
Wakefield, Rhode Island 02879
Phone: (401) 782-4150

 

Licensure and License Fees

Rhode Island like selected other states, does not directly license security officers. Instead, the state licenses firms or entities offering security services and promulgates rules as to competency,
qualification for employed security officers through a registration system.
Whether an individual, partnership or corporation dedicated to security services, the state licenses that form of entity.

See: More information on the individual application to do business

Registered security employees are not subject to the same level of regulatory scrutiny as individual security services providers. Rhode island requires that each employee to “execute a verified statement known as ’employee’s registration statement'”.
See: Rules and Regulations 15.4

The registration process only becomes mandatory after a conditional offer of employment to the licensee.
The rules require the licensee to assure compliance with background reviews, training and weapons permit.
See: Rules and Regulations – Relating to The Licensing And Regulation
of The Private Security Guard Business

The individual seeking to be employed as an armed security officer is required to obtain a Pistol Permit from the Bureau of Criminal Identification.

$400   License Fee – If working as an individual business .

$40   Firearms License Fee – valid for four years

$35   Criminal Background Check fee for employee registration. This fee has to be paid for every individual employee.

See: More information on security license application fees

Citizenship
Experience

In considering each individual application for a pistol permit the Attorney General must determine whether or not the applicant has demonstrated a proper showing of need to carry a loaded firearm in public, and consider the individual’s demonstration of skill and responsibility to safely carry and use a firearm in compliance with all State, Federal and local laws. Because a loaded, concealed firearm in untrained hands presents danger to the public and the applicant, the Attorney General must consider countervailing risks to the public in assessing need.
See: Weapons Carry Permit Packet (page 4) for factors that the Attorney General considers when assessing an applicant’s proper showing of need.

Exemptions

RI Gen L § 11-47-9 Persons exempt from restrictions.
(a)   The provisions of § 11-47-8 shall not apply to sheriffs; deputy sheriffs; the superintendent and members of the state police; members of the Rhode Island airport police department; members of the Rhode Island state marshals; Rhode Island state fire marshal; chief deputy state fire marshals; deputy state fire marshals assigned to the bomb squad, and those assigned to the investigation unit; Providence fire department arson investigators, provided that the investigator receiving the permit is a graduate of a police-training academy; correctional officers, within the department of corrections; members of the city or town police force; capitol police investigators of the department of attorney general appointed pursuant to § 42-9-8.1; the witness protection coordinator for the witness protection review board as set forth in chapter 30 of title 12 and subject to the minimum qualifications of § 42-9-8.1; automobile theft investigators of the Rhode Island state police pursuant to § 31-50-1; railroad police while traveling to and from official assignments or while on assignments; conservation officers; or other duly appointed law enforcement officers; nor to members of the Army, Navy, Air Force, and Marine Corps of the United States, the National Guard, or organized reserves, when on duty; nor to members of organizations by law authorized to purchase or receive firearms from the United States or this state, provided these members are at, or going to or from, their places of assembly or target practice; nor to officers or employees of the United States authorized by law to carry a concealed firearm; nor to any civilian guard or criminal investigator carrying sidearms or a concealed firearm in the performance of his or her official duties under the authority of the commanding officer of the military establishment in the state of Rhode Island where he or she is employed by the United States; nor to any civilian guard carrying sidearms or a concealed firearm in the performance of his or her official duties under the authority of the adjutant general where he or she is employed guarding a national guard facility, provided, that the commanding officer of the military establishment shall have on file with the attorney general of this state a list of the names and addresses of all civilian guards and criminal investigators so authorized; nor to duly authorized military organizations when on duty; nor to members when at, or going to or from, their customary places of assembly; nor to any individual employed in the capacity of warden, associate warden, major, captain, lieutenant, sergeant, correctional officer or investigator at any project owned or operated by a municipal detention facility corporation, including the Donald W. Wyatt Detention Facility; nor to the regular and/or ordinary transportation of pistols or revolvers as merchandise; nor to any person while transporting a pistol, or revolvers, unloaded from the place of purchase to their residence; or place of business, from their residence to their place of business or from their place of business to their residence, or to a federal firearms licensee for the purpose of sale, to or from a bona fide gunsmith, or firearms repair facility, to any police station or other location designated as a site of a bona fide “gun buy-back” program, but only if said pistol or revolver is unloaded and any ammunition for said pistol or revolver is not readily or directly accessible from the passenger compartment of such vehicle while transporting same and further provided, that in the case of a vehicle without a compartment separate from the passenger compartment, the firearm or the ammunition shall be stored in a locked container.

(b)   Persons exempted by the provisions of this section from the provisions of § 11-47-8 shall have the right to carry concealed firearms everywhere within this state; provided, that this shall not be construed as giving the right to carry concealed firearms to a person transporting firearms as merchandise or as household or business goods.

Permit Required

Weapons Carry Permit required

In applying for the permit to carry a pistol or revolver, you must familiarize yourself with the policy regarding the issues of the permit.

In considering each individual application for a pistol permit the Attorney General must determine whether or not the applicant has demonstrated a proper showing of need to carry a loaded firearm in public, and consider the individual’s demonstration of skill and responsibility to safely carry and use a firearm in compliance with all State, Federal and local laws.
See: Weapons Carry Permit Packet (page 4)

Note: Legislation uses the words ‘permit’ and ‘license’ interchangeably.

Requirement to carry an ID card

The attorney general shall prescribe by regulation the form of identification cards that may be carried by persons licensed under this chapter.
See: Rules and Regulations 17.1

Moral Character

The Attorney General may by rule require the employer to provide information to show the good character, competency, and integrity of the employee.
See: Rules and Regulations – Relating to The Licensing And Regulation
of The Private Security Guard Business Section 15.4

Fingerprint

8. All new pistol permits issued from this office must have a full set of
applicant’s fingerprints submitted on a
FBI FINGERPRINT APPLICANT CARD
[FD-258 (Rev. 12-29-82)] included with be application. Fingerprint card must be signed by applicant.

See: Weapons Carry Permit Packet (page 34)

Substance Abuse

§ 11-47-6 Mental incompetents, drug addicts, and drunkards prohibited from possession.

No person who is under guardianship or treatment or confinement by virtue of being a mental incompetent, or who has been adjudicated or is under treatment or confinement as a drug addict, or who has been adjudicated or is under treatment or confinement as an habitual drunkard, shall purchase, own, carry, transport, or have in his or her
possession or under his or her control any firearm. Any person affected by the provisions of this section, other than a person who has been pronounced criminally insane by competent medical authority, after the lapse of a period of five (5) years from the date of being pronounced cured by competent medical authority, may, upon
presentation of an affidavit issued by competent medical authority to the effect that he or she is a mentally stable person and a proper person to possess firearms, make application for the purchase of the firearm(s). Any person affected by the provisions of this section, in making application for the purchase of firearms and in executing
the application, thereby voluntarily waives his or her right to refuse or refrain from disclosing any confidential information, including, but not limited to, any information arising from the physician-patient relationship, pertinent to a determination by the proper authorities regarding the approval or disapproval of this application.
Any person affected by the provisions of this section, in making application for the
purchase of firearms and in executing the application, further agrees to allow the proper authorities to investigate any and all medical records of the applicant pertinent to a determination by the authorities regarding the approval or disapproval of this application. In the event that the application is approved and if the person has no other disqualifying record he or she will be allowed to purchase and possess firearms
See: Weapons Carry Permit Packet (page 12)

Mental Health

§ 11-47-6 Mental incompetents, drug addicts, and drunkards prohibited from possession.

No person who is under guardianship or treatment or confinement by virtue of being a mental incompetent, or who has been adjudicated or is under treatment or confinement as a drug addict, or who has been adjudicated or is under treatment or confinement as an habitual drunkard, shall purchase, own, carry, transport, or have in his or her
possession or under his or her control any firearm. Any person affected by the provisions of this section, other than a person who has been pronounced criminally insane by competent medical authority, after the lapse of a period of five (5) years from the date of being pronounced cured by competent medical authority, may, upon
presentation of an affidavit issued by competent medical authority to the effect that he or she is a mentally stable person and a proper person to possess firearms, make application for the purchase of the firearm(s). Any person affected by the provisions of this section, in making application for the purchase of firearms and in executing
the application, thereby voluntarily waives his or her right to refuse or refrain from disclosing any confidential information, including, but not limited to, any information arising from the physician-patient relationship, pertinent to a determination by the proper authorities regarding the approval or disapproval of this application.
Any person affected by the provisions of this section, in making application for the
purchase of firearms and in executing the application, further agrees to allow the proper authorities to investigate any and all medical records of the applicant pertinent to a determination by the authorities regarding the approval or disapproval of this application. In the event that the application is approved and if the person has no other disqualifying record he or she will be allowed to purchase and possess firearms
See: Weapons Carry Permit Packet (page 12)

Criminal History Background Check

The licensee must assure that registered employees are screened for the following:
•   the business or occupation engaged in for the last five (5) years preceding the date of the
filing of the statement, setting forth the places where such business or occupation was
engaged in, and the names of employers.
•   that he has not been convicted of a felony or of any offense involving moral turpitude.
•   any further information as the Attorney General may by rule require to show the good
character, competency, and integrity of the employee.
•   all holders of the license shall be allowed to obtain a criminal background check on any
employee or prospective employee from the Department of Attorney General upon
payment of the required fee.

See: Rules and Regulations – Relating to The Licensing And Regulation
of The Private Security Guard Business Section 15.4

The Attorney General checks the applicant’s background with state, local and federal law enforcement databases. The Attorney General may also check Court records and other sources for pending criminal cases, restraining orders and/or discrepancies in the applicant’s background, including prior history of mental illness.
See: Weapons Carry Permit Packet – Procedures (page 3)

Personal References

Three references and reference letters are required for new applications for licenses to carry a concealed weapon and are to be submitted with the application.
See: Weapons Carry Permit Packet (page 34)

Training Requirements

RI Gen L § 11-47-16
Certification of qualification – The range officer of the Rhode Island state police, the range officer of
any city or town police department maintaining a regular and continuing firearms training program, a pistol instructor certified by the National Rifle Association
and/or the United States Revolver Association, and any other qualified persons that the attorney general may designate are authorized to certify
the qualification required by §§ 11-47-15 and 11-47-15.1. The certification required by §§ 11-47-15, 11-47-15.1 and § 11-47-15.3 shall be accomplished on
a form to be prescribed by the attorney general.

RI Gen L § 11-47-15.3
Training and qualification in the following areas:
•   Decision shooting
•   Reduced light shooting
•   Moving targets
•   Use of cover
•   Nondominate hand shooting
•   Alternate position shooting
•   Reloading drills
•   Malfunction drills

Exam Requirement

A minimum number of one hundred (100) rounds shall be fired by each officer during the training and qualification. Qualification shall be no less than twenty percent (20%) nor more than fifty percent (50%) of the total rounds fired. A minimum qualifying score shall be sixty-six percent (66%) of the rounds fired during the qualification phase.

See:RI Gen L § 11-47-15.3

Child Support

A professional license can be revoked for failing to pay child support

See: R.I. Gen. Laws § 15-11.1-1 through 15-11.1-12

South Carolina: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for South Carolina

Legislation/Source:

South Carolina Title 40 – Title 40 – Professions and Occupations
Chapter 18 Private Security and Investigation
and
South Carolina Code of State Regulations Chapter 73 Article 9 Private Security and Private Investigation Businesses

Authorizing Department

South Carolina Law Enforcement Division
4400 Broad River Road
Columbia, South Caroline 29210
Phone: (803) 737-9000
Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

South Carolina licenses security business entities as either “Contract Security Business” or “Proprietary Security Business”. Individual officers employed by a contract or proprietary
licensee must obtain a valid “security officer registration certificate” from the department.
See: S.C. Code Ann. § 40-18-80(A)

The licensee may apply and pay the fee for the security officer registration certificate or may require the person to be employed as a security officer to apply and pay the fee.
See: S.C. Code Ann. § 40-18-80(A)

SLED only issues registration certificates to persons employed by a licensed security business.
See: S.C. Code Ann. § 40-18-100(A)(4)(a)

In order to become an armed security officer, the applicant must additionally obtain the “Security Weapons Permit” by applying for the armed status.
See: S.C. Code Ann. § 40-18-100(A)

A person issued a Security Weapons Permit in accordance with this section may only carry a firearm in an open and fully-exposed manner while in uniform and performing security duties or while in a vehicle enroute directly to or from a security post or place of assignment.
See: S.C. Code Ann. § 40-18-100(C)

SLED in its discretion may issue a Security Concealed Weapons Permit to a registered security officer to carry, whether concealed or not, a firearm about his person, even though he is not in uniform or on duty if SLED determines that the additional permit would enable the permittee to better perform his assigned duties. The authority conveyed by the permit may be restricted by SLED, and violation of these restrictions constitutes a violation of Section 40-18-130.
See: S.C. Code Ann. § 40-18-100(D)

Fees
$100   for inital registration
$45   to upgrade from an unarmed to an armed status

See: Application Form

Special Event Security
South Carolina permits the temporary use of unlicensed security officers by a licensed employer under the following conditions:

S.C. Code Ann. § 40-18-90
Use of temporary employees for special events; notice of use; fees.
A person who holds a security business license may use temporary employees for special events without registering the temporary employees
if the temporary employment does not exceed ten days in a calendar year and the employees have no arrest authority and are not armed during the employment.
The names, addresses, and birth dates of the temporary employees, along with the identity and date of the special event for which they are to be employed,
must be furnished to SLED at least five days prior to the commencement of the special event, along with a fee of five dollars for each temporary employee.

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

 

Age Requirements

S.C. Code Ann. § 40-18-100(A)
Must be at least 21 years of age

Citizenship

S.C. Code Ann. § 40-18-80(A)(4)(c)

Must be a citizen of the United States

Experience

No baseline requirement

Exemptions

None

Permit Required

S.C. Code Ann. § 40-18-100(A)
Effective May, 2018, Concealed Weapons Permits are now an online process, although mail applications are still permissible.
The South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) implemented a new Concealed Weapon Permit (CWP) system on May 1st, 2018.
SLED in partnership with IdentoGo by IDEMIA, has developed the SLED EasyPath system. This streamlined system allows SLED to process CWP’s
as required by statute, while offering applicants a new online renewal process and adding a new online permit replacement feature as well.

For the online portal, see: Online Portal
See also: Concealed Weapons Permit Application

Requirement to carry an ID card

S.C. Code Ann. § 40-18-80(A)(5)
While on duty, a registered person must have his registration certificate in possession.

Moral Character

S.C. Code Ann. § 40-18-80(A)(4)(e)
Must be of good moral character

Fingerprint

S.C. Code Ann. § 40-18-100(A)

The application must be accompanied with one set of fingerprints

In early 2019, the State of South Carolina began a process on online, electronic fingerprint submission. For instructions and the portal,
see: IdentoGO

Substance Abuse

S.C. Code Ann. § 40-18-80(A)(4)
(f)   Does not unlawfully use drugs

(g)   Does not use alcohol to such a degree as to affect adversely his ability to perform competently the duties of a security company licensee, has not been adjudicated an incapacitated person without being restored to legal competency, and who has no physical or mental impairment which would prevent him from competently performing the duties of a security company licensee

(h)   applicant must pass a SLED-approved pre-employment drug test.

Mental Health

S.C. Code Ann. § 40-18-80(A)(4)(g)
Applicant must not have any physical or mental impairment which would prevent him from competently performing the duties of a security company licensee.

Criminal History Background Check

S.C. Code Ann. § 40-18-80(A)(4)(d)

Fingerprint cards submitted to SLED pursuant to Sections 40-18-50, 40-18-60, 40-18-70, and 40-18-100 must be submitted by SLED to the Federal Bureau of Investigation to facilitate a national criminal records check of the applicant. Must not been convicted of a felony or crime involving moral turpitude.

Personal References

Not Required

Training Requirements

It is the security company’s responsibility to provide training to their employees using SLED approved training materials.

Unarmed security officers are required to complete the “Primary Basic” training consisting of a minimum of four hours of classroom presentation time
and an additional minimum of two additional hours for company orientation, company policies and procedures, and assignment specific issues.

Specifically the curriculum covers the following topics:

1.   Post Orders for Security Officers
2.   Security Officer Registration
3.   Security Officer Ethics
4.   Security Officer Professionalism
5.   Situational Awareness
6.   Observation
7.   Law Enforcement Relations
8.   Note Taking / Reports
9.   Discovered Criminal Activity
10.   Crime Scene Preservation
11.   Workplace Violence and Emergency Response
12.   Violent Event Threats
13.   Training Documentation

See: SLED Primary Basic Training
See: SLED Proof of Primary Basic Training Form

Applicants for the armed officer status must additionally complete the “Primary Plus Training” consisting of the following curriculum:

1.   Patrol Procedures
2.   Vehicle Operations
3.   Reasonable Suspicion/ Investigative Detention/ Probable Cause
4.   Arrest
5.   Use of Force
6.   Testimony
7.   Handling Difficult People
8.   Handcuffing

See: SLED Primary Plus Training
See: SLED Proof of Primary Plus Training Form

Firearms Training curriculum

1.   Firearms Training Orientation
2.   Legality of the Use of Deadly Force
3.   Liability of the Use of Deadly Force
4.   Safe Use/Storage of Firearms (on/off duty)
5.   Demonstration of Proficiency
6.   Security Training Documentation

See: SLED Proof of Firearms Training Form

Exam Requirement

For each training topic taught , each applicant must successfully complete a written test that demonstrates the applicant’s understanding of the performance objectives.
A score of 80% is required to pass the test.

See: SLED Primary Basic Training

Child Support

No baseline requirement

South Dakota: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for South Dakota

Legislation/Source:

South Dakota does not presently regulate individual licensing provisions for armed or unarmed officer.
This lack does not imply that security agency or company licenses may require alternative licensing
methods and mechanisms, nor should the reader conclude that regulation does not exist for
other forms of licensure such as detectives or investigators.

Tennessee: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Tennessee

Legislation/Source:

Tennessee Code Title 62 – Professions, Businesses and Trades
Chapter 35 – Private Protective Services Licensing and Regulatory Act
And
Rules of Department of Commerce and Insurance
Division of Regulatory Boards
Chapter 0780-05-02 Private Protective Services

Authorizing Department

Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance
500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, Tennessee 37243
Phone: (615) 741-6382
Email: private.protective@tn.gov

https://apps.tn.gov/licenses-app/view?id=1062

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In Tennessee, the licensure process is reserved to entities offering security services- whether individual, corporate or partnership. As the regulations indicate, the licensee must have a strong experiential background of at least 3 years in a managerial position.

For the individual security guard or officer, the call is for a registration card rather than a license.

62-35-115. Registration cards – Guards, officers and agents.

(a)   Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, it is unlawful for any individual to act as an armed or unarmed security guard/officer without having first obtained the appropriate registration card from the commissioner.

(b)   Any individual who holds a valid armed security guard/officer registration card may act as an armed or unarmed security guard/officer under that registration card.

Proprietary Security Organizations are not subject to licensure, but have to notify the commissioner in writing and maintain a Certificate of Insurance. However, when working in either a proprietary or contract security services setting, the individual security officer must be registered.
Note that an armed guard need not maintain registration status as “unarmed” since the candidate has met the requirements.

Fees:
$105   Application Fee
$35.15   Fingerprint Fee

$60   Renewal Fee
The registration must be renewed every two years.

See: Tennessee Private Protective Services official website

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

Reciprocity varies by the state.

See: Tennessee Reciprocity Agreements

Age Requirements

The applicant must be at least 21 years of age

See: Tennessee Private Protective Services official website

Citizenship

The applicant must be a citizen of the United States or a resident alien
See: Tennessee Private Protective Services official website

Experience

No baseline requirement

Exemptions

TN Code §62-35-103 provides an extensive list of exempt professions not covers under the chapter.

Permit Required

Not required

Requirement to carry an ID card

The application or registration card shall be exhibited upon request of the commissioner, the commissioner’s designee, a full-time law enforcement officer or an employer to verify that the security officer/guard is working pursuant to the requirements of this chapter.
See: Tennessee Code 62-35-120

Moral Character

The applicant must be of good moral character

See: Tennessee Private Protective Services official website

Fingerprint

All applicants are required to utilize electronic fingerprint submission. The fee is $35.15.

See: Tennessee Private Protective Services official website

Substance Abuse

The applicant must not be suffering from habitual drunkenness or narcotics addiction or dependence

See: Tennessee Private Protective Services official website

Mental Health

Must not have been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent by reason of mental defect or disease unless a court of competent jurisdiction has since declared the applicant competent.

See: Tennessee Private Protective Services official website

Criminal History Background Check

Tenn. Code Ann. 62-35-116(a)(10) requires that all applicants provide a statement of all convictions and pending charges of a felony or a misdemeanor in any jurisdiction.

Tenn. Code Ann. 62-35-117(4) requires that persons convicted of any of the following offenses must have completed serving sentence or court ordered probation at least five years prior to making application.

Conviction of the following crimes shall disqualify an applicant, if the applicant has not completed sentence or court ordered probation at least five years prior to making application:
Any felony or misdemeanor involving shooting a firearm or other weapon, shoplifting, assault and battery or other act of violence against persons or property, crimes involving the sale, manufacture or distribution of controlled substances, drugs or narcotics, theft of property or theft of services.
Tenn. Code Ann. 62-35-130(a) states that the Commissioner may deny an application for registration upon finding that the applicant has been convicted by a court of competent jurisdiction of any felony or of a misdemeanor, if the Commissioner finds that such conviction reflects unfavorably on the fitness for such registration.

Personal References

Not Required

Training Requirements

Must complete a four hour basic unarmed course including one-hour each of:
•   Orientation – Tennessee Private Protective Services Licensing and Regulatory Act and Administrative Rules, Role of a Security Officer and Attitude and COnduct of Security Officers.
•   Legal powers and limitations of a security guard/officer – Authority (T.C.A. 62-35) and Criminal and Civil LAws and Liabiltiies (T.C.A. 39 & 40).
•   Emergency procedures – General First Aid and Emergency Evacuation and Notification Procedures.
•   General Duties – PAtrol Procedures (foot and vehicle), General Security Terminology (inlcuding access control, etc.) and Report Writing.

Examination – Seventy percent (70%) required. Minimum of twenty-five (25) questions relating to the above listed topics.

Must complete eight additional classroom hours of firearms training in the following subjects:
•   Legal limitations and liability issues on the use of a firearms (4 hours) – explain and define T.C.A. 62-35, 39 and 40, explain and
define relevant Federal laws and regulations of possession and ownership of firearms and ammunition,
explain and define Tennessee’s self-defense laws and explain and define Tenneessee’s Law regarding the use of deadly force.
•   Handling of a Firearm (3 hours) – Proper firearm carry procedures and holsters, safe retention procedures, basics of markmanship, firearm nomenclature
and firearm operation and function.
•   Safety and Maintenance (1 hour) – Safe firearm handling, firearm storage at home, work adn transporting and cleaning and care of a firearm.
Examination – Seventy percent (70%) required. Minimum of fifty (50) questions relating to the above listed topics.

Must complete an additional four hours of range training:
•   Handgun range qualifications – fire range safety, loading and unloading hadngun, drawing and holstering the handgun and minimum course of fire.
•   Shot gun range qualifications – firing range safety, loading and unloading shotgun and minimum course of fire.
Examination – Seventy percent (70%) required. Achieve a minimum of Seventy (70%) on any approved silhouette target.

See: Training curriculum.

Exam Requirement

Rule 0780-05-02.09
The examination(s), which must be passed by an applicant for a new registration card, will be administered and graded by the applicant’s certified trainer. Such examination(s) shall be:
(a)   Written
(b)   Designed primarily to measure the applicant’s knowledge in the field of security guard and patrol service generally, rather than in policies, procedures, or requirements associated with a particular contract security company or proprietary security organization, and
(c)   Subject to review and evaluation by the Commissioner at any reasonable time upon request.

Firearms License
Must achieve a minimum of 70% of any silhouette target course approved by the commissioner

See: Section 0780-05-02.09 and Tennessee Private Protective Services official website

Child Support

No baseline requirement

Texas: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Texas

Legislation/Source:

Texas Administrative Rules
Title 37 – Public Safety and Corrections
Part 1 – Texas Department of Public Safety
Chapter 35 – Private Security
and
Texas Occupations Code
Title 10 – Occupations Related to Law Enforcement and Security
Chapter 1702 – Private Security

Authorizing Department

Texas Private Security Board

Texas Department of Public Safety

5805 North Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78752-4431

Mailing Address:
PO Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773-0001

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

Effective February 2017, the TOPS system was implemented- Texas Online Private Security Services.

An individual may not accept employment as a security officer to carry a firearm in the course and scope of the individual’s duties unless the individual holds a security officer commission.
See: Texas OC Sec. 1702.161(a)

Level III (Commissioned Security Officer) requirements govern security officers that use weaponry.

Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Rule §35.132
$50 Registration fee for commissioned security officer (original and renewal)
In addition:
$2 Subscription fee
$5 Pocket Card Fee
$28.25 FBI Fingerprint Check
$31.50 Criminal History Check Fee

Texas, like a variety of states calls for employment first and then application by either paper or online form.
Please note that individuals must be registered by a company or entity licensed by this agency. The only exceptions to this rule are Instructors.
See: Types of Individual Registrations

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

 

Age Requirements

Texas Occupations Code (OCC) § 1702.113(a)
The applicant must be at least 18 years of age

Citizenship

The legislation does not specify a requirement for citizenship. However, non-United States citizens must submit a copy of their current alien registration card and documents establishing the right to possess firearms under federal law.

See: TAC §35.81(7)

Experience

Not Required

Exemptions

TAC Rule §35.141(b)
(1)   Applicants for either a security officer commission or a personal protection officer endorsement who are full-time peace officers, certified by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE), may be exempted from the Level III training requirements upon submission to the department a sworn affidavit attesting to the applicant’s review of and familiarity with the Act and the related administrative rules.
(2)   Applicants for either a security officer commission or a personal protection officer endorsement who have honorably retired as Texas peace officers within the preceding 23 two (2) years may be exempted from the Level III training requirements.

Texas OCC § 1702.321. GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES.
(a)   Except as provided by this section, this chapter does not apply to an officer or employee of the United States, this state, or a political subdivision of this state while the employee or officer is performing official duties.

Texas OCC § 1702.322. LAW ENFORCEMENT PERSONNEL.
This chapter does not apply to:
(1)   a person who has full-time employment as a peace officer and who receives compensation for private employment on an individual or an independent contractor basis as a patrolman, guard, extra job coordinator, or watchman.
(2)   a reserve peace officer while the reserve officer is performing guard, patrolman, or watchman duties for a county and is being compensated solely by that county
(3)   a peace officer acting in an official capacity in responding to a burglar alarm or detection device, or
(4)   a person engaged in the business of electronic monitoring of an individual as a condition of that individual’s community supervision, parole, mandatory supervision, or release on bail, if the person does not perform any other service that requires a license under this chapter.

Texas OCC § 1702.323. SECURITY DEPARTMENT OF PRIVATE BUSINESS.
(a)   Except as provided by Subsections (b) and (d), this chapter does not apply to an individual employed in an employee-employer relationship exclusively and regularly by one employer in connection with the affairs of the employer.

TAC Rule §35.141(b)
(1)   Applicants for either a security officer commission or a personal protection officer endorsement who are full-time peace officers, certified by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE), may be exempted from the Level III training requirements upon submission to the department a sworn affidavit attesting to the applicant’s review of and familiarity with the Act and the related administrative rules.
(2)   Applicants for either a security officer commission or a personal protection officer endorsement who have honorably retired as Texas peace officers within the preceding 23 two (2) years may be exempted from the Level III training requirements upon submission to the department of proof of their honorably retired status (in the form of documentation from the employing agency or TCOLE), and of a sworn affidavit attesting to the applicant’s review of and familiarity with the Act and this chapter.

Texas OCC § 1702.321. GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES.
(a)   Except as provided by this section, this chapter does not apply to an officer or employee of the United States, this state, or a political subdivision of this state while the employee or officer is performing official duties.

Texas OCC § 1702.322. LAW ENFORCEMENT PERSONNEL.
This chapter does not apply to:
(1)   a person who has full-time employment as a peace officer and who receives compensation for private employment on an individual or an independent contractor basis as a patrolman, guard, extra job coordinator, or watchman.
(2)   a reserve peace officer while the reserve officer is performing guard, patrolman, or watchman duties for a county and is being compensated solely by that county
(3)   a peace officer acting in an official capacity in responding to a burglar alarm or detection device, or
(4)   a person engaged in the business of electronic monitoring of an individual as a condition of that individual’s community supervision, parole, mandatory supervision, or release on bail, if the person does not perform any other service that requires a license under this chapter.

Texas OCC § 1702.323. SECURITY DEPARTMENT OF PRIVATE BUSINESS.

(a)   Except as provided by Subsections (b) and (d), this chapter does not apply to an individual employed in an employee-employer relationship exclusively and regularly by one employer in connection with the affairs of the employer.

Permit Required

Texas OCC § 1702.161(a)

An individual may not accept employment as a security officer to carry a firearm in the course and scope of the individual’s duties unless the individual holds a security officer commission.

TAC Rule §35.7 Firearm Standards

(a)   Commissioned security officers and personal protection officers may only carry a firearm of the category with which they have been formally trained as required under the Act and this chapter, and for which documentation of the training is on file with the department.
(b)   The recognized firearm categories are:
    (1)   SA–Any handgun, whether semi-automatic or not

    (2)   NSA–Handguns that are not semi-automatic, and
    (3)   STG–Shotgun.

Requirement to carry an ID card

TAC Rule §35.5 (d)
Any registrant who has been issued a pocket card shall carry the pocket card on or about his person while on duty and shall present same upon request from a peace officer or to a representative of the department.

Commissioned Security Officers shall carry their pocket cards while on duty and when traveling to and from the place of assignment, and shall present the cards upon request by a peace officer or to a representative of the department.

See: TAC Rule §35.82

Moral Character

Texas OCC § 1702.168. FIREARM REQUIREMENTS.

(a)   In addition to the requirements of Section 1702.163(a), the board by rule shall establish other qualifications for individuals who are employed in positions requiring the carrying of firearms. The qualifications may include:
    (2)   standards of good moral character

Fingerprint

Fingerprints are also part of the TOPS program.

Pursuant to Texas Occupations Code Chapter 1702, DPS must conduct a fingerprint based FBI Criminal History background check for
new and renewal Private Security Registration applications.

Private Security applicants are required to submit fingerprints to DPS as part of a substantially
complete application per administrative rule §35.21. Fingerprints must be submitted electronically with IdentoGo,
unless the applicant qualifies for the Alternative Fingerprint Process.

•   Submit application and payment via TOPS Login to IdentoGo (ensure service code 11G65Y – Texas Board of Private Investigators is used.)
•   Select Schedule or Manage Appointment
•   Enter personal information as prompted
•   Enter company license number (if applicable)
•   Enter your online receipt number
•   Enter the remaining information as prompted

Note: If there are no electronic fingerprinting appointments available within three business days,
you may submit a complaint to DPS at Fingerprint Applicant Services of Texas (FAST).

Substance Abuse

Texas OCC § 1702.163

(b)   An individual is not eligible for a security officer commission if the individual is a chemically dependent person.
(c)   An individual who has been convicted twice in the 10-year period preceding the date on which the person applies for a security officer commission of an offense of the grade of Class B misdemeanor or greater that involves the use of alcohol or a controlled substance as a statutory element of the offense is a chemically dependent person for purposes of this section and is not qualified to receive a security officer commission under this subchapter.

Mental Health

Texas OCC § 1702.163

(b)   An individual is not eligible for a security officer commission if the individual:
(2)   is incapable of exercising sound judgment in the proper use and storage of a handgun
(d)   For purposes of Subsection (b)(2), a person is incapable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun if the person:
(1)   has been diagnosed by a licensed physician as suffering from a psychiatric disorder or condition that causes or is likely to cause substantial impairment in judgment, mood, perception, impulse control, or intellectual ability
(2)   suffers from a psychiatric disorder or condition described by Subdivision (1)

Please see Sec. 1702.163 for additional details about the conditions and evidence that will prevent an applicant from being granted a security officer commission.

Texas OCC § 1702.168 FIREARM REQUIREMENTS.
(a)  In addition to the requirements of Section 1702.163(a), the board by rule shall establish other qualifications for individuals who are employed in positions requiring the carrying of firearms. The qualifications may include:
    (1)   physical and mental standards

Criminal History Background Check

Texas OCC § 1702.163

(b)   An individual is not eligible for a security officer commission if the individual:
    (3)   is a fugitive from justice for a felony or a Class A or Class B misdemeanor,
    (5)   is currently restricted under a court protective order or subject to a restraining order affecting the spousal relationship, other than a restraining order solely affecting property interests.

(c)   An individual who has been convicted twice in the 10-year period preceding the date on which the person applies for a security officer commission of an offense of the grade of Class B misdemeanor or greater that involves the use of alcohol or a controlled substance as a statutory element of the offense is a chemically dependent person for purposes of this section and is not qualified to receive a security officer commission under this subchapter.

Disqualifying criminal offenses include, but are not limited to:
1.     Arson, damage to property
2.     Assault
3.     Bribery
4.     Burglary
5.     Criminal homicide
6.     Disorderly conduct
7.     Fraud
8.     Kidnapping
9.     Obstructing governmental operation
10.     Perjury
11.     Robbery
12.     Sexual offenses
13.     Theft
14.     In addition:
    (A)     An attempt to commit a crime listed in this subsection
    (B)     Aiding and abetting in the commission of a crime listed in this subsection; and
    (C)     Being an accessory (before or after the fact) to a crime listed in this subsection.
See: TAC Rule §35.4

Personal References

Not Required

Training Requirements

Part of the application process includes completion of required training.
Since Texas has various levels of certification for commissioned security officers, the training will vary.

Level II

The Level II Training Course and Test is required of all commissioned, non-commissioned security officer and Personal Protection Officer applicants. The course material shall be prepared or approved by the department. A certificate indicating completion of Level II training shall be submitted to the department with the required application. Level II training may be taught by the licensee’s manager, the manager’s designee, or a board approved school and board approved instructor using the most current version of the respective Board Level II training course materials. Topical coverage includes:
•   Basic Security
•   Legal aspects of security work
•   Security communications
•   Response to emergencies and safety hazards

Level III
The Level III Training Course is required for all commissioned security officers and personal protection officers.
This training course must be taken through a licensed Level III Training
School and taught by a licensed Level III Instructor.
Topical coverage includes:
•   Licensing
•   Pocket Cards
•   Requirements to be a Commissioned Officer in Texas
•   Licensing of Companies
•   Violations by Commissioned Officers
•   Standards of Conduct
•   Function of Security Officers
•   Arrest Authority, Laws Pertinent to the Security Officer
•   Article 14.01 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure
•   Article 18.16 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure
•   Chapter 42.01 of Texas Penal Code
•   Chapter 9 Use of Deadly Force
•   Use of Force Concepts
•   Issues Relating to the Concealed Handgun License
•   Field Note Taking
•   Report Writing
•   Response to Emergency Situations
•   Hazardous Materials
•   Crime Scene
•   Witness Interviewing
•   Awareness Skills
•   Cover & Concealment
•   Fire Recognition and Response
•   Bomb Threats, Terrorist Response
•   Accidents Involving Serious Injury or Harm
•   Public Perception of a Security Officer
•   Conflict Resolution
•   Weaponless Strategies
•   Intermediate Weapons
•   Defensive Tactics
•   Firearms Training & Actual Range Qualification

See: More information.

See: A list of approved schools in Texas for training purposes.

Exam Requirement

Not Required

Child Support

Texas OCC § 232.0135
(a)   A child support agency, as defined by Section 101.004, may provide notice to a licensing authority concerning an obligor who has failed to pay child support under a support order for six months or more that requests the authority to refuse to approve an application for issuance of a license to the obligor or renewal of an existing license of the obligor.

More Information

Rules and Laws:
  •   Texas Administrative Code (PDF)

  •   Texas Statutes

  •   Frequently Asked Questions

  •   Fees

Texas: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Texas

Legislation/Source:

Texas Administrative Rules
Title 37 – Public Safety and Corrections
Part 1 – Texas Department of Public Safety
Chapter 35 – Private Security
and
Texas Occupations Code
Title 10 – Occupations Related to Law Enforcement and Security
Chapter 1702 – Private Security

Authorizing Department

Texas Private Security Board

Texas Department of Public Safety

5805 North Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78752-4431

Mailing Address:
PO Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773-0001

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

Effective February 2017, the TOPS system was implemented- Texas Online Private Security Services.

An individual may not accept employment as a security officer to carry a firearm in the course and scope of the individual’s duties unless the individual holds a security officer commission.
See: Texas OC Sec. 1702.161(a)

Level III (Commissioned Security Officer) requirements govern security officers that use weaponry.

Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Rule §35.132
$50 Registration fee for commissioned security officer (original and renewal)
In addition:
$2 Subscription fee
$5 Pocket Card Fee
$28.25 FBI Fingerprint Check
$31.50 Criminal History Check Fee

Texas, like a variety of states calls for employment first and then application by either paper or online form.
Please note that individuals must be registered by a company or entity licensed by this agency. The only exceptions to this rule are Instructors.
See: Types of Individual Registrations

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

 

Age Requirements

Texas Occupations Code (OCC) § 1702.113(a)
The applicant must be at least 18 years of age

Citizenship

The legislation does not specify a requirement for citizenship. However, non-United States citizens must submit a copy of their current alien registration card and documents establishing the right to possess firearms under federal law.

See: TAC §35.81(7)

Experience

Not Required

Exemptions

TAC Rule §35.141(b)
(1)   Applicants for either a security officer commission or a personal protection officer endorsement who are full-time peace officers, certified by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE), may be exempted from the Level III training requirements upon submission to the department a sworn affidavit attesting to the applicant’s review of and familiarity with the Act and the related administrative rules.
(2)   Applicants for either a security officer commission or a personal protection officer endorsement who have honorably retired as Texas peace officers within the preceding 23 two (2) years may be exempted from the Level III training requirements.

Texas OCC § 1702.321. GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES.
(a)   Except as provided by this section, this chapter does not apply to an officer or employee of the United States, this state, or a political subdivision of this state while the employee or officer is performing official duties.

Texas OCC § 1702.322. LAW ENFORCEMENT PERSONNEL.
This chapter does not apply to:
(1)   a person who has full-time employment as a peace officer and who receives compensation for private employment on an individual or an independent contractor basis as a patrolman, guard, extra job coordinator, or watchman.
(2)   a reserve peace officer while the reserve officer is performing guard, patrolman, or watchman duties for a county and is being compensated solely by that county
(3)   a peace officer acting in an official capacity in responding to a burglar alarm or detection device, or
(4)   a person engaged in the business of electronic monitoring of an individual as a condition of that individual’s community supervision, parole, mandatory supervision, or release on bail, if the person does not perform any other service that requires a license under this chapter.

Texas OCC § 1702.323. SECURITY DEPARTMENT OF PRIVATE BUSINESS.
(a)   Except as provided by Subsections (b) and (d), this chapter does not apply to an individual employed in an employee-employer relationship exclusively and regularly by one employer in connection with the affairs of the employer.

TAC Rule §35.141(b)
(1)   Applicants for either a security officer commission or a personal protection officer endorsement who are full-time peace officers, certified by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE), may be exempted from the Level III training requirements upon submission to the department a sworn affidavit attesting to the applicant’s review of and familiarity with the Act and the related administrative rules.
(2)   Applicants for either a security officer commission or a personal protection officer endorsement who have honorably retired as Texas peace officers within the preceding 23 two (2) years may be exempted from the Level III training requirements upon submission to the department of proof of their honorably retired status (in the form of documentation from the employing agency or TCOLE), and of a sworn affidavit attesting to the applicant’s review of and familiarity with the Act and this chapter.

Texas OCC § 1702.321. GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES.
(a)   Except as provided by this section, this chapter does not apply to an officer or employee of the United States, this state, or a political subdivision of this state while the employee or officer is performing official duties.

Texas OCC § 1702.322. LAW ENFORCEMENT PERSONNEL.
This chapter does not apply to:
(1)   a person who has full-time employment as a peace officer and who receives compensation for private employment on an individual or an independent contractor basis as a patrolman, guard, extra job coordinator, or watchman.
(2)   a reserve peace officer while the reserve officer is performing guard, patrolman, or watchman duties for a county and is being compensated solely by that county
(3)   a peace officer acting in an official capacity in responding to a burglar alarm or detection device, or
(4)   a person engaged in the business of electronic monitoring of an individual as a condition of that individual’s community supervision, parole, mandatory supervision, or release on bail, if the person does not perform any other service that requires a license under this chapter.

Texas OCC § 1702.323. SECURITY DEPARTMENT OF PRIVATE BUSINESS.

(a)   Except as provided by Subsections (b) and (d), this chapter does not apply to an individual employed in an employee-employer relationship exclusively and regularly by one employer in connection with the affairs of the employer.

Permit Required

Texas OCC § 1702.161(a)

An individual may not accept employment as a security officer to carry a firearm in the course and scope of the individual’s duties unless the individual holds a security officer commission.

TAC Rule §35.7 Firearm Standards

(a)   Commissioned security officers and personal protection officers may only carry a firearm of the category with which they have been formally trained as required under the Act and this chapter, and for which documentation of the training is on file with the department.
(b)   The recognized firearm categories are:
    (1)   SA–Any handgun, whether semi-automatic or not

    (2)   NSA–Handguns that are not semi-automatic, and
    (3)   STG–Shotgun.

Requirement to carry an ID card

TAC Rule §35.5 (d)
Any registrant who has been issued a pocket card shall carry the pocket card on or about his person while on duty and shall present same upon request from a peace officer or to a representative of the department.

Commissioned Security Officers shall carry their pocket cards while on duty and when traveling to and from the place of assignment, and shall present the cards upon request by a peace officer or to a representative of the department.

See: TAC Rule §35.82

Moral Character

Texas OCC § 1702.168. FIREARM REQUIREMENTS.

(a)   In addition to the requirements of Section 1702.163(a), the board by rule shall establish other qualifications for individuals who are employed in positions requiring the carrying of firearms. The qualifications may include:
    (2)   standards of good moral character

Fingerprint

Fingerprints are also part of the TOPS program.

Pursuant to Texas Occupations Code Chapter 1702, DPS must conduct a fingerprint based FBI Criminal History background check for
new and renewal Private Security Registration applications.

Private Security applicants are required to submit fingerprints to DPS as part of a substantially
complete application per administrative rule §35.21. Fingerprints must be submitted electronically with IdentoGo,
unless the applicant qualifies for the Alternative Fingerprint Process.

•   Submit application and payment via TOPS Login to IdentoGo (ensure service code 11G65Y – Texas Board of Private Investigators is used.)
•   Select Schedule or Manage Appointment
•   Enter personal information as prompted
•   Enter company license number (if applicable)
•   Enter your online receipt number
•   Enter the remaining information as prompted

Note: If there are no electronic fingerprinting appointments available within three business days,
you may submit a complaint to DPS at Fingerprint Applicant Services of Texas (FAST).

Substance Abuse

Texas OCC § 1702.163

(b)   An individual is not eligible for a security officer commission if the individual is a chemically dependent person.
(c)   An individual who has been convicted twice in the 10-year period preceding the date on which the person applies for a security officer commission of an offense of the grade of Class B misdemeanor or greater that involves the use of alcohol or a controlled substance as a statutory element of the offense is a chemically dependent person for purposes of this section and is not qualified to receive a security officer commission under this subchapter.

Mental Health

Texas OCC § 1702.163

(b)   An individual is not eligible for a security officer commission if the individual:
(2)   is incapable of exercising sound judgment in the proper use and storage of a handgun
(d)   For purposes of Subsection (b)(2), a person is incapable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun if the person:
(1)   has been diagnosed by a licensed physician as suffering from a psychiatric disorder or condition that causes or is likely to cause substantial impairment in judgment, mood, perception, impulse control, or intellectual ability
(2)   suffers from a psychiatric disorder or condition described by Subdivision (1)

Please see Sec. 1702.163 for additional details about the conditions and evidence that will prevent an applicant from being granted a security officer commission.

Texas OCC § 1702.168 FIREARM REQUIREMENTS.
(a)  In addition to the requirements of Section 1702.163(a), the board by rule shall establish other qualifications for individuals who are employed in positions requiring the carrying of firearms. The qualifications may include:
    (1)   physical and mental standards

Criminal History Background Check

Texas OCC § 1702.163

(b)   An individual is not eligible for a security officer commission if the individual:
    (3)   is a fugitive from justice for a felony or a Class A or Class B misdemeanor,
    (5)   is currently restricted under a court protective order or subject to a restraining order affecting the spousal relationship, other than a restraining order solely affecting property interests.

(c)   An individual who has been convicted twice in the 10-year period preceding the date on which the person applies for a security officer commission of an offense of the grade of Class B misdemeanor or greater that involves the use of alcohol or a controlled substance as a statutory element of the offense is a chemically dependent person for purposes of this section and is not qualified to receive a security officer commission under this subchapter.

Disqualifying criminal offenses include, but are not limited to:
1.     Arson, damage to property
2.     Assault
3.     Bribery
4.     Burglary
5.     Criminal homicide
6.     Disorderly conduct
7.     Fraud
8.     Kidnapping
9.     Obstructing governmental operation
10.     Perjury
11.     Robbery
12.     Sexual offenses
13.     Theft
14.     In addition:
    (A)     An attempt to commit a crime listed in this subsection
    (B)     Aiding and abetting in the commission of a crime listed in this subsection; and
    (C)     Being an accessory (before or after the fact) to a crime listed in this subsection.
See: TAC Rule §35.4

Personal References

Not Required

Training Requirements

Part of the application process includes completion of required training.
Since Texas has various levels of certification for commissioned security officers, the training will vary.

Level II

The Level II Training Course and Test is required of all commissioned, non-commissioned security officer and Personal Protection Officer applicants. The course material shall be prepared or approved by the department. A certificate indicating completion of Level II training shall be submitted to the department with the required application. Level II training may be taught by the licensee’s manager, the manager’s designee, or a board approved school and board approved instructor using the most current version of the respective Board Level II training course materials. Topical coverage includes:
•   Basic Security
•   Legal aspects of security work
•   Security communications
•   Response to emergencies and safety hazards

Level III
The Level III Training Course is required for all commissioned security officers and personal protection officers.
This training course must be taken through a licensed Level III Training
School and taught by a licensed Level III Instructor.
Topical coverage includes:
•   Licensing
•   Pocket Cards
•   Requirements to be a Commissioned Officer in Texas
•   Licensing of Companies
•   Violations by Commissioned Officers
•   Standards of Conduct
•   Function of Security Officers
•   Arrest Authority, Laws Pertinent to the Security Officer
•   Article 14.01 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure
•   Article 18.16 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure
•   Chapter 42.01 of Texas Penal Code
•   Chapter 9 Use of Deadly Force
•   Use of Force Concepts
•   Issues Relating to the Concealed Handgun License
•   Field Note Taking
•   Report Writing
•   Response to Emergency Situations
•   Hazardous Materials
•   Crime Scene
•   Witness Interviewing
•   Awareness Skills
•   Cover & Concealment
•   Fire Recognition and Response
•   Bomb Threats, Terrorist Response
•   Accidents Involving Serious Injury or Harm
•   Public Perception of a Security Officer
•   Conflict Resolution
•   Weaponless Strategies
•   Intermediate Weapons
•   Defensive Tactics
•   Firearms Training & Actual Range Qualification

See: More information.

See: A list of approved schools in Texas for training purposes.

Exam Requirement

Not Required

Child Support

Texas OCC § 232.0135
(a)   A child support agency, as defined by Section 101.004, may provide notice to a licensing authority concerning an obligor who has failed to pay child support under a support order for six months or more that requests the authority to refuse to approve an application for issuance of a license to the obligor or renewal of an existing license of the obligor.

More Information

Rules and Laws:
  •   Texas Administrative Code (PDF)

  •   Texas Statutes

  •   Frequently Asked Questions

  •   Fees

Utah: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Utah

Legislation/Source:

Utah Code Title 58, Chapter 63 Security Personnel Licensing Act
And
Utah Administrative CodeRule R156-63a Security Personnel Licensing Act Security Rule

Alerts

UPDATE 1/1/22: DOPL Extends Temporary Suspension of “Live” CE Requirements until 12/31/22.
UPDATE 10/28/21: DOPL is transitioning to electronic-only renewal notifications. Licenses expiring between now and May 31, 2023 will receive one last postcard renewal reminder. Beginning June 2023, ALL renewal notices will be sent ONLY to your email address on file with DOPL.

Authorizing Department

Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
160 East 300 South
P.O. Box 146741
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114
Phone: (801) 530-6628
Fax: (801) 530-6511

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In Utah, individuals require a license to engage in the practice of an armed private security officer.
See: Utah Code Section 58-63-301

Fees:
$95   non-refundable application-processing fee, made payable to “DOPL”.

See: Security Officer Application

Temporary Licensure
Utah permits security officers to work with an interim and temporary license until the issuance of a formal license.
In the event the full license is denied, the security officer must cease to work in that capacity.
Before issuance of an interim license, the officer must submit a full Criminal History, confirm the lack of a status that would preclude
license issuance and confirm no previous negative history in the licensure process.
See: Utah Admin Code R156-63a-302

Age Requirements

According to UT Admin Code R-156-63a-302e. Qualifications for Licensure – Age Requirement for Armed Private Security Officer.

In accordance with Subsections 76-10-509(1) and 76-10-509.4, an armed private security officer must be 18 years of age or older at the time of submitting an application for licensure.

See: Utah Admin Code R156-63a-302e

Citizenship

United States citizen or a qualified alien who is lawfully able to work in the United States
See: Security Officer Application

In addition, the applicant for an armed status must not be prohibited from possession of a firearm or ammunition under 18. U.S.C. Sec. 922(g).
See: Utah Code 58-63-302(2)(d)

Experience

No baseline requirement

Exemptions

Security Personnel Licensing Act (Utah Code 58-63-304)
(1) In addition to the exemptions from licensure in Section 58-1-307, an individual may engage in acts regulated under this chapter without being licensed under this chapter if the individual is: Utah Code Page 8
•   a peace officer employed by, or licensed as, a contract security company, as provided in Subsection (2); or
•   employed by a contract security company for the sole purpose of operating or staffing security apparatus, including a magnetometer, magnetometer wand, x-ray viewing device, or other device approved by rule of the division.

(2) A peace officer may only engage in off-duty employment as a security officer if:
•   the law enforcement agency employing the peace officer has a written policy regarding peace officer employees working while off duty as a security officer and the written policy addresses the issue of financial responsibility;
•   the agency’s chief administrative officer, or that officer’s designee, provides written authorization for an off-duty peace officer to work as a security officer; and
•   the business or entity employing the off-duty peace officer to work as a security officer complies with state and federal income reporting and withholding requirements regarding the off-duty officer’s wages.

(3) In addition to the exemptions from licensure in Section 58-1-307, an individual holding a valid license as an armed private security officer under this chapter may also function as an unarmed private security officer without the additional license.

(4) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the division may make rules approving security apparatus under Subsection (1)(b).

See: Utah Code Section 58-63-304

Permit Required

Security Personnel Licensing Act (Utah Code 58-63-310)

(1) The division may issue an interim permit to an applicant for licensure upon receipt of a complete application for licensure in accordance with Section 58-63-302.

(2) Each interim permit expires 90 days after it is issued or on the date on which the applicant is issued a license, whichever is earlier.
•   The division may reissue an interim permit if the delay in approving a license is beyond the control or influence of the interim permit holder.
•   An interim permit holder may engage in the scope of practice defined for the license classification that the interim permit holder is seeking.

See: Utah Code Section 58-63-310

Requirement to carry an ID card

Security Personnel Licensing Act (Utah Code 58-63-308)
An individual licensed as an armed private security officer, armored car security officer, or unarmed private security officer shall:
(1)   carry a copy of the individual’s license on the individual’s person at all times while acting as a licensee; and
(2)   display the license upon the request of a peace officer, a representative of the division, or a member of the public.
See: Utah Code 58-63-308

All armed private security officers shall carry a valid security license together with a government-issued identification card or a current state-issued driver license whenever performing the duties of an unarmed private security officer and shall exhibit said license and identification upon request.
See: R156-63a-609

Fingerprint

•   Submit fingerprints to be used by DOPL for a fingerprint search through the files of the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI).
•   If you wish to challenge the accuracy of the information in your FBI record, you should contact the agency that contributed the information in question. You may also direct the challenge to the FBI, Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division, Attn. SCU, Mod. D-2, 1000 Custer Hollow Road, Clarksburg, WV 26306.
•   Electronic fingerprinting is offered to DOPL applicants, with no additional charge, at the DOPL office. A current government issued picture ID is required (driver’s license, state ID, passport, etc.).
•   If you are unable to obtain fingerprints at DOPL’s office, fingerprint services are available from most local law enforcement agencies. You are required to submit two (2) blue “Applicant” cards (Form FD-258) with your application; these cards will be provided by the agency that rolls your prints.

See: Security Officer Application

Substance Abuse

Security Personnel Licensing Act (Utah Code 58-63-302(2)(f))

Not be currently suffering from habitual drunkenness or from drug addiction or dependence

See: Utah Code 58-63-302(2)(f)

Mental Health

Security Personnel Licensing Act (Utah Code 58-63-302 (2)(e)

Not have been declared incompetent by a court of competent jurisdiction by reason of mental defect or disease and not been restored

See: Utah Code 58-63-302

Criminal History Background Check

Security Personnel Licensing Act (Utah Code 58-63-302 (2)(c))

Applicant must not have been convicted of:
•   a felony;
•   a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude; or
•   a crime that when considered with the duties and responsibilities of an unarmed private security officer by the division and the board indicates that the best interests of the public are not served by granting the applicant a license;

Background reviews are subject to governmental scrutiny at the state, local and federal level. The criminal histories of applicants will be evaluated by the Utah Criminal Records Office and The Federal Bureau of Investigation.

See: Utah Code 58-63-302

Personal References

Not required

Training Requirements

According to Utah Code Ann. 58-63-302. Qualifications for licensure.

2. Each applicant for licensure as an armed private security officer shall:
(g) successfully complete basic education and training requirements established by rule by the division in collaboration with the board, which shall include a minimum of eight hours of classroom or online curriculum;
(h) successfully complete firearms training requirements established by rule by the division in collaboration with the board, which shall include a minimum of 12 hours of training

According to UT Admin Code R-156-63a-603. Content of Approved Basic Education and Training Program for Armed and Unarmed Private Security Officers.
In accordance with Subsection 58-63-302(2)(g), an approved basic education and training program for armed and unarmed private security officers shall have at least eight hours of classroom or online instruction including:

1. The nature and role of private security, including a private security officer’s
(a) scope and limits of authority;
(b) civil liability; and
(c) role in today’s society;

2. State laws and rules applicable to private security;

3. The legal responsibilities of private security; including
(a) constitutional law;
(b) search and seizure; and
(c) other such topics;

4. Situational response evaluations
(a) protecting and security crime or accident scenes;
(b) notifying internal and external agencies; and
(c) controlling information;

5. Security ethics

6. The use of force, emphasizing the de-escalation of force and alternatives to using force;

7. Documentation and report writing, including:
(a) preparing witness statements;
(b) performing log maintenance;
(c) exercising control of information;
(d) taking field notes;
(e) organizing information into a report; and
(f) performing basic writing;

8. Patrol techniques, including:
(a) mobile patrol versus fixed post;
(b) accident prevention;
(c) responding to calls and alarms;
(d) security breaches;
(e) monitoring potential safety hazards; and
(f) police and community relations, including fundamental duties and personal appearance of security officers;

9. Sexual harassment in the workplace; and

10. A final examination that:
(a) competently examines the student on the subjects included in the eight hours of basic instruction; and
(b) mandates a minimum pass score of 80%.

According to R156-63a-604. Content of Approved Basic Firearms Training Program for Armed Private Security Officers.
In accordance with Subsection 58-63-302(2)(h), an approved basic firearms training program for armed private security officers shall have the following components:

1. At least six hours of classroom firearms instruction to include the following:
(a) the firearm and its ammunition;
(b) care and cleaning of the firearm;
(c) the prohibition against alterations of the firearm’s firing mechanism;
(d) firearm inspection review procedures;
(e) firearm safety on duty;
(f) firearm safety at home;
(g) firearm safety on the range;
(h) legal and ethical restraints on firearms use;
(i) explanation and discussion of target environment;
(j) stop failure drills;
(k) explanation and discussion of stance, draw stroke, cover and concealment, and other firearm fundamentals;
(l) armed patrol techniques;
(m) use of deadly force under Utah law and the provisions of Title 76, Chapter 2, Part 4, and a discussion of 18 USC 44 Section 922; and
(n) instruction that an armed private security officer shall not fire the officer’s weapon unless there is an imminent threat to life, and at no time shall the weapon be drawn as a threat or means to force compliance with any verbal directive not involving imminent threat to life;

2. A final examination that demonstrates the competency of the participant on the subjects included in the six hours of classroom firearms instruction, with a passing score requirement of 80%; and

3. At least six hours of firearms range instruction to include the following:

(a) basic firearms fundamentals and marksmanship;
(b) demonstration and explanation of the difference between sight picture, sight alignment, and trigger control; and
(c) a recognized practical pistol course on which the applicant achieves a minimum score of 80% using regular and low light conditions.

According to R156-63a-304: Continuing Education for Armed and Unarmed Private Security Officers as a Condition of Renewal.
In accordance with Subsections 58-1-203(1)(g) and 58-1-308(3)(b), the following continuing education requirements are established as a condition of renewal or reinstatement of licenses issued under Title 58, Chapter 63 in the classifications of armed private security officer and unarmed private security officer:
(1) Armed and unarmed private security officers shall complete at least 32 hours of continuing education during each two-year renewal cycle. A minimum of 16 hours shall be core continuing education; the remaining hours may consist of professional continuing education or core continuing education.
(2) In addition to the 32 hours of core/professional continuing education, an armed private security officer shall complete at least 16 hours of continuing firearms education and training during each two-year renewal cycle. Continuing firearms education and training:

 

See: R156-63a-604
See: Utah Code Ann. 58-63-302
See: Training Program Requirements for Armed and Unarmed Private Security Officers

Exam Requirement

Achieve at least a minimum score of 80% on the basic education and training final exam in accordance with R156-63a-302c(1)(c)(ii).
See: 156-63a
See: Security Officer Application

Child Support

The Utah Office of Recovery Services has the power to pursue through court action the withholding, suspension, and revocation of driver’s licenses, professional and occupational licenses, and recreational licenses of individuals owing overdue support or failing, after receiving appropriate notice, to comply with subpoenas or orders relating to paternity or child support proceedings pursuant to Section 78B-6-315.
See: Utah Code § 62A-11-107

Vermont: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Vermont

Legislation/Source:
The Vermont Statutes
Title 26: Professions and Occupations
Chapter 59: Private Investigative and Security Services
And

Administrative Rules of The Board of Private Investigative and Security Services

Authorizing Department

The Board of Private Investigative and Security Services
Vermont Secretary of State Office of Professional Regulation

89 Main Street, 3rd Floor
Montpelier, VT 05620-3402
Phone: (802) 828-1505

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

While Vermont does not individually license every security officer, the state and its board promulgates rules and standards, training and requirements for the profession.
The security services firm or company is licensed and provides oversight and compliance regarding all of its employees.

Vermont issues licenses to those in the “business” of providing security services.
The statute states in part:

26 V.S.A. § 3174. Security Guard Licenses
No person shall engage in the business of security guard or provide guard services in this state without first obtaining a license.
The board shall issue a license after obtaining and approving all of the following:
•   An application filed in proper form.
•   The application fee.
•   Evidence that the applicant has attained the age of majority.
•   Evidence that the applicant has successfully passed the examination required by section 3175 of this title.

In turn, the business or entity offering said services registers all security officers it employs.

See: 26 V.S.A. § 3176

Vermont also licenses “Qualifying Agents” who are persons responsible person for an agency or business entity or who chooses to operate as a sole proprietor, or otherwise practice independently.
The licensure process also has a few stages. Upon original application, the board will commence background review.
If positive the board will issue a temporary registration card and allow 60 days for completion of required training.

Fees:
I.   Employee Registration
  $120.00   Application fee

II.   Qualifying Agents
  $200.00   Application fee

See: Forms and information
The application form is in an online format and requires the creation of an account with the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation.

Temporary Licensure

Vermont permits temporary registration of employees as long as certain conditions are met, which are:

Once the VCIC background check is completed, a 60-day Temporary Registration may be granted to eligible applicants.
The Agency must submit proof that the applicant has successfully completed a Board-Approved 40-hour training program.
A full registration/license will not be granted without proof of successful completion of the training.
Applications for part-time employees (less than 80 hour per month) must include proof that the employee completed a minimum of eight
(8) hours of training (approved by the Board), prior to the issuance of a Temporary Registration. The remaining training hours for part-time
employees shall be completed within the temporary registration period of 180 days or before the employee has worked 500 hours, whichever occurs first.

See: Private Investigator and/or Security Guard Registration

Vermont’s Board on Private Investigative and Security Services encourages Temporary Registration as a means to
provide On-the Job Training as the full application is finalized. The administrative rules of the Board note:
(d) Temporary registration and on-the-job training:
1. A temporary registration allows an individual to practice as a security guard or private investigator pending the processing of his or her application. The temporary full-time employee registration may be issued only once for the same employer. Training must be completed before the expiration of a temporary registration (60 days) for a permanent registration to be issued.

See: Rule 2.3 of the ADMINISTRATIVE RULES OF THE BOARD OF PRIVATE INVESTIGATIVE AND SECURITY SERVICES

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

Vermont does have a “transitory permit” for out of state investigators but provides no option for the security officer for reciprocity.
The rule declares:

26 V.S.A. § 3176a
Transitory practice
The director of the office of professional regulation, under rules adopted by the board, may grant a transitory permit to practice as a private
investigator to a person who is not a resident of Vermont and has no established place of business in this state,
if that person is legally qualified by license to practice as a private investigator in any state or country that regulates such practice.
Practice under a transitory permit shall not exceed 30 days in any calendar year.

Age Requirements

1 V.S.A. § 1734.
Security guard licenses
(a) No person shall engage in the business of security guard or provide guard services in this State without first obtaining a license. The Board shall issue a license after obtaining and approving all of the following:

(3) Evidence that the applicant has attained the age of majority.

Citizenship

The legislation does not mention this requirement.

Experience

I.   Employee Registrants
No experience required.

II.   Qualifying Agents
The applicant must submit documentation showing two years experience, required in§ 3173(c) and/or§ 3174(c). For purposes of this Rule, “two years experience” shall be defined as work experience of 2,000 hours in the applicable profession in the two year period immediately preceding the date of application.

26 VSA § 3174(4)(c)
The board shall require that the person has had experience satisfactory to the board in security work, for a period of not less than two years. Such experience may include having been licensed as a security guard in another state or regularly employed as a security guard for a security agency licensed in this or another state, or been a sworn member of a federal, state, or municipal law enforcement agency.

Exemptions

26 VSA § 3151a. Exemptions
The term “security guard” shall not include:
•   Law enforcement officers certified under 20 V.S.A. § 2358 while engaged in the performance of their official duties, including the rendering of security guard services provided such services have been assigned and approved in advance by the officer’s employing department and payment for such services is made to the employing department.
•   Persons who are not armed, who are engaged exclusively in the business of managing property of others, including incidental inspection for the purpose of discovering damage from entry, theft, vandalism, or other cause.
•   Persons regularly employed as security guards exclusively by one employer in connection with the affairs of that employer only, provided that the employer is not a security agency.

Permit Required

26 VSA § 3175c
An applicant for a private investigator or security guard license to provide armed services shall demonstrate to the board competence in the safe use of firearms by successfully completing a firearms training program approved by the board.

No licensee may possess a firearm while performing professional services unless certified and in good standing under this section.

Requirement to carry an ID card

I. Employee Registration
An agency shall register all agency investigative and security employees with the Board. Employees shall carry identification in a form satisfactory to the Board indicating the licensee by whom the person is employed.
See: 26 V.S.A. § 3176(b)

II: Qualifying Agent
The legislation is silent on this requirement.

Moral Character

26 VSA § 3174(b)
The board may also make additional inquiries it deems necessary into the character, integrity, and reputation of the applicant.

Fingerprint

The Vermont statute does not impose a mandatory fingerprint process, using the language “when it is required” although the background check will eventually include this review.

According to the Applications Instructions for I. Employee Registration and II. Qualifying Agent:
Upon execution of a release form, the applicant receives a “Vermont Criminal Information Center Fingerprint Authorizing Certificate”.
According to the Department of Public Safety’s New Applicant Procedure, an applicant must bring the completed “Vermont Criminal Information Center,
Fingerprint Authorization Certificate” to the fingerprinting appointment at a Criminal Justice Center.

See: a list of approved fingerprint centers in Vermont.

Fees:
$25.00   Fingerprinting Fee

Substance Abuse

Not listed

Mental Health

Not listed

Criminal History Background Check

I.   Employee Registrants
Applicants will now be undergoing a Vermont Criminal Information Center and if adding armed status to the license an FBI Check.
According to the Department of Public Safety’s New Applicant Procedure, an applicant must bring the FBI National Record Check Release Form and take it to a Notary Public to complete.
The applicant will be required to show two forms of identification: a birth certificate, passport, driver’s license or social security card.
Once the Board receives the release form, the applicant will receive a “Vermont Criminal Information Center Fingerprint Authorizing Certificate” and a list of Fingerprint Identification Centers.
See: FBI National Record Check Release Form (Employee Registrant)

II.   Qualifying Agents
26 VSA § 3174(b)

The board may inquire of the Vermont Criminal Information Center for any information on criminal records of the applicant, and the center shall provide such information to the board. The board, through the Vermont criminal information center, may also inquire of the appropriate state criminal record repositories in all states in which it has reason to believe an applicant has resided or been employed, and it may also inquire of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, for any information on criminal records of the applicant.

As of July 1, 2014, all ARMED applicants will be required to have an FBI check as well as the VCIC check
See: FBI National Record Check Release Form (Qualifying Agent)

Personal References

2.1 Administrative Rules of the Board of Private Investigative and Security Services

When the application is received, the Board shall investigate the background of the applicant, including the qualifying agent, partners and corporate officers to determine competence; character, integrity and reputation. The investigation may include, but is not limited to:
•   searching criminal records

•   contacting personal references
•   contacting other persons who know the applicant

Reference providers must be over 18 years of age, cannot be related to the applicant, and must personally know the applicant for a period of at least five years.

Training Requirements

26 VSA § 3175c (Applies to Qualifying Agents).
An applicant for a private investigator or security guard license to provide armed services shall demonstrate to the board competence in the safe use of firearms by successfully completing a firearms training program approved by the board.

No licensee may possess a firearm while performing professional services unless certified and in good standing under this section.

The following applies to I.   Employee Registrants and II.   Qualifying Agents
The board has issued standards for firearms training which are:
•   Before carrying or using firearms while performing services, a licensee or registrant shall have satisfactorily completed a firearms training program approved under this section Firearms training programs shall be approved by the Board.

To be approved, a program shall include:

•   Instructors shall have been trained in a formal program acceptable to the Board and hold a current instructor certification which shall be on file in the Board Office.

•   Classroom instruction. Curriculum shall cover safe handling and proper use of firearms, and legal responsibility for improper or negligent use.

•   Examination. A written exam shall adequately test the classroom material. Range qualification. A qualifying course of fire, either police combat or security, appropriate to the weapon, shall be used.

•   For initial qualification, the applicant shall satisfactorily complete twelve hours of classroom instruction in basic firearms safety, use and legal responsibility, four hours on safety and use of the particular weapon to be used, pass the examination, and fire a qualifying course on the range. For re-qualification, the applicant shall satisfactorily complete instruction in basic firearms safety, use and legal responsibility, safety and use of the particular weapon to be used, and fire a qualifying course on the range. Firearms training shall have been taken within two years before initial application and within two years before a renewal.

See: Firearm Certification Form.

Exam Requirement

I.   Employee Registrant
Board Rules 2.3 Basic Training Programs(c):
4. Exams. Each course provider shall examine its students prior to issuing a certificate of completion. The examination shall test the student’s knowledge in all of the subject areas covered. The course examination and the passing criteria shall be submitted to, and approved by, the Board.

II.   Qualifying Agents
26 VSA § 3175. Examinations
The board shall prepare, or have prepared, and administer, separate examinations for private investigators and private security services. Each examination shall be designed to test the competency of the applicant with respect to the lawful and safe provision of each respective service to the public.

The Board will give the applicable examination after the completed application has been submitted. The applicant shall take the initial examination within 60 days of the application submission. A person who fails the initial examination may be reexamined; however, the applicant shall take the examination for the second time within 60 days of the notice of failure of the initial examination. Upon failure to pass the examination for the second time, the applicant shall not re apply for one year from the notice of failure of the second examination. Information about scheduling an examination may be obtained from the Office.

Security Guard Examination Subject Areas:
–   PD/Security Service licensing law
–   26 V.S.A. ”3151-3183
–   3 V.S.A. ”121-131
–   Administrative Rules
See: Application Instructions (Qualifying Agents)

Child Support

15 VSA § 798(b)
The office of child support may administratively suspend licenses under this section upon noncompliance with an order under section 606 of this title. Prior to suspending a license, the office of child support shall notify the obligor of the office’s intent to suspend the obligor’s license and shall provide the obligor with an opportunity to contest the action pursuant to 33 V.S.A. § 4108. If the obligor fails to either contest the claimed delinquency or request an opportunity to present evidence relating to the noncompliance within 21 days of notification, the office of child support may issue a license suspension order.

Virginia: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Virginia

Legislation/Source:

Code of Virginia
Title 9.1 Commonwealth Public Safety
Chapter 1. Department of Criminal Justice Services
Article 4. Private Security Services Businesses
And
Virginia Administrative Code
Title 6 Criminal Justice and Corrections
Agency 20. Department of Criminal Justice Services
Chapter 174. Regulations Relating to Private Security Services Registered Personnel

Authorizing Department

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

Department of Criminal Justice Services

1100 Bank Street

Richmond, VA 23219
Phone: (804) 786-4000
Fax: (804) 786-6344

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

In Virginia only private security businesses are subject to licensure.

Employees of a private security services business are required to obtain a valid registration issued by the Department
See: VA Code § 9.1-139

Individuals who carry or have access to a firearm while on duty must have a valid registration with a firearm endorsement pursuant to VAC 20-174. If carrying a handgun concealed, the individual must also have (i) a valid concealed handgun permit pursuant to Article 6.1 (§18.2-307.1 et seq) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 if the Code Virginia and (ii) written permission of his employer.
See: 6VAC20-174-40.A

Although unarmed proprietary security office Armed proprietary security officers must obtain a valid registration.
See: VA Code §9.1-140.8

See: Overview of the registration for an armed security officer status

See: Application form

Fees according to 6VAC20-174-20(A)

$39   Initial Application fee for 2-year Registration
$50   Fingerprint Processing fee
$24 Firearm Endorsement Fee
$34   Renewal fee
$25   Criminal History Processing fee

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

 

Age Requirements

Applicant must be at least 18 years of age.
See: 6 VAC20-174-40.B.1

Citizenship

United States citizen or legal resident alien of the United States.
See: 6 VAC20-174-40.B.3

Experience

None

Exemptions

6 VAC 20-171-450. Entry level training exemption.
A.   Persons previously employed as law-enforcement officers who have not terminated or been terminated from said employment more than five years prior to the application date must submit official documentation of the following with the application for partial exemption:

1.   Completion of law-enforcement entry level training; and
2.   Five continuous years of law-enforcement employment provided such employment as a law-enforcement officer was not terminated due to misconduct or incompetence. B. Persons having previous training or employment in any of the classifications defined in § 9.1-138 of the Code of Virginia must submit official documentation of the following with the application for partial exemption:
1.   Completion of previous private security training, which has been approved by the department and which meets or exceeds the compulsory minimum training standards promulgated by the board; or
2.   Five years continuous employment in the category for which partial exemption is sought, provided such employment was not terminated due to misconduct or incompetence and such employment ended within five years of the date of application.

6 VAC 20-171-460. In-service training exemption.
A. Persons who have completed training which meets or exceeds the compulsory minimum training standards promulgated by the board for the in-service training required for the individual’s particular category may be authorized credit for such training, provided the training has been completed within 12 months of the expiration date of the registration period during which in-service training is required. Such training must be provided by a third party organization offering services or expertise for the particular training category. Official documentation of the following must accompany the application for in-service training credit:
1.  Information regarding the sponsoring organization, including documentation regarding the instructor for each session; and
2.   An outline of the training session material, including the dates, times and specific subject matter.
3.   Proof of attendance and successful completion.

**If an applicant qualifies, they must submit a Training Waiver Form for a fee of $25

Further exemptions are listed in VA Code §9.1-140

Permit Required

A firearms endorsement must be obtained

Carrying a concealed handgun requires a concealed handgun permit pursuant to Article 6.1 (§18.2-307.1 et seq) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 if the Code Virginia.
See: VA Code §9.1-140.8

Requirement to carry an ID card

6VAC20-174-150
8. Carry a valid registration card or valid temporary registration letter at all times while on duty.
9. Carry the private security state-issued registration card at all times while on duty once the authorization has been approved from the department, except those individuals operating outside the Commonwealth of Virginia who shall obtain the state-issued registration card prior to providing services when physically located in the Commonwealth.

Moral Character

Virginia delineates a wide array of behavioral expectations when it comes to license applicants. The Board which regulates the industry goes to great lengths to outline all those occasions in which a license could be denied, revoked or suspended.
A registrant shall:
1.   Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of Virginia and this chapter.
2.   Not violate or aid and abet others in violating the provisions of Article 4 (§ 9.1-138  et seq.) of Chapter 1 of Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.

3.   Not commit any act or omission that results in a private security license, registration, or certification being suspended, revoked, or not renewed or the licensee, registrant, or certificate holder otherwise being disciplined in any jurisdiction.

4.   Not have been convicted or found guilty in any jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61  et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the purpose of this chapter. The record of conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be prima facie evidence of such guilt.

5.   Not obtain a license, license renewal, registration, registration renewal, certification, or certification renewal through any fraud or misrepresentation.

6.   Not solicit or contract to provide any private security services without first having obtained a private security services business license with the department.

7.   Carry a valid registration card or valid temporary registration letter at all times while on duty. Individuals requiring registration as an unarmed security officer, an alarm respondent, a locksmith, a central station dispatcher, an electronic security sales representative, or an electronic security technician
may be employed for not more than 90 consecutive days in any category listed in this subdivision while completing the compulsory minimum training standards and may not be employed in excess of 120 days without having been issued a registration or an exception from the department and must carry a photo identification and authorization from their employer on a form provided by the department at all times while on duty.

8.   Carry the private security state-issued registration card at all times while on duty once the authorization has been approved from the department, except those individuals operating outside the Commonwealth of Virginia who shall obtain the state-issued registration card prior to providing services when physically located in the Commonwealth.

9.   Perform those duties authorized by his registration only while employed by a licensed private security services business and only for the clients of the licensee. This shall not be construed to prohibit an individual who is registered as an armed security officer from being employed by a nonlicensee as provided for in § 9.1-140  of the Code of Virginia.

10.   Possess a valid firearms training endorsement if he carries or has access to firearms while on duty and then only those firearms by type of action and caliber to which he has been trained on and is qualified to carry. Carry or have access to a patrol rifle while on duty only with the expressed written authorization of the licensed private security services business employing the registrant.

11.   Carry a firearm concealed while on duty only with the expressed written authorization of the licensed private security services business employing the registrant and only in compliance with Article 6.1 (§ 18.2-307.1  et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia.

12.   Transport, carry, and utilize firearms while on duty only in a manner that does not endanger the public health, safety, and welfare.

13.   If authorized to make arrests, make arrests in full compliance with the law and using only the minimum force necessary to effect an arrest.

14.   Engage in no conduct that shall mislead or misrepresent through word, deed, or appearance that a registrant is a law-enforcement officer or other government official.

15.   Display one’s registration or temporary registration along with a photo identification while on duty in response to the request of a law-enforcement officer, department personnel, or client. Individuals providing private security services as authorized pursuant to subdivision 7 of this section who have not received their registration must display a state-issued photo identification and authorization while on duty in response to the request of a law-enforcement officer, department personnel, or a client.

16.   Not perform any unlawful or negligent act resulting in a loss, injury, or death to any person.

17.   If a uniform is required, wear the uniform required by his employer. If wearing a uniform while employed as an armed security officer, unarmed security officer, alarm respondent, or armored car personnel, that uniform must:

a.   Include at least one insignia clearly identifying the name of the licensed firm employing the individual and, except armored car personnel, a nameplate or tape bearing, at a minimum, the individual’s last name attached on the outermost garment, except rainwear worn only to protect from inclement weather; and

b.   Include no patch or other writing (i) containing the word ‘police’ or any other word suggesting a law-enforcement officer; (ii) containing the word ‘officer’ unless used in conjunction with the word ‘security’; or (iii) resembling any uniform patch or insignia of any duly constituted law-enforcement agency of this Commonwealth, its political subdivisions, or the federal government.

18.   When providing central station monitoring services, attempt to verify the legitimacy of a burglar alarm activation by calling the site of the alarm. If unable to make contact, call one additional number provided by the alarm user who has the authority to cancel the dispatch. This shall not apply if the alarm user has provided written authorization requesting immediate dispatch or one-call dispatch to both his local police department and his dealer of record. This shall not apply to duress or hold-up alarms.

19.   Act only in such a manner that does not endanger the public health, safety, and welfare.

20.   Not represent as one’s own a registration issued to another individual.

21.   Not falsify, or aid and abet others in falsifying, training records for the purpose of obtaining a license, registration, certification, or certification as a compliance agent, training school, school director, or instructor.

22.   Not provide information obtained by the registrant or his employing firm to any person other than the client who secured the services of the licensee without the client’s prior written consent. Provision of information in response to official requests from law-enforcement agencies, the courts, or the department shall not constitute a violation of this chapter. Provision of information to law-enforcement agencies pertinent to criminal activity or to planned criminal activity shall not constitute a violation of this chapter.

23.   Not engage in acts of unprofessional conduct in the practice of private security services.

24.   Not engage in acts of negligent or incompetent private security services.

25.   Not make any misrepresentation or make a false promise to a private security services business client or potential private security services business client.

26.   Satisfy all judgments to include binding arbitrations related to private security services not provided.

27.   Not provide false or misleading information to representatives of the department.

28.   Not provide materially incorrect, misleading, incomplete, or untrue information on a registration application, renewal application, or any other document filed with the department.

Fingerprint

Each applicant for initial registration as an unarmed security officer shall submit his fingerprints to the Department on a from provided by the Department.
See: VA Code §9.1-145.A

In order to submit the fingerprints, the applicant needs to schedule an appointment with Fieldprint Virginia or call 877-614-4364.
The corresponding Fieldprint Code for DCJS is listed on the Criminal History Processing Form

DCJS will be automatically notified once the fingerprints are submitted.

Substance Abuse

None

Mental Health

In Criminal Supplement Report, the Applicant need note current Protective Orders under which the applicant has been judicially placed.

See: https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/sites/dcjs.virginia.gov/files/private-security/forms/criminal-history-supplemental-form-pss-chs.pdf

Criminal History Background Check

The Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services conducts background reviews.

6 VAC20-174-150(4)
The applicant must not have been convicted or found guilty in any jurisdiction of the United States of any felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, assault and battery, damage to real or personal property, controlled substances or imitation controlled substances as defined in Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, prohibited sexual behavior as described in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, or firearms. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the purpose of this chapter. The record of conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be prima facie evidence of such guilt

The applicant must fill out Criminal History Supplement Form along with the Fingerprint form if you have ever been convicted or found guilty of a felony or misdemeanor (not to include minor traffic violations) in Virginia or any other jurisdiction to include military court martial or currently under protective orders.

The Criminal History Check is only valid for 120 days from the date of submittal. The applicant should submit all applicable application forms should be submitted within these 120 days.

See: Criminal History Processing Form
See: Criminal History Supplemental Form

Personal References

None

Training Requirements

A person applying for registration shall successfully complete all initial training requirements.
See: 6 VAC20-174-40.B.2

6 VAC 20-171: Training Requirements

01E – Security Officer Core Subjects Entry-Level:

Course Outline:

The entry level curriculum for unarmed security officer, armed security officer/courier, security canine handler, and alarm respondent sets forth the following areas identified as:

a. Orientation
Applicable sections of the Code of Virginia and Regulations Relating to Private Security Services
Code of Ethics
General Duties and Responsibilities
Signs of Terrorism Law

b. Security Patrol, Access Control, and Communications

c. Documentation

d. Emergency Procedures

e. Confrontation Management

f. Use of force

g. Written comprehensive examination

05E – Armed Security Officer Arrest Authority:
Course Outline:
Course Time: 8 Hours

Arrest Powers

Policies

Procedures

75E – Security Officer Handgun (24hrs)

Course Outline:

6VAC20-171-375

The security officer handgun classroom training will include but not be limited to the following:
Practical handgun handling
Identification of handgun parts
Draw
Reholstering
Ready position
Loading
Administrative loading
Tactical reloading
Rapid reloading
Unloading
Malfunctions
Immediate actions procedures
Remedial action
Proper care and maintenance
Firearms retention
Ammunition identification and management
Range safety
Tactical considerations
Movement
Cover and concealment

Fundamentals of marksmanship
Grip
Stance (position)
Sight alignment
Sight picture
Trigger control
Breathing
Follow through

Dim light/low light/reduced light practice and familiarization
Identification of target/threat/background
Unaided training
Aided training
Flashlight use
Reloading during low light conditions
Malfunctions
Range safety
Tactical considerations
Movement
Cover and concealment
Multiple target drills

Use of force
Deadly force
Justifiable deadly force

Liability
Criminal liability
Civil liability
Negligent discharge prevention

Judgmental shooting: judgmental shooting scenarios will be conducted in the classroom/range
Shoot/don’t shoot judgment
Turn and fire drills
Failure to stop drills
Multiple target drills

Lead exposure

Total Hours (excluding written examination) – 24 hours

Written examination required.

08E – Shotgun
Course Outline:
6VAC20-171-380

Shotgun classroom training. Individual must first successfully complete entry-level or security officer handgun training. The entry-level shotgun classroom instruction will emphasize but not be limited to:

Shotgun handling techniques
Identification of shotgun parts
Slings – traditional sling, single point sling, 3 point sling
Cruiser carry conditions
Cruiser safe
Chambering
Reloading
Transition from handgun to shotgun/shotgun to handgun (if applicable)
Malfunctions
Immediate actions procedures
Remedial action
Proper care and maintenance
Shotgun retention
Ammunition management and identification
Range safety
Dim light/low light

Fundamentals of shotgun marksmanship
Grip
Stance (position)
Sight alignment
Sight picture
Trigger control
Breathing
Follow through

Written examination
Total hours excluding examination (3 hours)

See: Overview of the registration for an armed security officer status

Exam Requirement

An exam is required. See training requirements.

Child Support

According to Va. Code Ann. § 20-60.3(6); Va. Code § 46.2-320; Va. Code § 63.2-1937:

An occupational or professional license may be suspended or revoked for failure to pay child support

Washington: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Washington

Legislation/Source:

Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
Title 18 – Businesses and Professions
Chapter 18.170 – Security Guards
and
Washington Administrative Code (WAC)
Title 308 – Licensing, Department of
Chapter 308-18 – Private Security Guard Company and Private Security Guards

Authorizing Department

Washington State Department of Licensing
Business and Professions Division
Security Guards Program

Department of Licensing

405 Black Lake Blvd SW
Olympia, WA 98502
Phone: (360) 664-6611
Fax: (360) 570-7888
Email: security@dol.wa.gov

Mailing Address (forms with payments)
Private Security Guard Licensing
Department of Licensing

PO Box 35001
Seattle, WA 98124-3401

Mailing Address (with no payments)
Private Security Guard Licensing
Department of Licensing

PO Box 9649
Olympia, WA 98507-9649

Overnight Mailing (FedEx, UPS, USPS)
Security Guard Program
Department of Licensing

1125 Washington Street
Olympia, WA 98501

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

Washington provides a mechanism for licensure at the agency and individual level security officers. However, the applicant will not be licensed until and when the applicant is employed by any licensed deliverer of security services or about to be employed by same.

18.170.050
Armed private security guard license authority—Registration of firearms.
(1)   An armed private security guard license grants authority to the holder, while in the performance of his or her duties, to carry a firearm with which the holder has met the proficiency requirements established by the commission.
(2)   All firearms carried by armed private security guards in the performance of their duties must be owned or leased by the employer and, if required by law, must be registered with the proper government agency.

Individuals seeking licensure as an armed security guard must obtain a Firearms Certificate from the Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission.
See: Information on Firearms Certification

WAC 308-18-150
$91   License plus background check fee
$85   License renewal (a year from issuance).
$10   Armed endorsement
$42.80   Fingerprinting and State & National background check
$45   License Printing Fee

See: Application Form

Age Requirements

RCW 18.170.040(1)(b)
The applicant must be at least 21 years of age

Citizenship

RCW 18.170.030(2)
Must be a citizen or resident alien of the U.S

Experience

RCW 18.170.310
An applicant with military training or experience satisfies the training or experience requirements of this chapter unless the director determines that the military training or experience is not substantially equivalent to the standards of this state.

Exemptions

RCW 18.170.020
The requirements of this chapter do not apply to:

(1)   A person who is employed exclusively or regularly by one employer and performs the functions of a private security guard solely in connection with the affairs of that employer, if the employer is not a private security company. However, in accordance with RCW 69.50.382, an employee engaged in marijuana-related transportation or delivery services on behalf of a common carrier must be licensed as an armed private security guard under this chapter in order to be authorized to carry or use a firearm while providing such services
(2)   A sworn peace officer while engaged in the performance of the officer’s official duties
(3)   A sworn peace officer while employed by any person to engage in off-duty employment as a private security guard, but only if the employment is approved by the chief law enforcement officer of the jurisdiction where the employment takes place and the sworn peace officer does not employ, contract with, or broker for profit other persons to assist him or her in performing the duties related to his or her private employer, or
(4) (a)   A person performing crowd management or guest services including, but not limited to, a person described as a ticket taker, usher, door attendant, parking attendant, crowd monitor, or event staff who:

(i)   Does not carry a firearm or other dangerous weapon including, but not limited to, a stun gun, taser, pepper mace, or nightstick
(ii)   Does not wear a uniform or clothing readily identifiable by a member of the public as that worn by a private security officer or law enforcement officer, and
(iii)   Does not have as his or her primary responsibility the detainment of persons or placement of persons under arrest.

(4) (b)   The exemption provided in this subsection applies only when a crowd has assembled for the purpose of attending or taking part in an organized event, including pre event assembly, event operation hours, and post event departure activities.

Permit Required

RCW 18.170.040(c)/ WAC 308-18-120(1)
Any person desiring to be an armed private security guard shall obtain a firearms certificate from the criminal justice training commission.

Requirement to carry an ID card

RCW 18.170.070 (1)
(c)   An armed private security guard shall carry the license card whenever he or she is performing the duties of an armed private security guard and shall exhibit the card upon request.

Moral Character

RCW 18.235.130(1)
The following conduct, acts, or conditions constitute unprofessional conduct for any license holder or applicant under the jurisdiction of this chapter
(1)   The commission of any act involving moral turpitude, dishonesty, or corruption relating to the practice of the person’s profession or operation of the person’s business, whether the act constitutes a crime or not.

Fingerprint

RCW 18.170.030(6)
An applicant must submit a set of fingerprints

Applicants in Washington State will use MorphoTrust’s IdentoGO process to take and submit their fingerprints electronically at one of the MorphoTrust’s Locations
•   Schedule and pay for a fingerprint appointment online at identogo.com
    –   When setting up the appointment, applicants should not select “Pay for Ink Card Submission” (this is for out-of-state applicants only).
    –   If the applicant’s employer is paying for your electronic fingerprinting: The applicant should enter the Billing Account code provided at the payment screen.

Fees:
$8.05   Fingerprint Fees
$34.75   Background Check Fee
$42.80 Total fees

Applicants outside of Washington State should contact the Security Guards Program at security@dol.wa.gov or (360) 664-6611 for fingerprint card submission instructions.

Retrieved from: www.dol.wa.gov/business/fingerprinting.html

Substance Abuse

RCW 18.170.220
(1)   If the director believes a license holder or applicant may be unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety to the public by reason of a mental or physical condition, a statement of charges shall be served on the license holder or applicant and notice shall also be issued providing an opportunity for a hearing.
(2)   In investigating or adjudicating a complaint or report that a license holder or applicant may be unable to practice with reasonable skill or safety by reason of a mental or physical condition, the department may require a license holder or applicant to submit to a mental or physical examination by one or more licensed or certified health professionals designated by the director.

Mental Health

RCW 18.170.220
(1)   If the director believes a license holder or applicant may be unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety to the public by reason of a mental or physical condition, a statement of charges shall be served on the license holder or applicant and notice shall also be issued providing an opportunity for a hearing.
(2)   In investigating or adjudicating a complaint or report that a license holder or applicant may be unable to practice with reasonable skill or safety by reason of a mental or physical condition, the department may require a license holder or applicant to submit to a mental or physical examination by one or more licensed or certified health professionals designated by the director.

Criminal History Background Check

RCW 18.170.030(3)
A qualified applicant is an individual who has not been convicted of a crime in any jurisdiction, if the director determines that the applicant’s particular crime directly relates to his or her capacity to perform the duties of a private security guard, and the director determines that the license should be withheld to protect the citizens of Washington state.

The background check of applications for the armed status utilize sources of the Washington State Patrol and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Personal References

Not required

Training Requirements

RCW 18.170.105/ WAC 308-18-300/ WAC 308-18-305

(1) To promote the safety of persons and the security of property, the director shall meet with interested parties
to develop lists of suggested preassignment, postassignment, and postassignment refresher training by rule.

(2) All security guards licensed on or after July 1, 2005, must complete at
least eight hours of preassignment training, comprised of at least four hours of classroom
instruction and an additional four hours of classroom instruction or individual instruction,
or both. The preassignment training may be waived for any individual who was most
recently employed full time as a sworn peace officer not more than five years prior to
applying to become licensed as a private security guard and who passes the
examination typically administered to applicants at the conclusion of the preassignment training.

(3)(a) All security guards licensed on or after July 1, 2005, must complete at least eight hours of initial post
assignment training that shall be administered to each security guard. The initial post assignment training must be in the topic areas
established by the director and may be classroom instruction or individual instruction, or both. A company
may waive the initial post assignment training for security guards already licensed who
transfer from another company, if the security guard presents appropriate training
records signed by a department-certified trainer from the previous company, or a signed
affidavit that the individual has already completed the required initial post assignment
training provided by his or her previous company.

(b) Security guards who received their temporary security guard registration card on
or before July 22, 2007, must receive their initial post assignment training before June
30, 2008. Security guards who received their temporary security guard registration card
after July 22, 2007, must receive their initial post assignment training as specified in (c)
and (d) of this subsection.

(c) Security guards licensed between January 1st and June 30th of any calendar
year may receive eight hours of initial postassignment training any time between the day
following the issuance of a temporary security guard registration card with their company
and June 30th of the year following initial issuance of their license by the department.

(d) Security guards initially licensed between July 1st and December 31st of any
calendar year may receive eight hours of initial postassignment training at any time
between the day following the issuance of a temporary security guard registration card
with their company and December 31st of the year following initial issuance
of their license by the department.

(4) Following completion of the preassignment and postassignment training,
at least four total hours of annual refresher training shall be administered
to security guards each subsequent year. The subsequent year begins, for refresher training purposes,
the day following the last date the security guard is required to receive
the eight hours of initial postassignment training. No more than one hour per year
of annual refresher training may focus directly on customer service-related skills or topics and
the remaining three hours per year of annual refresher training must focus on emergency
response concepts, skills, or topics including but not limited to knowledge of site post orders or life safety.

(5) Companies must maintain records regarding the training hours completed by each employee.
All such records are subject to inspection by the department.
The training requirements and test results must be recorded and attested to by a
department-certified trainer. Training records must contain a description of the topics covered,
the name and signature of the trainer, and the name and signature of the security guard.

Applicants must do pre-assignment training in advance of full licensure.
Pre-assignment training must include the following areas of required knowledge:

Basic principles
1.   Basic role of the security guard.
2.   Washington State licensing laws.
3.   Observation.
4.   Proper actions, reactions, ethics and diversity.
5.   Homeland Security – Terrorism and Surveillance.
Resources
•   Department of Homeland Security
•   Washington State Laws Regulating Private Security Guards
•   Protection Officers Training Manual (available at many online retailers)
Legal powers and limitations
1.   Citizen arrest.
2.   Authority to detain, question, or search a private citizen.
3.   Authority to search or seize private property.
4.   Use of force.
5.   Building relationships with law enforcement.
6.   Avoiding liability
Resources
•   Criminal Justice Training Commission: Study Guide – Use of Force
•   Washington Criminal Code
•   Uniform Regulation of Business and Professions Act
•   Protection Officers Training Manual
•   Citizen Arrest
Emergency Response
1.   How to define what is or is not an emergency situation.
2.   Response to fires.
3.   Response to medical emergencies.
4.   Response to criminal acts.
5.   Bomb threats.
Resources
•   Mayo Clinic: First Aid
•   American Red Cross
•   Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco and Firearms
Safety and accident prevention
1.   Hazardous materials including MSDS.
2.   Accident reporting.
Resources
•   Occupational Safety and Health Administration
•   Material Safety Data Sheet
•   Protection Officers Training Manual
Report writing
1.   Elements and characteristics of a report.
Resources
•   International Association of Chiefs of Police
•   Protection Officers Training Manual

See: www.dol.wa.gov/business/securityguards/sgpreassigntrain.html

Armed security officers must complete an approve course of instruction to qualify for this designation.
For more information see: How to get your Firearms Certificate
See: List of certified instructors

Exam Requirement

WAC 308-18-300- Exam
All private security guard applicants, after receiving pre assignment training and prior to receiving their license or temporary registration card, must successfully complete an exam designed and provided by the department to demonstrate understanding and retention of the information learned in the training course on the subjects listed in WAC 308-18-300. The exam shall consist of multiplechoice questions. All applicants must answer all questions correctly on the pre assignment training exam or questions incorrectly answered must be reviewed to ensure the applicant’s understanding and then initialed by both the applicant and the trainer verifying knowledge of the correct answer(s).

Child Support

RCW 74.20A.324
(1)   The department may certify to the department of licensing and any appropriate licensing entity the name of a responsible parent who is not in compliance with a child support order if:

(a)   Within twenty-one days after service of a notice issued under RCW 74.20A.320, the responsible parent does not request an adjudicative proceeding or file a motion with the appropriate court or administrative forum to modify the child support obligation;
(b)   An adjudicative proceeding results in a decision that the responsible parent is not in compliance with a child support order and has not made a good faith effort to comply
(c)   The court enters a judgment on a petition for judicial review that finds the responsible parent is not in compliance with a child support order and has not made a good faith effort to comply, or
(d)   The responsible parent fails to comply with a payment schedule established pursuant to RCW 74.20A.326.

(2)   The department shall send by regular mail a copy of any certification of noncompliance filed with the department of licensing or a licensing entity to the responsible parent at the responsible parent’s most recent address of record along with information as to how the parent may get his or her license reinstated.
(3)   The department of licensing and a licensing entity shall, without undue delay, notify a responsible parent certified by the department under subsection (1) of this section that the parent’s driver’s license or other license has been suspended because the parent’s name has been certified by the department as a responsible parent who is not in compliance with a child support order.

More Information

West Virginia: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for West Virginia

Legislation/Source:

West Virginia Code
Chapter 30. Professions and Occupations.
Article 18. Private Investigative and Security Services.

Authorizing Department

Office of the Secretary of State
State Capitol Building
Charleston, WV 25305
Phone: (304) 558-8000
Fax: (304) 558-0900
Email: licensing@wvos.gov

Branch Office in Charleston:
1615 East Washington Street
Charleston, WV 25311-2126
Main: (304) 558-8000
Fax: (304) 558-8381

Branch Office in Clarksburg:
Secretary of State
200 West Main Street
Clarksburg, WV 26301
Phone: (304) 367-2775
Fax: (304) 627-2243

Branch Office in Martinsburg:
229 East Martin Street
Martinsburg, WV 25401
Phone: (304) 356-2654
Fax: (304) 260-4360

Official Website

Licensure and License Fees

West Virginia does not promulgate unique standards that are distinguishable from the Unarmed Guard. However, to be armed, and operate as a Security Guard, the applicant will have to fulfill the requisites of the Unarmed Guard noted in this section.

To be armed, the applicant then must comply with state law on the registration and use of firearms.

Per West Virginia Code §61-7-4:

There is an application fee of $50

West Virginia, while not licensing individual officers, does permit an individual applicant to apply as an individual providing security services as well as an
individual who directs, owns or operates a security firm. This process is labeled “combined” licensure. For the particulars, click here.

West Virginia now has an online portal where many of the steps and requirements can be fulfilled.

See: WV One Stop Portal

Foreign Jurisdiction Licensure

West Virginia requires in-state licensure to conduct security business.

Age Requirements

Per West Virginia Code §61-7-4:

The applicant must be 21 years or older

Citizenship

Per West Virginia Code §61-7-4:

The applicant must be a bona fide United States citizen or legal resident thereof and resident of this state and of the county in which the application is made and has a valid driver’s license or other state-issued photo identification showing the residence

Experience

No baseline requirement

Exemptions

Per West Virginia Code §61-7-4:

A former law-enforcement officer honorably retired from agencies governed by article fourteen, chapter seven of this code; article fourteen, chapter eight of this code; article two, chapter fifteen of this code; and article seven, chapter twenty of this code, an honorably retired officer is exempt from payment of fees and costs as otherwise required by this section.

Permit Required

Per West Virginia Code §61-7-4:

A concealed weapons license is required

Requirement to carry an ID card

 

Moral Character

No baseline requirement

Fingerprint

I. Security Guard Employee:
For every employee or individual who conducts security guard business under the authority of a security guard firm license, the holder of such license must maintain a recent full-face photograph and one complete set of fingerprints on file at such firm’s central business location in this state. Upon request, the holder of the firm license must release the photographs and fingerprints to the Secretary of State.

II. Individual Security Guard License
Effective June 2016, Security Guard applicants are now required to be fingerprinted for both state and federal background checks.

All Private Investigator and Security Guard applicants will be required to submit their fingerprints for initial registration and renewal through MorphoTrust at an IdentoGo Center.


In State Applicants: The Office of the West Virginia Secretary of State will no longer be providing fingerprint cards to in state applicants. Fingerprints will need to be obtained from MorphoTrust/IdentoGo instead of from local or state police. MorphoTrust electronically captures and transmits the digital fingerprints to the West Virginia State Police (WVSP) and the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI), for a state and federal criminal history check.

The applicant is required to schedule the fingerprinting appointment AFTER the Secretary of State’s Office has received the application and other required materials, and after the applicant has received the instructional letter on fingerprint procedures.


In state applicants can register and find a location for fingerprinting by visiting identogo.com and clicking on West Virginia, or by calling 1-855-766-7746.

The fee of the fingerprint processing is included in the application fee.

See: Individual Security Guard License Application Form

Substance Abuse

Per West Virginia Code §61-7-4:

The applicant cannot be addicted to alcohol, a controlled substance or a drug and is not an unlawful user thereof as evidenced by either of the following within the three years immediately prior to the application.
(A)   Residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism or alcohol detoxification or drug treatment; or
(B)   Two or more convictions for driving while under the influence or driving while impaired

Mental Health

Per West Virginia Code §61-7-4:
The applicant cannot have been adjudicated to be mentally incompetent or involuntarily committed to a mental institution. If the applicant has been adjudicated mentally incompetent or involuntarily committed the applicant must provide a court order reflecting that the applicant is no longer under such disability and the applicant’s right to possess or receive a firearm has been restored

Criminal History Background Check

Per West Virginia Code §61-7-4:

The applicant cannot have been convicted of the following:

(5)   a felony unless the conviction has been expunged or set aside or the applicant’s civil rights have been restored or the applicant has been unconditionally pardoned for the offense;
(6)   of a misdemeanor crime of violence other than an offense set forth in subdivision (7) of this section in the five years immediately preceding the application;
(7)   a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence as defined in 18 U. S. C. §921(a)(33), or a misdemeanor offense of assault or battery either under  section twenty-eight, article two of this chapter or  subsection (b) or (c), section nine, article two of this chapter in which the victim was a current or former spouse, current or former sexual or intimate partner, person with whom the defendant cohabits or has cohabited, a parent or guardian, the defendant’s child or ward or a member of the defendant’s household at the time of the offense, or a misdemeanor offense with similar essential elements in a jurisdiction other than this state;
(8)   That the applicant is not under indictment for a felony offense or is not currently serving a sentence of confinement, parole, probation or other court-ordered supervision imposed by a court of any jurisdiction or is the subject of an emergency or temporary domestic violence protective order or is the subject of a final domestic violence protective order entered by a court of any jurisdiction

Additionally, the applicant cannot be prohibited under the provisions of section seven of this article or federal law, including 18 U. S. C. §922(g) or (n), from receiving, possessing or transporting a firearm

Personal References

None required

Training Requirements

Per West Virginia Code §61-7-4:

All persons applying for a license must complete a training course in handling and firing a handgun, which includes the actual live firing of ammunition by the applicant. The successful completion of any of the following courses fulfills this training requirement: Provided, That the completed course includes the actual live firing of ammunition by the applicant:

(1)   Any official National Rifle Association handgun safety or training course;
(2)   Any handgun safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by an official law-enforcement organization, community college, junior college, college or private or public institution or organization or handgun training school utilizing instructors certified by the institution;
(3)   Any handgun training or safety course or class conducted by a handgun instructor certified as such by the state or by the National Rifle Association;
(4)   Any handgun training or safety course or class conducted by any branch of the United States military, reserve or National Guard or proof of other handgun qualification received while serving in any branch of the United States military, reserve or National Guard.

A photocopy of a certificate of completion of any of the courses or classes or an affidavit from the instructor, school, club, organization or group that conducted or taught the course or class attesting to the successful completion of the course or class by the applicant or a copy of any document which shows successful completion of the course or class is evidence of qualification under this section and shall include the instructor’s name, signature and NRA or state instructor identification number, if applicable.

Exam Requirement

N/A

Child Support

According to W. Va. Code § 48-15:
The state revoke any business or professional license for arrears equal to or exceeding 6 months

More Information

Wisconsin: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Wisconsin

Legislation/Source:

Chapter 440, Subchapter 440.26 Department of Safety and Professional Services
440.26 Private detectives, investigators and security personnel; licenses and permits.

Chapter SPS 34 Firearms and other Dangerous Weapons

Chapter SPS 31 Credentialing Requirements and Procedures for Private Detective Agency, Private Detective and Security Person

Authorizing Department

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
P.O. Box 8935
Madison, Wisconsin 53708
Phone: (608) 266-2112
Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov

Official Website

Private Detective/Security Agency

Licensure and License Fees

Wisconsin appears to insist on employment and completion of an approved program before endorsing armed certification or licensure.
The state regulatory body indicates that in order to obtain a new firearms permit, follow these steps:
•   Obtain employment at a private security agency or a private detective agency.
•   Obtain a private security permit or a private detective license issued by the Department.
•   Complete 36 hours of initial firearms training from an instructor approved by the Department.
•   Submit an application.

For needed documentation to submit for permit, complete an
Application for Firearms Certification of Proficiency – Initial and Renewal (Form #467).
The Firearms permit will be mailed to the agency that employs you.

Fees:
Regular Permit and Temporary Permit Only
$27.00   Initial Credential Fee
$8.00   Background Check Fee
$10.00   Temporary Permit
$34.75   Fingerprinting Fee

Temporary Permit Only
$10.00 Temporary Permit Fee
$27.00 Regular Permit Fee
$8.00 Background Check

Veteran Fee Waivers Available

See: Form #2271, Information for Completing Private Security Permit Application Form

Age Requirements

License Applicants need to be 18 years of age.
Permit age requirements are not designated.

See: 440.26(2)(c)3

Citizenship

A citizen or national of the U.S., or a qualified alien or nonimmigrant lawfully present in the U.S. who is eligible to receive this professional license or credential as defined in the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunities Reconciliation Act of 1996, as codified in 8 U.S.C. §1601 et. Seq. (PRWORA).

See: Form #2271, Information for Completing Private Security Permit Application Form

Experience

Firearms Permit – Exemptions
A person who is employed in this state by a public agency as a law enforcement officer to carry a concealed firearm and if s. 941.23 (1) (g) 2. to 5. and (2) (b) 1. to 3., Stats., applies, may carry on, about, or near his or her person a firearm, concealed or otherwise, when acting as a private detective or private security person, without first obtaining a firearms permit granted by the department.
See: SPS 34.01(5)

A person who is a licensee, as defined in s. 175.60 (1) (d), Stats., or an out-of-state licensee, as defined in s. 175.60 (1) (g), Stats., to carry a concealed weapon as permitted under s. 175.60, Stats., may carry on, about or near his or her person a firearm, concealed or otherwise, when acting as a private detective or private security person, without first obtaining a firearms permit granted by the department.
See: SPS 34.01(8)

While there is no explicit formula for experience, the state and its corresponding department appears to reserve the right to mandate specialized requirements in the form of training and experience as it deems necessary. This seems nothing more than a discretionary right.

The statute states in part:

The department shall prescribe, by rule, such qualifications as it deems appropriate, with due regard to investigative experience, special professional education and training and other factors bearing on professional competence.

See: 440.26(2)(c)1

Exemptions

Firearms Permit – Training Exemption
A person from another licensing jurisdiction (state, province, etc.) for whom an initial permit is being obtained in Wisconsin may satisfy the training requirement by successfully completing the 6-hour refresher course, provided that the following conditions apply:
•   The person received at least 30 hours of firearms training in the other jurisdiction.
•   The person was authorized by the other jurisdiction or a governmental agency to carry a firearm while on duty as a Peace Officer, a Security Person, or a Private Detective at any time during the five (5) years preceding application for a permit.

A veteran may request equivalency for training and experience.

Permit Required

Applicants have three choices for obtaining a permit.
•   Temporary & Regular Permit: The Department can issue a temporary permit only if a check of the criminal records at the Department of Justice indicates no criminal history. If your background check is satisfactory, you will be issued a temporary permit, which will expire at the end of 30 days. Upon receipt of a satisfactory state and federal crime record search, the Department will issue you a regular permit.

•   Regular Permit Only: The Department may issue a regular permit after receiving the results of the state and federal criminal record search. If the search reveals a criminal history, the applicant may be requested to submit further information or a Notice of Denial will be sent, as appropriate.

•   Reinstatement: If you previously held a Private Security Permit and the credential has been expired more than 5 years. The applicant will need to meet the same requirements needed for a regular permit.

See: Form #2271, Information for Completing Private Security Permit Application Form

Requirement to carry an ID card

Applicants have three choices for obtaining a permit.
•   Temporary & Regular Permit: The Department can issue a temporary permit only if a check of the criminal records at the Department of Justice indicates no criminal history. If your background check is satisfactory, you will be issued a temporary permit, which will expire at the end of 30 days. Upon receipt of a satisfactory state and federal crime record search, the Department will issue you a regular permit.

•   Regular Permit Only: The Department may issue a regular permit after receiving the results of the state and federal criminal record search. If the search reveals a criminal history, the applicant may be requested to submit further information or a Notice of Denial will be sent, as appropriate.

•   Reinstatement: If you previously held a Private Security Permit and the credential has been expired more than 5 years. The applicant will need to meet the same requirements needed for a regular permit.

See: Form #2271 – Application for Private Security Permit

Moral Character

No baseline requirement

Fingerprint

Must submit fingerprints electronically for a background check. For any Wisconsin resident or out of state applicant, schedule an appointment with the Department’s approved vendor, Fieldprint, by visiting their website . Use the Fieldprint code “FPWISecurity” when prompted. The cost for the digital fingerprints will be $34.75 and is expected at the time of reservation. Plan to arrive at the test center 15 minutes before the scheduled start time of the appointment for check-in. Submit application to the Department within 14 days after submission of fingerprints.

See: Form #2271, Information for Completing Private Security Permit Application Form

Substance Abuse

The permit will be granted if the applicant is not a user of drugs or alcohol to an extent dangerous to the applicant or others or to an extent which would impair the applicant’s ability to responsibly perform private security activities.

See: SPS 31.02(3)(c)

Mental Health

The permit will be granted if the applicant does not have a physical, emotional or mental condition that might adversely affect the applicant’s ability to responsibly perform private security activities.

Criminal History Background Check

Background investigations and criminal histories will be conducted by the Wisconsin Department of Safety and
Professional Services and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Form #2687
Provisions set forth in Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Section
16.34, state that fingerprints may be used to check the criminal history records with the FBI. Identification records
obtained from the FBI may be used solely for the purpose requested and may not be disseminated outside the receiving department, related
Agency, or other authorized entity. The Department of Safety and Professional Services does not deny a license based on the information in
the record itself, but does require the submittal of a certified copy of the criminal complaint and judgment of conviction in any matter which
would appear to be cause for denial of a license.

See:
Authorization for Release of FBI Information (Form 2687)

Form #2252
If any applicant was ever been convicted of a felony in Wisconsin or any other state and not pardoned,
the applicant’s application will be denied. There are no exceptions.

If an applicant has been convicted of one or more misdemeanor or other violations or has pending charges,
and if the Department determines that the crimes or violations are substantially related to the practice of
a private detective, the Department will not grant a license until it has received sufficient information to
determine whether the license should be granted, denied or limited. It is the responsibility of the applicant
to provide complete information to the Department. Applications are deemed complete after submission of all
relevant background information by the applicant is received. A certified copy of the police report, criminal
complaint, and judgment of conviction is required for each conviction.

See:
Convictions and Pending Charges (Form 2252)

Personal References

None required

Training Requirements

To obtain a new firearms permit, applicants must complete 36 hours of initial firearms training from an instructor approved by the Department.
See:
For a list of approved certifiers

To renew a firearms permit, applicants must obtain 6 hours of refresher training from an instructor approved by the Department.
See:
Firearm Permit Information

For an approved list of Wisconsin schools and instructors, click here

Exam Requirement

None

Child Support

Under Wisconsin Law, the Department must deny your application if you are liable for delinquent child support.

See: Form #2271, Information for Completing Private Security Permit Application Form

Wyoming: Armed Security Officers

Legislation and Details for Wyoming

Legislation/Source:

Wyoming does not presently regulate individual licensing provisions for armed or unarmed officer. This lack does not imply that security agency or company licenses may require alternative licensing methods and mechanisms, nor should the reader conclude that regulation does not exist for other forms of licensure such as detectives or investigators.

Go to Top